Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waren Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Waren Caravan & Camping Park
Waren Mill
Bamburgh
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE70 7EE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01668 214366

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 8th March To 2nd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 155 Reviews
              8/10 from 155 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (11) and Video

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisJB 1 review from this member

Overall, a pretty good site, with good facilities, especially the bar area which did excellent food, although we did have to wait awhile. Ablutions and toilet block was fine and there were some nice play areas. Whilst there is nothing particular fancy within walking distance, a short drive brings you to some great places on the coast.

A few niggles however: noise and inconsiderate users, with regards to swearing loudly near the kids and fouling dogs. There needed to be more of a presence by staff. Also, our pitch was extremely muddy and even a pile of wood chips didn't overly help (even factoring for the weather). It seemed clear to me that pitches weren't allowed to recover between users, so more people could be crammed in. Also, some pitches are beneath overhanging trees which isn't great when it rains.

On balance I would possibly use again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SteveT75 2 reviews from this member

We visited the site for the first time for a 3 night midweek stay, Tuesday to Friday before the August bank holiday weekend 2017. On arrival we were directed to the touring reception by staff in the main reception, maybe a notice as You enter the site would be helpful. The staff in the touring reception directed us to our pitch that he marked on a site map. We were pitched in no 42 close to the entrance and just over the bank from the toilets. The tent field is of a decent size and has 43 grass pitches, plenty with electric if you require. the field is surrounded by a raised shelter embankment that's planted with trees so a fairly sheltered site. The site was pretty busy with only a couple of empty pitches when we arrived that soon were filled. There were lots of families with children of all ages on both the top caravan field and the tent field, things did get noisy on occasions but the quiet times of 11pm-7am were generally observed during our stay. The games room is a little hit and miss, the change machines didn't work and a couple of games were out of order we did manage a couple of famed of pool one night but the following night the pool tables were filled with tools, computers and bags of coins as an engineer was working on machines. The shop seems a well stocked but pricey it also closes to early around 6 pm, just around the time people are arriving after a day out and in need of a few essentials they may of forgot. We didn't use the restaurant but when we used the bar there was a 1 hour wait for those wanting food. Drinks prices seemed reasonable 2 pints of dark fruits cider and 2 halves of coke cost �10, with a free lipstick stain on my daughter's glass for good measure. Overall a nice family friendly site in a great location with fantastic views of budle bay and holy island. Generally happy but a few points annoyed us. Kids from the caravans using the tent field for hide and seek in the dark tripping over guide lines and shining torches into tents. Also some considerate dog owner allowed their dog to do its business near the entrance, the mess was stood in and spread about. We look forward to our next visit and are not put off by a few minor points no site is going to be perfect 100% of the time especially during busy times of year.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2707marie 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site, a beautiful area but with small kids you can't really walk anywhere due to hilly narrow roads & no footpaths. Saying that if you're happy to drive locally it is well worth a visit. A large site with sufficient showers & toilets & clean enough. Nice kids play area & handy that it's in a central area so if on main field you may overlook it. Staff helpful though shop site is quite pricey. Also for our very large tent we had to have 2 pitches which made it quite expensive. Finally there is no bench in the showers just hooks & there are family rooms but these only have 1 little seat which with 2 young kids made it a bit awkward. We would however happily revisit this site

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 77 reviews from this member

An excellent site that ticks most of my camping boxes, just a shame it's such a long way from home.

Stopped here whilst on a mini tour of the north having rendevous’d with my mate from Edinburgh. Cannot speak highly enough of my stay here, thanks to a good site, but it was the area that really stood out and impressed me. Having traveled up from the southwest I wasn't sure what to expect of the area, it was amazing and for me rivals anywhere in our beautiful country.

Site is large and pitches are all around the edge, facilities more than adequate without being great. Friendly staff and whilst fairly busy, it didn't feel overcrowded.

Caught bus, after a short walk from site, down the coast and walked back. This part of the coast is truly magnificent, stunning and on a warm September day couldn't have been better. Visiting the imposing Bamburgh Castle and had great fish and chips in one of the pubs.

Despite this site being so far from home I will hopefully visit again one day.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kath1706 1 review from this member

We have just visited this site over the bank holiday weekend.

The campsite itself was clean the toilets and washing facilities were reasonable. However there is not a curfew or wind down time for people to go to bed. We experienced a very noisy and disrespectful family who were up with young children til 2am!

However the campsite is only a few mile from the beautiful beachs of Bamburgh and it's lovely surroundings.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1 Tezzer 3 reviews from this member

We booked for 4 nights with a large tent. At a cost of £186. 80 I thought, and expected, a whole lot from the site, and was disappointed.

The site for a family next to the field is ideal.

The pitch we were given was the worst pitch ever. The ground surface was VERY uneven and on the biggest incline for a large tent ever. It was supposed to be a adults only field, but then families with children arrived and pitched on it, one with a small baby. When I spoke to a site rep he said it sometimes happens!

The bar area was good, but they don't allow dogs into it. There are no other pubs within walking distance either.

The site seems to be more after the static caravan owners than tents.

The toilet facilities were good and clean with the wash area good.

Conclusion, would recommend families in playing field, but don't bother with the adults only.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tomandsue72 1 review from this member

Very clean and tidy site. Staff friendly. Site very quite. Not all facilities were open this was due to the time of the year we went. Hot meals after 5pm in restaurant. Clean toilet block. Shop well stocked. All areas well mentioned.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RJAM 1 review from this member

Stayed for 3 nights. Rang to make booking and spoke to a very friendly, helpful lady.

On arrival, it was quite busy with caravans on the 1 way system, so had to wait for them to clear, before we could get to the tent field.

All the pitches are on the perimeter in this field ( so much better than the tents that were in mixed fields ), which leaves a large space for the kids to play.

Decent well sized pitch, didn't feel too close to others.

Facilities :

Shower block is clean, with separate family showers

Bar, priced ok, we ate in there 1 night, food was standard fayre

Pool, great for the little ones ( but closed at 5 on 1 of the evenings, just as we had come back to use it )

Games room, don't bother, seems to be a long standing issue with machines not working

Play area, kids loved the zip slides, climbing frames etc

Shop, seemed to close just when it was about to get busy in the early evenings. Families out for the day, returning and wanting milk etc, but shop shuts around 5pm ( would have been better to be clised for a few hours during the day & then open in the evenings )

Overall a very pleasant stay, only a 2 min drive to bamburgh village, with a great butchers and pub ( nice meals )

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola richardson 3 reviews from this member

We recently had a 1 week stay here in the school holidays.

The site was very busy as you would expect for the time of year. The staff are great and very friendly.

The cleanliness of the toilet block was questionable when we were there. It appeared to get a quick clean once a day. A bucket was left for you to mop the shower cubicle after use which was just brown dirty water and never appeared to be fresh.

The major downside of the site is that tents and caravans are pitched next to each other. This meant that we were kept awake for 2 nights by the noisy campers next door. There is a no noise policy after 11 which on 5 nights out of 7 was respected.

We did ask to be out of the way and be in a quieter area but unfortunately had a large group deposited next to us who turned up with a transit van of alcohol and spent 2 days drinking, playing loud music and swearing having no respect for the people either side.

During our week's stay there were 2 ambulances on site and a police car evicting someone. Definitely not a relaxing place to stay. More of a mums and dads on the drink site with the kids running riot.

We definitely wont be returning.

The location is great.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy75 40 reviews from this member

A large family orientated site with good facilities.

Typical club standard and open plan. We arrived fairly late but caught the shop and were made very welcome despite the small revenue we offered for one night.

The toilet blocks and washing area were superb standard and highly cleaned, even late at night. There is a large central play area for children where you can pitch directly opposite with a touring unit. The camp area was ok, slightly sloping ground but nothing too bad.

We never used the on site bar but it looked great.

The only issue I had from this site was a small lack of vegetation in my opinion, a few more trees would have been nice otherwise a perfect family site.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4219 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec