Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cannich Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Cannich Caravan & Camping Park
Cannich
Strathglass
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV4 7LN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01456 415364

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m  1m  10m   5m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
              9/10 from 34 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AndiElliot 2 reviews from this member

A gem of a site. We have visited this place several times over the last 5years. We always spend our 1st and last camp of the year here. Last year it was slightly colder at the end of October when we went for a stay but we booked a Pod for that reason. The site is brilliant, the ground is quite stoney though so take adequate pegs, location for so many walks is fab. The Loch Affric walk is our favourite.

The toilets and showers are fine and clean, could do with removal of the midgies off the ceiling though. The dish washing area/laundry is great, there is a freezer to re-freeze your ice blocks. Tv room, which we've never used but may be handy for kids on rainy days. There is also bike hire.

Midgies are a problem at times but with repellent they are fine.

The Wooden Pods are great. Basic with Mattresses, a heater and electric, just take anything you would need when going camping except the tent.

The coffee shop is lovely too and every so often they do 'pop up restaurant' evenings where you pay a set price for a menu and bring your own booze.

There is a great pub, The Slaters Arms within a 10 minute walk, great place and lovely food and they allow dogs.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rat-Bag 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely peaceful site, with generous sized pitches, distributed with privacy in mind.

The owner was really welcoming and friendly.

The site has comprehensive facilities, including a cafe, TV room, laundry and washing up room and lots of toilets and showers.

We only used the toilets and showers and these were clean and warm with plenty of hot water and no queues.

I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Busybee1968 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 5 nights at this lovely campsite and were fortunate enough to have beautiful weather while we were there. Very peaceful and well kept. The site is in a lovely location in a small village with 2 pubs and a small Spar shop for essentials and is central for exploring the area. The toilet block has 4 toilets (1 cubicle has a sink) and 3 showers (1 of these also has a sink) and there are 4 separate sinks also, with a pay as you use hairdryer. The showers are hot and we never found them running out of hot water.

For all there were quite a few caravans and tents using the site, they were never busy and we didn't have to wait once for them. The washing up area is a nice room with 5 or 6 sinks, 2 washing machines, 2 tumble dryers and a fridge freezer - invaluable if like us, you have ice blocks to freeze for your cool box. We had a pitch for our tent with EHU and I think there were 1 or 2 pitches for tents with hook up.

There is a TV room which also has books to borrow. For all we didn't use the cafe, it does look very nice. The small play area was very well maintained and the equipment looked relatively new. The site is approached via a single track road if you travel from Beauly side, but if you travel from Inverness down the edge of Loch Ness to Drumnadrocht, its a normal road - I wouldn't like to tow a caravan down the other road.

Drumnadrocht is a lovely little village with cafe and coffee shops and a small courtyard of shops. We travelled in both directions - Fort William to Ben Nevis & a cruise on the Loch and up into Glen Affric. A visit to Plodda Falls is worth the very bumpy ride up - there are a few short walks in the forest and the waterfall is beautiful.

Overall a lovely site which we would definitely recommend and use again, if back in that area.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sher951 5 reviews from this member

I'd recommend this to anyone, its very peaceful, it had all the amenities/facilities you'd need, the hostess was welcoming and explained where everything was.

We didn't use the cafe but had a look in, very nice indeed. There were bikes to hire too.

It was slightly further out of Drumnadrochit than we realised, but not a problem.

It was signposted from Drumnadrochit up near the Loch Ness Centre on the bend.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoyVaux 34 reviews from this member

A lovely peaceful situation which we used to explore the amazing Glen Affric. The site offers hardstandings with EHUs, set amongst trees and grassy areas used by tents. The picnic tables (there are several) and shade are a bonus but the site seemed a bit neglected. When we were there (early season) the entrance road potholes were a disgrace and when we arrived, the owner/warden was absent.

The pitches for tourers adjoin a small park of statics and the local playing field, the path to which appears to be used as a short cut by the local youngsters.

The on site cafe and bike hire are convenient but we did not use them. The local shop was useful (try the frozen venison steaks) but the pubs (there are 2 about 15 minutes walk) looked basic and we did not try them.

The site facilities were also quite basic / barely ok and the plug in points for TV appeared to be derelict.

We enjoyed our 2 night stay and we felt the £16pn fee with EHU was reasonable value, but the site needs some TLC from its owners.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here for five nights in mid April 2012. Cannich is located in a beautiful part of Scotland. Quite isolated but there is a small Spar shop in the village as well as a couple of pubs. The very attractive Glen Affric area is about 10 minutes drive away.

The site is quite small. There are a range of pitches available. We took one with electric, not far from the shower block and the cafe. There are many water points around.

The ground was a bit stony. Otherwise the pitch was perfectly adequate.

The site is quite wooded and there is nothing to make it feel regimented in layout.

The cafe is great. Free Wifi is a bonus too! Shower blocks and Toiles were always kept in good condition. Can only speak for the gents though.

Owner of the site was very helpful in showing us to our pitch.

Can't remember the exact cost with electric but it was around £16 per night (two weeks after Easter).

Would definitely return. Loved the clean air, the peace and quiet and the dark skies.

Not much to do for kids though. Our dogs were welcome but there was nowhere specifically at the site where they could be walked.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3765 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469