Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Longnor Wood Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0NG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 83648

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: 1st March To 10th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
              9/10 from 152 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (15)

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildvoice 12 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend break during November, the weather was not the best which made the ground around the pitch quite soft, the pitch would probably benefit if it was more hardstanding with less grass, our pitch had water and electric but no waste. Upon arrival we were met by the wardens who where very helpful and cheerful, the male warden showed us to our pitch and explained what was around and about. The shower block was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and was not one of those dreadful push buttons, the site offered free wifi in reception but was 7. 50 for 3 days if required. The only disappointment was that as you enter the site you drive through beautiful scenery but when pitched up there are no views what so ever, great shame!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 11 reviews from this member

We had a lovely welcome and was shown to our pitch, which was on a slight slope; easily sorted by our ramps. We were on pitch 19 close to the modern, clean toilet block; which was not a problem as the site is adult only (peace and quiet) and very well run.

There's an information hut with sports equipment (badminton, golf putting clubs and boules)shelf of books and video CDs. The shop is within the reception area and all the staff are friendly and helpful.

The site is great for walking and we walked to Buxton and bused it back to Longnor. Whilst mentioning Longnor I should make an important comment on the 'Ye Old Cheshire Cheese Inn', who, if you telephone them will pick you up from the site; we though walked to the pub (not along an over busy road) distance 1. 6mls to a fab Sunday lunch; their staff are very amenable and it has a great atmosphere. The camp site, pub and area in general is highly recommended. WE intend to return!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 13 reviews from this member

Better late than never, we submitted this review in Jan 2015.

We stayed at Longnor Wood for our second time, again to coincide with the Annual Buxton Carnival and Fringe. Again we were made to feel at home by the site owners and the wardens, they really are such very nice friendly helpful people, they always have time for a chat.

With the site being so highly manicured and cared for there really aren't any faults to find. The pitches are spacious and well appointed and the surrounding area is just a joy to relax in. Again we toured the whole area and revisited places from our previous visit (see our review dated July 2013).

we really can't praise Longnor Wood enough and booked for 2015 before we left, such is our love for the site and area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 13 reviews from this member

Yet another stay at one of our favourite sites, seventeen nights this time. Yet again the owners and staff have worked through the winter months to make even more improvements to what we think is a site that can't get any better. This site offers peace, tranquillity, wildlife and a friendly welcome, the reason why we keep going back. The team here work so hard to keep the toilets and showers clean, just a shame that some campers are either too bone idle or proud to clean up after themselves.

This year we visited :-

Chatsworth House - THE iconic stately home.

Sudbury Hall - one the country's finest Grade 1 listed Restoration mansions.

Dovedale - a beautiful river cut valley.

Bakewell - just a lovely market town to explore and spend the day in.

Ashford in the Water - on the River Wye. We have never seen so many BIG wild Rainbow Trout at Sheepwash Bridge. A lovely little village to walk around and the Steak night is not to be missed at The Ashford Arms, great food and real ale.

Gawsworth Hall - we went to two shows at this Tudor house, which is absolutely stunning. Top Tip- get there early, taking a cushion to place on the seat of your choice in the stand and then go picnic on the lawns next to the lake, then tour the house. Check out future shows on their website.

Buxton - lovely to walk in the Victorian Pavillion gardens.

We also clocked up nearly seven hundred miles touring the Peak district including the Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, Masson Mill and the Trafford Shopping Centre.

We also took advantage of the free 'pick up and return' service offered the Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese pub in Longnor village. Did so on Steak night, very nice.

Naturally we have already booked for next year, though we might spend a long weekend before the end of the year in one of the many beautiful lodges en site, each with their own hot tub.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jillfares 7 reviews from this member

We arrived on Saturday without booking for one night. Luckily there was a plot available. Lovely site. Clean, peaceful and has a lovely wood to walk the dogs in

The manager was very friendly and helpful.

The pitch had its own water tap, toilets were spotless, nice eggs for sale.

A gem of a site and I feel at 27. 00 good value considering the quality of the site.

We will definitely be returning

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kawasakiversys 12 reviews from this member

Just come back from here.


Wow, fantastic setting, amazing views.

Toilet and shower facilities first class, piping hot water on demand. Little stools for you to pop all your bits and bobs on during showers. Very very clean.

Shop sells basic items but as we did go 'out of season' didn't expect it to stock everything.

Grounds are well kept despite the weather trying to undo the christmas decs that were still up (and were gorgeous).

Lots of rabbits, squirrels, and birds to see, most very tame and came right up to the caravan.

Roads in and out are single file, but the park makes allowances for this by having passing lanes and also making sure check- in/out times are different and well spaced out.

Pitches large and fairly level, with grass either side of the hard standing.

We chose a serviced pitch that had dedicated water and grey waste allocated to it.

It cost just 2. 00 extra per day and was well worth it.

We were a bit concerned about the rabbits etc. , but our dogs just loved sitting outside and watching the day go by and became spectators rather than wanting to chase the wildlife.

Our dogs were never let off the dog lead but were still very relaxed the whole visit. Lots of poop bins.

The wardens are very well informed regarding local pubs and walks and they have arranged for a local pub (the old cheshire cheese) to pick up and return customers from this camp site.

We had sunday dinner here which was reasonable priced and delicious. We didn't opt for the lift back as we have two dogs that love walking as much as we do.

Mobile phone reception for us was fine too.


I really don't think there is any except if you like your telly and don't have satellite tv, then the tv reception is terrible.

But take some dvds, some nice food and wine/beer and you will be in heaven in this park.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 9 reviews from this member

This adult only site is about 1. 5 from Longnor village, the approach is by a single track road with passing places. The entrance into the site is a very steep short section of road and can catch you out when you 1st arrive, you then have a short drive into the site. This section of road gives some magnificent views over the country side.

Ideal base for touring this area, Buxton & Bakewell only a short drive away. If you want peace and quite this is the place to visit.

The wardens are very helpful and friendly, it was raining cats & dogs when we arrived but this didn't stop the duty warden coming out to direct and help me onto the pitch, both of us got drenched.

The pitches are all hardstanding some have a slight slope, a leveller might be needed depending on what type of unit you have, they have electric hook up - water tap - grey waste water disposal drain.

There is an information hut, dish washing (under cover) and small laundry in recepton.

For the more energetic there is babminton, a small pitch & put & boules pitch.

Reception has a small shop selling basic items, (anything they don't stock you can get in the village. )

The toilet/shower block are of a very high standard kept very clean and warm.

Although it rained during our stay we still managed to get out and about, a must visit is to Hartington a lovely village which has a cheese shop - we had to visit twice as 1st lot of cheese soon went.

In the village the Cheshire cheese pub does very good food at a reasonable price, a plus is that they will come and pick you up and then bring you back at the end of the evening. (not open on Mondays) there's also a fish & chip shop & a craft centre (which does lovely lunches etc).

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glittering-prize 3 reviews from this member

We have been 3 times now to this site. It is very peaceful, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The views are superb of countryside and the small but well stocked site shop has all the essentials you might need. Showers and toilets are very nice and clean. The whole site is well maintained and they have games you can use such as bowls, large field darts etc. They even let my sister and brother inlaw pitch next to us in their tent so we can be together. The site is a little expensive but it has no negative points at all and we will certainly be going this year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GillaEveritt 6 reviews from this member

This site was a breath of fresh air (literally)compared to the site we had come from in Northumberland. We were late arriving but the staff were friendly and welcoming. The pitch was huge and the facilities lovely and clean despite the fact that it was a Saturday night and raining. The dog walking area is huge and the views are stunning with seating areas provided and plenty of dog poo disposal bins. The village is a mile or so away but we were told that the local pub do a collect and return service for those people who would like to enjoy a drink and it is dog friendly and the service included taking the dog. Rabbits run freely around the site which never ceased to be entertaining and the wardens were friendly and helpful whenever we saw them.

What can I say, we were sad to leave and will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GeorgiaJayPoppy 1 review from this member

This was our first time camping. With a dog. So a little nervous especially as we were arriving on Friday 13th! however we had a great time.

When booking the campsite I spoke with the owner on the phone and I knew straight away we were going to love the site. The owner was really friendly, full of information and generally welcoming.

The owner and his family were fabulous. The site had everything from a microwave, washing up facilities, washing machine and dryer, toilets and showers - all very clean.

There was also a little hut with tourist information leaflets, walks and lots of other information. Also available were badminton, boules and mini golf.

The site hosts a number of wild rabbits!

Our dog decided to have a little accident on our double sleeping bag. John and the team were fabulous. Washing machine came in very handy at 2 per use with a washing tablet at 40 pence. Bargain!

Poppy (our dog) thoroughly enjoyed the meadow at the side of the campsite. Fabulous views.

Visited the Cheshire Cheese pub in the village. The pub can either come and pick you up and drop you back off at the campsite or you can walk to the village approx 1. 5 miles and then the pub will drop you back off at the campsite! excellent.

Overall a great site. Everyone very friendly.

Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Open Today's Window!