Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 170 Reviews
              8/10 from 170 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  170 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sensibleann 2 reviews from this member

Extremely well kept and pleasant site. Reception staff very friendly and professional. Great pitches and super warm shower/toilet block. Within walking distance of Slimbridge Wetlands Centre which is a great day out. Lovely walks along the canal side. Dog friendly site with dog walk area. There is a shop at the side of the canal across the road but this was closed when we were there. Fabulous pub (Tudor Arms) at the entrance to campsite serving great and reasonably priced food and which is also dog friendly. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 116 reviews from this member

3 or 4th visit for us to Tudor Caravan Park.

Handy as it's just off the M5. You have to time your arrival well coming through the village though as it gets busy at 'peak' times. We always book the adults only area which we find very peaceful. Good size level hardstanding with EHU.

Booking in was efficient and very friendly. There are two toilet/shower blocks on site the oldest one being closest to the adults only section. Yes it's dated, but it clean. We used both blocks! Recycling available too. Wi-Fi is only £1 per day - great value for money.

The pub next door, Tudor Arms, is great, in fact it's one of the best next door to a campsite. Friendly, great choice of local ciders and ales, dog friendly, good food and reasonably price. It does get busy and booking is advisable especially at weekends.

Lovely walks along the canal in either direction from the site. We walked to Purton ships graveyard and back this time in the warm sunshine. Well worth the walk. The WWT is right on the doorstep too but seemed very pricy to us so we gave it a miss.

We only had 2 nights here but once again it was great. Nothing to complain about and we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve154 8 reviews from this member

Been too this site 5 times now but its my first review on it. Its a great little site we take our two dogs there and go walking along the canal the ships grave yard is very interesting and its great to see all the canal boats along the way. The fist thing to point out is that when you leave the A38 and enter Slimbidge there is a school and if you get there near pick up time its a night mare with a caravan on so try and time it right! The shower block is clean and its never been that busy when i'v been there but can be a bit cold in there 1st thing or late at night. They have got a small shop that has got a few bits and pieces in there or there one across the road but don't expect too much or good prices ! there is a Tesco's not far away. The Tudor Arms pub is very good lots different proper cider or beer too try and food is very good and not too bad price it dose get busy though so best too book and its dog friendly. The pitch's are all on the level and are of a good size. As I have already said been there 5 times now and it is a great wkend site so will go back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamanddoug 6 reviews from this member

I booked at short notice and was told they only had a couple of grass pitches available, that didn't matter as I don't mind grass or hardstand. On booking in I was allocated a hardstand which as far as I was concerned was in an ideal spot for my needs. The toilet block is new clean and with plenty of hot water at a decent pressure I didn't see a playground but there was a large grass area in the middle of the site. The pub next door is very welcoming with a good selection of real ales and local ciders as well as the normal pub beers etc the food was excellent both in value and portion size Just across the road is the black shed a no frills café with good size and value especially the big breakfast the small shop has basic needs and caters to the needs of the users of the canal. 800 yards away is slimbridge wetlands centre well worth a visit and allow yourself most of the day for a visit as there is so much to see

I would recommend this site to any one and will definitely be returning there soon

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 120 reviews from this member

Been coming here on and off for years and can't understand the few previous negative comments after all it is a country site so expect the lack of lighting, public transport and shops which is why it's so popular, that said I find the pitch sizes, toilets to a high standard and have found no problem with reception. Being a country site walking or cycling along the canal is recommended, Frampton is a couple of miles away and has two pubs and a shop. If its raining and the children get bored take them to the WWT reserve down the road which does some excellent conservation work on endangered species or visit the GBG listed pub at the site entrance. If you walk to the George pub on the A38(about 30 mins)you can catch an hourly bus to Dursley.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam952 5 reviews from this member

This site is one of the nicest we have stayed on with everything so clean and tidy, the showers and toilets were immaculate all week. Water pressure and temperature was very good.

We had no issues with the pitch or pitch facilities at all which we find a bit hit and miss on some sites. It was extremely level and the electricity never tripped once. Options of hard standing with grass area or all grass.

One of the little touches I liked was the homegrown plants, fruit, veg and fresh laid eggs all of which I took advantage of and thoroughly enjoyed.

The site is behind the Tudor Arms pub and again this was excellent, friendly staff and super food. The pub also has accommodation so would be ideal if extra family wished to join you.

It is based next to a canal so was good for walking, unfortunately our dog couldn't go in to swim which she loves as the canal sides were too high.

The surrounding area is very attractive, lots of chocolate box villages who seem to love visitors. Frampton on Severn was a favourite of ours as it has several lakes so our dog could swim, it also has a lovey pub the 3 Horseshoes by the village green, excellent real homemade food. Our other favourite visit was Bourton on the water (40 min drive)

Loved the site and the area, we will definitely be back and very soon.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dollchickgb 11 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! The weather wasn't great, but it didn't spoil our stay. The site is friendly and very clean. The toilet/shower block is clean and warm. The Tudor Arms pub is dog-friendly and the food is fantastic! Lovely canal walk. A relaxing, quiet family site which was exactly what we were looking for. Can't fault this site and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gonze 1 review from this member

Just got back from Tudor, a nice clean site, old shower block. Very old and small. New block, clean but small so expect to queue at busy times, cubicles are nice and big. Other facilities are good, wash up areas, waste and washing machines and tumble dryers. Nice big pitches, the Tudor arms pub is just outside the site. Reasonable priced food, good beer with a small games room, 2 pool tables, dart board and juke box. Across the road from the site there is a small shop and cafe. Had breakfast one morning. Very small for the price. They also hire bikes, the barges were broken until next year. The sharpness canal is pretty with plenty of wildlife and boats travelling up and down all day. It rained all week and our grass pitch got very very muddy. So recommend wellies, there is nothing on the site for children, we planned for this, DVD player, board games etc but noticed other children were board. A park definitely needed. To round it off. A clean friendly site, personally I think it would suit the older persons better than a young family. I would return, but maybe just the wife and I for a relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawn-c 1 review from this member

A small group of us have just arrived back from a wonderful long weekend camping at Tudor Caravan Park, lots of room to pitch our tents without everyone being on top of each other, the shower and toilet blocks were probably one of the best out of all the campsites I've been to over my many years of camping, there is an older block too which is nearer to the reception which was still good.

Bear in mind that this is a family friendly site so if you're a young group who want to party all night then this place isn't for you, if however you're a group or family who enjoy the joys of camping and the relaxation then this place is perfect.

The staff were helpful and in reception they have a few provisions for camping like pegs and stuff. Think there is meant to be a shop somewhere on site selling the basics but I didn't find that as we didn't need anything, if you do need more than the basics there is a supermarket in the town a few miles away.

There is a pub right next door which is lovely, great food and is only a very short stroll away.

Nice canal next to the site which is good for walking or cycling, you can hire bikes or boats across the road in the little cafe.

Also a very short drive or even a walk away is the Wetlands centre, this is well worth a visit, flamingos in Gloucestershire! Lots of different birds to see and we didn't even cover the whole place!

All in all this was a great site and we will definitely be returning at some point :)

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 27 reviews from this member

We have just spent 4 nights at this site.

Positives - Lovely sunny weather for the whole trip. Good pub next door with very enjoyable meals (Best to book a table, gets very busy).

Negatives - Warden very unwelcoming and unfriendly on arrival. Adult only shower block very dated. Push button showers with very low pressure in the new block. Building works going on right near our pitch. No public transport from site. No basic shop on site and the boat yard shop was either not open or had very little stock, so make sure you bring everything you need with you.

We don't quite understand the good reviews for this site, we found it very unfriendly and will not be returning.

Previous     170 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9205 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547