Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Dower House

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

The Dower House
Touring Park
Thetford Forest
East Harling
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR16 2SE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01953 717314

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m 5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 96 Reviews
              8/10 from 96 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scotzlynnie 2 reviews from this member

My two daughters (12, 9) myself and four other families have just returned from a 3 night stay. We were welcomed and shown to our pitch which was very generous in size. Slight downside is the EHU unit was quite far from the tent and despite our long cable it was difficult to reach. Luckily I was pitched next to my friend so I ran the cable across her pitch. Could have been a bit akward if it was a stranger.

Despite the site being large we didn't queue for the showers or washing up facilities which I was very pleased about. The showers aren't the best I've encountered but they get the job done! Only 5 showers (ladies) for the whole site but well maintained and clean.

Kids loved adventuring in the forest, swimming in the pool was a big plus. They were in there rain or shine. Take a chair to the pool as there's lots of space but no seating provided. We spent all three days on the site and kids were happy and made their own entertainment. Parks, football, table tennis, futsal, pool table - what more could they have wanted! My daughter was desperate to watch Women's UEFA semi final and wifi wasn't behaving - a very helpful waiter in the pub restaurant helped us sort out an alternative way to view, which made my daughter very happy despite the result ☹️

Overall I'd recommend the site and would visit again and perhaps explore the surrounding area as there is quite a lot to do locally.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B4zza69 7 reviews from this member

We are a family of 5 who Visited In April for 5 Nights and will return and recommend.

This is a fantastic campsite set in the forest, it is really peaceful and there are fantastic walks to be had but also many great facilities on site.

The staff keep the site looking clean and tidy and seem to really enjoy what they do.

There is an outside pool for the summer months, a bar and restaurant with a small play area outside and a larger one on the main field to the front of the Dower House, there is a well stocked shop with little bits for the kids to buy. My eldest son enjoyed using the football pitch area on the field outside reception/shop and was in and around the bar area with friends most of the time. The pool table in the bar is also a big hit with the older kids.

This is a very pleasant site with spacious pitches in a great setting, I really like that you drive a couple of miles into the forest to get to the site.


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jamesworts 1 review from this member

This is our 2nd trip to the Dower House touring park,

As a family of 5 with 3 boys aged 4, 8 and 15 we find it a perfect place to visit, we take all of the bikes with us and enjoy cycling around the forest and various cycle tracks, there are miles and miles of track to follow.

As for the park itself, the pitches are very large and provide good level ground with electric hookups very close by. There are plenty of water points and waste points. There are only a couple of toilet waste points but are easy enough to get to.

There is a park on site for the kids to play at and a pub for the adults ;-)

They have recently opened an on-site restaurant which I cannot rate as of yet due to not trying it out yet.

There is a pool table that costs 50p ago but it is in dire need of refurbishment.

The outdoor swimming pool is an excellent feature, however wasn't open in April, but was open last October when we visited last.

There is a reasonably well stocked and priced shop on-site.

I haven't used the shower blocks, however the wife has used them, unfortunately she doesn't rate them particularly highly, although they are clean. They are the typical push button pre-set temperature ones.

Toilet blocks are kept very clean also.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RD2015 1 review from this member

2 adults + 2 kids (10/5), for a 2 night stay 18/19/20 September

Quiet campsite, felt that we had the pitch area all to ourselves, imagine would be busy in main season though.

Went knowing that the on site swimming pool would be closed but had activities planned so not a problem.

Kids didn't use the play equipment so much as they loved playing in the forest directly behind tent.

Toilet/shower block v. Clean and tidy, plenty of hot water. All communal areas(+site ) kept very clean.

Found the Information Point very helpful, and up to date.

Onsite Pub, with some entertainments, which were enjoyable.

Onsite shop, had basics but end of season so could understand a shortening of supplies.

Access road a little rough, but most potholes filled in.

Some lighting from the field to the shower block would be helpful, even if it was some luminous stripes on the fencing.

Will put it on list for a return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 10 day visit at the dower house with our caravan.

Good points

Very nice setting in the woods

Nice pub on site

Playground for the kids and a number of play areas

Swimming pool which is heated and kids loved it

Very relaxing place

Nice walks in the woods

Staff very pleasant

Not so good points

Shop needs to sell more shopping items don't even sell eggs or news papers.

9 miles to the nearest shops

Pub only opens at night, had red hot days, site was full and I'm sure the pub would have been full in the afternoon if it was open.

Wifi is only in the pub not on the site.

The road to the site is 2 miles long and is horrendous, bumps, pot holes shakes your car and caravan all over the place you don't want to go out for the day because of facing the long road out of the site and coming back onto site.

Toilets need updating - not enough for the size of site.

Staff seem to be over stretched at times.

Bins always seem full and not emptied enough

Take torches no lights on the site at all - only inside toilets

Dont get me wrong the owners and workers tried there best and we had a lovely time but just seems they are over stretched and amenities need updating.

When we got there on day of arrival -

No running water

Some of the toilet waste was out of use as they where blocked. The one you had to use was at the back of toilets in the woods not good if you need to empty in the dark

No food at the pub as they had staff sickness so we had to face to horrible road again to go out.

Will not go back. Sorry.

Management response: That Saturday we had a major electrical failure and power surge that took out power to all facility blocks, shop/reception,the office, bar and house plus all computers and most importantly our bore pump thus leaving us without water. It also destroyed all sorts of equipment incl tills, chillers, computers etc. So yes we were short of staff as we were dashing around trying to sort broken systems, going out to buy bottled water to distribute to campers and deal with our normal daily jobs without some of the services that we rely on. The power was off from approx 8am until 5pm. We have owned this site for 30yrs and this was my worst day and thank heavens not a typical one.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fuzzy37 6 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely 4 night stay here. Very friendly welcome from reception and warden Gordon who took a shine to our little dog Bella.

Pitches are very large, plenty of space for an awning, day tent and car. Good play areas for kids which my daughter lives and of course the swimming pool which although busy still had room for 3 more!

The site was exceptionally clean although it was full, even the wash up area was cleaned in the day. The warden was always seen about and very friendly and obviously cares about the site and surrounding environment.

There is access directly into the forest with some lovely walks.

There are supermarkets in Thetford about 5 miles away and a small shop on site for essentials.

Brilliant site for families and good value as there are no additional charges for dogs or awnings. Will definitely visit again.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4436 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017