Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sunncamp owner 11 reviews from this member

A lovely site indeed! The road in is a little tight in places but this is part and parcel of being in the lakes I suppose and it literally is the last couple of miles and we met no traffic. Reception dealt with us efficiently and we were walked to our pitch. The site is on a hill and some of the pitches are on terraces as indeed was ours, not the easiest to get onto as we were on a steep hill but the pitch was a decent size and pretty level with water also on the pitch. Considering the site is open all year it had stood up to winter pretty well but I imagine in summer its beautiful! There was a small play park on site and other facilities were clean although we tend to use our van for most things. As you would expect in February it was damp. So we headed down to the quiet bar, really nice with a huge log fire in the centre with loads of chairs round so no one person can commandeer the whole area. It was really friendly in the bar and walkers, dog walkers and everybody seemed to come together and just enjoy a pint in the warm surroundings. Up in the eves of the bar was a pool table at one end and at the other an indoor play area but you wouldn't know these were there whilst sat having a drink. Ullswater speaks for itself and is beautiful, I can certainly recommend the bracken rigg pub 2 miles from site for a meal! Also on site are some hobbit holes which looked very cosy indeed. A permanent butty bar at the bottom of the site provided sustenance on sunday morning that was much needed after one too many in the quiet bar.

So overall great views, great bar and definitely one to return to!

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

We were happy with the campsite on a wet November Monday. The ground is a mixture of pea gravel and grass on a flat surface. The result was it drained very well, and our sharpened pegs went in firmly and held against the quite strong wind. Every tent pitch has electric. Very quiet site, with no road noise. Views are very good in certain directions, although trees do block out a lot. 15 for one night for two, tent and car. You do have to park a little way from the tent. Reception open from 9am - 6pm. Very nice receptionist, allowing us to choose our pitch. We didn't use any of the facilities. It's a fine site out of season, with electric and great ground, and is open all year, but the poorish views mean it's less than optimal for campers like us who want great views of the Lake District.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Minisharon 6 reviews from this member

We stayed in one of the Hobbit Holes for 2 nights and it was a lovely experience. They are very spacious with a large padded area that could easily sleep a family of 5. There is also power, light, heat and a small bathroom but the views from the Hobbit Hole are amazing - Ullswater Lake is so beautiful to wake up to in the morning. The facilities on site are superb with ample showers, toilets and washing up facilities as well as family bathrooms. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and there is even a Sausage Van providing breakfasts. This is an ideal way to camp in inclement weather as you stay warm and dry and there's no wet tent to take down. Will certainly be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Broken Arrow 3 reviews from this member

Awful weather the week we were there with odd break in the wind and rain. Lovely site, pitches level and generous in size, beautiful views from all of the pitches. Loads of washing facilities, all ultra clean. Staff on site are brilliant, Clare and Adam the wardens go above and beyond their job remit to make sure your holiday goes smoothly. Definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich2han 2 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site in a stunning location. The views over Ullswater are truly wonderful.

You may think that a camp site half way up a fell in the lake district would be a nightmare trying to find a level pitch, but this site has been landscaped and terraced perfectly to ensure all pitches are level and a good size. The pitches being a mix of grass and peas gravel means that they are all well drained, and providing you have decent pegs, give a good purchase when pitching. All pitches come with electric hookups, and there are a very good number of drinking water points so you won't have to lug a heavy water container far.

The site facilities are also of a high standard, with a good number of showers in both the mens and ladies, and there are also a number of family bathrooms for those with small children to use. There was never a shortage of hot water in the showers.

A well designed children's playground with the usual mix of climbing frames swings and dens meant the children were well catered for.

Finally I must mention the on site bar. A lovely space with a large welcoming open fire, serving an absolutely delicious beer - The Quiet Pint. Definitely well worth a return visit to sample it again. Also in the bar there is a games room with a table tennis table, table football and air hockey for the older children, and a decent sized soft play area for the smaller ones.

I would definitely recommend this site, it is only a few miles from the motorway junction so very easy to get to.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rademan08 3 reviews from this member

We went here for our honeymoon and stayed in a glamping pod.

The pod was clean and had a heater and electric.

BUT !

The first night we where freezing !

The heaters are on a 1 hour timer and then need to be switched on again for another hour.

The second night was really warm !

We forgot our blow up bed so the site actually lent us one.

The on site bar is amazing, its very cosy and that log burner is just out of this world.

Has a children's inside soft play area.

Pool table upstairs.

Beautiful beer.

No on site food apart from a breakfast van that comes on site on a morning. Thats delicious.

Onsite toilets and showers, clean.

Also has a family room/ Bath.

Can rent a mini electric car on site too haha. Brilliant.

Staff are wonderful.

Prices are great. Lots of walking around.

We walked to the aira force waterfall which isnt too far, there are plenty of other places around the site to visit too.

Will definitely be returning.

Thankyou for the wonderful weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daisy_bell 5 reviews from this member

I stayed here for a weekend with my little girl and all in all, its a lovely site.

I'd been warned about needing rock pegs as the tent was on pea gravel - normal pegs wouldn't have coped. The pitch was flat with lovely views.

I didn't mind the walk up and down the hill to the loos/office etc, but I felt it in my legs after coming home. The loos and showers were spotless as were the family bathrooms. Hairdryers were an added bonus.

The campers kitchen was basic but crucially, no one swiped my ice packs or my sausages.

The children's play area was much loved by my little girl and there was plenty of space for the children to run around. The pub was also lovely and the soft play very welcome for burning off the last bit of energy before bed.

Sadly I have one niggle - we were woken by a barking dog on the first night. The owner promised to have a word to ensure it didn't happen again (and it didn't) but he also said that 2-3am was too late for the staff to come out to resolve any issue. This left me feeling quite vulnerable given I wouldn't want to tackle any noise by myself (especially as I can't leave my daughter in the tent alone) but without staff being willing to turn out there would be no way of resolving it.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Markphelan 19 reviews from this member

I don't think I can really add anything to the previous reviews. This site is still one of my favourites - it has absolutely everything. A pub on site (that serves some great beer and cider), excellent showers, toilets and even family bathrooms, a wash-up area with plenty of sinks, plenty of walks from the site, an on-site shop and some spectacular views and scenery.

We'd visited the site before and I'm happy to report that it's still well looked after and as good as I remember. We have used it as a stop-off point thanks to it's handy location off the M6 (just 15mins from J40). For what you get I think the prices are quite reasonable, however it is rather complicated to work out a price as it fluctuates (sometimes week-by-week!) throughout the year.

The site is also very dog-friendly, with a field for walking dogs if you fancy giving the hills a rest for a day - though check with staff how to access it as there had been some changes to the layout due to some groundworks being carried out by the entrance to create a yard for storage.

Dogs are also welcome in the pub, and ours enjoyed curling up under our table or by the wonderful open fire.

If you fancy venturing further afield for some hot food then the pub down the road towards Ullswater (The Brackenrigg Inn) is walkable in just over 30 minutes - though you'll definitely need a torch as it's pitch black down the lane at night, and be prepared for the ascent on the way back if you're full of food and drink! We enjoyed a roast dinner here on a Sunday evening, and again dogs were welcomed in to the bar. The staff were friendly and the food was very nice.

We will most likely be back again in 2016, and I expect it will still be a great place to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GingerFiFi 4 reviews from this member

After a mad dash up them6, trying to beat the sunset, we ended up panicking about making it here for 9pm. A quick text to the site owner, and they assured us we would be fine to book in at the bar. Arrived in the pitch (I mean pitch!) black - as this is an evolution site, there are no outdoor lights - be prepared with head torches if you're arriving late. Our gravel serviced pitch wasn't the most level (needed wheel levellers and a fair bit of messing with the jockey wheel/steadies to get level). Quite difficult in the dark, but we got there. We noticed our neighbour had his back steadies on three wooden blocks the following day, so the slope is there.

Fabulous views, lots of walks nearby. Children's adventure play field is great - more than just a play park, encouraging them to run about and be a bit more adventurous. The dog walking meadow is a lovely place - not just a square field, but bushes and places for him to explore which he loved. The indoor soft play area is small, but our 3 year old loved it - and it meant we could relax with a drink on the Saturday evening, as she was playing with her new friends right next to us. Entertainment (piano singer) in the bar was really low key and chilled on Saturday night.

Facilities were spotless, family bathrooms a nice touch. Shop was small but well stocked. Would we come back? We're considering a seasonal pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lorna1979 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very well maintained, very clean and modern showers. Live music in the site bar our first night was great and our 3 year old loved the wee play area upstairs - a great idea so the parents can have a couple of drinks and some adult time.

Amazing location, beautiful scenery. Would highly recommend. The only downside would be the gravel pitches, a bit sore on the knees!

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5948 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1172