Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
5m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 203 Reviews
              9/10 from 203 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  203 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bferori 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week's camping from this beautiful campsite. Set amidst most picturesque foothill, forests and river, it's a breath taking experience to wake up to the perfect mountain views.

Well stocked store on site selling gifts, toys, newspaper, can foods, bread, most interestingly eggs, onions, tomato in singles :) quite a handy idea as you are not forced to stock up whole packs! The smidge cream (6. 99) was impressively useful. It's strong pleasing fragrance kept those suckers at bay! However, the smidge situation was never as bad as we feared, which is great news to visitors!

Reasonably clean toilet blocks. However, have to mention during midday there was a toilet cleaning 'ritual' when the toilet blocks (both ladies and gents) are banned from use for good 20 mins. So all those rushers, be prepared to walk to the next available facility which could be few yards away. However the entire campsite has toilet, washup, laundry blocks spread across, so great walk if you enjoy.

It's bit silly, but haven't found anything to fault except the taps in sinks and the flush in the ladies toilets (only 2 flushing) out of the 7 or 8. The taps in dressing, sinks are push down style which can be awkward and frustrating to use especially in the washup area. Plenty hot water, almost boiling made it almost unable to use. But the water in showers were perfectly adjustable with ample space/ room to change even with 2 kids in.

All these are minor observations which can be easily sorted by the management. Can vouch nothing can match the tranquility of this campsite.

Breathtaking views, in and around, with weather stormy or gusty, gear up in right clothes and venture out, there's so much to do as claimed in the heart of the outdoor capital. Definitely coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MARJUJONES 2 reviews from this member

Nice site, lovely area. Big walks up very big mountains and shorter very pretty walks available.

Facilities ok and clean, never too busy.

Food and beer in restaurant excellent, tastes especially good when you have just completed walking up Ben Nevis from the site.

Midges not too much of a problem.

Didn't understand booking policy, as very reluctant to give us five night booking. We could book three nights and two nights consecutively but not five. Eventually site agreed to five nights but it was a struggle.

Would come again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: C ramsay 1 review from this member

Could not fault anything about site apart from gents toilets this is not a fault on glen nevis it is of peoples hygiene, you could not fault the rest of site, restaurant 10 out of 10 dog walk is good same as fortwilliam done walk up to falls excellent would recommend this if you like fishing Corpach pear or car park in fortwilliam

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheDawgs 15 reviews from this member

This is an extremely large and busy site, but the landscaping means it does not feel this way. The location is incredible with magnificent views of the mountains. Fort William is just down the road where there is cheap fuel, a McDonald’s, a Morrison’s and a Lidl (which we soon visited for bug spray). We were shown on a map where the tent pitching was, however we were given no advice as to where was best. This meant we visited the first area marked and picked a soggy pitch a little too close to a small stream. We soon realised our mistake, but by this point we were already pitched. We had a real problem with midges, but luckily the well-stocked on site shop sold Smidge (highly recommended!), Avon Skin So Soft and Citronella candles etc. A walk around the site proved there were many other areas that would have been better to pitch in, so a look around the site before putting up your tent is recommended. The site was busy with hikers, climbers etc and was just before a bike championship, even so, the facilities were never too busy. They were well equipped with sockets and free hairdryers. There are two dog walking areas; however we found one being cut when we visited and seemed to be unavailable due to this for most of the evening. The location of this site is its best asset and we found it to be a good stop off point for Fort William and travelling further into the highlands.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 48 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights when going to climb Ben Nevis. We hadn't booked and arrived late in the day, we were directed to chose a pitch in a couple of designated areas. By about 7pm, all of the non-booked pitches had filled up, so it's worth not arriving too late.

The site is large, yet it didn't seem it. It was quiet and didn't seem busy, even though it was. The facilities were dated, but clean.

The big plus point for this site is the location. Obviously very good for Ben Nevis, but also the Glen is beautiful and has some excellent walking. There are a couple of pubs within walking distance from the site. Fort William is 5 minutes drive away.

I wasn't sure about the site when arriving because of the size, but it wasn't a problem and I'd happily stay here again and look forward to walking more of the Glen.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Merfi 3 reviews from this member

This is a large well laid out site, quite soulless in many ways! Seperate areas for tents, pre-booked caravans, and those who just turn up. Van sites are all hard standing with plenty room so you are not to near your neighbours.

Toilet amenities are spotlessly clean, bit dated but that is no problem. Showers have good water pressure and are warm, which is a bonus if you have had a cold wet day in the hills. Laundry facilities are excellent and not overpriced, but do think a Drying Room facility for the campers would be a good idea.

The staff were friendly and efficient on booking in, and there is a shop on site which is more than a tad expensive but a godsend if you forget something as it is quite well stocked.

Fort William itself is looking rather tired with a lot of empty shops, but has the usual Supermarkets ( Boy di I dislike them, they are the reason for a lot of the empty shops, I'm sure)

Plenty of walking in the area, and if you do not want to climb all the way up the Ben, it is nice to do a bit of it. Good forest walks behind site and also good for cycling as it is part of the Highland Way. If not wishing to cycle up and down hills the canal path is a good option.

Also do not miss a trip to Mallaig either by car or the steam train, the views are something else.

Restaurant next to Site does excellent meals, not to expensive if you eat in the Bar and very good portions.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garthomas1 4 reviews from this member

We selected the Glen Nevis site due to its close proximity to 'The Ben' which enabled us a day of climbing without having to drive to the base of the mountain. The location is just perfect with the town of Fort William a 30-45 minute walk or a short taxi drive away. Fort William has all the local amenities you will need including a Morrisions, a range of pubs/restaurants and high street stores.

The campsite itself is well appointed, clean and tidy with the shower and toilet blocks clean and tidy.

Not sure that we would return to this particular site as we have now ticked Ben Nevis off of the list but for first timers I would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattthetraindriver 10 reviews from this member

GREAT SITE! GREAT LOCATION!GREAT STAY!

This site is huge but it's not got a big site feel or noise, it's Laid back and quite all they have to do is to discourage groups as there was a group of 50 something wanna be's who thought they were gods gift to camping and walking! Yeh right! But on the whole it was families and backpackers and one nighters tripping around, grass areas cut and soft ground a plus.

Showers etc are clean and not state of the art but clean and tidy well maintained and are tap worked and plenty of hot water instead of push button, there's a butty van just started up £2 for egg un sausage etc but we didn't use it coz we left. Great views and location and the weather was kind so made it an amazing location with the views. Walked Ben Nevis right outside the site from the youth hostel a big more steeper but cut the time down. The Ben Nevis Inn and bunkhouse is a walk upto the visitors centre and across the bridge and down the river and then you can see the pub, good food slightly dear but plenty filling and not much variety on the beer front 2 bitter 2 lagers. Would stay hear again if I was walking Ben Nevis, but there's many other things to do other than Nevis, Biking, canyoning, white water rafting (vertical Decents ) fab see website! Stay here you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Salsapembs 9 reviews from this member

My family & I stayed for two nights in a motorhome on our tour around Scotland during the Easter holidays. Wow, what a great location at the foot of Ben Nevis with breathtaking views & plenty of things to do in nearby Fort William! Having experienced a number of different caravan parks over the years we found this one would be one of the best overall. The site is spotlessly clean & well laid out with all the motorhome facilities you would need with friendly staff & very reasonably priced pitches. The shower block that we used was a little dated but clean & functional with plenty of hot water. A highly recommended site, one which we would definitely return to in the future. Thank-you Glen Nevis!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 16 reviews from this member

This is a outstanding site, and very good value for money. 3 nights x 2 adults £58. Wi-Fi on site is by private suppler. Very expensive. £5 for day. Via you debit card. Go to MacDonald's. Its free. Good toilet blocks. Good place to do the Ben Nevis climb. 10km round trip. 6-8 hr walk. The views from this site is spectacular, watching people climb Ben Nevis. There is a pub just off site for meals too. Yes we would revisit.

Previous     203 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth £124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3919 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0520