Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: Mid March - Start Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 239 Reviews
              9/10 from 239 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (20)

Reviews:  239 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SkyBlueCloud 4 reviews from this member

I found this campsite ok as a stop over but expensive for what you get for your money, the shower and toilet block was clean but could do with a updated, some parts of the field are like a swamp as I found out after waking my dog in the dark, and if you find a size 9 shoe in the top fielded it is mine LOL

So in my opinion yes I would go back but it would be my last choice not my first choice

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 18 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd visit as stayed twice last year, fab site, large but plenty of space, facilities are dated but very clean and warm with proper taps in the showers so no dreaded push buttons or being boiled/frozen. Ate in the restaurant both nights and food was very good. Had bikes so cycled alongside the caladonian canal up to the lighthouse where we sat and made coffee in utter peace with just the most amazing views up the glen. You can get a cab into fort Willian (approx £7 each way) as there is a fab choice of restaurants/bars. Will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicholls4 1 review from this member

Love this campsite! Stayed 7 nights with a view of Ben Nevis. Very busy but still plenty of room to pitch your tent where you want. Showers had constant hot water. Toilets and showers regularly cleaned. Very handy to have a dog exercise area next to the site. Small shop on the site that sells food and some camping equipment. Van on the site sells hot breakfasts 8-10am and fish and chips 8-10mm (weren't the best but ok).

Downside were the biting midges but they do sell items at the shop to help try and the midges at bay.

Would love to stay here again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fay Fife 14 reviews from this member

We stayed at Glen Nevis for 5 nights during a week of rare blazing sunshine. The views from the site are breathtaking while the site itself is really attractive and sympathetic to its surroundings.

We had pre-booked an electric pitch a few weeks ahead but owing to previous bad weather, the ground on the pitch we were allocated was so wet and muddy as to be unusable.

We asked for a move and were directed to the middle of the Spruce field where electric pitches are available on a first come, first served, pitch where you like basis, rather than to another allocated pitch but we found an acceptable spot to pitch in eventually and the ground was really good.

The rest of the site, which is very large, seemed to be in similar good condition, while the facilities are decent, spacious and plentiful. Showers were busy throughout the day but queuing was minimal so not a problem.

As a parent to younglings, I have to mention that the kids' play area was rather dismal, tucked away in a dark boggy corner. Our kids didn't want to hang out there at all. I understand a play area is low in priority for many campers but parents do appreciate a well thought out and appealing place for kids to go. This one is neither unfortunately.

We bought hot food from the on-site snack van one night and found it to be decent grub with prices in keeping with your average chippy. The shop stocked all sorts of handy stuff as well as some food and drink. The prices were hiked of course, but no steeper than any other campsite shop we've been in.

We had a fantastic time in the area climbing Ben Nevis, exploring Glen Nevis and Steall Falls and going up Aonach Mor in the gondola as well as taking other wonderful walks. The unusually favourable weather did help a good holiday become a truly memorable one but we would return to Glen Nevis campsite rain or shine. It had a nice vibe overall which was unexpected at such a large site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 21 reviews from this member

Our first camping family holiday in Scotland and we came across this site and stayed for ten days. This large busy site stretches out in the glen with the backdrop of Ben Nevis and rolling hills, the only way to describe it is WOW!

We arrived without booking and they found us room for our large tent with 10A EHU which considering how busy they were was wonderful. The site has different fields depending on what type of unit you are in with much of the site not limited to pitch.

There are plenty of water points and bins and for those wanting to recycle an excellent bay to do so in. The facilities could do with updating more so in the non electric camping field but the showers were hot (you did sometimes have to have a short wait) and everything was always clean.

A lovely play area for the kids which in places was a bit boggy but considering the amount of rain that fell the sire on the whole drained really well.

An on site shop which was a tad on the expensive side but as you are near to Fort William not an issue. The site also has a laundry room with washers and dryers, we weren't impressed with the washing machines. There are also free to use irons and a place for non EHU to charge there phones (a nice idea).

Certainly for tents many campers seemed to stay only a few days and move on the ones we spoke to used it as a base to climb Ben Nevis, which is very accessible from the site.

Value for money we felt it was a bit on the expensive side at nearly £30 a night but guessing for a few nights it would appear ok.

As it's Scotland will mention midges and yes there were some but not a major issue on site.

Would we recommend, yes.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baz1951 13 reviews from this member

Although 2 miles from Fort William the site is in a good location if you wish to visit the Glen Nevis Visitor Centre. Very good facilities including a very well stocked shop. Staff very helpful and friendly

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 60 reviews from this member

We stayed here in our motorhome for four nights in July 2016.

As others have said, it is a huge site catering for all manner of tents, caravans & motorhomes [as well as having a few “pods”] and we concur with all the other comments about reception, shop, shower blocks etc. Being of the highest order.

Whilst huge, the site was very compartmentalized and each area was distinctly separate from the others so you never felt overcrowded.

The main reason for us using this site was as a base for doing the second part of our own 2016 National Three Peaks Challenge [in 24 weeks – not 24 hours!] and being able to access the main footpath for Ben Nevis directly from the site. This was successfully achieved, ascending from the Visitors Centre [about 400m away from site] and descending & completing the walk by way of the Youth Hostel path. It was extremely tiring but we completed it in 8 hours in pretty dire weather near the summit. Needless to say we didn’t do much for a couple of days afterwards!

There is a site WiFi connection that has to be paid for, but the Glen Nevis Café & Restaurant has free “open access” internet connection which was ideal whilst supping a few pints of Highlander!

It isn’t a site that we would normally use [we don’t really need all the “facilities” as we have most of them in our motorhome], but it is ideally located for the Ben Nevis climb.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper Fred 2 reviews from this member

We camped at Glen Nevis in the rain. I haven't camped for many years and the rain did stretch me a little. On arrival we found all the staff very helpful. The site looked clean and tidy. Clear and helpful instructions were given and we pitched our tent quickly. The facilities on the site was spotless. With adequate showers and toilets. The showers had lovely hot water and whilst I showered early I didn't see any queues. There were blowers for hair drying. The washing up area was clean and I did see staff cleaning the area. We visited the very reasonable priced and well stocked shop and loved the hot food van which enabled us to have a sausage cob in the morning. There was a pub/ restaurant 500 metres away with free Wifi which we liked.

Thank you to Glen Nevis for a nice but wet return to camping.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 3 reviews from this member

My initial thought when arriving was how far away it was from Ft. William. About 2 miles (maybe 40 minutes walk) - too far to stroll into to town for an evening meal.

However it is a really nice site with all the facilities perfectly adequate - never had to queue for toilets or showers. And it's right at the foot of Ben Nevis with the main route up starting a few hundred yards away. During a nighttime comfort break I was amazed to see the distant glow of head torches at 2am descending the mountain!

Even if you don't fancy a mountain walk, there are lower level options available. Just ask at the visitor centre.

For food options there is the on site shop, a burger van, and a bar/restaurant about 100 yards from the site. I was a bit underwhelmed with the bar area. I guess it does need to be a family diner but they could spruce it up a bit! Having said that, the food in the restaurant was excellent. This is also your only wi-fi area, although my phone signal was strong enough for data roaming in the van.

There's also the Ben Nevis Inn about a mile away, although that is quite exposed - so wear good shoes and take a brolly if you're not confident about the weather. And a torch.

Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 37 reviews from this member

The large site is divided into a number of sections, some of which are reserved for pre-booked visitors. There is shrubbery between the sections but not between individual pitches. Having said that, the pitches are of a good size and you don’t feel crowded in.

Toilets and showers are good and clean most of the time, despite this being a busy site. However, some campers failed to clean or remove their hiking boots before entering the building, thus leaving grass and mud on the floors and in the shower cubicles.

The on-site shop was well-stocked with reasonable prices and a hot-food van provided good take-away breakfasts and ‘dinners’, including deep-fried haggis. Just outside the site is an hotel with restaurant but as the latter doesn’t accept dogs we couldn’t use it.

Very convenient for country walks even if you’re not up to ascending Ben Nevis via the nearby trail to the top. Definitely a site we would recommend.

Previous     239 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to the Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1309