Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01971 511726

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   1m 

Pitches: 82
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 118 Reviews
              9/10 from 118 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 22 reviews from this member

We stayed for 9 nights at Sango Sands, at the end of June and early July 2017. We've stayed at this site a few times before.

Durness is a small coastal village ideally located for exploring the north western area of Scotland. There's a Spar shop as well as a small shop, and both are open throughout most of the day, if not late into the evening or as long at weekends. There's also a pub and restaurant located next to the campsite.

The campsite is nicely laid out, and isn't too formal in terms of pitch positions either. Most areas for pitching are flat and provide sea views. When we visited there were a lot of motorhomes on the site, and those areas looked a little cramped. Some pitches are located near the main road, which can be quite noisy, as the roads around this area are very popular with motorbikes.

The site is exposed in windy weather. We had strong winds on one night (60MPH Gusts) and quite a few tent dwellers saw their tents battered and damaged. Worth bringing strong pegs and keeping an eye on the weather forecast.

Facilities are good, if a little dated. There's a unisex shower block which is clean, but not particularly comfortable. Cubicles are small and there's limited room for getting dried and changed. There's also a couple of toilet blocks and dishwashing areas, as well as a small launderette. Toilets are cleaned once a day, but could do with a second clean/freshen when its busy.

The site is well run by friendly management who let you go about your holiday with minimal intrusion. Campers are also well behaved and tend to be experienced types, who know about keeping noise to a minimum and not walking across each other's pitches.

We'll definitely return, because we like the area, and prefer this site to all others in the region, such as Scourie, Bettyhill and Thursday.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DundeeIan 11 reviews from this member

We had booked the site and were advised the pitch number would be on the door at reception as the office was not open until 16:00. Our pitch had our name on it and it was a great view over the sea. A number of pitches are stepped to maximise the view. Site is quite large with big camping areas. Restaurant and bar next door were OK. Plenty of water/drainage and Elsan points although the Elsan points seemed quite small compared to usual ones. Toilets and showers in two blocks are a bit old fashioned but perfectly clean, push button shower is the usual. Short walk to lovely sandy beach, Smoo cave and craft village. Spar shop just up the road. We loved this site and will be back as it is such a beautiful area. Pay wifi is available but good signal from mobile means wifi not required.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikro 19 reviews from this member

Spectacular setting on cliff top above lovely beach. Showers and toilets and washing up area in 3 separate blocks so not too convenient. Showers like many sites badly designed. Do proprietors ever shower in their own blocks we wonder? Nice pub next door and close to Cape Wrath trips. Also good walk out to Faraid Head conveniently past the Chocolate shop! and close to Smoo Cave.

Worth a visit for the location alone.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 26 reviews from this member

The site is set on a clifftop overlooking a beautiful beach, so it is very exposed, The front row of hard standings are narrow and very close together, wish we had booked on the row behind, they still had the view as they were higher up but were much more spacious. You need to book if you want a hook-up, they left a list of names and pitch numbers on the door so you could pitch up and go and pay them when the office opens at 5pm, A nice touch is that they called round in the morning to see if we wanted to reserve the pitch for the following night. The toilets and showers are in separate blocks, the toilets are clean and functional, but in the unisex shower block the floor was filthy, there were no curtains in the cubicles and some didn't even have working locks, needless to say we gave them a miss. We were told the pub next door didn't allow dogs, so didn't try it. The spar shop is just a 5 minute walk, and the craft village with the Chocolate Mountain cafe (dogs welcome) is just over a mile away. OK for a stop over on the 500 but would probably not go back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 14 reviews from this member

Wonderful site with access to lovely sandy beach. The site has views to die for a real discovery.

Staff very friendly, efficient and welcoming.

Facilities, toilets, showers, dish washing are clean, a bit basic though functional, but new ones are currently under construction.

Plenty of pitches and ECUs and you are free to pick your own.

Hotel next to site offers good value food, either in the restaurant or bar.

General store within a couple of minutes walking distance and another with post office and cash machine not much further up the hill as is a petrol station.

Tourist information centre next to the hotel and general store, again with helpful staff.

The Smoo Cave is spectacular and again within walking distance.

For the bucket list a boat and mini bus trip to Cape Wrath is an experience and sets off from a couple of miles up the road.

Sometimes a site just has a certain undefinable something that sets it apart and amidst strong competition this has my vote for number one on the NC500

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paolo999 8 reviews from this member

Site is situated in Durness on a small cliff top with a lovely beach below. It can be a bit windy. Site was very busy in the middle of May. The north coast 500 seems to have added a lot of traffic. Cost 20 per night for 2 adults with electric hook up. Most pitches were level with a few exceptions. Staff were OK but to be fair were busy.

There are a few short walks from the site up to about five miles.

Facilities are a bit basic. A bit old, cold and out of date. Didn't see any laundry facilities.

There is a bar and restaurant next door which are busy and popular. Food was quite good. They did serve white wine without chilling it. Dogs are not particularly welcome. It seems to be up to the bar staff whether or not your dog is allowed in. The bigger the dog the less likely you will get in. Seems daft when half the potential customers on the site have dogs.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938