Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Bailloterie Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Channel Islands > Channel Islands > Site Reviews

La Bailloterie Camping
Vale
Guernsey
Channel Islands   (Browse area)
GY3 5HA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01481 243636

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   1m  5m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
              9/10 from 20 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (12)

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shani torp 1 review from this member

This was our first time in Guernsey and we were delighted to have chosen this camp site. The owners are utterly charming and so helpful. We stayed for two weeks and were lucky enough to have glorious weather for most of it. The camp site allowed us lots of room and we never felt crowded. The shower block was housed in a lovely old building and all the facilities were kept clean and well equipped. There is a big supermarket nearby which was very helpful and also a nice little M&S 'simply food' for all the treats!

We brought our bikes and found all the bicycle lanes useful and safe. The drivers, by the way, are the most courteous we've ever found. The beaches are really beautiful.

It really wasn't difficult to find amazing quiet bays with hardly anyone on the beaches and equally there were huge sandy beaches packed with opportunities for water sports and children's games etc. We brought our two dogs and found a dog friendly beach near by. It was a very relaxing holiday…exactly what was required!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 72 reviews from this member

Our second stay here, but with a 19 year break in between. Lovely, spacious site with clean and tidy facilities including free Wi-Fi and hairdriers. There is a supermarket 5 minutes walk down the road and bus stops nearby too. £12 per adult per night is expensive but this is an island economy and to put things into perspective you should see the house prices! There is a good butchers at Bridge and an M&S opposite Guernsey Freesias.

The girls enjoyed the candle making experience down the road and finding Orma shells on Herm. The Café Terrace in town was a favourite, as was lunch at The Jerbourg Hotel.

Walking distance to beaches at Ladies Bay and L'Ancresse and only a short bus ride back into St Peter Port.

Our return visit to Bailloterie did not disappoint although the traffic on The Island had increased significantly, so we chose to use the buses most days. Thank you for another enjoyable stay.

Management response: Just to clarify, the reviewer has said that £12 a night is expensive - but high season is actually £11 per adult per night and £9 in low season.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gi11 17 reviews from this member

We booked one of the new log cabins, as were're getting too old for beds on the ground and any distance to loo in the night. What a disappointment - no bathroom, not even a sink in the kitchen. The cabin itself was lovely and the beds were comfortable, but without a bathroom it wasn't worth the price. The shower and loo block isn't far away, but up steps and down a steep slope in the pitch dark until the floodlight comes on when you're nearly at the door. The block is newly refitted, clean and very good - but a long way from most of the site, over a small road.

The web site needs updating, it's very misleading. Shop? No, not worth their while with a supermarket 5 minutes away, and they are too busy. Cafe? Well, if you say you want a baguette they'll cook one and it will be ready in 20 minutes. IF you can find them. No opening times for the office are displayed and their cars seemed to have gone before 5.

All in all, pleasant enough site, but didn't live up to expectations.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 9 reviews from this member

We had a lovely stay here, camping is spread over a number of sheltered fields and it was really quiet during our end of season stay. The owners were really friendly and helpful. The facilities block is spot on. Don't forget a torch though as the trek from the motorhome field to the facilities block was very very dark.

Guernsey is a lovely island but seems to have a few problems, boy racers make themselves heard after 8pm tearing around the place and the police are a problem, basically there don't seem to be any and we were awoken several times between 2 and 3am on Sunday morning to loud buzzing exhausts and screeching tyres!

There is a superb supermarket across the road and nowhere is that far away on this compact and very busy island. Use the excellent busses and avoid the heart stopping roads that vary in width every few yards and the locals all whizz around with impunity, not ideal in a camper-van would not fancy it in a motorhome! Although the drive from the port following the given directions is fine. Might consider hire a small car next time to avoid the worry of damaging the van and to reach some of the remoter and terrifyingly narrow lane areas.

Will be back for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Titch24 1 review from this member

Stayed in August 2014 for 4 nights. Greeted my a lovely French girl who with her sister are working on the campsite over the Summer. Very polite and showed us various areas we could camp in and mentioned the shortcut to the beach and where the supermarket is. Supermarket is a 3 min walk and has everything you could need and more, beach is a 10 min walk. Bus stop is 10 min away and the buses are very easy to use and cheap £1 for all journeys. Moulin Heut in the south of the island is beautiful as is Fermain Bay. Useful leaflets in the 'barn' and the owners are very helpful and always on hand. Lovely BBQ on the campsite, including lovely Sticky Toffee Pudding. Boules pitch and table tennis. It seemed that all the children were on one part of the campsite which was lovely for us child free and perfect for the children on the campsite as they made friends quickly. Clean, modern shower and toilet block, regularly checked, hairdryers available and all free! 50p to charge your phone and free wifi. Would definitely recommend!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissan 1 review from this member

We stayed at La Bailloterie camp site for ten days in June. This site is spacious and peaceful. The site is split into small fields which are sheltered and are not at all crowded. Richard the owner and Carol are both charming and helpful. We stayed in a pre erected tent and this exceeded our expectations. It was about 18 foot square with full standing height and bed compartments. The equipment was excellent and included beds, gas hob, fridge, pots and pans, plates and cutlery. There were a table and chairs outside. We just needed sleeping bags.

This camp site is in a lovely part of the island. Pembroke Bay is about a 4 minute drive away and must be one of the best beaches around. There was an very good bar and restaurant at this beach too. A huge supermarket that sells everything is only a 3 minutes walk from the site.

The facilities on the camp site are excellent with a clean well fitted shower block, coffee shop and plenty of places to sit and relax. St Peter Port is a 10 minutes drive away. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend La Bailloterie

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Channel Islands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5607 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window