Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Glen Nevis Caravan & Camping Park
Glen Nevis
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01397 702191

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: Mid March - Start Nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 214 Reviews
              9/10 from 214 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (13)

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendog 10 reviews from this member

This is a huge site with stunning views of Ben Nevis and other mountains all around you, a bit on the expensive side but well worth it. Toilet and shower block clean but needs updating, there is a well stocked shop on site and a pub/restaurant up the road, also a mobile food. Van is open every day for chips/burgers etcetera. It is only two miles into Fort William for everything else you might need. This is a perfect site if you fancy a climb up Ben Nevis or just a walk around the most beautiful scenery, I will definitely visit again next time I'm up in Scotland

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 8 reviews from this member

Ended up staying here twice during a month long trip to Scotland. Fabulous site with stunning views of Ben Nevis which had a snow topped cap. Clean warm toilets and shower rooms, slightly dated but proper taps not the dreaded push buttons so you could get the temperature you wanted, radio 2 playing which was nice, good laundry and a warm pot wash room, close enough to Fort William for shopping, eating out ect but far enough away to give you that real get away from it feeling. Yes it is a large site but don't let that put you off as there is good space between pitches and quiet and peaceful at night. Would definitely return for a third time! Also you have a pub/restaurant 500 metres up the road which was very good and reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crazyglengirl 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night which we pre-booked and our pitch was allocated in advance. We had electric hook up and a water tap on the pitch. Good clean facilities. We didn't use the laundry but there were several machines and dryers there.

The views were stunning though it rained heavily overnight and Ben Nevis was shrouded in mist. There was even snow on the mountains which had fallen overnight.

Pitches were level and the whole site was well maintained. My grandson would have liked the playground but as it had rained so much we didn't use it.

We drove into Fort William in the morning and took the Crannog cruise from the pier and returned to a 3 course lunch. The price was 25 each for both which was superb value. The boat cruise was excellent. The most informative oommentary I have experienced though we didn't see much wildlife and fortunately the rain held off. The lunch was great and I would highly recommend it.

The site is in a beautiful location and I would stay there again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carlos725 3 reviews from this member

Arrived on a Saturday and was given clear directions to our fully-serviced pitch.

The views are outstanding, and the start of the Mountain Path up Ben Nevis is just a few minutes walk away.

The site is a good size and the reception & shop are well maintained and stocked. The staff are helpful and friendly.

The ablutions and laundry facilities are and well maintained, modern and couldn't really be faulted to any degree.

Local restaurant was good and not too pricey.

Personally, we loved it. Will definitely be heading back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zeryx 9 reviews from this member

We decided to visit this site after reading good reviews. Pre booked and paid in advance we arrived late afternoon. The guy on reception was busy on the phone and as we had been waiting a while another man came through from the shop and checked us in, handed us a map of the site and told us to choose a pitch anywhere on the Spruce field. Which we did. After walking on the Saturday we arrived back at our tent yo find a monstrous tent (in comparison to ours) pitched less than 4 feet away from the side of ours - intimidating and invasion of our personal space. The occupants of the tent proceeded to speak very loudly and host an evening of talking and joking with the occupants of the tent the other side of them and a manically laughing child. No consideration for us who were trying to sleep from around 2100! As we were preparing to leave on Sunday morning (as instructed to be away by midday) one of the site staff came to tell us we were on someone else's pitch and the intimidating tent next to us was one if three who had pre booked three pitches together (no sign of a third tent and surely if we were told we couldn't check in before 1400 the same would apply to anyone else arriving on the Sunday). Fail to see why 1. If they had booked specific pitches we were told to select anywhere 2. If that was the case why weren't their pitches just changed to allow three together 3. If the third tent wasn't arriving until the Sunday what was the issue? And finally where were the staff when they pitched their tent on top of ours? (Their regulations state leave 4 meters between tents).

Other than this damper on our stay it's a lovely site and nice facilities, a really nice toilet/shower block and indoor skullery.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Galdeb69 7 reviews from this member

A lovely large site with plenty of pitchs and fab views of Ben Nevis and surrounding hills.

Plenty of toilets and all very clean, only downside is the on site shop which is very, very expensive, seriously don't use it unless you have to, everything is well over 50% dearer then the local supermarket, it really leaves you feeling ripped off, and who knows what the many foreign visitors must feel about it. The local supermarket in Fort William is 2 miles away.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gypsy lady 4 reviews from this member

This camp site is in a most marvellous location at the foot of Ben nevis. Its facilities are clean and tidy despite some bad weather when I stayed. Its a very busy site but we had adequate room around our caravan.

The wardens were pleasant and obliging and gave us good sound advice on the local walks. We are not fit enough to climb Ben Nevis.

Good food at Weatherspoons in Fort william if you want to eat out.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

Love this site. Stayed lots of times. Love it. Very large, no need to book. Very well kept site. Just over 2 miles to Fort William. Morrisons store there, open 7 days at 8am. Friendly staff. Toilet and shower block very clean. Cleaned every day. Shower stalls large, cold and hot water taps to adjust showers. 39. 60 For 2 nights, pick your pitch, hard standing. Small stream runs through the site, my dog loves it. Burger van on site. Good chip shop in Fort William. Barrier closes at 11pm at night. We took a run to Fort Augustus and watched the boats going through the lock. Will return to this site again, one of my favourites.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bferori 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week's camping from this beautiful campsite. Set amidst most picturesque foothill, forests and river, it's a breath taking experience to wake up to the perfect mountain views.

Well stocked store on site selling gifts, toys, newspaper, can foods, bread, most interestingly eggs, onions, tomato in singles :) quite a handy idea as you are not forced to stock up whole packs! The smidge cream (6. 99) was impressively useful. It's strong pleasing fragrance kept those suckers at bay! However, the smidge situation was never as bad as we feared, which is great news to visitors!

Reasonably clean toilet blocks. However, have to mention during midday there was a toilet cleaning 'ritual' when the toilet blocks (both ladies and gents) are banned from use for good 20 mins. So all those rushers, be prepared to walk to the next available facility which could be few yards away. However the entire campsite has toilet, washup, laundry blocks spread across, so great walk if you enjoy.

It's bit silly, but haven't found anything to fault except the taps in sinks and the flush in the ladies toilets (only 2 flushing) out of the 7 or 8. The taps in dressing, sinks are push down style which can be awkward and frustrating to use especially in the washup area. Plenty hot water, almost boiling made it almost unable to use. But the water in showers were perfectly adjustable with ample space/ room to change even with 2 kids in.

All these are minor observations which can be easily sorted by the management. Can vouch nothing can match the tranquility of this campsite.

Breathtaking views, in and around, with weather stormy or gusty, gear up in right clothes and venture out, there's so much to do as claimed in the heart of the outdoor capital. Definitely coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MARJUJONES 2 reviews from this member

Nice site, lovely area. Big walks up very big mountains and shorter very pretty walks available.

Facilities ok and clean, never too busy.

Food and beer in restaurant excellent, tastes especially good when you have just completed walking up Ben Nevis from the site.

Midges not too much of a problem.

Didn't understand booking policy, as very reluctant to give us five night booking. We could book three nights and two nights consecutively but not five. Eventually site agreed to five nights but it was a struggle.

Would come again.

Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7119 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0938