Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: Mid March - Start Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 228 Reviews
              9/10 from 228 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16)

Reviews:  228 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DJSH 1 review from this member

We stayed on the campsite for four nights with our tent in June 2016. We stayed on a non-electric tent pitch quite close to the main shower and toilet block. The campsite covers quite a large area but is well laid out into sections separated with bush and trees. The whole site is absolutely stunning and is surrounded with fantastic views of mountains. There are numerous walking and cycling paths all over the area.

The weather was really hot and sunny and the campsite was pretty much at full capacity however this did not appear to affect the high standards of the site and it was very quiet overnight. There is a reception area and well stocked shop which is opened until 9pm and there is also a food van on site which is very good. At the end of the site is a restaurant and bar which has a high standard of usual pub meals with staff very welcoming.

The showers and toilet facilities are very clean despite being very busy and the size of the shower and toilet block is very large and spacious. You can also purchase wifi for the site and you can also access free wifi when inside the restaurant. Reception also has additional services such as freezing your ice blocks and you can also hire portable battery chargers or get staff reception to charge up your phone.

To conclude, this was probably one of the best campsites I have ever stayed at and I will be returning again for many years to come.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 15 reviews from this member

We were staying on a non-EHU pitch so on arrival were were given a map with certain fields highlighted and we could pitch where we liked. After a drive around we opted for Forest Paddock - a longer walk to the toilet block and we had to carry our kit from an adjacent parking area, but quiet and with a lot of space. It was on a bit of a slope and a bit stony for the pegs, but then it is in the mountains, so that was to be expected.

As has been said in previous reviews this is a huge site. But it has been cleverly laid out over different fields with hedges and trees so it doesn't feel that big. It also seems to be very well run. There isn't the personal service of a smaller site, but everything is clean and tidy, no litter, clean toilet blocks and ample hot water, showers and washing up sinks. It was also completely quiet from about 10pm each evening. There is a shop, kids play area, laundry and breakfast van. We did go and look at the restaurant on the first night but it was more expensive than we wanted to pay (about 10 for a main course - not extortionate but we were on a budget). Fort William is only a 5 minute drive away and has a Tesco and various takeways though.

A recommended trip out is the Nevis Range Gondola - if you don't fancy the hike up Ben Nevis this gets you high enough up in the hills for a decent view. There are a couple of viewpoints from the top and a cafe.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allan5455 1 review from this member

Our second visit to this site, been a few years since we were last there. Scenery is stunning and the site well run by helpful staff. Stated getting really busy on the Friday and thought the 5 showers were not enough, in saying that only waited 10 minutes. Plenty of room between pitches and all went quiet about 11pm. 9 per night per person and 4 EHU if required. For some reason They also have a snack bar for breakfasts and evening meals but would not recommend the chips or prices.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thormoore84 2 reviews from this member

Great site, wonderful location, facilities are excellent.

Visited out of the busy season, so it was fairly quiet, but still a fair few other tents and motorhomes about. Welcomed on arrival and checking in was quick and easy despite not booking. The site is large and well catered for tents and motorhomes alike. Some of the unreserved areas are on a slight incline, and somewhat boggy in some areas, but there had been a few days of rain, so no surprises there!

Facilities were good, large toilet blocks (more than one) and plenty of clean showers and toilets for use. Sockets for hair dryers, and wall-mounted hair dryers supplied.

Morning hot food stand by the entrance, much welcomed for the morning bacon buttie. Good shop on site with a range of camping gear, and other essentials such as insect repellent, along with gifts, postcards, and various groceries. Brilliant as this saved a trip back into Fort William itself. There is also a restaurant at one end of the site, which although I didn't visit, looked quite busy.

Beautiful views surround the site - Ben Nevis is very close, and there is nothing better than opening the tent in the morning to the sight of the Scottish mountains! Plenty of walks start directly from the campsite location.

Motorbike friendly, quiet at night, and friendly without being intrusive. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seaboe 1 review from this member

The second year for my wife and myself we have been to scotland for the last fourteen years but this site pulls all the strings for us. The site is spotlessly clean including the toilets and showers. If you like walking it is only a ten minute walk into fort william with plenty of eating places if required. There is also a food wagon on site selling breakfast up to dinner time and fish and chips from tea time. The views from the site are breathtaking impossible to describe anyone who likes a pint the pub is almost at the side of the site, cant wait till next year!i will be back

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hibbsa64 8 reviews from this member

Lovely location.

Great base for exploring the local area.

We didn't need to use our car and we walked up Ben Nevis, cycled part of the Caledonian Canal and cycled into Fort William through the forest.

The site facilities were always clean despite the rain.

The Wetherspoons in Fort William is definitely worth a visit, very good value when your a family of four!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campermaid 15 reviews from this member

Stopped here twice, on way up to Highlands and on the way home.

Nice, clean site. Great for views of Ben Nevis and also not far from walk up the great mountain.

Only thing we didn't like was the extra 4 on our second stopover just for hookup. (I only wanted to charge my phone really). Oh and no free wifi. How mean can they get.

Showers good and clean and friendly young staff (all seemed to be Americans).

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Broic 16 reviews from this member

Huge campsite located within glen nevis, right at the base of Ben Nevis. Excellent views.

Lots of tens/caravans so this is a busy campsite with plenty of kids/dogs and walkers. Most pitches are ok, but the forrest paddock was very water logged when we were there, also on a bit of a slope. Quiet after 10/11.

Facilities are excellent, clean with plenty of hot water. Laundry/washing up facilities. Small shop on site. Bar/cafe/restaurant less than a 5min walk.

Ideal for families or those walking up mountains. Not a campsite for those who want to chill out away from it all.

Expensive at 20 for two people, ideally prefer to pay about 16.

Can walk into Fort William via Cows Hill or along the road (think the road is quicker) approx 3miles. Plenty to see/do in Fort william - West highland museum and ben nevis distillery a must see!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bncampn 2 reviews from this member

Stayed a couple of nights as close to Fort William with supermarket and local shops, library, boat trips, and not far from Neptune's staircase. Glen Nevis is a large site and for all ages and campers, I did not reserve a pitch as plenty of pitches available and the price is reasonable especially for what is available.

Facilities excellent with plenty of shower blocks and toilets and always serviced, there is also a laundry, shop, and the burger van very handy. There is also a restaurant off-site close by and a coffee shop.

Also just down the road is the Ben Nevis Visitor Centre and the beginning of the Ben Nevis walk, and after the walk the pub.

A happy site and will hopefully return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CKC100 15 reviews from this member

Busted this site for a couple of nights and found it to be really good. We were given a good pitch only mins from one of many of the shower blocks. We found the showers to be good and clean and serviced well to.

For the size of site which I never realised how big it was until we walked the dogs round the full site it was all clean and on a night it was still very quite.

It was handy to see the burger van on site as we decided to have a few drinks at the tent so food was good from it.

With being very close to Fort William there was plenty to do as well with a supermarket for stocking up.

Previous     228 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Mains Package Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally in Derbyshire - 1st to 4th July
An amazing fun weekend for all the family. Plus you can camp on site from Friday to Monday. Find out more and download the booking form

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6271 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1250