Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: Mid March - Start Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (20)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjesk 5 reviews from this member

Recently stayed here for one week and loved it, amazingly picturesque at the foot of Ben Nevis, great for walking and cycling. It rained a lot so the waterfalls were in full flow which was great. Site is quite large with a mix of vans and tents. It was very busy when we were there but everybody respected the peace and quiet rules. Shower blocks were good and clean considering the amount of people and weather. 1 bar restaurant within easy walking distance which we didn't try. Everything else is a short drive, bus or taxi away. Lack of varied take aways within the town but that's not too drastic. Staff could have been more helpful for us [wifes parents were joining us from south of England, we live in Ireland] we asked to be placed together or very near but they said it wasn't possible despite being lots of spaces available from when they arrived on the sunday [the day after us]. We will definitely come back and stay here.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 21 reviews from this member

My son and I stayed here three nights, to use it as a base for our climb up Ben Nevis. Having done some research beforehand, it appeared only minimum pitches were available for booking and all others were on a 'first come, first served' basis. We didn't think there'd be any problem, just rolling in and bagging a pitch. Wrong! Not being enthusiasts of the sport, we hadn't realised we'd hit bang on with some Mountain Bike Championship and all the world and his wife were wanting to stay on the site! However, the ladies in the reception were very willing to help, all depending on the size of units involved, waiting to get pitched. One of the ladies asked me to drive my campervan around to the front of the reception so she could look at it. Having eyed up my average-sized Fiat Ducato based Timberland, she said we could park up on a grassed area, for the night and, literally, watch for anyone vacating a pitch the next morning. Then going for it! We duly did, although a VW almost beat us to it! He drove onto the eyed-up pitch then made the grave mistake of leaving it to look elsewhere as my son and I hastly got 'van and gear onto it, only to have him drive round for a second time. Sorry! This site is great! I likened it to one of those, on the Continent that just has everything! We couldn't fault it, whatsoever. Having climbed the mighty Ben Nevis, it was a luxury to trail back to site and enjoy fish and chips from the takeaway 'van, run by three young, very organised, men. I loved the shower I had - hot, powerful and plenty space to spread/hang stuff, out of the way + the use of a free hairdryer. Having had trouble finding outlets for recycling during our travels; this site has it all - there isn't much which can't be recycled in their centre. We used the motorhome service point, as we departed, and it is of a more sensible design where there is a drive-over grate and gulley so waste water can be dropped straight down - far better than silly manholes that aren't always universal. I didn't get to check the disabled facilities but I know, from experience, that the little gravel on the hardstand pitches, will not cause problems for wheelchair users or carers. Yes, a definite thumbs-up for this site!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 5 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed a two night stay at this excellent site. The views are superb with direct access onto the Ben Nevis tourist route. The site is well maintained with a well stocked shop, restaurant and bar. The shower block was very clean if a little old fashioned but the cubicles were a decent size, the water drained away, there was a seat and hooks. What more do you need.

One tip - don't pay for wifi - it doesn't work very well and there is free wifi in the restaurant/bar.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Christie Annsuz 2 reviews from this member

Visited just recently and have been coming here for over 8 years now. Always well maintained, in a great location, toilet blocks looking a bit tired now however, very large site which has now probably lost its personal touch. Prices have also gone up and up with no changes been made that we can see for this - 25 for one night with ELU seemed a bit excessive. But for location if you are wanting to climb or walk it's ideal. Midges bad this time!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indyxe 3 reviews from this member

Stayed one night as a base to climb Ben Nevis, site was quiet as it was just after the Easter school holidays, you can choose to pitch your tent anywhere, I was just on my own which was 11. 50 if I had a family of 4 it could have got pricey (circa 30).

Toilets and showers were clean with hot water, Restaurant and Bar were Handy and the food was delicious, Beer was priced reasonably.

Didn't use any other facilities on site so cant really comment but I believe there is a small shop and Laundry.

Excellent base for Ben Nevis and the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 38 reviews from this member

I have stayed on this site before and was not disappointed. Toilet facilities are good. Laundry facilities are very expensive as normal on this site.

The views of Ben Nevis are Outstanding. Leave your car and have a walk along the river bank. Wheel chair friendly just bee refurbished.

Off site restaurant (500yds)offers free WiFi. But will. Cost you a meal or drink.

25 a night. Dogs free. Buy 3 nights get 1 extra free night.

Good shop on site. With news papers. Geared up to offer more when season gets under way.

Will definitely return as usual.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SkyBlueCloud 4 reviews from this member

I found this campsite ok as a stop over but expensive for what you get for your money, the shower and toilet block was clean but could do with a updated, some parts of the field are like a swamp as I found out after waking my dog in the dark, and if you find a size 9 shoe in the top fielded it is mine LOL

So in my opinion yes I would go back but it would be my last choice not my first choice

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

This is our 3rd visit as stayed twice last year, fab site, large but plenty of space, facilities are dated but very clean and warm with proper taps in the showers so no dreaded push buttons or being boiled/frozen. Ate in the restaurant both nights and food was very good. Had bikes so cycled alongside the caladonian canal up to the lighthouse where we sat and made coffee in utter peace with just the most amazing views up the glen. You can get a cab into fort Willian (approx 7 each way) as there is a fab choice of restaurants/bars. Will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicholls4 1 review from this member

Love this campsite! Stayed 7 nights with a view of Ben Nevis. Very busy but still plenty of room to pitch your tent where you want. Showers had constant hot water. Toilets and showers regularly cleaned. Very handy to have a dog exercise area next to the site. Small shop on the site that sells food and some camping equipment. Van on the site sells hot breakfasts 8-10am and fish and chips 8-10mm (weren't the best but ok).

Downside were the biting midges but they do sell items at the shop to help try and the midges at bay.

Would love to stay here again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fay Fife 14 reviews from this member

We stayed at Glen Nevis for 5 nights during a week of rare blazing sunshine. The views from the site are breathtaking while the site itself is really attractive and sympathetic to its surroundings.

We had pre-booked an electric pitch a few weeks ahead but owing to previous bad weather, the ground on the pitch we were allocated was so wet and muddy as to be unusable.

We asked for a move and were directed to the middle of the Spruce field where electric pitches are available on a first come, first served, pitch where you like basis, rather than to another allocated pitch but we found an acceptable spot to pitch in eventually and the ground was really good.

The rest of the site, which is very large, seemed to be in similar good condition, while the facilities are decent, spacious and plentiful. Showers were busy throughout the day but queuing was minimal so not a problem.

As a parent to younglings, I have to mention that the kids' play area was rather dismal, tucked away in a dark boggy corner. Our kids didn't want to hang out there at all. I understand a play area is low in priority for many campers but parents do appreciate a well thought out and appealing place for kids to go. This one is neither unfortunately.

We bought hot food from the on-site snack van one night and found it to be decent grub with prices in keeping with your average chippy. The shop stocked all sorts of handy stuff as well as some food and drink. The prices were hiked of course, but no steeper than any other campsite shop we've been in.

We had a fantastic time in the area climbing Ben Nevis, exploring Glen Nevis and Steall Falls and going up Aonach Mor in the gondola as well as taking other wonderful walks. The unusually favourable weather did help a good holiday become a truly memorable one but we would return to Glen Nevis campsite rain or shine. It had a nice vibe overall which was unexpected at such a large site.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4465 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0967