Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site
Bargrennan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 6RN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01671 840280

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m 10m  10m   10m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
              9/10 from 29 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (16)

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Walker Dan 9 reviews from this member

We don't usually leave reviews unless the site is spectacularly good or bad, in this case we can only say this is one of the nicest sites we've stayed on. The owners seem to spend all days busy around the site which is very clean and tidy. The showers and toilets were spotless and there is information and help on hand if required. There is a lovely pond where we saw newts on a couple of occasions. We don't normally spend much time on site generally out walking or cycling but this is such a relaxing place. We initially booked in for a couple of nights but after a few days down the coast came back for another two. Nice quiet roads for cycling and lots of walking opportunities. The pub 5 minutes walk down the road is good for food and drink but they were having staffing problems in the kitchen so perhaps best to book if you want to eat there.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5OnTour 18 reviews from this member

Loved this campsite. We have previously stayed here about 5 years ago and liked the location, but the new owners have done some amazing work to ensure the facilities are really up to scratch. They have landscaped the site and removed a lot of dark conifers so it is a lot lighter, and have also fully refurbished the shower block which is clean and bright. Showers are hot and spacious.

We were there for 3 nights over Easter and the site was not full. There were very few tents as the weather forecast hadn't been good, although actually we had plenty of sunshine. We were in our van, but our friends had planned to camp and when the forecast was poor had managed to get into one of the static caravans at the site - this was great value at 50 per night.

We stayed here for the 7 Stanes mountain biking in the area. On our way across we went to Dalbeattie, and on another day rode at Kirroughtree. From the campsite itself we did the Glentrool 'Big Country' ride. This is certainly a big day out (62km in total), starting as a fairly gentle ride along tarmac but later turning into lots of big long hills! And no tea shop (or indeed anything else) until right at the end. No singletrack but great views - one for a fine day.

The owners are friendly but not intrusive, and they deserve their site to be a great success. It's a pity it's so far from where we live otherwise we'd be there every weekend!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nessmanuk 7 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a couple of days at this site and am highly impressed with the facilities and friendliness of the owners who have just taken it over in April of this year. I am not going to repeat what the previous 3 reviewers have said but fully endorse their positive comments. Really worthwhile paying Glentrool Holiday Park a visit and I am planning another trip there before they shut for the season at the end of October. Keep up the excellent work Jan and Fran!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob41 1 review from this member

Lovely little campsite well maintained, owners are friendly and very helpful, toilets and shower blocks are kept to very high standard of cleanliness (immaculate). Perfect little retreat for exploring Galloway forest and taking in some lovely scenery. Excellent value for money really enjoyed the stay there and will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Currycampers 9 reviews from this member

My eldest son and I just walked the Southern Upland Way in support of our local cancer charity, and stayed for one glorious night at Glentrool.

After a long day's walking we were met with a warm friendly welcome by Fran and Jen the new owners.

We were both bowled over by the lovely location and the superb brand new facilities. Lovely shower block and laundry and even a great washing-up area. The reception has a little shop for basics, (which fed us for the next couple of days wild camping) and the lily pond in the tent area is very pretty and adds to the experience.

5 minutes down the road is a terrific pub called the House 'o' Hill which has real ales and great food. Nice warm welcome here too and like the good people at the campsite were very supportive of our fundraising walk.

The new owners are putting a lot of effort into the site and were re-turfing a part of the tent area when we stayed and expanding the electric hook-up areas.

I will be returning with my wife as soon as possible in our campervan. The walk opened my eyes to the beauty of the borders and the site is perfectly located for walkers and mountain bikers and the visitor who just wants tranquility and peace.

Can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Darladididada 1 review from this member

We have just came back from our stay in Glentrool holiday park and we were impressed with the facilities.

The ladies at the reception were very friendly and helpful with good knowledge of the area. I must stress that this site is under new management and two ladies have recently took over the campsite (5 months ago) and they did a good job by re-building the whole site and the toilet/shower facilities. Any old reviews can be ignored! This is the ideal site if you are looking for tranquillity and peace! It is quiet at night, in the middle of the forest of Galloway where the only thing that can wake you up is the birds singing. Ideal place to stargaze at night. The site is only 8 minutes walk from the House o'hill pub where they do very good food and good value. It is also not far from the Glentrool visitor centre and 15 minutes drive from Newton Stewart.

We stayed in a tent, it was easy to get an electric hook up and we were able to choose our pitch when we get there, it has a lay back atmosphere to it. There are plenty of tourist information at the reception in Glentrool holiday park as well. The toilet/shower are brand new and kept clean daily. The shower rooms are spacious, with hot water and space to put shower gel/towel etc.

Check out the little pond while you there, the 'duck parade' is great entertainment! The ducks are very settled there and have their little feeding routine.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 200 of Cool Prizes from Outwell Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8468 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0625