Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Beechwood Grange Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > York > Site Reviews

York Beechwood Grange Caravan Club Site
Malton Road
York
York   (Browse area)
YO32 9TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01904 424637

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 21/03/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scats.miller 38 reviews from this member

Stayed at York Beechwood Grange as it is now called. Signage still very bad so suggest you download direction before you go. Very well tended and looked after, only one toilet block so sometimes a queue in the morning for showers but otherwise excellent. Recommend the Park and ride to York from Monks Cross well worth the £2. 70, , , , , and dogs go for free! Plenty to see around like Fountains Abbey and for Seaside Trips I recommend Scarborough. Overall a perfect site in a perfect place

Oh and like others the Toby Carvery particularly for a big breakfast before you move on!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loughran 10 reviews from this member

A lovely site. Was very quiet while we were there as children had gone back to school. Toilet and shower block was kept very clean. We thought the pitches were of a generous size. There is a dog walk but you cannot walk your dog outside the site gates as there are thoroughbred horses in the drive in. There is only one toilet block and I think it would be quite a walk if you were at the back of the site. There are recycle bins throughout the site. A pleasant site and very convenient for York. Will definitely come back again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 28 reviews from this member

Just returned from an enjoyable long weekend at Beechwood Grange. Got lost getting there when we left A64 but used the Toby Pub car park to turn around. Rang the site and they guided us in.

Booked in no problem and got a good pitch with some grass for our little dog to roam about on. You have to park with your van in line with the white peg and park down the far side of your van (water/wastemaster side). They tell you this when you book in.

Washroom and facilities are excellent and well looked after. Big field to walk the dog and there is a children's playground too.

We went out to York Centre/Whitby/Goathland/Pickering/ Monks Cross Shopping Centre and had a meal out at the Toby Carvery. Massive portions and friendly staff too.

Staff on site friendly. You can book a newspaper for the following day.

Will definitely go back

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Golfjill 5 reviews from this member

This was my first visit to york for 40 years. So it took a lot of searching to find a suitable site for our visit. So, we did the usual York sights. The railway museum was just marvellous[and free] this was truly magnificent heritage stuff, and you could actually touch the exhibits, These great monsters are immense at floor level. Downstairs is the museum of everything British railways. Thousands of artefacts to do with a bygone age. The next visit was York Minster. A little surprised that there was a charge to enter, but still a beautiful church. The York Viking experience was interesting, You travel around underground on a monorail, passing time. Really good. York city itself was not quite what I was expecting, much larger than I thought;full of young people having fun in the sun. The site itself; After two attempts to actually find it[letter to caravan club over directions]we find a very attractive site. Plenty of grass pitches[which we prefer]wardens most helpful, as usual toilets and showers up to standard. There is a pub/restaurant just 5 minutes from the site, and the park and ride is not far away. Very useful when the car parks in York are so expensive. Took a trip to Castle Howard which is only 10 miles away. How the other half live!A great day out if the weather is good. All in all a lovely site. We will be back To go back to my comment on finding the site. From either direction you come upon an island where the site is a small lane off. Unfortunately as the island in on a dual carriageway it is impossible to see this small offshoot until it is too late. That means a return trip back up the road until you can return. The wardens have complained to their head office about this, but, as they say, nothing has been done. One day.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feebee 3 reviews from this member

Had a very enjoyable 5 night stay. Easy access to the site although could be easy to miss exit but easy enough to rectify by going to next roundabout and coming back.

Wardens very welcoming we had to delay start of our holiday as my son had been in hospital rang them up and very they were good to roll our booking over to the following day. On arrival explained about some pitches could become waterlogged and these were marked with red markers although it had been dry so no worries for us and as we weren't using an awning decided to use one of the red marked pitches near to the play area so we could keep an eye on our little people. Excellent play area and large play field so kids could play football.

Although you aren't allowed to take dogs out for a walk out of the site there looked to be a large field for dogs to be exercised.

Good sized pitches and well spaced between pitches.

Toilet block up to the normal Caravan Club standard, always clean and warm.

Site is well located for access to York via Monks Cross Park and Ride only £2. 60 return for adults and kids go free. In Monks Cross retail park there was an Asda and a Sainsbury's as well as other retail outlets.

On the way to Park and Ride there is a Toby Carvery offering good value meal and along A64 the excellent Thompson's Fish and Chip restaurant.

Whilst site is close to a busy road this did not cause us any issue but if you are sensitive to road noise this maybe an issue for you.

Lots to do in York enjoyed the Railway museum and mooching around the Shambles as well as watching the various street entertainers. Walk along castle walls very enjoyable and free.

I would recommend this site and will look to stay again in the not too distant future!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 17 reviews from this member

When we booked this site in December 2012, for a week in April 2013 we were torn between Rowntree Park and Beechwood Grange but as Rowntree Park was being evacuated again due to flooding we took the safe option and went for Beechwood. With 3 children I certainly made the right choice.

This is a very nice, well laid out site with excellent large hard standing pitches all in very good condition. The site has trees and hedges. The toilet block is centrally located for easy reach anywhere in the park. The children enjoyed the very good playpark and large playing field and visiting the pregnant horses at the nearby stud, where the lady there was happy to tell them about them.

We were not troubled by and road noise, one family next to us moved pitch because it was under a rookery and had a dropping problem, which did not affect us. We used the park and ride for York city Centre at nearby Monks Cross most days, parking was free and the return was £2. 60 with all our children free. The buses were every 10 minutes, but we never had to wait. We also used the large Sainsburys and ASDA store at Monks Cross and the kids loved the Waterworld Swimming Centre.

The site was also ideally located as we visited Castle Howard and Flamingoland. I would recommend a visit to Thompson Fish and Chip Restaurant about 2 miles out on the A64. As for York there is so much to do we could not see everything in a week, but the best thing for me was the walk around the old walls.

We would certainly go back to Beechwood Grange and highly recommend it.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in York   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2375 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469