Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Longnor Wood Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Newtown
Longnor
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0NG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01298 83648

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: 1st March To 10th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 156 Reviews
              9/10 from 156 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (15)

Reviews:  156 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gpjw 6 reviews from this member

Nice site in rural area with lovely views from outside the actual site. Staff helpful and friendly. Great service provided to nearby pubs. Toilet block very clean and good showers. Easy to travel to lovely Bakewell and other places. However, went there as it is an adult only site and for the peace and quiet, but sadly and annoyingly it was disturbed by 3 sets of selfish neighbours who had dogs continually barking! What a shame! Owners really should discourage this as it would otherwise be a pretty perfect site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 31 reviews from this member

Its a good site, but water don't drain away properly in showers so the changing area always has a wet floor. They charge too much for Broadband unless you are on pitch 17 which is next to the office so you can use theirs for free. Great dog walking area with fantastic views - much better than those from the site itself. But oh - how Longnor has gone downhill. 4 pubs and only one open and that had a temporary landlord. The ale was not good. Try instead The Pack Horse at Crowdicote another mile out of Longnor, friendly, good home cooked food, good ale.

There is another local pub, the Winking Man at Upper Hulme, which picks up and takes campers from the campsite for a meal and food but dogs are not allowed and 70% of campers have dogs. Talk about shooting yourself in the foot. Honestly I use the other Adults Only campsite Cloverfields at Harpur Hill, A few miles away.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxxi 5 reviews from this member

Spent 1 week here from 10th until 17th July 2016 in a tent on the camping field.

On arrival we were met by a lovely member of staff who showed us a choice of 2 pitches, one behind an hard standing on the caravan side and one on the camping pitch, we initially choose the caravan side but was way too small for our tent so had the camping field pitch instead.

We were asked not to pitch on the previous tents pitch area because it needed drying out, bearing in mind that these pitches are only 6x6m, we pitched half on and half off. We were right up to the next pitch, leaving no space for the car, saying that even with being pitched over the previous tents pitching there would of ben very little room for the car.

The pitch itself was very slopey and we had to use cardboard under furniture etc to get a level which was very annoying. You also felt sea sick at times it was that bad.

The camping field was unlit at night which meant torches are a must unlike the caravan side, I would advice using lights near guy ropes too for passers by.

The on site shop closed at 5pm and only sold a very small amount of goods, the washer and dryer is located in the reception area so you could only use it up until 3:30 pm allowing for the cycle to finish which was unacceptable for such a large site.

There is 3 male showers, 3 toilets, 2 urinals and 2 sinks in the gents area, the so called privacy rooms were impossible to wash in, the sinks were only hand washing sinks, the info states you can wash in them in privacy. Showers cubicles could do with being larger, easy to get dry cloths wet. Only having 2 sinks made washing difficult and the 2 urinals too close together. The cleaning of the area could of been a lot better, very smelly of stale urine.

The pitches are too close together and the field in my opinion is too small for 13 pitches.

We would not stop on this site again nor would we recommend it to other campers (this review only on camping not caravanning).

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 21 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site! almost don't want to leave a review because I would like to keep it for myself.

Just spent Easter at Longnor Wood- a last minute booking (and I was surprised I could get in) but I was so delighted when I arrived and overwhelmed by the outstanding beauty of the setting, absolutely stunning scenery and only an hour or so drive from home.

Approach road from Longnor itself was a little bit scary, but only because I didn't know the area. (don't let sat nav guide you to this site). It is a little remote but not too far from any local services and supermarkets etc. The approach to the site is via a single lane with passing places then heading up a steep hill to the site entrance.

We were very welcomed upon arrival and guided to our pitch and set up very quickly. We were given a guided tour o the facilities and advised to call at reception if further help needed.

The weather was very temperamental, but if you let the weather stop you doing anything or going anywhere you would never go out. I think we experienced every type of weather possible that weekend, but it was fun.

Toilet block kept very clean and tidy, easily accessible. Putting green, boules area and badminton on site. Small tourist information hut. Small shop selling fresh eggs and the basics on site also.

We had 2 dogs with us and they had a wonderful time to. A meadow at the entranced served as a dog area and the dogs loved especially with the bunnies everywhere.

We visited buxton and Hartington whilst there. We also spent time in 'Poole's' cavern (highly recommended)

Overall had a fantastic weekend even though the weather was poor. The site was one of the best I have been to, why I have never been before I do not know. A definite return visit will be planned

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wildvoice 14 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend break during November, the weather was not the best which made the ground around the pitch quite soft, the pitch would probably benefit if it was more hardstanding with less grass, our pitch had water and electric but no waste. Upon arrival we were met by the wardens who where very helpful and cheerful, the male warden showed us to our pitch and explained what was around and about. The shower block was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water and was not one of those dreadful push buttons, the site offered free wifi in reception but was 7. 50 for 3 days if required. The only disappointment was that as you enter the site you drive through beautiful scenery but when pitched up there are no views what so ever, great shame!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 15 reviews from this member

We had a lovely welcome and was shown to our pitch, which was on a slight slope; easily sorted by our ramps. We were on pitch 19 close to the modern, clean toilet block; which was not a problem as the site is adult only (peace and quiet) and very well run.

There's an information hut with sports equipment (badminton, golf putting clubs and boules)shelf of books and video CDs. The shop is within the reception area and all the staff are friendly and helpful.

The site is great for walking and we walked to Buxton and bused it back to Longnor. Whilst mentioning Longnor I should make an important comment on the 'Ye Old Cheshire Cheese Inn', who, if you telephone them will pick you up from the site; we though walked to the pub (not along an over busy road) distance 1. 6mls to a fab Sunday lunch; their staff are very amenable and it has a great atmosphere. The camp site, pub and area in general is highly recommended. WE intend to return!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 13 reviews from this member

Better late than never, we submitted this review in Jan 2015.

We stayed at Longnor Wood for our second time, again to coincide with the Annual Buxton Carnival and Fringe. Again we were made to feel at home by the site owners and the wardens, they really are such very nice friendly helpful people, they always have time for a chat.

With the site being so highly manicured and cared for there really aren't any faults to find. The pitches are spacious and well appointed and the surrounding area is just a joy to relax in. Again we toured the whole area and revisited places from our previous visit (see our review dated July 2013).

we really can't praise Longnor Wood enough and booked for 2015 before we left, such is our love for the site and area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cbrpilot 13 reviews from this member

Yet another stay at one of our favourite sites, seventeen nights this time. Yet again the owners and staff have worked through the winter months to make even more improvements to what we think is a site that can't get any better. This site offers peace, tranquillity, wildlife and a friendly welcome, the reason why we keep going back. The team here work so hard to keep the toilets and showers clean, just a shame that some campers are either too bone idle or proud to clean up after themselves.

This year we visited :-

Chatsworth House - THE iconic stately home.

Sudbury Hall - one the country's finest Grade 1 listed Restoration mansions.

Dovedale - a beautiful river cut valley.

Bakewell - just a lovely market town to explore and spend the day in.

Ashford in the Water - on the River Wye. We have never seen so many BIG wild Rainbow Trout at Sheepwash Bridge. A lovely little village to walk around and the Steak night is not to be missed at The Ashford Arms, great food and real ale.

Gawsworth Hall - we went to two shows at this Tudor house, which is absolutely stunning. Top Tip- get there early, taking a cushion to place on the seat of your choice in the stand and then go picnic on the lawns next to the lake, then tour the house. Check out future shows on their website.

Buxton - lovely to walk in the Victorian Pavillion gardens.

We also clocked up nearly seven hundred miles touring the Peak district including the Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, Masson Mill and the Trafford Shopping Centre.

We also took advantage of the free 'pick up and return' service offered the Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese pub in Longnor village. Did so on Steak night, very nice.

Naturally we have already booked for next year, though we might spend a long weekend before the end of the year in one of the many beautiful lodges en site, each with their own hot tub.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jillfares 8 reviews from this member

We arrived on Saturday without booking for one night. Luckily there was a plot available. Lovely site. Clean, peaceful and has a lovely wood to walk the dogs in

The manager was very friendly and helpful.

The pitch had its own water tap, toilets were spotless, nice eggs for sale.

A gem of a site and I feel at 27. 00 good value considering the quality of the site.

We will definitely be returning

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kawasakiversys 12 reviews from this member

Just come back from here.

Pros+

Wow, fantastic setting, amazing views.

Toilet and shower facilities first class, piping hot water on demand. Little stools for you to pop all your bits and bobs on during showers. Very very clean.

Shop sells basic items but as we did go 'out of season' didn't expect it to stock everything.

Grounds are well kept despite the weather trying to undo the christmas decs that were still up (and were gorgeous).

Lots of rabbits, squirrels, and birds to see, most very tame and came right up to the caravan.

Roads in and out are single file, but the park makes allowances for this by having passing lanes and also making sure check- in/out times are different and well spaced out.

Pitches large and fairly level, with grass either side of the hard standing.

We chose a serviced pitch that had dedicated water and grey waste allocated to it.

It cost just 2. 00 extra per day and was well worth it.

We were a bit concerned about the rabbits etc. , but our dogs just loved sitting outside and watching the day go by and became spectators rather than wanting to chase the wildlife.

Our dogs were never let off the dog lead but were still very relaxed the whole visit. Lots of poop bins.

The wardens are very well informed regarding local pubs and walks and they have arranged for a local pub (the old cheshire cheese) to pick up and return customers from this camp site.

We had sunday dinner here which was reasonable priced and delicious. We didn't opt for the lift back as we have two dogs that love walking as much as we do.

Mobile phone reception for us was fine too.

Cons-

I really don't think there is any except if you like your telly and don't have satellite tv, then the tv reception is terrible.

But take some dvds, some nice food and wine/beer and you will be in heaven in this park.

Previous     156 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
50 Tickets for the NEC Oct Motorhome & Caravan Show Win a Clarke IG2000 2kW Generator

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1289