Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 191 Reviews
              8/10 from 191 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boterbloem 1 review from this member

We visited Tudor caravan park just for 2 nights with our motor home. Reception was very welcoming and helpful. Pitch was fine, but a little suprised there was no water connection, which wasn't a problem as we filled up before leaving home.

Facilities were good although we found the showers cubicles rather cramped but have since found out this is the older block and the newer block is roomier, which we didn't use. Motorhome service area was excellent easy accessible.

The campsite was very convenient for Slimbridge wetlands and for cycling.

Having the Tudor Arms next door is a bonus.

We will use it again if we are in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 156 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave M5 at junction 13 and take A38 south. Follow signs for Slimbridge Wetland Centre and at roundabout on A38 turn right through Slimbridge village, the site is about 2 miles along this road. Continue along road with care as the road is twisty and narrow in places. When you get to the Tudor Arms pub, just before the canal, the entrance to the campsite is immediately past the pub on the left through the carpark.

Tudor Caravan Park is situated alongside the Gloucester and Sharpness Canal at Slimbridge near to the famous Slimbridge Wetland Centre. The campsite is open all year, part of it is adults only. It could be a useful stopover site between the north and southwest on the M5. The approach to the site is through the Tudor Arms carpark. The gate to the site is kept closed but not locked, so you can let yourself in. According to the site plan given by reception there are 73 pitches although there seems to be an additional overflow areas beyond the marked pitches. Site roads are compacted gravel rather than tarmac. Most pitches are on hardstandings although they are relatively narrow with not really enough room for caravan/awning or caravan/car without making use of the adjacent grass strip between pitches. Some of the pitches are quite long so a car might fit in front of a caravan. The site asks you to position your unit to the lefthandside of the pitch. There is a large grassed area which might be used as a play area or as a tent area? Electric points, rated at 16 amps, are conveniently placed to each pitch and use CEE17 blue connectors. The site has two toilet blocks. The one nearest reception looks like the original one and is perhaps past its best. However the second block further into the site is much more modern and to a good standard. This block also contains a laundry room and a covered washing up area. Chemical emptying points are available at both toilet blocks.

The motorhome service point is next to the newer toilet block. Water points are dotted around the site, there are also a few grey water waste points as well but they have a one brick high upstand. There is site wide Wifi at a modest charge of 1 a day, cheaper for longer stays. Signal was not brilliant and I got a more consistent signal with my mobile phone. This site charges an inclusive fee for pitch, electrics and two people with additional charges for extra adults/children. Please note payment by credit card is subject to a surcharge. Reception sell ice cream and some limited caravan accessories although, during our stay, no sign of other essentials.

Next door to reception is and information room with lots of leaflets on local attractions. We found the site quite peaceful, especially at night. There is very little lighting around the site so a decent torch would be useful to have.

This site is ideal if you want to visit the Wetland Centre at Slimbridge which is a relatively short walk from the site. There are good cycling opportunities direct from the site along the Gloucester and Sharpness Canal in both directions. For eating out the Tudor Arms Pub could not be nearer and the prices are quite reasonable. Without a car shopping could be more problematic. There is a small shop in Slimbridge village but more serious shopping is some miles away.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graygray 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from five days at this site. Great side shower block nice and clean and warm. Water could have been a bit warmer but that's just me. Owner of the site very helpful. The site is spotless clean. Nice walks along the canal. Tudor Arms pub very friendly food was great. Nice lot of real ales. All in all a great place thanks for a good stay.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zumerzet Lass 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. That is why we will keep coming back. Everything is excellent about this site, no complaints at all. Disabled facilities. Lovely walks along the towpath, plenty of boats moored up. WiFi on site. Open all year. Is always busy, so please book up before you go. Friendly reception staff. The Tudor Arms, outside main gates, do really great meals. Very busy, so best to book a table. Slimbridge WWT within walking distance. For shopping there is Gloucester, Cribbs Causeway, Stroud, Dursley and Bristol. We didn't have any children with us, so really cannot comment on child friendliness.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tonybacon 8 reviews from this member

Tudor Caravan Park is very good. The toilet block is nice and warm with under floor heating, Showers are nice and roomy and the block is very clean. Heard one of the lady staff singing in there one day 'don't marry him, marry me' it was lovely.

The pitches are big and you can see that the whole site is very clean and looked after. The reception sells bread, milk, ice-cream and gas. We went up there to pitch our new tent with our two young ones - 7 and 3 years old - who had a lovely time there running on the big bit of grass playing ball. Maybe a little park in the middle would help out. Would definitely go back and also recommend this place.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kservice 1 review from this member

I'd highly recommend the Tudor Caravan Park & Campsite. We live in Dursley, only about 3 miles away, but the kids like spending the night in their tent and this is a great local campsite that we've visited several times. It's right beside the Slimbridge canal - so very handy if you have a kayak or canoe as there's access to the water close by, and there's a great country pub next door for snacks and hot meals. It's also only about a mile and half from the WWT Slimbridge bird reserve. The campsite itself is well-maintained and clean, with nicely manicured smooth lawns throughout (although the ridge-and-hummock pattern you can see in some areas, left over from the ancient field system that underlies the park means you may have to carefully consider the best place to site your tent if you're tent camping as you won't want to end up lying across a dip in the ground! If you lie 'with' the furrows - ie along them, -it's 100% fine), and the toilet facilities are nice and clean too. As I said we've been several times and will undoubtedly visit again in future too!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northend77 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights as it was local and we wanted to test out camping with our 8 month old twins

It's in a lovely location surrounded by lots of countryside with the Slimbridge WWT very close by (which is well worth a visit)

There is a caravan area and then 2 large open fields with or without EHU for tents and trailer tents.

There isn't a play area for children however as the middle of the 2 fields are open (pitches are around the edges) there is plenty of space for them to run around and play. We had 7 children within our group ranging from 8 months to 14 years and none of them got bored. We saw families playing football, catch, chase, remote control cars - all sorts and all without getting in the way of each other or annoying surrounding campers

The shower and toilet block is clean and bright with plenty of hot water. Showers are cubicles with doors rather than curtains so good and private

There's a washing up area, waste and drinking water points in the corners of each field, bins and recycling. There is a small shop however it hasn't been open for a whilse (can't remember why) and not many shops nearby (nearest is Cam a few miles away) so take provisions. The reception office does have an ice cream freezer though!

Staff are friendly and mostly leave you alone on the site, which is kept clean and tidy however they could do with either demolishing or renovating the old rusty tin shed in the first tent field. It's an eye sore and I purposely camped on the other side of the field so my children didn't play near it

There is wifi for just 1 a day however we could barely get it at the far end of the first field and I struggled to pick it up much better walking nearer to the reception area!

At night there is no light pollution so it makes for great night sky watching

On the whole it's a lovely, relaxing site that we will definitely return to.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hols4me 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for five nights in our folding camper with EHU. The site is quiet, close to the canal, and Tudor arms pub. There's very little else around though, not even a local shop. We ventured down to the local post office in Slimbridge one morning thinking that they would sell some basic provisions but they did 't even have bread and milk!

The pitches are well laid out and are hard standing and with grass to the side. New toilet and shower block are very good, but they closed the main block for an hour and a half for cleaning every day, - some days it was two hours, which we thought was far too long.

We ate in the Tudor arms pub one evening and were very disappointed. From the reviews, we were expecting really good quality pub food, but to be honest, I have eaten better in Wetherspoons!

We took a trip to Gloucester and Stroud on a couple of the days, and had a day out at the Wetlands which is very close to the site and was was very interesting.

we wouldn't return to this site, or indeed to this area. We weren't very inspired by it! There was very little to do, and we didn't think much of Gloucester Or Stroud.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Glyn43 2 reviews from this member

Quiet site backing onto the Sharpness canal.

New toilet/facilities block is excellent but makes the original block look tired.

Good walks along the tow path of the canal in both directions but if cycling note that the path towards Sharpness is not the best for bikes. Towards Gloucester is a designated cycle path and is fine.

Whilst staying here a day at the Slimbridge WWT is a must. A really great day out. Don't just buy a day ticket join the WWT. It is not expensive and gives you access to all WWT sites as well as supporting them.

If in a camper van you should be aware that there is no public transport nearby.

Pub next to the site ( Tudor Arms)is very good value. Probably need to book at certain times. Weekends and bank holidays.

A good level site and well worth a visit for a few days but you wil need to be aware that currently the nearest shopping facilities are in Cam. Three miles

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Luce6 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit and it was just as enjoyable as the first two years ago. The site is so well laid out, grass and hedges/shrubs well maintained and add to the perfect pitches. The shower blocks are immaculate, plenty of space and we didn't have to queue either evening or morning even though most pitches were occupied. The added bonus of the pub makes the stay perfect, serving good beers and delicious food at affordable prices. Luckily we had booked a table in advance because they were fully booked when we arrived. To top it all we woke to beautiful sunshine and were able to start the day in peaceful surroundings breakfasting all fresco!

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Week Camping Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a pair of Outwell Chairs and Table

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 4-5th June
The summer spectacular takes place at the Kent Event Centre. Buy discounted weekend tickets, or enter our competition to win some!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8066 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1406