Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glentrool Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Glentrool Holiday Park
Bargrennan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 6RN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01671 840280

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m 10m  10m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
              9/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (16)

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nessmanuk 7 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a couple of days at this site and am highly impressed with the facilities and friendliness of the owners who have just taken it over in April of this year. I am not going to repeat what the previous 3 reviewers have said but fully endorse their positive comments. Really worthwhile paying Glentrool Holiday Park a visit and I am planning another trip there before they shut for the season at the end of October. Keep up the excellent work Jan and Fran!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob41 1 review from this member

Lovely little campsite well maintained, owners are friendly and very helpful, toilets and shower blocks are kept to very high standard of cleanliness (immaculate). Perfect little retreat for exploring Galloway forest and taking in some lovely scenery. Excellent value for money really enjoyed the stay there and will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Currycampers 9 reviews from this member

My eldest son and I just walked the Southern Upland Way in support of our local cancer charity, and stayed for one glorious night at Glentrool.

After a long day's walking we were met with a warm friendly welcome by Fran and Jen the new owners.

We were both bowled over by the lovely location and the superb brand new facilities. Lovely shower block and laundry and even a great washing-up area. The reception has a little shop for basics, (which fed us for the next couple of days wild camping) and the lily pond in the tent area is very pretty and adds to the experience.

5 minutes down the road is a terrific pub called the House 'o' Hill which has real ales and great food. Nice warm welcome here too and like the good people at the campsite were very supportive of our fundraising walk.

The new owners are putting a lot of effort into the site and were re-turfing a part of the tent area when we stayed and expanding the electric hook-up areas.

I will be returning with my wife as soon as possible in our campervan. The walk opened my eyes to the beauty of the borders and the site is perfectly located for walkers and mountain bikers and the visitor who just wants tranquility and peace.

Can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Darladididada 1 review from this member

We have just came back from our stay in Glentrool holiday park and we were impressed with the facilities.

The ladies at the reception were very friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the area. I must stress that this site is under new management and two ladies have recently took over the campsite (5 months ago) and they did a good job by re-building the whole site and the toilet/shower facilities. Any old reviews can be ignored! This is the ideal site if you are looking for tranquillity and peace! It is quiet at night, in the middle of the forest of Galloway where the only thing that can wake you up is the birds singing. Ideal place to stargaze at night. The site is only 8 minutes walk from the House o'hill pub where they do very good food and good value. It is also not far from the Glentrool visitor centre and 15 minutes drive from Newton Stewart.

We stayed in a tent, it was easy to get an electric hook up and we were able to choose our pitch when we get there, it has a lay back atmosphere to it. There are plenty of tourist information at the reception in Glentrool holiday park as well. The toilet/shower are brand new and kept clean daily. The shower rooms are spacious, with hot water and space to put shower gel/towel etc.

Check out the little pond while you there, the 'duck parade' is great entertainment! The ducks are very settled there and have their little feeding routine.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kfortune 3 reviews from this member

We spent a few days at this lovely peaceful campsite in the Galloway Forest Park. It is now under new management and the new owners are full of enthusiasm and many ideas for the campsite. It only reopened in April and already a lot has been accomplished. The facilities have been totally renewed and are kept spotlessly clean. There is a small shop at reception and many information leaflets for things to do in the surrounding area.

There are spacious hardstandings for caravans and motor homes and a grassy area near the lily pond for tents. There are some statics also but these are tucked away at one end of the site. Two of these are for rent which could be very useful for non camping friends to stay in or for anyone wanting a camping experience who hasnít got a tent/caravan/motorhome. Fran very kindly agreed to show us inside one of these and it was spotlessly clean. If we didn't have a caravan we would be more than happy to stay there.

The quietness and tranquillity is one of the most striking features of the site. The birdsong is lovely in the mornings and there are many species to be spotted around the site. There are also some delightful little Shetland ponies. The stars are magnificent to observe when walking back from the toilet block in the middle of the night!

This is a great base for exploring the surrounding area and within the Forest Park there are many trails for walking and cycling. The countryside round about is stunning. There is a very nice pub just down the road which serves great food.

We will certainly make a return visit to this site. Thank you Jen and Fran for being so friendly and helpful!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pedro 60 1 review from this member

The owners are continuing with the upgrade of this site. We come with friends every May to take advantage of the lovely walks around this area, walks go from challenging (Merrick hill) to easy (around loch Trool).

The improvements are making a real difference to this site and I get the impression it is now a well cared for site. Owners go the extra mile to help out, as witnessed: having the electrics checked over on a foreign Motorhome.

Check out the Duck/chicks parade several times a day(if you are there when chicks are about).

Look forward to seeing the site on our next visit!

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508