Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sango Sands Caravan & Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Sango Sands Caravan & Camping
Sango Sands
Durness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4PP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01971 511726

Facilities:  (Key)
                 

Nearby:
1m   1m 

Pitches: 82
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
              9/10 from 80 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Photo4x4 5 reviews from this member

We stayed for one night at Sango Sands after reading the reviews on this website and it did not disappoint! We live just north of Inverness and this was a quick weekend up on the North Coast for us.

There is a shop and fuel available nearby so if you forget anything or need to top up supplies it is easy to do so.

We had pre-booked for a hard standing site with electric hook up and our pitch number was displayed clearly on the reception door and our pitch was marked with our name. Just inside the site is an area for ‘servicing’ with fresh water (hose pipe provided, grey water disposal and waste disposal). There is plenty of room for the largest of motor homes to use these facilities. I filled up with fresh water on entering the site. I used the grey water disposal when we left and this is easy to use as well as you can park over the drain.

We were on pitch number 13, on the edge of the cliff, and the views were simply spectacular. There is no doubt that the journey up to the North Coast is well worth it for the location and setting of the site. The winding single track roads may explain the preponderance of motor homes on the site. Believe me it is well worth the effort.

The shower and toilet blocks are fairly old but are in good clean condition. The showers are easy to work and just need you to push the tap for a supply of nice hot water and if you need more time, just push the tap again. The toilets were also clean and tidy. There were numerous rubbish disposal/recycling sites dotted around.

We only spoke to a site warden one on his patrol around the site when he called for payment. He was cheerful and pleasant. I would definitely call the site friendly they provide great facilities for tent campers and you can even pitch for free during the winter (if you want electric hook up there is a charge and I believe that the toilets are open but the showers unheated I believe). This if a really nice and friendly touch. Also the site is not plastered with posters proclaiming the ‘rules’. You feel that you are trusted to get on with what you are there for – to relax and enjoy the views.

If you are staying at the site then a visit to Smoo Cave is a must and there are spectacular views around every corner.

We will definitely be back again for a longer stay and would highly recommend this site to others.

Well done Sango sands and thanks.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 21 reviews from this member

This site is in a spectacular location overlooking an award winning beach, with sea views to the north. Orkney can be spotted in the distance.

No booking is required - just turn up. The owner was friendly and welcoming. The site is spacious with a variety of areas to pitch. We overlooked one of the two beaches and had uninterrupted views out to sea. The site is exposed to the wind so that needs to be borne in mind when pitching.

Shower and toilet facilities were clean. There is a covered campers' cooking area with tables to sit at and eat. There are two large gas rings provided for cooking on, which amazingly were free of charge. That was a great bonus as the wind was blowing the heat away from our camp stove and making it difficult to cook outdoors. There is also a covered dishwashing area. For £7 per person per night I considered this site to be excellent value.

There is a Spar shop with cash machine just up the road and a petrol pump opposite, and also a small shop nearer to the campsite. The Tourist Information is just beside the site too and very handy for popping into with questions.

Smoo Cave, about a mile away, is a must. It's an enormous sea cave which you can wander into and look around or pay £4 to be taken into the inner caverns in a small boat.

There are various guided walks during the summer. We went on a walk through the dunes at Balnakeil beach to see the puffins which nest by the cliffs. The ranger told us a lot about the wild flowers, bird life and the history of the area.

A beautiful site in a beautiful area. We will be back!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gwennol17 5 reviews from this member

What a place! We ended up staying for 2 nights rather than the one planned and we managed a different cliff top site with a change of view the 2nd night. £14 each night (no electric). We chose our own spot and then went back to the office at a time given to pay. We noted that the manager/owner drove round a couple of times a day to make sure everyone had signed in and paid.

Ideally placed for appreciating the long white beach, though access down can be a bit scrambly.

Facilities on the site are clean and plentiful, including camp kitchen and washing up areas.

There is plenty of hard standing for bigger motor homes and those requiring electric but the best areas are where there is just grass. Winds were very high when we were there (or was that normal?) so some tents were flapping alarmingly. Think about which direction you pitch and where best to park a car for a windbreak.

Close by are 2 shops and an adjacent pub. The smallest shop, next to the pub, is an experience and jam packed with basics, though the Spar in the other direction gives greater choice.

We stayed here as it was convenient for the Cape Wrath ferry, though conditions meant it was cancelled.

Smoo Cave, a mile to the East, is a free attraction that is worth a visit. Apart from that just enjoys the views and the beach.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 6 reviews from this member

This site was the highlight of our tour of the beautiful north west coast of Scotland. We stayed 2 nights and I LOVED IT. We booked and so when we got to the site we could see where our pitch was on the door and we had a personalised marker with our names on confirming the right pitch. The lady who manages it was so very friendly. Many thanks to her.

VIEWS - oh to die for - sea as far as the eye could sea straight ahead from the pitch with cliffs on either side of Sango bay. The beaches were wonderful - not huge but in little bays some of which linked. Mountains in the background and moorland. Who needs tele when you can look out to sea and with a pair of binoculars you can see ships on the horizon. The contrast to this area and the North east couldn't be greater, single track roads, bleak mountains and a sense of how difficult life must have been 100 years ago or more whereas on the north east there is lowlands and fertile lands.

Sorry to go on but nearly forgot the very friendly staff at the tourist information centre.

Lots to do here on foot, with a couple of shops, pubs and so on. I will go again

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cwarchc 10 reviews from this member

What a stunning site

Feels like its the end of the world.

Amazing location on the cliffs overlooking a fabulous beach

Fairly busy, and bigger site than expected, never felt crowded

The facilities are a little dated, though some appear to have been renovated.

Great value for money, 7 nights for the price of 6

Make sure you go to Balnikeil to see the Puffins, and sample the hot chocolate

A great way to escape from the 'real world' in an amazing part of Scotland

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping-paynes 4 reviews from this member

What a great campsite. We had a lovely warm welcome from the guy in the office, he happily booked us on, explained the facilities and invited us to choose our own pitch.

The site was well laid out, with areas divided by small bushes and trees and the road going around, there was lots of space and the views were spectacular, with the most white sandy beaches and a little trail leading down to the cove. There is plenty of areas for kids to play however I would be careful of pitching close to the cliffs as they could easily climb through the fence.

The location is perfect and the town is remote. There is a pub on site and a hotel across the road, the food in the hotel is expensive but very nice. There is also a small post office/store just offsite. All shops etc close on a Sunday as does the fuel station, so be well prepared if you're heading at the weekend.

The facilities were great. Lots of showers for males and for females which were very clean even after a busy night. Clean toilets well stocked with toilet paper and hand wash. There is a campers kitchen which we didn't use. I used the laundry and dish washing facilities which were good.

We enjoy camping but I'll be honest, we like nice camping with mod cons. Here are some things that maybe not everyone will find useful but the odd few people might. There were sockets available for hair dryers/chargers and there was a hair dryer free to use too. I had a phone signal but it's north highlands so not amazing, I also had GPRS. Wi Fi is available on site too.

Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0625