Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ty Newydd Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Ty Newydd Farm
Uwchmynydd
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8BY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01758 760 581

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m   5m  1m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 60+
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
              9/10 from 35 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (13)

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hmb68 1 review from this member

Just returned from a great week at this campsite.

Although the facilities are limited they were always clean and plenty of hot water. The pitches are spacious and level.

Local shops and pubs are highly recommended especially the bakery and fish and chip shop in Aberdaron.

We will be back next year!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick56 1 review from this member

Value for Money Site, I doubt you would find better for the price.

The Camp site is situated about 1. 5 miles past Aberdaron along a narrow road, there are passing areas but you would be wise to watch what is coming towards you, visibility along this road is good.

The camp site is roomy and the pitches are quite big enough, the EHU is a maximum of 6 amps, so you wont be able to use your electric kettle and toaster at the same time.

It has a nice little cafe, the food is good. The owners are friendly, welcoming and they keep the campsite in a lovely clean condition. There are only 2 male sit down loos and 4 urinals and 3 ladies loos, 'a bit of a rush in the AM'. 4 showers two of which take 20p and two taking 50p, the showers were clean and tidy. It is a dog friendly site, but your dog must stay on a lead. You are very close to the tip of the LLen Peninsula, a 15 minute walk away, the views are stunning. There are many little beaches and coves close by, but most will need a little hike to get to them. Aberdaron has a lovely long sandy beach with a few restaurants and gift shops and even a pizza takeaway, if taking your children to the beach do remember that this is the Irish Sea, 'its Cold', however the water is shallow I did note a few hardy people swimming in it. So all in all a very nice long weekend, nice camp in a lovely area, we will be going back at some point in the not too distant future. If bringing your little ones with you, be prepared to bring bats and balls and play with them.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jehpesto 6 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights at this site at the very end of July and really liked it. We were lucky with the weather, which helps!

The campsite is amazingly flat for this part of the country and there was lots of room in the overflow or new camping field we were on. Nearer the toilet block it was a bit busier (the caravans are here) but still a pretty quiet site. It was a bit of a trek to the loos but we managed.

There is a really good little cafe here and I have to say I was particularly impressed with the cafetiere coffee! We also had the cooked breakfast one day which was great. They sell milk (semi only) and a few baked goods but it is not a shop as such. What was really amazing was the price. £10 per night for a large family tent with 2 adults and 2 teenagers!

The toilets and showers were very clean and well stocked with loo paper. There are either 20p or 50p showers, which is fine. My only comment would be that 2 basins is not enough in the ladies. There are 3 loos, which is barely enough, but there needs to be at least 3 basins too.

Dishwashing was fine too, though there is only one draining board for 2 sinks. But there is another dish sink nearby with draining. And plenty of hot water.

NB. Whist they have obviously extended the number of showers there is no disabled toilet yet despite what the web site says. We only just managed and to be fair the lady owner was very honest that they had meant to get it done for this year but hadn't managed, she says it will be done for next year. There is an accessible shower I think.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KateB1975 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Ty Newydd Farm for 8 nights in July 2012. The day before we arrived there had been torrential downpours in the area and we were worried about what state the camping field would be in - no need to worry, the field was incredibly well drained. Getting to the site involves driving along some narrow country lanes - not a problem but just something to be aware of, particularly if you are towing.

We were greeted by the owner, on arrival and told to basically pitch wherever we liked. The camp site was quiet while we were there - at the peak there were 9 units on our field, plus some occupants on seasonal pitches. However, even if it is busy, the pitches are generous and I don't think you would feel cramped.

Our weather was mixed and we did have a considerable amount of rain but the field only really looked a bit waterlogged one morning and that was after 5 hours of torrential - and I do mean torrential! - rain the previous night.

We paid £10 per night for our pitch, plus a couple of pounds for EHU and £1 for the dog - I thought this was incredibly good value. The facilities were basic but always clean - the showers took 20p pieces but we found that OH needed 40p and I needed 60p for a decent shower including washing my hair etc. However, given that the site was so cheap, I didn't have a problem with this.

We had breakfast at the cafe on the site one day and it was lovely, and good value for money.

The location is beautiful - views of the sea from the field - it can get a little windy but it didn't cause us any problems. The site is very quiet, no club house or playground, but loads of room in the middle of the field for children to play.

It is quite a long walk to the village, I would say really that other than walking the coastal path you need to drive to get anywhere. This didn't bother us but it is something to think about. Aberdaron is a tiny village - there is a Spar and another shop, but these are expensive and not particularly well stocked, so I would advise stocking up elsewhere before heading back to the campsite. We ate in one of the pubs, The Ship, a couple of times and it was lovely. Excellent food, a warm welcome, and dogs were welcome in the bar area. We didn't get such a warm welcome at the other pub in the village, so they didn't get our custom!

The beach at Aberdaron is lovely, and there is both a dog free area and a large area where dogs are allowed. There are lots of lovely places to visit in the area, but just be aware that Aberdaron is at least a 20 minute drive from Abersoch and 30 minutes from Pwllheli - again, this didn't bother us but it wouldn't suit everyone.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at Ty Newydd and would definitely return. It is a reasonably basic site which offers clean facilities, incredible value for money and a quiet, relaxing holiday. Would we visit again? Without a doubt :-)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keithydee 21 reviews from this member

The access is via a country lane in a quiet area of the Lleyn peninsula. On arrival we had a warm welcome by the staff, the pitches were adequate in size and level and for the pitch and EHU it was £12 per night, good value. There are two shower blocks (we used the new block 50p a go)which were kept clean in the main and there seems to be lots of return visitors here.

The site could do with a kids area perhaps.

Downside? well, a few chavs turned up and we heard arguments, threats and swearing between these on one night across the field, they should have been thrown off but were not. This could've happened anywhere on any site as unfortunately that's some people for you,

The site was fine but would probably try another the next time as there are loads in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Swrhal 3 reviews from this member

Just home from this lovely site- only came across it by chance

Spacious pitches and fantastic views, well placed for coastal walks.

We had very mixed weather so had to go into civilisation some days- very relaxed,

My son gave it ten out of ten, as he did some star gazing- very pleased,

The village of aberdaron a short drive away with some shops and pubs,

Livelier abersoch 25 mins away--

Great beach at whistling sands, views of bardsey island too

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3526 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0493