Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01971 511726

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   1m 

Pitches: 82
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 123 Reviews
              9/10 from 123 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 13 reviews from this member

A stunning location, whatever time of year (though try to avoid visiting this cliff-top site in high winds)! The site is arranged over a series of tiers- increasing the opportunities to get a pitch with a view (and requesting electrical hookup helps you to get a prime spot). Visiting on a whim out of season meant that we couldnít reach the management ahead of arrival, but a note on the office door stated that a couple of sites had been pre-booked, other than that to pitch where you liked and visit the office at 5pm to pay! We soon selected our scenic pitch and put the kettle on ready to admire the view.

The showers and toilets are in different (dated) blocks, which is odd, but theyíre not the reason you visit here, and not that bad itíll put you of. Though I guess itís a bit weird that the shower block is unisex.

The on site restaurant was closed, but no problem as the bar was still open and serving food. Real ale for £2. 50 was a great bonus. The menu was standard pub fare, and probably relied on the freezer, microwave and fryer, especially at this time of year, but you couldnít fault the range or portion size.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dannicali 5 reviews from this member

A beautiful location perched over a stunning beach, facing due East for a perfect view of sunrise. Shop just a short walk away. Smoo cave and waterfall a short walk. And I'm afraid that's where the good points end for us. On arrival ( we had prebooked) reception had a queue, who all looked a little irritated. We were told out pitch number and were left to find it, no overview of the site or where we might find the facilities.

We had a spectacular spot, perched on the edge next to the cliff top. Squeezed in between huge motor homes so we could at least watch their TVs! The hard standing felt more like a car park, no grass verges etc between the pitches. There also appeared to be a tolerance of extra vans squeezing in on the edges of the access roads.

The facilities were more than dated, they were unsafe. We werehed up in a shed with 2 sinks and no lights. Lucky in a way as when we returned in daylight we had a true picture of the state of the place.

We tried to find an alternative for the breakfast wash up and wandered in to the laundry where there was an open store room full of all the lethal cleaning fluids needed to kill a small child. It also contained a huge electrical spaghetti of exposed wires and sockets. At this point we decided not to stay for the second night and left, so showers untested. We visited reception to let them know and they did refund the unused nights, and referred us to the new facilities being built. We had noticed these as the JCB started up in the morning just as we were having breakfast.

I hope the new facilities make the difference as the position of this sight is too perfect to not want to return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phatman64 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite at the far north of Scotland. Suitable for all tourers, electrical hook-up available. Great beach, excellent local restaurant / pub just yards from the camp. Local services nearby for supplies. The location is excellent for NC500 tourists on a budget, local hill walking nearby, excellent walks along the kyle and coast.

This is the extreme north of Scotland so weather is unpredictable, pack accordingly!

Great site, good showers and community cooking/wash areas. Great value site.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sprog 1 review from this member

This is a simple, remote campsite with a warm, friendly and informative welcome at reception and very reasonable prices. It's location on the edge of a cliffside make for wonderful views with easy access to a couple of great beaches.

The facilities are pretty basic: two ageing toilet/shower blocks with washing up facilities, but construction is underway of newer facilities which should be online by next season at the latest. And the facilities do the job for the time being.

It's remoteness means you have to really want to get there.

Trust me: you really want to get there.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 23 reviews from this member

We stayed for 9 nights at Sango Sands, at the end of June and early July 2017. We've stayed at this site a few times before.

Durness is a small coastal village ideally located for exploring the north western area of Scotland. There's a Spar shop as well as a small shop, and both are open throughout most of the day, if not late into the evening or as long at weekends. There's also a pub and restaurant located next to the campsite.

The campsite is nicely laid out, and isn't too formal in terms of pitch positions either. Most areas for pitching are flat and provide sea views. When we visited there were a lot of motorhomes on the site, and those areas looked a little cramped. Some pitches are located near the main road, which can be quite noisy, as the roads around this area are very popular with motorbikes.

The site is exposed in windy weather. We had strong winds on one night (60MPH Gusts) and quite a few tent dwellers saw their tents battered and damaged. Worth bringing strong pegs and keeping an eye on the weather forecast.

Facilities are good, if a little dated. There's a unisex shower block which is clean, but not particularly comfortable. Cubicles are small and there's limited room for getting dried and changed. There's also a couple of toilet blocks and dishwashing areas, as well as a small launderette. Toilets are cleaned once a day, but could do with a second clean/freshen when its busy.

The site is well run by friendly management who let you go about your holiday with minimal intrusion. Campers are also well behaved and tend to be experienced types, who know about keeping noise to a minimum and not walking across each other's pitches.

We'll definitely return, because we like the area, and prefer this site to all others in the region, such as Scourie, Bettyhill and Thursday.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bjames839 14 reviews from this member

Oh dear, it has been a year since my last review as we've moved house and I've learned to ride a motorbike since the last one and we just haven't had time to get away in the 'van.

It was almost exactly a year since we last visited Durness and I commented then on my dismay at the way it looks like it's ending up, and unfortunately it has only got worse. We've been coming up here for years, and it was always like minded souls who wanted the get-away-from-it-all experience like ourselves. Now the NC500 appears to be encouraging groups of boy racer types, I believe the collective term is 'posse', (though I personally use another), who seem hell bent on doing it in the quickest time possible.

Also, a lot of the site users are not the same as they used to be. There is dog mess everywhere and it's got so you have to watch where you walk when going down to the beach. We're not dog haters, we have one ourselves, but when he needs his 'ablutions' we clean up after him.

There were large groups of motorhomes playing loud music, and towards the end of our stay a group of trials motorcyclists arrived who thought it would be nice to share the sounds and smells of their bikes around the site. I regret to report that I did not share their enthusiasm.

The showers were also cold on several occasions during our stay, and when my partner enquired about this she was told that it was the fault of the campers for not allowing sufficient time for the boiler to heat up. She was told that there were 500 guests staying that night! If I owned a hotel, and the said hotel was fully booked, the guests would expect hot water to wash in, end of.

We did the 'Kyle' walk which skirts the coast before heading back to the village along the single track road. We've done it several times before, but this time there was litter every 6 feet or so along the roadside, a tragedy.

If you're on the NC500 and you're in need of a site for the night, maybe somewhere for your dog to use the toilet, there aren't many others in the area, and the beaches are spectacular, just watch out for dog poo.

We've come here for years as it's been one of our favourite places in the world, but I'm really sad to say that it's lost that appeal for us now. Next time we're up this way we'll be on the motorbike, and I we'll be looking at other sites in the area as we're in no rush to return to this one.

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5133 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec