Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Grannies Heilan Hame Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Embo
Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV25 3QD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0844 335 3548

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March - November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
              7/10 from 40 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (11) and Video

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shargar23 3 reviews from this member

Aririved here on 13th October 2017 and stayed for 5 nights. Check in was simple and pitch was easy to find. Managed to get the caravan set up on a dry(ish) part on the pitch next to a very muddy puddle. Looked like previous people had been stuck and car tyres had churned up a big hole in the ground which had filled with water. Attempted to put the awning up but gave up after a few attempts as was so windy. Looking around, not a lot of people had them up so decided was the best idea as didnít want it damaged. The toilet block was clean enough but there was a funny odour at random times (not a normal toilet smell lol) there was only 4 showers for the whole of the touring park in both male and female blocks and these were poor. Showers only stayed on for a few moments and when the button was pushed, it trickled down the pole. Few times, the floors were covered in sand and dirty and the shower trays were sandy too. There was a pair of sandy boots sat at the door the whole time we were there and at least 2 of the soap dispensers were empty during our stay.

We knew a couple who had been there a few days before us and had reported that a few of the street lights on the way to the entertainment were out. She actually fell and hurt herself and they were still not fixed by the time we left even after us reporting it again. Was a very dark road even when the other lights were on.

Only used the entertainment a few times which was ok. The projector wasnít working so couldnít do karaoke as advertised. Had a meal at the show bar once and was ok but for what we paid, wouldnít return. Ordered a Big kids meal of fish fingers for my son and he got 2 fingers on his plate with some chips. Daughter had nachos with chilli which cost £9. 95. Not worth it in my opinion. The on-site shop Closed quite early in the evening and also the amusement arcades were closed at 10 which I found strange when the entertainment went on till later.

The pool was good and warm but small. Only 30allowed in at a time which was fine. Jacuzzi was within the pool which was nice but when I wasnít able to get a ticket to go in with the rest of the family, wouldíve been nice to be able to use this as a separate option from the pool. Did go for a sauna which was nice and clean.

Nice a close to a gorgeous beach which we walked every day. Nice walk into Dornoch which had nice local shops.

A few miles away from the park was a sign for Skelbo Forrest walk so we went with the dog and kids. Was lovely place with a sculpture walk. Was a nice find and would recommend it if you were there. Took us about an hour to walk, with a few hilly climbs but not too steep and a flight of steps.

Would check out the seals on Loch Fleet which is a few miles away from park also.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lenandlou 7 reviews from this member

Much better than many such parks for tourers and vans. The services were fairly adjacent, clean and not too busy. The shop was well stocked, and reception staff very helpful.

The food in the restaurant was fine, and the entertainers good.

The beach is marvellous for wild life, and the walk to Dornoch along the golf course is bracing. The little museum in Dornoch is worth a visit.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Driftaway 2 reviews from this member

We have been been to Parkdean Grannies Heilin Hame Caravan site several times. It has always been a great site. The weather was bad but we got caravan set up. We used the clean toilet block. We used the site shop, was shocked that it was over £2 for 6 eggs which my husband bought. We went to the club, played bingo and won £80. The entertainer that night was not very good, a Rod Stewart Tribute. The next night there was a Duo on and they were very good. There was a lot of kids but the staff were friendly and had them under control. We love to go there as the beach is beautiful even in stormy weather. Will definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shirl56 7 reviews from this member

Sorry, Grannies - we won't be back. Dogs running free all over site, dog mess left, adults and children playing football, frisbee around vans. Small children knocked over by large dogs. Football kicked into the side of our van with no apology. Huge play areas away from vans - lazy people. In short, anarchy. Toilet facilities are good, clean and heated. Only 2 showers for women, no means of cleaning them after use therefore dirty floors at busy times. Restaurant fully booked by the time we arrived (around 3pm). Noisy bar with one pool table. Pool table mechanism temperamental, member of staff helped us on day 1. On day 2 pool table mechanism wrecked by man in bar with huge fists. Good dog walks on beach. Only satisfied customers in our group were the dogs. Focus here is all on static vans. Tourers left to their own devices. No obvious security. Paid for 4 days, left after 3.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crazyterrier2000 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here July 2015, prior to peak season, Tent with elctricic, 1 adult, 1 child. Have stayed at Embo various times over the last 30 years, its the nearest family park to me, I love it, as does my daughter, which is why we go back. Entertainment in area in general is dated, and I don't think much has changed except the decore for a while. As you would expect with Parkdean the kids entertainment is brilliant, and I could not fault the people that do it at all, food was quite good, although they did run out of Ice cream in the restaurant, which was not good out of peak season.

Small shop which had an awful lot of stuff in it, so no reason to leave thesite if youdon't want to.

Large swing park which was well used, with sand underneath.

Toilet blocks, 1 modern which had everything required for a touring site, lots of hot water and well cleaned, and the original one which is open weekends and peak season (I think)is older and dated, but the one we used most because it was quieter and nearer, dated but clean, although it did tend to run out of hand soap and toilet paper regularly. Losts of camping areas, however, check your weather, the central area of the camping area does hold water, and as such has a tendancy to flood, as happened when we were there, but years of knowledge means I was not in that area.

Staff are friendly, the area is beautiful, with Dornoch being the nearest town, there is larger supemarkets in Tain, about 15 minutes away. In Golspie, 15 muinutes north, there is a very nice fossil/rock museum which was fascinating, even though its not my cup of tea, but is my daughters, and well worth a visit.

2 different styles of beaches, 1 sand and 1 rockpool, which always attract the children, these are very good rockpools, but make sure you have the correct footwear, not the heels that I noticed 1 lady wearing, 1 occasion we gathered anough muscles for a light lunch.

I will be expecting to come here at least once a year while the kids are young, and hopefully after they have left home as well.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shazzza7 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site and very helpful site. Nice pool, sauna etc, with fish and chips for supper. Quite dog friendly with a wonderful dog walking area not to be missed, shame dogs not allowed in bar or entertainment centre though understandable. Fantastic beach on site which the dog loved with beautiful golden sands. The only thing I didn't like were the toilets and showers, 2 showers is inadequate for a site this size, and only 1 had dryer in for the whole toilet block, desperately needs updating, if it wasn't for this I would give the site 10/10.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3955 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window