Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
5m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 193 Reviews
              9/10 from 193 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  193 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 5 reviews from this member

This is a outstanding site, and very good value for money. 3 nights x 2 adults 58. Wi-Fi on site is by private suppler. Very expensive. 5 for day. Via you debit card. Go to MacDonald's. Its free. Good toilet blocks. Good place to do the Ben Nevis climb. 10km round trip. 6-8 hr walk. The views from this site is spectacular, watching people climb Ben Nevis. There is a pub just off site for meals too. Yes we would revisit.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yappieannie 3 reviews from this member

We booked this site for the location as we wanted to climb Ben Nevis, this site is much larger than I would normally book and very quickly I realised why I don't normally book this type of site. From the outset you are a number, in a large site like this common sense or customer preferences don't come into the equation. The weather in the lead up to our trip had been very wet so when our allocated pitch turned out to be over 50 meters of wet sodden ground leaving at least 10 hard standing pitches empty we were confused and very stupidly assumed that all the hard standing pitches had been booked - not so, whilst we squelched and dragged mud into the tent every day the hard standing pitches stood empty. It rained every day we were on site and by the end of the week it really began to annoy that the hard standing pitches were standing empty, a bit of thought by the owners could have saved a lot off trouble, but as I say when you go to these larger sites the small touches that make the difference are forgotten.

Overall the site was clean, toilets/shower block serviceable, but with such a large site the small things that make the difference were lacking.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dumplings7 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights here at Glen Nevis. What a great site very well maintained. The showers and toilet block were great even had music! If you have poor mobility it would be good to request a pitch near the toilet block in case you get a pitch over the back. The view of the mountains were fantastic and well done to all those walkers that go up them. The pub/ restaurant was within walking distance from the site and the food was good. Would like to stay here again!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kalle 1 review from this member

Having booked a Motor Home pitch and having to re book for a caravan due to the radiator leaking on our Motor Home for a caravan we had a phone call from our mechanic that the Motor Home was fixed. Well the camping and caravan site was not making any fuss and it was just 'yes no problem '

We stayed then for 2 nights 23rd to the 25th of August. We have to say what a pleasant surprise

Camping site clean and tidy Music in the toilets and showers. |Very nice an the stunning views.

We walked Ben Nevis, and the evening after we watched the walker coming down with their Torches.

All very nice. We had dinner in the cafe beag and is was very nice and the Price was right if not to say cheap.

All in all a very good experience we try and come back

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alaine graham 5 reviews from this member

This was our 8th visit to the site and its always its a pleasure to go there. Staff very pleasant, easy check in and very spacious pitches for van, awning and car. They also have a good dog walk.

The toilet shower blocks were always clean considering the numbers of climbers and walkers who use the facilities at the end of a long trek. We didn't use the restaurant next door as the weather was really hot and we didn't feel like eating much. We did use the wee take away van on site at night and my hubby enjoyed his haggis supper.

Its great watching climbers go up and down Ben Nevis and we met a few more people who got their certificates from reception for doing the climb. We even met a couple who had got engaged at the summit.

Close by is Neptunes staircase where you can see boats go up and down the canal and even grab a beer at the Hotel beside it and sit in the beer garden or let kids play in the park. They allow dogs in the garden which was a bonus as it was too hot to leave them in car.

We went to local Morrisons to get some shopping. What a horrid shop with poor stock availability on even the basics of food like bread and bottled water. There is also a LIDL next to Morrisons but havent used it. Mcdonalds and Brewers Fayre and bowling alley in same vicinity as supermarkets.

Hope to return to Glen Nevis soon. Shame it doesn't open through the winter !

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gayle6 7 reviews from this member

We used this site as a convenient half way point stop over on our way to Skye. Wasn't expecting much as we had camped here with a tent years ago and were not impressed but what a difference in a touring caravan! We had pre booked, something I wont be doing again as you are stuck in an area without any nearby toilet block.

We had some rowdy blokes camped beside us, drinking in their awning which is fair enough but when you have two young kids and guys are urinating outside at the back of their van its not on. The night warden sorted them out and even refunded our nights stay which was totally unexpected but very welcome.

This is why we decided to stop over again, without booking on our way south. We were sent to a lovely area, Nevis field if I remember correctly and allowed to just pick a pitch that's empty.

We used the toilet block for the first time on this visit and found it to be spotless with really friendly staff.

It is a beautiful area with Ben Nevis on the doorstep and all of stunning Lochaber to explore. It is on the more expensive side but as long as you are getting a good customer service I think it's worth it. I'm glad we returned and will use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ashleyt 2 reviews from this member

This is a stunning well maintained site with spectacular views of Ben Nevis. Small shop on site at reception (quite expensive) was handy for bits and pieces but would really recommend you stock up at the local Morrisons supermarket in Fort William town. The staff at the site are very friendly and helpful and when we mentioned our fridge did not seem cold enough they were over with a new one straight away. The site is about half a mile away from the tourer site and in between the two there is a couple of restaurants which we found to be excellent. The caravans on this site are of an older design and age but this did not bother us as they are so clean and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The towels provided were lovely and I thought the shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom was a nice touch. On arrival we also had a fresh jug of milk ready in the fridge along with t bags coffee and biscuits. They also provide a folder with lots of useful information along with a voucher for the restaurant. All in all this is a relaxing and very pretty site and we will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ravelin 10 reviews from this member

Although I've had a couple of 1 or 2 night stays here before, this was the longest at 5 nights and with my family for the first time.

The site is a few miles outside Fort William (not my favorite town but it has all the facilities you need) along Glen Nevis. The site is huge, but so well spread out that even when it's 'busy' it never feels at all crowded. There are a number of wash blocks around the site and each one I've been in has been warm, clean and functional. There's a kids play park with a few climbing frames etc but due to the size of the site it's quite a distance from some of the pitches. There's also a dog walk area, but there's also plenty of walks direct from the site too.

In the surrounding areas there's plenty to do, from a trip up the Gondola on Aonach Mor, Neptunes Staircase (canal locks) or trips a little further afield to Loch Ness or Mallaig. Of course if you are feeling energetic there's plenty of hills to climb or the mountain bike trails at Nevis Range. If like us however you get unusually lucky and it's absolutely scorching then the option of lazing around the site surrounded by the mountains watching others sweat their way up and down Ben Nevis is maybe more appealing.

Despite trying, I find it difficult to find a reason to knock any stars off, so a rare 10 from me.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankies family 10 reviews from this member

Our 4th stop touring Scotland and most definitely the most stunning location we have ever stayed at: being at the foot of glen nevis and also the start of the mountain track for the Ben nevis climb.

Fabulous, flat site, friendly staff, an excellent on site shop and a pub/ restaurant within close walking distance that did great food which we sampled twice. Nice clean loos etc. We caravanned but I would be happy to camp there too.

Fort William centre within easy walk/cycle distance (1. 5 mile each way) which has everything and continues the stunning views.

We even managed the Ben Nevis climb with kids aged 10 and 7 years ( it did take 10 hours) but so worth the effort but be prepared and start early and pick a good day it's a long haul and cold if the weather turns.

Gorge walk to the waterfall also worthwhile but be prepared with midge repellent!

Small on site park but our kids didn't even have time to use it!

Couldn't think of a better site to recommend to anyone. Enjoy!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katbonn 2 reviews from this member

Last week we visited. We camped there purely to climb Ben Nevis on the mountain track route minutes walk away. I was expecting site to be cramped full of tents and caravans for the popular location. But was very surprised. Its an enormous campsite loads of space. Tents and caravans are in different fields. I have to say I've been to quite a few campsites and based on facilities and views this is the best I've been to. The toilets (females) were very large and had 2 showers. Very modern blocks. And because there were 3/4 toilet blocks on the site it meant that the toilets were never busy. And the showers are free!

The reception staff also ran the shop in room next door. But there was always staff there and were always very friendly. We stayed a few days. The small shop was stocked with everything you could need plus more. The prices were very fair. There was a hotdog stand near reception that ran most days and open till very late. Plus a restaurant a few mins walk away although we never went in. A very clean campsite. We would of stayed longer but it was quite expensive to stay for a week. 18 total a night based on a small tent non hook up 2 persons. But despite price would I come back. Yes I would.

Previous     193 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5671 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508