Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Garangeoire

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Site Reviews

La Garangeoire
Route De La Chapelle Hermier
Saint Julien Des Landes
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85150   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 51 46 65 39

Facilities:  (Key)
                           

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m   10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 357
Open: May 2 To September 18

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
              9/10 from 43 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Declang 5 reviews from this member

In June 2017 we stayed here for a week. We hadn't booked and as it turned out there was penty of space available. The welcome was very nice and an English guy showed us around the pitches available on a a golf buggy, which I thought was a nice touch.

We chose our pitch and he brought us back to reception where his colleague got us checked in. They still had our details on file from a previous visit, 9 years ago !

The pitch was nice, big, and grassy with minimum levelling needed, and some nice shade from the mature trees at the back. We had a pitch with a tap and a waste drain, although there was also a decent motorhome service point near the central shower block.

The pool is nice and although busy there were plenty of loungers available. The pool slides were good fun.

The small bar area was nice with nice friendly staff, with a small TV room off one end which showed the Formula 1 live, even though only 4 or 5 of us went to watch it ! There were only a few small tables outside the bar, so it wasn't easy to get to sit outside, with people sitting at the tables just to use the free wifi.

Shop was good and well stocked, with nice friendly staff

Take-Away was good, with very good chips and Pizza. We even got chips to go with our own BBQ some evenings.

We didn't use the restaurant, although it seemed to be popular.

A nice 'eco' initiative was the water system. For a deposit of €20 (or was it €10 ?) you get two 1L plastic bottles and a card liek a credit card size. Then you buy credit to put on the card. In a few places around teh site are the water 'machines' where you can fill your water bottles using your card. The water is micro-filtered and chilled. You have a choice of still or sparkling. It costs €0. 15 per litre. We used this system and we liked the water. We havent seen this idea anywhere else, but we all thought it was very clever.

There are both pedal boats and canoes availabel to use on the small lake and the first hour is free. You leave a deposit for the key to unlock your boat from the jetty. We were about 10 minutes over teh hour but were not charged the extra 5 Euro it should be.

Also on-site there is a 'lagoon' which is a small man-made beach where sand surrounds a very small 'lake'. The water is less than waist-deep. This was nice and not very busy when we went there a couple of times.

Location is a little inland from the coast, but it was only about 30 minutes drive to Les Sables D'Olonne and about the same to Saint Jean de Monts.

There is a signpost with the rule about no cycling after dusk, but people seem to ingore it and we saw quite a few kids cycling around in the dark, mostly without lights, and it was a bit dangerous.

Seems to be a popular place with English and Irish people as the majority of cars & campervans were UK or IRL plates.

All in all the site was very nice and we would go back in a flash.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyorp 5 reviews from this member

This really is an excellent site. We stayed here for seven nights in early May. It was the first week of opening. First off, the welcome was excellent. The young lady who booked us in spoke very good english. She gave us a tour of the site in a golf buggy and told us to pick a pitch. The pitch itself was enormous. The largest we have ever stay on. The pitches were separated by large hedges. All the facilities were spotless. As it was out of season, use of pedal boats and tennis courts was free of charge. We ordered baguettes from the shop each morning. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Despite it being early in the season all the facities were open. It had a restaurant on site although we never got around to using it. We had a very enjoyable tour of the estate by the owner. This lasted a couple of hours.

We quite liked the surrounding area. It was very neat and clean. There were a few shops in the local village with larger supermarkets 15 mins drive away.

Overall this really was a superb site. Probably the best we have stayed on in all our years of caravanning. And all for 18 euros a night (which included 16 amp hook up). This was tbe ACSI rate. Loved how you just pay for one night in advance and then pay the balance when you depart.

We would love to return to this site at some stage in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newodyssee 6 reviews from this member

This really is a superb site, and I cannot find fault with it. Firstly, from the moment you arrive you feel welcome and are offered a seat while you check in- having arrived at many sites tired after a long journey and stood in a queue this is much appreciated and highlights the emphasis on customer service. Staff are obviously treated well and enjoy their jobs- they always look happy and will go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your stay and are happy with your pitch. The pitches are the largest we have stayed on, and each pitch is surrounded by hedges giving you privacy. The football training sessions every morning are a hit with my sons. Also, the free entertainment is superb in the evening, as are the daytime tournaments. Another highlight for us is the clearly marked running routes, colour coded according to distance. The running club is also fun. The new lagoon was great for the kids with inflatables. Superb holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: ShortHamstrings 3 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, we stayed in a mobile home but had a good look round and there are good sized pitches, most with decent privacy. Toilet blocks are clean and well kept. There is plenty for kids to do: a playground, lake with pedelos (free), horse riding, go karting, a decent pool complex with slides and also a man-made lagoon where little ones can splash around and build sand castles. We have given the location an 8 because off site there isn't much without having to drive but there are decent beaches about a 15 minute drive away and a huge Super you around 15 mins away by car. The on site restaurant is ok, a bit expensive for the quality we felt, bar meals are better value for money but you can't get these in the evening. There are a few nice walks directly from the campsite, our kids weren't interested but we did them while the kids were in the kids club! We are going back this year, loved the site, plenty to do but with the bonus of no noisy discos going on till all hours. Perfect!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 51 reviews from this member

Stayed for 7 nights in July 2015 with partner and daughter.

What a fantastic site, cannot recommend it enough. We will be going back.

Welcome was excellent and the receptionist was friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English.

Site is well laid out with pitches away from the main activities but still well serviced. Pitch was a decent size and we were able to get the RV in 'length ways, thus freeing up the front of the pitch totally and creating a more open feel. That said the pitch was such a size this wouldn't have mattered if we couldn't.

Facilities were very good; modern block with laundry, washing up and ladies and gents showers/toilets with plenty of facilities to choose from. The site pool and bar area were excellent. The activities were beyond expectation and kept my 10 year old constantly occupied. There is a shop on site and this is very well stocked. The restaurant was always busy so didn't get the opportunity to use it, the take away was ok.

We hired a car whilst here and spent the afternoon on the Velorail - worth it for the novelty and exercise! Also visited Puy du Fou - absolutely amazing and well worth the visit. At 30 euros it is incredible value as well.

Will undoubtedly return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlr 10 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely fortnight at La Garangeoire in August. The weather was mostly warm and sunny, but we did also have a few rainy days and very cool nights (more on that later). Our pitch was grassy and fairly flat, in one of the terraced areas to the north of the main toilet block. Our pitch was long and narrow though, which meant it was a bit of a squeeze to get our day room tent (kitchen) up in the place we wanted, but it worked out ok in the end. Some pitches have much more shade than others, so it's worthwhile asking when you book. The site is very quiet at night, which was perfect for us.

The facilities on site are superb. All were clean and well maintained. The kids loved the pool and slides, play park, table tennis, go karts, pedalos//canoes etc. It is a bit of hassle to get a sunbed at the pool sometimes, but we found that if you just hung around for a few minutes or timed your arrival just right (eg just before lunch) then it was easier. The on site restaurant was excellent, a much higher standard of food than most uk high street establishments! The café gourmand is something not to be missed. We also found the pizzas from the takeaway to be very nice. The mini market is basic but has most of the emergency supplies you'll need - including a small 'English' section and a large wine section!

Throughout the site the staff are very helpful and polite. The reception staff are there as a fountain of all knowledge. I saw one of the team outside helping a uk car owner get his car towed to the garage for repairs. We saw the owners out doing jobs, Anne helping out at reception, Eric cutting hedges. Their pride in the site is there for all to see.

There is a good selection of beaches nearby depending on whether you want calm waves/big surf/rock pools. Most have beach cafés and toilets. St Gilles and Les Sables d'Olonne offer a big seaside town atmosphere, both with large marinas, little shops and the usual ice cream and waffle sellers! These towns make good places for an evening out too.

In all, we had a great time, but were a little disappointed with the cold nights (10 degrees) which meant it was too cold to sit outside the tent at night, once the kids had gone to bed, with a quiet drink. This is usually our favourite part of camping, so I feel I have missed out! The cold evenings also meant that the garden behind the site bar was completely empty every night and everyone was crammed onto the inside space. Each night we gave up trying to get a table. People came at 6:30and didn't leave until 11. 00. The staff said that this was the worst August they had had for several years, and as we have camped in the area before we had to agree. We are hoping to go back next year, so fingers crossed for warm evenings.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Pays de la Loire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4363 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec