Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: Mid March - Start Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 251 Reviews
              9/10 from 251 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (20)

Reviews:  251 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The_Happy_Campers 1 review from this member

This site is clean, tidy, great facilities. But beyond that, this site has the most spectacular views of the Ben on a clear day.

And even when shrouded in cloud you get the impression of the imposing peak from the rugged slopes that lead up to it.

Great restraint a few minutes walk from site and direct access to paths up the Ben and around its Lower slopes.

Also great base from which to visit the Glenfinnan Viaduct and watch the 'harry potter' train go past.

Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 51 reviews from this member

What an enjoyable two nights spent on this lovely site. The gravel pitches were good with lovely views and the shower blocks were fine, with plenty of hot water and good washing up and laundry facilities.

The restaurant was very busy but served excellent food, which was what was needed after a lovely cycle ride up the Caledonian Canal as far as Loch Lochy.

I should add that Fort William itself has great parking for motorhomes, at the south end of the town and also alongside Morrsions and the railway station.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GillOK 8 reviews from this member

9th site out of 11, touring Skye and the Outer Hebrides, seeing some more of Scotland before we go home. This site was the best we stayed at and the busiest. Ideally situated near the path to walk up Ben Nevis, weather permitting. We camped here over 24 years ago, in a tent. The site has grown and improved immensely since then (it wasn't bad back then, but has a wow factor now).

We stayed 2 nights, with the hope of walking up again, however, didn't as the cloud cover never cleared. We did have a look at the waterfalls and had a lovely walk into Fort William and the distillery. Wifi is available at an extra cost, but we didn't bother - the pub/restaurant has free wifi! Amenities block was brilliant, spotless and bright. Plenty of washing machines and dryers, and irons. Anyone who wants to walk up Ben Nevis, or just visit the Highlands, you must stay here, but best to book ahead as was very busy. They do have plenty of pitches to cater for all requirements. Good sized pitches, not too cramped. Even managed to sit out and enjoy some morning sun, before the clouds came back (I know the site can't do anything about the weather!) stunning views and the trees were starting to change colour, very autumnal. A bit costly, in comparison to other campsites, but worth it.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 12 reviews from this member

We hadn't really planned to stay on this site as we thought it might be too large and crowded - how wrong we were. Yes, the site is very large but it is divided into smaller sections, surrounded by high hedging, which gives a small site feel. There are sections for with reservations as well as sections for those who just turn up. Check in is easy and efficient. The pitches are level and a generous size and access is easy even for large units. The facilities are modern and well maintained and there are plenty of them. There is a good hot food van on site as well as a restaurant just next door. It is a bit of a hike into Fort William but there are loads of mountain walks directly from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AngelaPerry 4 reviews from this member

A lovely clean and spacious site, with beautiful views of the mountains on all sides. The pitch was hard standing, spacious and level. The toilets and showers were plentiful and several washing machines and tumble dryers were available.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Potherb123 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, even though its a big site it was very quiet at night. What stunning views, being based at the bottom of Ben Nevis and within walking distance of Fort William or you could catch a bus outside the site. Facilities were great, including the on site fish and chip van, very welcome. Great base for touring Scotlands 'must see' locations including Ben Nevis, the Jacobite Steam Train, Neptunes Staircase, Glencoe (to name but a few). Really enjoyed our stay, despite the weather being awful it didn't deter us from venturing out. A walkers paradise, even a walk up Ben Nevis within easy reach of site. Would definitely book on here again to explore more of Scotlands 'treasures'.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjesk 5 reviews from this member

Recently stayed here for one week and loved it, amazingly picturesque at the foot of Ben Nevis, great for walking and cycling. It rained a lot so the waterfalls were in full flow which was great. Site is quite large with a mix of vans and tents. It was very busy when we were there but everybody respected the peace and quiet rules. Shower blocks were good and clean considering the amount of people and weather. 1 bar restaurant within easy walking distance which we didn't try. Everything else is a short drive, bus or taxi away. Lack of varied take aways within the town but that's not too drastic. Staff could have been more helpful for us [wifes parents were joining us from south of England, we live in Ireland] we asked to be placed together or very near but they said it wasn't possible despite being lots of spaces available from when they arrived on the sunday [the day after us]. We will definitely come back and stay here.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 21 reviews from this member

My son and I stayed here three nights, to use it as a base for our climb up Ben Nevis. Having done some research beforehand, it appeared only minimum pitches were available for booking and all others were on a 'first come, first served' basis. We didn't think there'd be any problem, just rolling in and bagging a pitch. Wrong! Not being enthusiasts of the sport, we hadn't realised we'd hit bang on with some Mountain Bike Championship and all the world and his wife were wanting to stay on the site! However, the ladies in the reception were very willing to help, all depending on the size of units involved, waiting to get pitched. One of the ladies asked me to drive my campervan around to the front of the reception so she could look at it. Having eyed up my average-sized Fiat Ducato based Timberland, she said we could park up on a grassed area, for the night and, literally, watch for anyone vacating a pitch the next morning. Then going for it! We duly did, although a VW almost beat us to it! He drove onto the eyed-up pitch then made the grave mistake of leaving it to look elsewhere as my son and I hastly got 'van and gear onto it, only to have him drive round for a second time. Sorry! This site is great! I likened it to one of those, on the Continent that just has everything! We couldn't fault it, whatsoever. Having climbed the mighty Ben Nevis, it was a luxury to trail back to site and enjoy fish and chips from the takeaway 'van, run by three young, very organised, men. I loved the shower I had - hot, powerful and plenty space to spread/hang stuff, out of the way + the use of a free hairdryer. Having had trouble finding outlets for recycling during our travels; this site has it all - there isn't much which can't be recycled in their centre. We used the motorhome service point, as we departed, and it is of a more sensible design where there is a drive-over grate and gulley so waste water can be dropped straight down - far better than silly manholes that aren't always universal. I didn't get to check the disabled facilities but I know, from experience, that the little gravel on the hardstand pitches, will not cause problems for wheelchair users or carers. Yes, a definite thumbs-up for this site!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 11 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed a two night stay at this excellent site. The views are superb with direct access onto the Ben Nevis tourist route. The site is well maintained with a well stocked shop, restaurant and bar. The shower block was very clean if a little old fashioned but the cubicles were a decent size, the water drained away, there was a seat and hooks. What more do you need.

One tip - don't pay for wifi - it doesn't work very well and there is free wifi in the restaurant/bar.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Christie Annsuz 2 reviews from this member

Visited just recently and have been coming here for over 8 years now. Always well maintained, in a great location, toilet blocks looking a bit tired now however, very large site which has now probably lost its personal touch. Prices have also gone up and up with no changes been made that we can see for this - 25 for one night with ELU seemed a bit excessive. But for location if you are wanting to climb or walk it's ideal. Midges bad this time!

Previous     251 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938