Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillhead Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Hillhead Caravan Club Site
Hillhead
Brixham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ5 0HH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 853204

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 241
Open: 28/03/2014 To 04/01/2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
              9/10 from 91 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thewhitehorse 18 reviews from this member

We liked this site despite its large size. There were so many different facilities that I kept the site map with me to avoid getting lost! Everywhere clean and tidy and well maintained. Shop really good. Staff lovely. Plenty of entertainment; not our scene but ideal for groups and/or teenagers.

Visited Brixham, a painter's paradise, with its pretty harbour and Marina. The 'Golden Hind' is on public display and there were plenty of Cafe's and tea-rooms to choose from; all very high standard and reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eustace 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at Hillhead for a fortnight in September. Great Location with sea views from some of the pitches. We had booked a hardstanding pitch but when we arrived the site was still really full so ended up using a grass one instead. This was fine but many of them seem to be quite difficult for getting units on and off. Facilities are very clean and tidy. Good shop on site for papers and all essentials. Good pint of ' Doombar' Cornish bitter in the bar but not impressed with our meal in Nico's restaurant.

Plenty of things to do in the area without needing to spend a great deal of money as good walks from the site to small coves. Quite strenuous walking in places. Many sandy beaches within a few miles. Berry Head nature reserve well worth a visit with lovely sea views.

Local steam railway very good value with a good stretch of the line following the coast.

Overall a very enjoyable holiday with a friendly welcome from the lady warden on our arrival. Would certainly return.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 32 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. This is a much larger site than we would usually use, but thought we would give it a try.

We had a few pitch issues after being contacted the day before asking if we would swap our serviced pitch as someone had been taken ill, long story, but we ended up with a uneven grass pitch in the middle of several roads, not ideal but we made the most of it!

The shower/toilet facilities are very good and always clean. Excellent shop on site, with all you could need including daily papers, fresh bread etc.

Very good meals in the evening and a large area where you can sit inside and eat with your dog, which was great. We just made sure we got our before the evening entertainment started - not really our thing!

Lovely heated outdoor pool, like getting in a bath and I had it all to myself for a while.

Good bus links from the gate to Brixham, Kings Wear etc.

Walks from site are quite strenuous, as we have an elderly dog. Good enclosed dog field on-site, which would be much nicer if people would pick up after their dogs??

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chanel 4 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed staying at this site, the staff were really pleasant & helpful. We stayed on a grassed pitch as all other pitches were full which suited us as the weather was really good all week. We walked into Brixham via a public right of way which was interesting as part of it was in a stream. It took about a hour to get there which was ok for us as weather was good & our dog managed it. The only disadvantage about where we where on site was the distance to the toilets as they closed the other block the day after we got there. I found the price expensive for the weeks stay but the only reason could have been that there was entertainment on weekends, which was really good. We used the bus service which was outside the site which was a treat for us as we took the dog with us.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crosshandsnen 3 reviews from this member

Advice to all, Please read all reviews before making bookings,

On arrival we had a very warm welcome, we were told where to park, then to go and choose our pitch the lady advised which one to have a good sea view, , Hubby went of to find our pitch I then could see this was not going to be good for me mobility wise, After careful manoeuvring we were on our pitch '96' you wont see the sea unless you peer over a 4ft hedge, if you have any mobility problems do make sure you get a pitch at the beginning of the site they only way I could get to the toilet blocks was to be driven, so could not help with water carrying ect as its uphill or down either way, Toilets very clean,

We went to the clubhouse on the evening, hubby had a curry which he said was fine but very watery, l had a Gourmet Steak Burger, after a couple of mouthfuls l cut it in half and found it was not cooked all the way through the middle was still very pink, l did tell the waitress who said she was sorry, so l asked if the manager could be informed as l felt l should not have to pay nearly £9. 00 for a meal hardly eaten, which she replied she would, but would we accept a free round of drinks to which we refused.

The manager did not make an appearance, and my hubby not wanting to make a fuss just paid the bill, as he felt that when he handed his card back into the office when we booked out, he would be asked if we had a good holiday he could then explain about the undercooked meal, Sadly the warden did not asked just took his card and said nothing, This was our first time stayng at a Caravan Club site, and we feel this will be this last, so will not be renewing our membership,

I should add most pitches are enclosed with hedges which makes it very claustrophobic.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yam600 2 reviews from this member

This site has it all, great pool, club house that serves food, little shop, great kids park and views to die for.

If your lucky enough to get a good pitch and weather you will love it. Excellent shower blocks.

Downsides, its difficult to get to a beach, cost of parking, ferries and buss. Although you can get a value weekly ticket.

Make sure you have leveling blocks! It can be difficult getting a good pitch in peak season.

Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6267 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1045