Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Green Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

The Green Caravan Park
Wentnor
Bishops Castle
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY9 5EF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01588 650605

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 159 Reviews
              8/10 from 159 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick56 7 reviews from this member

A very pleasant Caravan/Camping site in the heart of Shropshire. The site is divided into about 8 different areas although all of the Electric Hook Ups are in one area. It is a well kept site with a decent size shower toilet block, this was clean and tidy. There is a pleasant stream that runs through the camp site there were mad bonkers children in it in their swimming costumes 'good for them' brrrrr. The site appears to attract people from all walks of life, both young and older. There is pub/restaurant right next to the site and a small village shop selling what you need just across the road. There is a lovely walk from the site up into the hills.

Do make sure you follow your road map and not your satnav if towing a caravan there are a lot of very narrow lanes that you really don't want to get stuck in.

Cons: No phone signal and no TV Reception. The play area needs expanding and include some infant friendly swings. But I do have to say that most of the kids found that ability to play without the aid of tablets and phones. Nice place highly recommended

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 13 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 4night stay at this campsite. The owner was very friendly & told us we could choose our pitch. As there are only a few (maybe 4/5) hardstandings we chose a grass pitch with EHU. The site was fairly big & has a number of camping fields. I would imagine it gets busy at weekends & school holidays as there were a quite a few children there over the weekend. I would prefer it if children were kept away from motorhomes while riding bikes or playing ball games. Monday & Tuesday were bliss when families had left. The shower facilities were clean but I think it would be helpful to have somewhere to be able to put your toiletries & maybe a stool, as a mature person it would make life easier to be able to sit down. The shower was not very powerful, but 20p was a fair charge. The grass pitches are not level & are quite bumpy in places but as the ground was very firm it did not pose a problem, maybe different in wet weather. The area is fabulous for those who like walking, we did over 30 miles & loved it. We had Sunday lunch at the pub next to the site & it was fab, food, beer & service. We would go back to this site but would definitely avoid school holidays & weekends.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Christinashaw 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite for one night as we were passing through in our touring caravan.

The pitches were mostly grass with a few hard standing pitches in between, one of which we used (it was level and it took no time to pitch up). There were several separate additional fields for just tents as well.

The campsite was generally well maintained with a nice airy feel to it. It was surrounded by trees with a little stream in which the kids played straight away (and even caught 2 little fish).

The toilets and showers were basic but clean and the staff was very friendly.

Overall I can recommend this lovely site if you want to get away from big touring sites. Lots of nature to play for the kids and a little play park on site as well.

The pub just next to it is a bonus.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmined 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this wonderful site for 4 days over the August bank holiday weekend. Despite the site being full due to the time we stayed, it never felt over crowded or squashed. Each pitch was very generous in size. The site itself was laid out very well. With bridges over the river leading to additional secluded camping areas.

There is a stream which the kids can play in and it kept them all thoroughly entertained. There was also hot water in the washing up area- which I don't think I've ever known before.

The children's park is great, as was the shower block.

This was one of the best sites I have ever stayed on in over 10 years if caravanning.

We will definitely go back again. You can even store your caravan for free there for a week to return the following weekend 😀

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philippa Kay 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite, set in the most amazing countryside and by a beautiful stream teaming with wildlife (saw a kingfisher). Very friendly staff who will go out of their way to help and accommodate you. It is run in a relaxed but efficient manor and seemed to attract a pleasant considerate type of camper. Very clean toilet block which never ran out of soap or toilet rolls and even had fresh flowers in and pretty hanging baskets outside. The site has a shop which has all the essentials, even strips of ice blocks for 40p. Ate at The Crown one evening which was well worth the climb up the hill for a pint of three tuns ale and gorgeous homemade steak and Stilton pie. Kids loved playing in the stream (bring wet suits and beach shoes). Take time to explore the wonderful countryside - Heaven! Thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Team Zaza 1 review from this member

Just spent the most wonderful few days at this gorgeous campsite. We were 6 families and lucky enough to book 'The Island'. An area encircled by the Onny Brook and accessed via a charming bridge. The weather was terrible but the children, aged between 2 yes and 14 had an amazing time. The facilities were fab with lots of hot water on tap for washing up and spotlessly clean Loo's. Even a spray of carnations decorated the shower rooms. This is my 4th visit and I still love it, as did all the friends I invited along. The on site shop is well stocked and the local pub provides delicious chips to take out and the essential WiFi to keep in touch with important emails. Love this charming campsite and will be back soon. Thank you !

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WKHLANDCO 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 1 night just to try out our new tent. It's a nice setting and we camped on the play area field so our kids were close to the swings etc.

We visited the Crown Inn, up the hill from the campsite, for dinner and we can highly recommend it. Great steaks!

The campsite was reasonably good, we didn't make full use of the facilities, my wife was put off the showers by the grass all over the floor and we felt the shop was expensive, for example gas canisters were 2. 40 each, we had paid 1 each at Home Bargains.

We probably won't go back as there are so many other sites to try.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The rigbys 6 reviews from this member

We have stayed here a couple of times over the years and would recommend this site particularly for children. My sons have a great time using their skateboards down the slope, paddling in the stream, playing in the play area and going on adventures through the trees. There is a shop over the road and a nearby pub. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Remember don't come over The Long Mynd to this site as we did. Its extremely steep. All part of the adventure! The toilets and washing facilities are spotless. Its nice to hear the sheep in the fields of a night and watch the bats and stars in the skies. When we have visited everyone is reasonably quiet after 10pm.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Michaelmorris 9 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a nice weekend at The Green. The location is lovely, nestled between the Long Mynd and the Stiperstones, with the beautiful River Onny running through the campsite. It's a quiet location and very reasonably priced.

Unfortunately, the site services lets the place down, which is a real shame because with a small upgrading of the facilities and little bit of attention to detail, I could give this site 9/10.

The washroom/loo block is pretty shabby (but clean). The showers have no soap dish or seat, this makes having a shower a bit of a faff.

There is no motorhome service point and the water stand pipes use garden hose, not food grade hose.

It was very noisy on Saturday night until around midnight, with (as others have pointed out) the site seeming to make no effort to enforce their own 'no loud noise after 10:00pm' rule.

The shop has a great range of kids toys, but virtually no groceries and a very limited range of poor quality camping accessories. Thankfully, there is an excellent village shop a hundred metres away.

However, the worst is the rubbish area. Behind the neat, well-labelled recycling area is a small fenced yard were you simply put your bag of rubbish on the ground! If this is usual practice, I dread to think what the size of their rodent problem must be.

Would I recommend this site it to a friend? Yes, but not at the weekend, away from the rubbish area and forewarned about the showers.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Subry 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Check in was very smooth and the lady that we spoke to was extremely friendly and helpful, we were allocated pitch 14a which was a roomy corner pitch, with the added bonus of a gravel area where we were able to park the car. The only downside of this pitch is that it is at the bottom of a steep slope which was popular with kids on the site as they freewheeled down the slope on bikes, scooters, go-carts etc, which led to a near miss with both our car and caravan. The stream on site was fantastic, our daughter loved playing pooh sticks, paddling and climbing trees, this really is a great site for children. There was some noise on the first night, but as the site was fully booked this was to be expected and did not go on too late. The toilets and showers were always clean, and there seemed to be ongoing cleaning throughout the day. There is a basic shop on site, and a nice village store a couple of minutes walk away. We had a really nice meal at the Inn on the Green, but beware, you do have to book in advance. We visited Powys Castle and Carding Mill Valley, both of which are well worth a visit. The Downsides? No mobile phone reception (o2), no TV reception (some pitches seemed to have it, but our location under the trees meant we didn't) So a real 'get away from it all' holiday.

Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1055
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window