Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillhead Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Hillhead Caravan Club Site
Hillhead
Brixham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ5 0HH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 853204

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 241
Open: 28/03/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
              9/10 from 84 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 111 reviews from this member

We have just had 3 nights and 3 gloriously blue, hot and sunny days staying at Hillhead. And we loved it.

Yes, it's a large site (not our kind of site normally) but the pitches are all in 'small' sections, with a choice of both hardstanding or grass and some with stunning sea views.

We turned up at 5pm on the Thursday and only had a few hardstanding pitches to choose from. Must've been the promisied sunshine?! There are plenty of water points and bin areas spread around and 2 toilet/shower blocks, one being much bigger than the other, but both spotlessly clean at all times, and undercover washing up areas next to each block.

Hillhead also has an outdoor swimming pool (with some adult only swimming times too), a well stocked shop, a bar (with entertainment most evenings) and restaurant with decent food, real ales and cider (and not too overpriced) and a good dog walk should you require.

The wardens obviously work extremely hard to keep the site in good order.

There's a bus stop right outside the site, so no need to move the motorhome at all. We paid £4. 90 each (adult) for a dayrider ticket. Buses start from just before 7am and continue until gone 11pm so well worth the ticket price. We bussed into Kingswear and back and down into Brixham and back. They also go to Paignton. Whilst in Kingswear we bought a 2-day 'Jubilee Pass' for £28 each (adult again) and this enabled us to get across to Dartmouth on the passenger ferry as many times as we needed in the 2 days, a trip on the steam train to Paignton and back and we also did a river cruise to Totnes and back. There are many more excursions you can use the pass for and well worth the money in our opinion.

We would definitely use Hillhead again, although only out of season.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Felicity73 12 reviews from this member

We visited this site for my partners 50th birthday. We planned a meal in Torquay and a trip to Cornwall on the Sunday. We arrived at a very quiet site on the Friday. We were told to choose a pitch. We chose one with a distant sea view. A breezy afternoon as the site is quite exposed. That afternoon we waited forty minutes for a bus to Brixham as one did not arrive. Arriving back at the site early evening we went into the clubhouse, which is really nice. Won the quiz ( a plus), . All well until being awakened at four a. M by the worse thunderstorm Ive heard and seen. Shaken by wind and rain for several hours we couldn't sleep and packed up early morning to go home. A much planned weekend ruined. I cant blame the site for the weather but wanted to point out that if the weather is bad the site is exposed and you will know about it!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 78 reviews from this member

Very large 250 pitch Caravan Club site located on exposed hilltop location between Brixham and KIngswear. Some pitches are fantastic sunny South facing with fantastic sea views, however most don’t!

Nearest walkable beach involves a 2 ½ mile trek with 170m steep hilltop decent (plus climb back!), however a regular ½ bus service runs directly outside the site to Brixham and Kingswear.

Unusual for the Caravan Club this site has a small shop, restaurant/bar and seasonal opening outdoor swimming pool. Also the site has a children’s play area, games and recreational field.

Two facilities blocks to a very high standard with the usual laundry and washing up.

Personally with a large motorhome this site is too large and is not in a convenient location for either direct walks from the site or cycling due to the busy narrow roads and lack of footpaths. Need either car or bus pass to make the most!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tom on tour 1 review from this member

Excellent site where staff make you welcome, work hard to maintain site and are very helpful. Travelling with a 7 year old boy and friends who have brought a dog we can commend pitches, views, atmosphere, quiet at night, shop, outdoor pool (clean and perfect temperature), staff attitude exceptional (follow reasonable rules but flexible and helpful beyond anything we have experienced elsewhere), Shower blocks perfect (clean, plentiful, good size cubicles with wet & dry area, proper pressure and not only can you choose temperature, you do not have to push button every 10-30 seconds. You actually get a lever with constant water! If you are new to campervanning trust me, this is the first shower of this type I have found in 2 years!) park, field for sport or kites, dog walking and bar. If you like evening entertainment or eating out on site choice is limited and quality not the best, but better than nothing. If you like to walk to resort from site also not for you. However e bus and taxi services to town, regular and quick. Apart from those 2 minor things, we cannot fault site, have been twice and will return over and over without question.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Missy Atko 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights. This site was very hesitantly booked for us. We don't like large sites, if it has a club house, we steer well clear & if it has a pool, it's a no no. However, we needed to book somewhere last minute and you can trust the Caravan Club so booked Hillhead. Well we were pleasantly surprised!

Although there are a lot of pitches, you aren't overlooked and it never ever felt crowded. Some have a fab seaview.

Toilets/showers/washrooms always clean and the staff ever so friendly and helpful. We went to the clubhouse once & it was good. Also used the pool, which was again really nice too.

I just really liked the peacefulness of this site despite so many facilities and pitches.

It also seems to attract the friendliest of campers.

Would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DMD40J 14 reviews from this member

We have just got back after staying at this site for 5 nights over Easter 2013. Although the weather was very cold it remained dry. Because of the expected influx of extra campers over Easter the second toilet block was opened. What an experience that was. I have never been so warm in my life, the under floor heating was great.

I can't tell you in just a few words how helpful the staff were. I would need to write a book. They were great.

Having turned 60 we decided to make more use of public transport, it couldn't be better. The people in all the places we visited were also great. A really good time was had by all.

A very convenient site for Brixham, Totnes, Buckfast Abbey, Paignton and Torquay.

A truly 5 star site. Well done.

Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547