Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
5m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheDawgs 15 reviews from this member

This is an extremely large and busy site, but the landscaping means it does not feel this way. The location is incredible with magnificent views of the mountains. Fort William is just down the road where there is cheap fuel, a McDonald’s, a Morrison’s and a Lidl (which we soon visited for bug spray). We were shown on a map where the tent pitching was, however we were given no advice as to where was best. This meant we visited the first area marked and picked a soggy pitch a little too close to a small stream. We soon realised our mistake, but by this point we were already pitched. We had a real problem with midges, but luckily the well-stocked on site shop sold Smidge (highly recommended!), Avon Skin So Soft and Citronella candles etc. A walk around the site proved there were many other areas that would have been better to pitch in, so a look around the site before putting up your tent is recommended. The site was busy with hikers, climbers etc and was just before a bike championship, even so, the facilities were never too busy. They were well equipped with sockets and free hairdryers. There are two dog walking areas; however we found one being cut when we visited and seemed to be unavailable due to this for most of the evening. The location of this site is its best asset and we found it to be a good stop off point for Fort William and travelling further into the highlands.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 45 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights when going to climb Ben Nevis. We hadn't booked and arrived late in the day, we were directed to chose a pitch in a couple of designated areas. By about 7pm, all of the non-booked pitches had filled up, so it's worth not arriving too late.

The site is large, yet it didn't seem it. It was quiet and didn't seem busy, even though it was. The facilities were dated, but clean.

The big plus point for this site is the location. Obviously very good for Ben Nevis, but also the Glen is beautiful and has some excellent walking. There are a couple of pubs within walking distance from the site. Fort William is 5 minutes drive away.

I wasn't sure about the site when arriving because of the size, but it wasn't a problem and I'd happily stay here again and look forward to walking more of the Glen.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Merfi 3 reviews from this member

This is a large well laid out site, quite soulless in many ways! Seperate areas for tents, pre-booked caravans, and those who just turn up. Van sites are all hard standing with plenty room so you are not to near your neighbours.

Toilet amenities are spotlessly clean, bit dated but that is no problem. Showers have good water pressure and are warm, which is a bonus if you have had a cold wet day in the hills. Laundry facilities are excellent and not overpriced, but do think a Drying Room facility for the campers would be a good idea.

The staff were friendly and efficient on booking in, and there is a shop on site which is more than a tad expensive but a godsend if you forget something as it is quite well stocked.

Fort William itself is looking rather tired with a lot of empty shops, but has the usual Supermarkets ( Boy di I dislike them, they are the reason for a lot of the empty shops, I'm sure)

Plenty of walking in the area, and if you do not want to climb all the way up the Ben, it is nice to do a bit of it. Good forest walks behind site and also good for cycling as it is part of the Highland Way. If not wishing to cycle up and down hills the canal path is a good option.

Also do not miss a trip to Mallaig either by car or the steam train, the views are something else.

Restaurant next to Site does excellent meals, not to expensive if you eat in the Bar and very good portions.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garthomas1 4 reviews from this member

We selected the Glen Nevis site due to its close proximity to 'The Ben' which enabled us a day of climbing without having to drive to the base of the mountain. The location is just perfect with the town of Fort William a 30-45 minute walk or a short taxi drive away. Fort William has all the local amenities you will need including a Morrisions, a range of pubs/restaurants and high street stores.

The campsite itself is well appointed, clean and tidy with the shower and toilet blocks clean and tidy.

Not sure that we would return to this particular site as we have now ticked Ben Nevis off of the list but for first timers I would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattthetraindriver 9 reviews from this member

GREAT SITE! GREAT LOCATION!GREAT STAY!

This site is huge but it's not got a big site feel or noise, it's Laid back and quite all they have to do is to discourage groups as there was a group of 50 something wanna be's who thought they were gods gift to camping and walking! Yeh right! But on the whole it was families and backpackers and one nighters tripping around, grass areas cut and soft ground a plus.

Showers etc are clean and not state of the art but clean and tidy well maintained and are tap worked and plenty of hot water instead of push button, there's a butty van just started up £2 for egg un sausage etc but we didn't use it coz we left. Great views and location and the weather was kind so made it an amazing location with the views. Walked Ben Nevis right outside the site from the youth hostel a big more steeper but cut the time down. The Ben Nevis Inn and bunkhouse is a walk upto the visitors centre and across the bridge and down the river and then you can see the pub, good food slightly dear but plenty filling and not much variety on the beer front 2 bitter 2 lagers. Would stay hear again if I was walking Ben Nevis, but there's many other things to do other than Nevis, Biking, canyoning, white water rafting (vertical Decents ) fab see website! Stay here you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Salsapembs 9 reviews from this member

My family & I stayed for two nights in a motorhome on our tour around Scotland during the Easter holidays. Wow, what a great location at the foot of Ben Nevis with breathtaking views & plenty of things to do in nearby Fort William! Having experienced a number of different caravan parks over the years we found this one would be one of the best overall. The site is spotlessly clean & well laid out with all the motorhome facilities you would need with friendly staff & very reasonably priced pitches. The shower block that we used was a little dated but clean & functional with plenty of hot water. A highly recommended site, one which we would definitely return to in the future. Thank-you Glen Nevis!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 11 reviews from this member

This is a outstanding site, and very good value for money. 3 nights x 2 adults £58. Wi-Fi on site is by private suppler. Very expensive. £5 for day. Via you debit card. Go to MacDonald's. Its free. Good toilet blocks. Good place to do the Ben Nevis climb. 10km round trip. 6-8 hr walk. The views from this site is spectacular, watching people climb Ben Nevis. There is a pub just off site for meals too. Yes we would revisit.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 5 reviews from this member

We booked this site for the location as we wanted to climb Ben Nevis, this site is much larger than I would normally book and very quickly I realised why I don't normally book this type of site. From the outset you are a number, in a large site like this common sense or customer preferences don't come into the equation. The weather in the lead up to our trip had been very wet so when our allocated pitch turned out to be over 50 meters of wet sodden ground leaving at least 10 hard standing pitches empty we were confused and very stupidly assumed that all the hard standing pitches had been booked - not so, whilst we squelched and dragged mud into the tent every day the hard standing pitches stood empty. It rained every day we were on site and by the end of the week it really began to annoy that the hard standing pitches were standing empty, a bit of thought by the owners could have saved a lot off trouble, but as I say when you go to these larger sites the small touches that make the difference are forgotten.

Overall the site was clean, toilets/shower block serviceable, but with such a large site the small things that make the difference were lacking.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dumplings7 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights here at Glen Nevis. What a great site very well maintained. The showers and toilet block were great even had music! If you have poor mobility it would be good to request a pitch near the toilet block in case you get a pitch over the back. The view of the mountains were fantastic and well done to all those walkers that go up them. The pub/ restaurant was within walking distance from the site and the food was good. Would like to stay here again!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kalle 1 review from this member

Having booked a Motor Home pitch and having to re book for a caravan due to the radiator leaking on our Motor Home for a caravan we had a phone call from our mechanic that the Motor Home was fixed. Well the camping and caravan site was not making any fuss and it was just 'yes no problem '

We stayed then for 2 nights 23rd to the 25th of August. We have to say what a pleasant surprise

Camping site clean and tidy Music in the toilets and showers. |Very nice an the stunning views.

We walked Ben Nevis, and the evening after we watched the walker coming down with their Torches.

All very nice. We had dinner in the cafe beag and is was very nice and the Price was right if not to say cheap.

All in all a very good experience we try and come back

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0566