Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glendaruel Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Glendaruel Caravan Park
Glendaruel
Colintraive
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA22 3AB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01369 820267

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
10m  10m  10m  10m  10m  10m  5m  10m   5m  10m 

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
              9/10 from 11 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leolion 10 reviews from this member

Was wanting to come to this site earlier with a caravan but never managed so brought along the tent instead.

Upon arriving the lady who was Ann was helpful got leaflets and guided us to the tent area and advised best place (keep midgies in mind) but was our choice. Anything we needed she was there to help.

We had 2 Adults 2 Kids 6 + 10 and a dog. Thankfully when we arrived on the Monday it was dry we pitched up the tent parts of the ground was a bit soft so never left car beside tent so we never churned up grass but with the Scottish West Coast weather you will never have a firm ground all year but I will also add that this was no means boggy, we had a choice where we wanted to pitch.

The site is nice itself surrounded by loads of different walks and trees all around it's a quite site at night and loads of room for kids to play and great walks for the dogs.

Toilets/shower are a bit dated and maybe bit small but were clean enough and attached was a laundry with a selection of leaflets, books and films. Next to the toilets/shower was a kids wooden climbing frame which was a bit shaky and behind that through a path was swings beside a massive area for balls games or anything else and the back of that was a path which takes you on a walk.

My only downside (if you can call it that) would be that if there was a toilet next to the tent area it's maybe about 3-5 minute walk to the toilet which may not be far but during the night when your desperate or taking kids if your both desperate.

In general great site for a long weekend or a week as loads to do around Dunoon and surrounding area, staff great and friendly, site and toilets clean at the reception there is a shop basic general stuff anything more then need to go to supermarket which Ann will tell you but best thing that I bought was the midgie nets

But the good side was dry when took tent down. Would I go again YES

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Humber 4 reviews from this member

What a cracking site hid away in argylls secret coast. This is a quiet peaceful very well run site. The lady that owns and runs the site makes you feel very welcome and relaxed. The site benefits from having a lot of experienced caravanners that know how to behave and they are a good friendly bunch. I have been to lots of sites, some I would never go back too, some I was glad to get out of, but after a 6 week stay at glendaruel me and my kids were sad to leave and are looking forward to getting back there, this place is well worth a visit. The site is great and there is a vast beautiful area surrounding it to explore. You will enjoy a holiday there

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 117 reviews from this member

I last visited this site in Cowal over 10 years ago, and I suggest potential visitors set aside the oldest reviews as they no longer apply.

The house and its courtyard, where Reception, toilets, shop etc used to be are now self-catering, and not part of the site. Reception is in a new curved roof profiled metal unit that matches the one chic camping pod (looking up the glen).

The owner is very friendly and helpful, and easily found. We chose our own pitch amongst the big trees backing onto the field of beef cattle, but the ground was sodden after the rain so even the hardstanding was waterlogged. About half the pitches are seasonals - mostly guys there for the fishing.

The toilets are in what looks like a former army hut; they are clean and fresh, albeit with an oddly eclectic mix of fittings.

The shower (one ladies, one gents) is free, and in a room big enough to take the family. We never had to queue, but the site was quiet due to the wet weather. We didn't need the laundry or play area.

The covered pot wash has picnic tables for tenters, which was a nice touch. The recycling facilities behind it are comprehensive.

The site is totally silent (apart from the cattle lowing) - we slept in both mornings. Pleasant walks (with or without dog) in the woods above the site, past pretty waterfalls and up onto the open hills.

Cowal has enough pottering for a long weekend. Yes, the ferry to the Isle of Bute is pricy but a visit to the remarkable Mount Stuart fills a day, topped off with seal watching on the west coast.

Views down the Kyles of Bute en route to Tighnabruaich are tremendous - it's much closer than Dunoon for essential shopping, or seafood dining, or to admire the yachts at anchor. Benmore Botanics by Dunoon are worth visiting at Rhododendron time.

For larger motorhomes crossing to the mainland rather than drive 2-3 hours round, pre-paid Western Ferries tickets cost less than buying them on the roll-on-roll-off ferry (Western Ferries are more frequent than CalMac.) In addition, the vehicle length for tickets steps up at 5.0 metres. We are 5.3 m long and were advised that next time we should buy *two pre-paid single car tickets (plus the occupants' tickets) from the shops in Dunoon: it's much cheaper than one motorhome ticket.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnabacus 15 reviews from this member

Very enjoyable two night stay here. Satellite plug in was available at no extra charge. Site facilities were good and we had no problem with cleanliness as mentioned in another review.

My grandaughter made friends with some other kids, managed to ride her two wheeler bike for the first time and didn't want to leave. Site owner very friendly.

We had an overheating problem with the van just after we left and had to pull in. The owner was following us and stopped to help, giving us details of where we could find a garage to have it checked.

Dunoon is quite handy for stocking up as the camp site shop only has very limited supplies.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark spurling 1 review from this member

An excellent camp site for exploring this wonderful area of argyll.

Spent the weekend at a geocaching event and was pleased with the campsite owners help and advise for the weekend.

The site itself is exactly as a camp site should be, all the amenities that you would require for camping are here on site and clean, well maintained and open all night. If yopu are looking for 5 star then go to a hotel.

Overall a brilliant site that we would be glad to come back to again and again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Zippie 10 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet, site set in beautiful surroundings with lovely walks through trees and also to a waterfall behind the site. There were lots of rabbits running around; unfortunately there were lots of midges too!

Only a few toilets/showers but didnít have to queue.

The campersí kitchen was outside (covered roof) and consisted of two sinks and a picnic table.

The owner was friendly and it was a relaxed site. We only stayed two nights before we travelled further north. I would return here again.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469