Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillhead Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Hillhead Caravan Club Site
Hillhead
Brixham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ5 0HH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 853204

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 241
Open: 28/03/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 87 Reviews
              9/10 from 87 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  87 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 30 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. This is a much larger site than we would usually use, but thought we would give it a try.

We had a few pitch issues after being contacted the day before asking if we would swap our serviced pitch as someone had been taken ill, long story, but we ended up with a uneven grass pitch in the middle of several roads, not ideal but we made the most of it!

The shower/toilet facilities are very good and always clean. Excellent shop on site, with all you could need including daily papers, fresh bread etc.

Very good meals in the evening and a large area where you can sit inside and eat with your dog, which was great. We just made sure we got our before the evening entertainment started - not really our thing!

Lovely heated outdoor pool, like getting in a bath and I had it all to myself for a while.

Good bus links from the gate to Brixham, Kings Wear etc.

Walks from site are quite strenuous, as we have an elderly dog. Good enclosed dog field on-site, which would be much nicer if people would pick up after their dogs??

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yam600 2 reviews from this member

This site has it all, great pool, club house that serves food, little shop, great kids park and views to die for.

If your lucky enough to get a good pitch and weather you will love it. Excellent shower blocks.

Downsides, its difficult to get to a beach, cost of parking, ferries and buss. Although you can get a value weekly ticket.

Make sure you have leveling blocks! It can be difficult getting a good pitch in peak season.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The-wilsons 3 reviews from this member

This site is a Caravan Club site and certainly one we had reservations about as we normally like the more peaceful sites where the entertainment and bars etc are off site.

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived although planning the trip down needs carefully consideration as you can only arrive after 12 noon and the M5 can be a lottery.

When we arrived we were met with very friendly staff who were always on hand to help out and have a chat with throughout the day.

The site has a late night arrival area and plenty of parking for those who arrive before the 12 noon request which is normal on most sites.

The site is very big and you don't realise how big until you walk around as most pitches are private with well established hedges to divide them up. The road around the site is narrow and some of the pitches are level however most are on slopes of some kind or another. Reversing on and off can be tricky and if you have a big outfit it may be that you have to position your van sideways on the pitch as we did.

The play area and dog walk were well equipped and well used and provided enough for our children aged 4 to 11 years. The main attraction for the site is the outdoor heated pool and children's paddling pool. This is adjacent to the club house and bar / shop and is open from 10am til 6pm. Three days a week it is adult only swimming for an hour and a half but children can still use the children's paddling pool. There are also times when the children can have the big pool as they can have any sort of inflatable in the pool on a couple of afternoons.

When we visited the lifeguards of which there were either two or three on duty had to restrict use of the pool by introducing bands during peak times but most people left the children to play and the adults got out.

The pool is clean and there were plenty of sun loungers and chairs available for everyone and the sun was on the pool from early morning til late afternoon.

There was plenty of entertainment for children with an amusement room and at 7 pm most evening the clubhouse had a magician or entertainer booked, although a couple of them shouldn't give up their day jobs !

The food in the bar and restaurant was good and freshly cooked with good sized portions and the menu catered for every appetite.

We had a pitch very close to the club house and we're not disturbed by the noise, you could hear the entertainment and singing but it was a continuous background noise and to be honest I have stayed on sites where neighbours have made more noise out drinking late.

There was plenty of seating and at times you had to wait for a table as the clubhouse was very popular. Some of the clubhouse is indoor and there is an outside area that has a retractable roof dependant on the weather.

The shop is well stocked with everything you would need but did run out of ice creams during our stay but that can't be the norm!

There were two toilet blocks that were very clean with plenty of facilities and family rooms for those who need them.

The site is in a good position for everyone to get around and there are a lot of things to do from here. There are nice walks, good beaches and some great shopping areas in Totnes, Salcombe and Dartmouth. Brixham has a lovely harbour to walk around and some nice shops to but the majority are fish and chips or ice cream parlours.

Dartmouth and Brixham were great for crabbing off the harbour wall and there was a really nice car ferry across the river Dart.

Overall we were pleasantly surprised with the site and would definitely go back as there is so much more to do around the area. However if you don't get the weather the pool wouldn't be worth paying for as it is outdoor.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 119 reviews from this member

We have just had 3 nights and 3 gloriously blue, hot and sunny days staying at Hillhead. And we loved it.

Yes, it's a large site (not our kind of site normally) but the pitches are all in 'small' sections, with a choice of both hardstanding or grass and some with stunning sea views.

We turned up at 5pm on the Thursday and only had a few hardstanding pitches to choose from. Must've been the promisied sunshine?! There are plenty of water points and bin areas spread around and 2 toilet/shower blocks, one being much bigger than the other, but both spotlessly clean at all times, and undercover washing up areas next to each block.

Hillhead also has an outdoor swimming pool (with some adult only swimming times too), a well stocked shop, a bar (with entertainment most evenings) and restaurant with decent food, real ales and cider (and not too overpriced) and a good dog walk should you require.

The wardens obviously work extremely hard to keep the site in good order.

There's a bus stop right outside the site, so no need to move the motorhome at all. We paid £4. 90 each (adult) for a dayrider ticket. Buses start from just before 7am and continue until gone 11pm so well worth the ticket price. We bussed into Kingswear and back and down into Brixham and back. They also go to Paignton. Whilst in Kingswear we bought a 2-day 'Jubilee Pass' for £28 each (adult again) and this enabled us to get across to Dartmouth on the passenger ferry as many times as we needed in the 2 days, a trip on the steam train to Paignton and back and we also did a river cruise to Totnes and back. There are many more excursions you can use the pass for and well worth the money in our opinion.

We would definitely use Hillhead again, although only out of season.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Felicity73 13 reviews from this member

We visited this site for my partners 50th birthday. We planned a meal in Torquay and a trip to Cornwall on the Sunday. We arrived at a very quiet site on the Friday. We were told to choose a pitch. We chose one with a distant sea view. A breezy afternoon as the site is quite exposed. That afternoon we waited forty minutes for a bus to Brixham as one did not arrive. Arriving back at the site early evening we went into the clubhouse, which is really nice. Won the quiz ( a plus), . All well until being awakened at four a. M by the worse thunderstorm Ive heard and seen. Shaken by wind and rain for several hours we couldn't sleep and packed up early morning to go home. A much planned weekend ruined. I cant blame the site for the weather but wanted to point out that if the weather is bad the site is exposed and you will know about it!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 82 reviews from this member

Very large 250 pitch Caravan Club site located on exposed hilltop location between Brixham and KIngswear. Some pitches are fantastic sunny South facing with fantastic sea views, however most don’t!

Nearest walkable beach involves a 2 ½ mile trek with 170m steep hilltop decent (plus climb back!), however a regular ½ bus service runs directly outside the site to Brixham and Kingswear.

Unusual for the Caravan Club this site has a small shop, restaurant/bar and seasonal opening outdoor swimming pool. Also the site has a children’s play area, games and recreational field.

Two facilities blocks to a very high standard with the usual laundry and washing up.

Personally with a large motorhome this site is too large and is not in a convenient location for either direct walks from the site or cycling due to the busy narrow roads and lack of footpaths. Need either car or bus pass to make the most!

Previous     87 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3023 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469