Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 161 Reviews
              8/10 from 161 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sensibleann 2 reviews from this member

Extremely well kept and pleasant site. Reception staff very friendly and professional. Great pitches and super warm shower/toilet block. Within walking distance of Slimbridge Wetlands Centre which is a great day out. Lovely walks along the canal side. Dog friendly site with dog walk area. There is a shop at the side of the canal across the road but this was closed when we were there. Fabulous pub (Tudor Arms) at the entrance to campsite serving great and reasonably priced food and which is also dog friendly. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CK+B 25 reviews from this member

We have just spent 4 nights at this site.

Positives - Lovely sunny weather for the whole trip. Good pub next door with very enjoyable meals (Best to book a table, gets very busy).

Negatives - Warden very unwelcoming and unfriendly on arrival. Adult only shower block very dated. Push button showers with very low pressure in the new block. Building works going on right near our pitch. No public transport from site. No basic shop on site and the boat yard shop was either not open or had very little stock, so make sure you bring everything you need with you.

We don't quite understand the good reviews for this site, we found it very unfriendly and will not be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Murviman 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed here a number of times over the years as it is a convenient overnight stop when heading down to the south west.

Much improvement has taken place over the last couple of years with new toilet and office blocks, increased number of pitches, recycling facilities and better maintenance of the wide expanses of grass. The roads and lighting need attention, but I'm assuming that these are on the list of future jobs.

The location is attractive, being alongside the canal, within an easy walk of Slimbridge WWT centre and near the site entrance is a pleasant, award-winning pub which serves a good range of food.

We would recommend this site to anyone: friendly reception, plenty of open space, good sized pitches which are easily accessed, peaceful setting, pretty village nearby, clean and modern facilities.

Booking advised for weekend/ peak season stays: we had a spontaneous overnight stop on a Saturday and took the last space, but when we returned on the following Monday/Tuesday the site was only half full.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zumerzet Lass 1 review from this member

A site that ticks all the boxes. !

Very clean, grass cut so short and neat, near bowling green standards.

Toilet / shower / laundry all exceptionally clean. Underfloor heating as well.

On the Saturday I saw a lady going round the site cleaning, yes, actually cleaning the electric point boxes! She did this twice that day. Never, ever have I seen this on a site before.

Will be back again for another stay before to long.

Delightful walks along the Gloucester to Sharpness Canal.

Swans and Ducks swam along the canal by you looking for food.

Boats of all shapes and sizes were moored up. Some of them actually went up or down the canal on their way to somewhere else.

Wi Fi available for a small charge. We found we had no trouble with mobile phone signal. TV reception was brilliant!

Next door to campsite is a multi award winning pub.

Easy access from M5 junction 13 and 14. Take the A38 and follow signs for Slimbridge WWT, site is on left just before the lockbridge.

FABULOUS SITE ! Have a look at all the awards it has won.

Do visit the Black Shed for a lovely cup of tea to sit inside with or take outside onto benches and tables provided. They also do some great food, as it is cooked to order, there maybe a short wait.

This site is open all year round.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 39 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here on a rare child free weekend. As we know a few people that have visited here before I was very glad the children were not with us, aged 10 and 15, as there is not a swing or small play area on site or nearby. We don't go to sites with clubs and full entertainment programmes but apart from a patch of grass there is nothing else to do on site for recreation as I don't know how welcome bikes / scooters / trikes would be and I guess not many families go there as there were no children when we stayed.

Pretty non descript as a site I found it to be tidy and flat but drainage was very poor, huge puddles on the hardstanding pitch, gravel pathways and grass sodden after rain making it very muddy with the dog.

No site lighting so after dark it was pitch black. I feel a few discreet courtesy lights wouldn't of gone a miss around the main areas.

Toilet/shower block cleanliness acceptable and secure however as they were formica cubicles the cleaner needs to wipe these down as they have fingermarks and dirt on them which is off putting in a toilet cubicle, push button showers poor water flow and could do with a scrub and thorough clean in the drainage channel and sides of the cubicle for.

Very good utilities block for laundry and washing up. Industrial dryers and washers at good prices. 5 sinks, however water boiling hot with no caution notice which needs to be rectified for safety reasons.

Pitch sizes disappointing, long and narrow, if we had taken our full size awning or even porch awning it would of been half on hardstanding and half on grass leaving no room to sit out once the car had been parked on the pitch. Be aware of this when booking and try and get a corner pitch if poss

Office staff friendly and quick, efficient check in would help if they sold papers and milk. Chip van visits on a Saturday that's it.

Major annoyance was the site gate which was shut at all times so every time you ventured out by car you had to keep stopping and starting to open/close it which got on my nerves. They need either an electric barrier or leave it open between 9am - 6pm at least. I don't think from the sites position it needs to be locked constantly

Great friendly welcoming pub a saving grace for this site but due to its popularity if you want more than a bar snack you will need to book. Cafe and tiny shop across the road didn't use them so cant comment.

Next to the canal which cant be seen from site. A 5 minute walk for access, 20 minute walk from the Wetlands which we couldn't visit as we had the dog but some great places to see in the area, not forgetting Gloucester Docks which were lovely.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves but wouldn't go back, ok for a one night stop off for motorhomes but limited facilities, small pitches and very quiet area you will need a car. Prices bordering on expensive for October in comparison to other areas

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AdenG1 4 reviews from this member

I stayed at Slimbridge about half a dozen times last year because of its proximity to my family who live about 4 miles away.

The site has a number of pitches with EHU's and a second field with no marked pitches. On all occasions I have stayed on the EHU pitches. They are level and well maintained. The grass I cut regularly and the site is kept tidy.

There are two shower/toilet blocks - an old one and a new one. The old one is very dated and not in the same league as the new one. I always use the new one when I can. Showers are free and are kept clean.

The closest supermarket is in Cam which is about 4 miles away and there is a fish and chip shop and takeaway there too.

The only annoyance about the site is the fact that the site gate is locked every night. This means that I have an effective curfew on when I need to be back in my tent and going to an evening film at the cinema in Gloucester or Bristol I out of the question. That apart I enjoy my time at Slimbridge and I have encouraged a lot of my friends to visit too.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 6 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site basically because of its proximity to the WWT Centre and we will be returning.

As before we found this site to be a good site, well laid out, large pitches however this time we were allocated a pitch in the 'adults only' area. To be honest there is little difference. I've no objection to children playing etc and you can still hear them! Adults only, seems to mean adults and dogs as we were the only people who did not have a pooch in tow!

The shower block for the adult area has seen better days which is perhaps why it is so quiet in there. I preferred to take the short walk over to the refurbished block, where it is brighter, cleaner and freer of spiders!

The site was pretty busy for the weekend but didn't have to wait for either a shower or toilet or for the dish washing facilities.

The welcome was friendly once again. Do be aware that any debit/credit card transactions on site (not over the phone) are subject to a fee if less than £30. This didn't affect us because I had paid in full in advance. Might be wise to do the same!

Fish and chip van on Saturday evening. Good fish and generous portions.

This time it was lovely and quiet on Saturday evening and the Sunday lunch from the pub was excellent.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tonyiso 1 review from this member

This campsite was perfect for us. There are plenty of hard standing pitches, divided by grass you have hard standing pitches in the wet weather without that “carpark” feel. The Tudor Arms pub is right next door and has a good selection of real ales and serves good quality food. The pub welcomes your dog inside the bar inluding the eating areas. Slimbridge Wetland Centre is a 10 minute walk from the site and the site is also adjacent to the Gloucester-Sharpness canal, the café across the road hire cycles. The café shop also sell basic provisions.

The toilet/shower block is modern with laundry and indoor dishwashing facilities. There is also a proper service area for motor homes, ie a good place you can drive up to and fill up with fresh water and dump your grey and black waste. There is a drain area to drive over – something which is essential for motor homes to drain grey waste and yet very rare on British campsites. Another plus point for this site is that they keep the grass nice and short.

We will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jipet69 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights coming up to the bank holiday. I have to say we don't usually do bank holidays as we prefer the peace and quiet. The site was a little too busy for us. The site is well maintained and the pitches with EHU very generous. The other fields seem to be a little haphazard in how people pitched. On first impression the toilet / shower block was also generous, however then realising the amount of 'campers' there were on site the amount was far from adequate, leaving frequent queues. There must also be a drainage issue as the odour in the 'new' block was not pleasant. Not the best site we've been to, we're surprised at the great ratings.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carreraboy 3 reviews from this member

Just returned home after spending bank holiday weekend on the site. We booked in advance and were told that there were no electric hook ups left (not a problem) so we opted for a non electric pitch and paid the deposit. On arrival we wanted to pay the balance of £24 on a debit card and were told there would be an additional charge for this - not the best of starts.

The site was obviously very busy being a bank holiday weekend and we managed to get a space at the far end of the site ( pitches were not marked). The toilet block is fairly new however would not describe it as clean. At 8am the following morning there was a 30 minute queue for the showers as they were obviously far too inadequate for the number of campers on site. There is a second toilet block which put politely has seen better days and could do with a refurb.

The only bins on site were near reception, a 10 min walk from our pitch and overflowing when we got there. Enquired about local walks at reception where there are A4 size pieces of typed paper with a walk detailed on - at a cost of £1. 50 !

On a positive note, great location next to the canal and the pub next door sells great ales and good portioned quality meals.

We won't be returning to this one - which is a shame due to its location. Just got the impression that they take your money at every opportunity but give very little back in return.

Previous     161 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5461 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508