Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chateau De Lez Eaux

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Site Reviews

Chateau De Lez Eaux
240 Avenue De Lez Eaux
Saint Aubin Des Preaux
Normandy   (Browse area)
50380   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 33 51 66 09

Facilities:  (Key)
                       

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  10m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 229
Open: 01/04/14 - 21/09/14

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
              8/10 from 31 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24)

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr Jones 5 reviews from this member

We had high expectations of this site being rated as a 5 star but there are a few items that in my opinion should be addressed to make it 5 star.

We stayed down towards the bottom end of the site near the toilet block in one of the 'large' touring pitches. When positioning the caravan we noticed there was a ditch running the full length of the rear of the pitches making part of them unusable, so even though you may think you are booking a 150 sq mtr pitch they are more like 100 mtr sq.

Please take leveling blocks as most of the pitches are not flat. We didn't, and realised on day 2 of our hols that we were slightly lopsided - not a big problem but could have been avoided.

The lighting on the site is extremely poor so if you are walking back from the bar after dark you will need to take extreme care. The only real lighting is from the awning lights of the caravans.

Lots of pitches are underneath trees and would rarely see any sun, so if you are booking, ensure you specify a sunny pitch, luckily ours was mostly in the sun.

The toilet block only had cold running water for the 2+ weeks we were there and no soap to be seen anywhere? (Gents or ladies side) so had to wash my hands in the caravan each time I used the loos.

Our electrics (and our neighbours) were reversed polarity, so remember to take a reversing lead. I don't know if all the site is the same but a lot of British people all said the same thing.

The lights in the toilet block seem to be on a timer, so if you BBQ or eat just before it goes dark and want to wash your cutlery you will have to do it in relative darkness. Unfortunately we seemed to always time it wrong and had to 'wash-by-feel' which also meant washing the BBQ grill properly when I got back to the caravan.

The entertainment was not great but there again, my expectations were not too high in this area as it seems to be quite poor at most sites in France.

I'm not an angler, but over the 2 weeks I only saw 2 fish being caught, so I don't think the lake is stocked particularly well - or maybe I'm a worse angler than I thought. !

The indoor pool was very busy and overcrowded, but this was August so probably to be expected but it is quite small to service the volume of people. The outside pool is postage stamp size and we only used the indoor/outdoor pool once.

Beware of prices in the bar - 7 euros for a pint of Leffe or Hoegaarden (approx 6). Stella was cheaper at 5 euros and Cocktails at 6. 50 euros were a bit on the expensive side.

There is no restaurant on site, there is a limited takeaway where you can eat on the terrace bar.

There are not too many things do do in the area. Mont-St. Michael and Alligator Bay were very good but if you have teenagers, I can imagine it being difficult to keep them occupied/busy for 2 weeks if the weather was not good. Luckily our weather was fantastic for the 2+ weeks.

There are a lot of good points to the site as well:

Access from Cherbourg couldn't have been easier and the site is literally just off the main road, so no long narrow lanes to negotiate with a big van on the back.

The staff are extremely helpful and take you to your pitch on arrival.

We ordered 3 large frites from the takeaway and realised that large meant 'buckets' - way too much and we could have had small portions. Small are 2. 50, medium 3. 50 and large 4. 50 euros. Not particularly cheap but good value considering the portion sizes.

Kairon beach is not great for bathing (1km walk or 4 km in the car) but a beautiful beach is only 10 mins drive away in Carolles.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Toni Endersby 5 reviews from this member

I agree with previous review if this a 5 star site then they must have bribed the official who's gives them out.

The ditch last reviewer mentioned was next to kids playing field, which by the way was full of mole hills, the ditch was full of stagnant water a haven for mosquito.

Now to are pitch C08 a standard pitch

If it was 100m2 then again must have bribed man with tape measure, we a camper with rear awning and are about 9mt in length and with side sun canopy 6mt wide and we filled it

Under trees so no sunlight so ultimately no grass ok in dry but as soon as the Normandy heavens opened it turned into a mud bath

It seemed every time I went to reception people where complaining about pitches one woman nearly in tears because she near that dam ditch, always seemed to be English, the French and Dutch seemed very happy.

The site is not within walking distance of any shops, restaurant or any entertainment

Granville is nice and a market on Saturday is ok

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daveh64 5 reviews from this member

This was our first time camping abroad and we were a little apprehensive but Lez Eaux was probably the best campsite we have been to.

The facilities were good and kept very clean although they are unisex which was a little unexpected but actually did not matter at all.

The site is in the grounds of a small chateau and is very picturesque. We had a premium pitch which was enormous (our sizeable tent looked a little lost on the pitch). We also had use of a fridge, garden table and chairs and a bbq. We thought the extra cost well worth while.

Our daughters (15 and 12) spent most of their time in the 2 pools. I was particularly impressed with the indoor pool that has 3 very good slides although the outdoor pool was pretty nice too but a little small. The only disappointment, as mentioned in some other reviews, is that the pools are not large enough to swim properly but that is a minor issue. There is a rule that no shorts are allowed in the pools, only trunks. This is in all the literature so should not be a surprise although we saw a number of people being turned away from the pools for wearing shorts. There are other sport facilities available but we did not use them.

There is a small shop, a games room, a take-away and a bar. The croissant and pain-aux-chocolate we had from the shop in the mornings were the best we have had. Would definitely recommend them. We used the bar and take-away as well and were impressed.

The nearest beach is 4km away but can be walked or cycled quite easily. Granville is a sizeable town which is closeby and has some nice restaurants although does get very busy. There is also a large supermarket about 5 minutes drive away.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and always helpful. We could not fault them at all.

We were sad to leave. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gmls 9 reviews from this member

We hadn't planned to visit this site but did so hoping to find some children for our 9 year old to befriend - Easter is a very quiet time in France.

On arrival we were very warmly greeted by the Receptionist who took time to drive us around to show us available pitches and then again to see us onto the pitch.

It's an excellent campsite with all the facilities you could wish for in very pleasant surroundings. It was extremely cold when we visited so didn't take full advantage of all on offer but we did enjoy the indoor swimming pools for the 3 days we were there. As already noted, be prepared that there are no changing rooms and only 2 communal open showers and 2 toilets in there.

I'm sure in the summer it does get very busy, but on one day we had the whole complex to ourselves.

We didn't get a chance to try out the bar or snack bar but had a good look around everything and it all looked great. Just pretty deserted at Easter.

We walked into St Pair Sur Mer one day along the road (not pleasant or recommended) - about 5km, and back along the beach and well marked coastal route (much nicer) - about 4km. St Pair is a pleasant town with some shops and a small market on Thursday.

We visited out of season using our ACSI card which made it a very reasonable few days, and although I haven't checked the costs for high season yet, we would love to return to this site in the summer.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DanielH101 1 review from this member

We have just returned after staying 8 nights in our tent on a comfort pitch. This is probably the best campsite we have stayed on and we have been to a few over the years!

The location and campsite is excellent with plenty to entertain our young kids. Facilities are very clean and well maintained.

The shop has a limited selection but there is a supermarket about 5 minutes drive up the road. Fresh bread etc is available from the shop each morning. There is a take away which was surprisingly good especially if you arrive late and are trying to set up camp in the dark!

There is a bar that stays open reasonably late but isn't too loud or rowdy. During our stay there was live music on two nights which we could hear from the porch of our tent whilst enjoying a glass of the local wine, perfect.

Swimming pool and play areas are good. Quiet roads and tracks near by for running and cycling.

All in all a great site, although it should be noted that the weather was very good and often puts a more positive outlook on things. We have been so impressed that we are already talking about camping there again next year!

One minor criticism (and it is minor), whilst the washroom/toilets are very clean and cleaned regularly throughout the day, there is no hand soap so be sure to take some with you!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Varjak 1 review from this member

Without a doubt the best campsite I have stayed on. Great facilities, very well kept/cleaned and very helpful, friendly staff.

The site is very picturesque, in the grounds of a small chateau. We took our 14 yr old youngest son with us and found plenty to do on site. Sports facilities include a couple of outdoor table tennis tables, a volleyball net and a small football pitch, plus the indoor and outdoor pools.

We didn't use the outdoor pool, but it was kept very clean. The indoor pool has 3 slides and a separate shallow pool for young kids, with plastic animals spraying water. Only criticism is that both pools are quite small, so not really enough room to plough up and down doing lengths. Note there are no changing rooms at either pool, so you need to go in your swimming gear - and shorts-style trunks are not allowed, just the bum-hugging variety.

A row of buildings next to the chateau house a small shop, a games room, a take-away food outlet and the bar, which also serves breakfast (croissant/pain-aux-chocolate, baguette, condiments, coffee/hot chocolate). There are tables on a patio outside the bar and take-away outlet where you can eat/drink while watching people fish in the lake.

We has a basic pitch which was still amply large (100 sq m) and had an electricity supply with a water tap very close by.

Nothing much to do within walking distance, but within easy reach by car of Mont St Michel and not too far from the Normandy D-Day beaches (about 90 mins drive) with their museums etc. The nearest town, Granville, has a nice beach and some decent restaurants.

We would definitely stay here again.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Normandy   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0488