Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tewkesbury Abbey Caravan Club Site
Gander Lane
Tewkesbury
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL20 5PG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01684 294035

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 04/04/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
              8/10 from 68 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hdv61 14 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a weekend at this site and were very impressed.

Location: perfect, town literally around the corner with bus stop very close.

Facilities:very good, clean and tidy at all times.

Pitches: we were fine but as they are all grass, may be a little worried if there had been heavy rain.

Wardens:Very pleasant and helpful.

We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tockers 28 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week in july with a motorhome and young children. The site is not the best laid out site I have been to, to get to the showers etc you have to cut across pitches and some people do not like that. They are all grass pitches with electric and some taps dotted about however there is only one tap for motorhomes and it can get busy the drain is also at the same place right near the entrance so can cause disruption in vans coming in and out. The showers were hot but do need an update, the loos also need sorting out they took ages to refill when flushed and did not always flush properly. Caravan club rules apply here, park correctly and don't do this or that etc. Location is why we stayed here close to shops and swimming pool and cinema. Kids park in field next door. Site was quiet for july not full, lovely array of flowers at entrance.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 119 reviews from this member

We used Tewkesbury CC site as a one night stop-over on our way to north Wales. We have been many times before and have always found it a pleasant site. Easy access off the M5 (past a large Morrisons, handy for supplies and fuel).

Nice, friendly wardens and easy booking in. Some of their pitches were still fenced off following the very wet winter. We were allocated a pitch (in fact we had a choice of two) this time as some were still very soft and we have a large unit. This was not a problem.

3 toilet/shower blocks on site, all a bit dated but spotlessly clean and accessible only with a key. Plenty of water points and dustbins too.

Short walk from the site to the abbey, river and town and lovely it all is too. Plenty of places to eat and drink in Tewkesbury. We chose to eat in the Wetherspoons 'hotel' just outside the site that evening and returned for their breakfast the next morning before heading north.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geebees 10 reviews from this member

Site is easy to get to and despite some comments we did not find access a problem. Toilet blocks were clean and warm but perhaps not quite up to usual Caravan Club standard. The site seemed a little impersonal and cramped and the layout means that you have to walk through others pitches to get to loos, etc.

Great location though as only a short walk to town shops and restaurants and the Abbey. We were concerned about the Abbey bells as we are very light sleepers but they did not disturb us at all. In fact, nothing disturbed our sleep.

We can thoroughly recommend The Bay Tree restaurant opposite the entrance to Gander Lane. It was so good when we ate there the first night that we went back and ate there the second night too. They give people staying at the site a 10% discount too which was nice. Probably wouldn't go back to the site as we tend to park our van and explore on foot/bike and Tewkesbury didn't have a great deal to offer. Nice for a couple of nights though.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 82 reviews from this member

152 pitch site set just next to Tewksbury Abbey and only five minutesí walk from town centre and rivers. Location is ideal for stop over from M5 being only 5 minutes from junction 9 and great base for exploring the area.

Whilst the site perimeter is edged with trees, the central pitches are open without hedges and feel like a large grassed car park, although large grass pitches (no hardstanding which maybe a problem in wet weather). The three toilet blocks are dated by Caravan Club standards.

Friendly and very helpful wardens have provided a great floral display at reception, truly lovely.

The Abbey dominates the area and site and bells ring every quarter of an hour. Ear plugs are recommended if you are a light sleeper.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 123 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave M5 at junction 9 and take A438 towards Tewkesbury. In town centre at roundabout take first exit. In a couple of hundred metres turn left into Gander lane. This lane narrows on the approach where it crosses a stream so care is required with cars exiting the car parks. The entrance to the site is just past the car park on the left.

This site is situated in a semi urban environment next to Tewkesbury Abbey and a short walk into the town. The wardens make great efforts to create a floral welcome to the site with reception decked with flowers. Tents and non-members are welcome at this site. There are around 140 pitches which are all on grass. Whilst many are level some will require a little levelling. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps using CEE17 blue connectors. There are three toilet blocks which, due to the risk of flooding, are all raised above normal site level. However all but one of them has ramp access for the disabled. The blocks are functional and clean rather than being luxurious. The motorhome service point is at the front of the site. Reception sells a few essentials and newspapers can be ordered. Next door is a small information room. There is site wide WiFi, time can be purchased online. I have to say I found it quite slow even on fairly basic tasks. Whilst there are no play facilities on site for children there is a large adventure playground immediately outside the site entrance in the adjacent park.

The Abbey is only a short walk from the site and the town a little further. There are lots of restaurants and tea rooms and the town provides a good selection of shops. There is a Morrisons on the approach to the town from the motorway. The site is ideally situated to visit the Severn and Avon valleys. For many it will be a convenient overnight stop to and from the West Country being so close to the M5.

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0391