Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
5m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
              9/10 from 207 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Galdeb69 7 reviews from this member

A lovely large site with plenty of pitchs and fab views of Ben Nevis and surrounding hills.

Plenty of toilets and all very clean, only downside is the on site shop which is very, very expensive, seriously don't use it unless you have to, everything is well over 50% dearer then the local supermarket, it really leaves you feeling ripped off, and who knows what the many foreign visitors must feel about it. The local supermarket in Fort William is 2 miles away.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyja 52 reviews from this member

Love this site. Stayed lots of times. Love it. Very large, no need to book. Very well kept site. Just over 2 miles to Fort William. Morrisons store there, open 7 days at 8am. Friendly staff. Toilet and shower block very clean. Cleaned every day. Shower stalls large, cold and hot water taps to adjust showers. £ 39. 60 For 2 nights, pick your pitch, hard standing. Small stream runs through the site, my dog loves it. Burger van on site. Good chip shop in Fort William. Barrier closes at 11pm at night. We took a run to Fort Augustus and watched the boats going through the lock. Will return to this site again, one of my favourites.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bferori 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week's camping from this beautiful campsite. Set amidst most picturesque foothill, forests and river, it's a breath taking experience to wake up to the perfect mountain views.

Well stocked store on site selling gifts, toys, newspaper, can foods, bread, most interestingly eggs, onions, tomato in singles :) quite a handy idea as you are not forced to stock up whole packs! The smidge cream (6. 99) was impressively useful. It's strong pleasing fragrance kept those suckers at bay! However, the smidge situation was never as bad as we feared, which is great news to visitors!

Reasonably clean toilet blocks. However, have to mention during midday there was a toilet cleaning 'ritual' when the toilet blocks (both ladies and gents) are banned from use for good 20 mins. So all those rushers, be prepared to walk to the next available facility which could be few yards away. However the entire campsite has toilet, washup, laundry blocks spread across, so great walk if you enjoy.

It's bit silly, but haven't found anything to fault except the taps in sinks and the flush in the ladies toilets (only 2 flushing) out of the 7 or 8. The taps in dressing, sinks are push down style which can be awkward and frustrating to use especially in the washup area. Plenty hot water, almost boiling made it almost unable to use. But the water in showers were perfectly adjustable with ample space/ room to change even with 2 kids in.

All these are minor observations which can be easily sorted by the management. Can vouch nothing can match the tranquility of this campsite.

Breathtaking views, in and around, with weather stormy or gusty, gear up in right clothes and venture out, there's so much to do as claimed in the heart of the outdoor capital. Definitely coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MARJUJONES 2 reviews from this member

Nice site, lovely area. Big walks up very big mountains and shorter very pretty walks available.

Facilities ok and clean, never too busy.

Food and beer in restaurant excellent, tastes especially good when you have just completed walking up Ben Nevis from the site.

Midges not too much of a problem.

Didn't understand booking policy, as very reluctant to give us five night booking. We could book three nights and two nights consecutively but not five. Eventually site agreed to five nights but it was a struggle.

Would come again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: C ramsay 1 review from this member

Could not fault anything about site apart from gents toilets this is not a fault on glen nevis it is of peoples hygiene, you could not fault the rest of site, restaurant 10 out of 10 dog walk is good same as fortwilliam done walk up to falls excellent would recommend this if you like fishing Corpach pear or car park in fortwilliam

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S4msb4gs 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here twice whilst climbing Ben Nevis in 2011 and then this year 2014, clean, friendly and great food at the restaurant. Would highly recommend and will no doubt be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheDawgs 15 reviews from this member

This is an extremely large and busy site, but the landscaping means it does not feel this way. The location is incredible with magnificent views of the mountains. Fort William is just down the road where there is cheap fuel, a McDonald’s, a Morrison’s and a Lidl (which we soon visited for bug spray). We were shown on a map where the tent pitching was, however we were given no advice as to where was best. This meant we visited the first area marked and picked a soggy pitch a little too close to a small stream. We soon realised our mistake, but by this point we were already pitched. We had a real problem with midges, but luckily the well-stocked on site shop sold Smidge (highly recommended!), Avon Skin So Soft and Citronella candles etc. A walk around the site proved there were many other areas that would have been better to pitch in, so a look around the site before putting up your tent is recommended. The site was busy with hikers, climbers etc and was just before a bike championship, even so, the facilities were never too busy. They were well equipped with sockets and free hairdryers. There are two dog walking areas; however we found one being cut when we visited and seemed to be unavailable due to this for most of the evening. The location of this site is its best asset and we found it to be a good stop off point for Fort William and travelling further into the highlands.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 50 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights when going to climb Ben Nevis. We hadn't booked and arrived late in the day, we were directed to chose a pitch in a couple of designated areas. By about 7pm, all of the non-booked pitches had filled up, so it's worth not arriving too late.

The site is large, yet it didn't seem it. It was quiet and didn't seem busy, even though it was. The facilities were dated, but clean.

The big plus point for this site is the location. Obviously very good for Ben Nevis, but also the Glen is beautiful and has some excellent walking. There are a couple of pubs within walking distance from the site. Fort William is 5 minutes drive away.

I wasn't sure about the site when arriving because of the size, but it wasn't a problem and I'd happily stay here again and look forward to walking more of the Glen.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Merfi 3 reviews from this member

This is a large well laid out site, quite soulless in many ways! Seperate areas for tents, pre-booked caravans, and those who just turn up. Van sites are all hard standing with plenty room so you are not to near your neighbours.

Toilet amenities are spotlessly clean, bit dated but that is no problem. Showers have good water pressure and are warm, which is a bonus if you have had a cold wet day in the hills. Laundry facilities are excellent and not overpriced, but do think a Drying Room facility for the campers would be a good idea.

The staff were friendly and efficient on booking in, and there is a shop on site which is more than a tad expensive but a godsend if you forget something as it is quite well stocked.

Fort William itself is looking rather tired with a lot of empty shops, but has the usual Supermarkets ( Boy di I dislike them, they are the reason for a lot of the empty shops, I'm sure)

Plenty of walking in the area, and if you do not want to climb all the way up the Ben, it is nice to do a bit of it. Good forest walks behind site and also good for cycling as it is part of the Highland Way. If not wishing to cycle up and down hills the canal path is a good option.

Also do not miss a trip to Mallaig either by car or the steam train, the views are something else.

Restaurant next to Site does excellent meals, not to expensive if you eat in the Bar and very good portions.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garthomas1 4 reviews from this member

We selected the Glen Nevis site due to its close proximity to 'The Ben' which enabled us a day of climbing without having to drive to the base of the mountain. The location is just perfect with the town of Fort William a 30-45 minute walk or a short taxi drive away. Fort William has all the local amenities you will need including a Morrisions, a range of pubs/restaurants and high street stores.

The campsite itself is well appointed, clean and tidy with the shower and toilet blocks clean and tidy.

Not sure that we would return to this particular site as we have now ticked Ben Nevis off of the list but for first timers I would definitely recommend.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4539 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547