Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Glentrool Camping And Caravan Site
Bargrennan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 6RN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01671 840280

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
              9/10 from 47 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: C E Murray 1 review from this member

Stayed with my two dogs and a large group of friends with their dogs for two nights. The owners were very lovely and accommodating and made sure we were all close by to each other. Glentrool campsite is a wonderful, beautiful, spacious place. The shower and toilet block was lovely and clean at all times. Very close to Loch Trool which is an amazing walk. Very very happy with the site, so much so I'm taking my family back there next August for a week.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Currycampers 16 reviews from this member

This is without a doubt the best campsite we've ever stayed at. It's my third visit as I stayed overnight twice while walking the Southern Upland Way in 2014 and 2015 and both me and my sons loved the place. This was the first time I've visited with my wife and to quote her she was 'smitten'. Fran and Jen have transformed the place into a lovely, peaceful place to relax and use as a base for the wonderful countryside that surrounds it. As my wife said, they seem to have anticipated everything that could be needed. The place was busy and we were glad we booked. This part of the borders is a real gem that is often missed by those heading for the highlands and islands, lovely as they are. The site has a real continental feel with people from all over Europe who know a good thing when they see it. A Dutch lad who was on a cycling tour with his family told me he wished sites in Holland were as good, which is praise indeed. What really makes it is the welcome and the next stop on our tour, although very nice, was more than twice the price and impersonal to say the least. Thanks for such a lovely stay girls!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bartlett ian 1 review from this member

Just lovely

Small campsite and beautiful location for biking and walking

I was worried when I arrived that it would get crowded at weekend, but the owners are more concerned about quality than quantity and put up the site full sign up when other places would have squeezed more in. Some lovely touches like bothy with fridge and microwave, really helpful for small tenters who have limited gas and nowhere to keep the milk cool, and a bathroom that plays the strains of radio 2 in the morning, so much more civilised than some of the strains normally heard. Good shop and everywhere very clean. Cannot wait to go back and wonderful wildlife. Possibly not the best if you have lots of small children given size of site but did not really look at the site from this perspective. Owners very helpful with ideas of where to visit

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wheeler99 8 reviews from this member

Hey we were the first visitors this year and the site remains fantastic. The ladies are very warm and friendly and give good sound advice on local trails and facilities. The 'hoose' pub remains very good. Its a nice quiet site and is being developed every year, the pitches are spacious and everything is done with great care. As it nears perfection already one wonders what else can be done in the future. There are lovely touches everywhere and campers are well catered for with a hut if weather is poor and even a microwave and drying rack, brilliant.

Marked lower for child friendliness dependent upon age and control due to the lake and proximity to the road.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulgough 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 2 nights in late September hoping to have clear skies for star gazing but without success. Fortunately the site more than made up for the uncooperative night clouds. The owners run it with real vigour and enthusiasm and have achieved a huge amount in 3 years. Everything is spotlessly clean, functional and operates with the minimum of fuss and rules. Hard standing spacious pitches, modern toilet block and a general feeling of warmth. A 5 minute drive takes you to the Glentrool Visitor Centre with a range of beautiful walks. The one to Robert The Bruce's stone is stunning. Fortunately the owners were able to direct us to a parking place for our motorhome near the Centre as the bridge giving access has been damaged by flood water. ( no problem for small units). We did not use the local P. H. But reports from other site users were positive. We will definitely return and hope for clear skies as a bonas.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teenoso 2 reviews from this member

What a brilliant site, one of the best sites we have ever stayed on.

Small, friendly and quiet, just what we were looking for on our 2 day break to get away from it all.

Very impressive toilet/shower block, modern, clean and sparkling.

The two areas reserved for caravans/motorhomes are completely gravelled over which at first sight is a bit stark but very practical in the wet and you soon get used to it.

The individual bays are in the process of being hedged off, given a couple of more years and they will provide a good degree of privacy to each pitch.

Pub five minutes up the road, one of the site owners even offered to phone ahead to book us a table when we arrived.

The area is stunning, even better in good weather, plenty of ideas at the Glentrool visitor centre to keep you as busy or as chilled out as you could possibly wish.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1747 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window