Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 197 Reviews
              8/10 from 197 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  197 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kippy123 3 reviews from this member

Smashing little site, lovely pitches, canal walks, staff very helpful and friendly, We thought the toilet block was the only let down it does need a big deep clean, such a shame because if the toilet block was up to scratch I would give the site a big ten. The pub at the entrance to the site is a great bonus, smashing food at good prices, dog friendly out side (which is under cover) will not hesitate to use this site when we visit family in Bristol.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CEW3A 14 reviews from this member

A pleasant, quiet site down about a mile & half of winding country lanes, next to the Gloucester-Sharpness Ship Canal - so close that we sometimes saw the bigger boats from our pitch as they sailed past the toilet block! The facilities of the main block are very good; about 5 or 6 toilets in the ladies', plus a baby changing room which also has a toilet & sink in, and the end shower cubicle of 4 ( I think) had a toilet & sink in too. In addition to the row of sinks, there were also 2 private cubicles each with a sink, which was very thoughtful. There was also a hairdryer which I think was free to use; I didn't as we had one in our caravan anyway.

Just a couple of negatives: on our day of arrival, when there were also a lot of weekenders, I found that there was no toilet paper in any of the ladies' cubicles, but another regular camper to the site told me it was very unusual for that to occur; stocks were replenished by the next day & there was no problem for the rest of our stay.

There was a sign on the entrance to the block to say it is closed daily at 11:30 for cleaning, and to use the old block (dated, but still serviceable, though not as many shower cubicles & considerably smaller too). However, during our second week, on some mornings the block was closed for cleaning at 7:30 or 8am ie when most people would be getting up and needing to use the facilities! We and other campers found this to be inconvenient.

The washing up room was lovely - 4 sinks, I think, and better than some sites which are outside and open to the elements. There were even plastic drainers for each sink to use, and plenty of hot water. There was also a separate sink for hand-washing clothes. The laundry was a smaller room just off the washing up room, with 2 laundrette-style washing machines (though 1 was out of order the entire length of our stay)for 3. 50 and 2 tumble dryers; an older one 1. 00 for 20 mins and a newer one 1. 50 for 30 mins, but thankfully the weather was so good I didn't need to use the dryer! If you happen to be washing up when the washing machine is going, it is VERY noisy! You have to practically shout to have a conversation with anyone else, and I wish I had had some ear protectors!

There is no specific play area for children, but there is a large grassy area in front of the main toilet block. A number of children played there, though it depends how busy it is with tents or camper vans around the perimeter.

Our pitch was a hardstanding. We were asked to pitch to the left hand side of the hardstanding, with our awning on the right hand side, and park the car on the grass to the right of that. Whilst we could (and did) peg the side of the awning on the grass, we could not peg the front and rear into the hardstanding; despite having the stronger rock pegs, the ground was like concrete! Maybe it was the insufficient depth of pebbles/gravel on the hardstanding, but we ended up gathering pebbles to weigh down the awning, with limited success when the wind picked up!

The entrance to the site is through the car park of the Tudor Arms pub. We don't normally choose to camp near a pub, fearful of noise and loud music etc, but here our fears were groundless. There was never any noise to be heard from the pub, though I did hear a few campers coming back from there one night who were a bit loud! The main source of noise on the site is the crows! Every morning and evening they do make a bit of a racket as they circle the trees and they strut about the site during the day. There are also quite a few pigeons (inordinately fat, we thought!)but if you like birds, that's not a problem!

Wifi is available for 1 per day (midnight to midnight) or 5 per week, but the signal is sporadic. Not every pitch can get it, so you need to check first. We checked, could get a signal, so paid for the Wifi one day, only to discover that sometimes we lost the signal, and also that simultaneous users on the same pitch are not allowed. My daughter and I had to take turns to use it!

Apart from walking alongside the canal (& watching the bridge being opened for passing boats)you really need a car or a bike to get around. The Wetlands Centre is just down the road, but it takes about 30 mins to walk into the village, via the winding roads without a pavement for most of it. You really need to take care. There is a village shop and a post office, but that's about it. There is a large Tesco at Cam & a Sainsbury's at Dursley, next to the sports centre.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 148 reviews from this member

We have stayed here a few times in the past. It's quite a large site situated in Slimbridge alongside the Gloucester & Sharpness canal. There are 2 sections to this site, a large open camping area, with a mix of grass and hard standing pitches, and a smaller area dedicated to adults only. We always choose to stay in the adults only section.

We had a hard standing pitch right next to the toilet block. This block is now past its best and really needs updating. We tended to walk to the larger block for our shower. This is much more modern and up-to-date. There are plenty of water points around the site and a central bin/recycling area. There is also an information room. The gates are kept closed most of the time and are locked at night.

The WWT is a short walk from the site as is the canal towpath with lovely walks either way. There used to be a small shop just outside the site and the Black Shed where you could get a meal and a drink and hire bikes but that is sadly all now closed, which makes the area feel a bit run down. The best thing about staying here is the pub (Tudor Arms). Good food and great choice of local beers and cider.

Sadly due to the feeling of being run down, both the area and part of the site, we probably won't return for some time.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 24 reviews from this member

Located just out of village of Slimbridge, next to a canal and Great pub. Boat and bike hire place no longer open. Great toilet blocks, one is smaller, older and is in an adult's only area. It was nice and peaceful until the weekend and all the families got there. Toilets became dirty. Wish parents would check and make sure their children leave bathrooms in acceptable condition for others. For shops, small one in village, look for sign 'shop open' or for supermarkets, drive through Slimbridge village, straight through roundabout, Cam Tesco on left. Further on to Dursley and you have Sainsburys. Cam and Dursley rail station on the road on left from Slimbridge. Trains to Gloucester (if you dare) and Bristol. Great pub serving Greek among other things in Dursley 'Kingshill Pub. ' Went to Bath and Castle Coombe. Road is narrow through Slimbridge village so take care. Slimbridge WWT less than one minute up the road.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpy man 3 reviews from this member

Visited Tudor Caravan Park for the early Bank Holiday, not our first visit and once again arrived to find a clean and tidy campsite. Lots of room to pitch in, we were told they were full but I think the weather had put some people off. The toilets and showers were always clean and very warm. The washing up room recorded a temperature of 24c!

Lots of space for kids to play in the centre of the camping fields and although there is no specific play area this didn't bother our son.

The location is very picturesque right next to the canal, perfect for walks.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boterbloem 1 review from this member

We visited Tudor caravan park just for 2 nights with our motor home. Reception was very welcoming and helpful. Pitch was fine, but a little suprised there was no water connection, which wasn't a problem as we filled up before leaving home.

Facilities were good although we found the showers cubicles rather cramped but have since found out this is the older block and the newer block is roomier, which we didn't use. Motorhome service area was excellent easy accessible.

The campsite was very convenient for Slimbridge wetlands and for cycling.

Having the Tudor Arms next door is a bonus.

We will use it again if we are in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 178 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave M5 at junction 13 and take A38 south. Follow signs for Slimbridge Wetland Centre and at roundabout on A38 turn right through Slimbridge village, the site is about 2 miles along this road. Continue along road with care as the road is twisty and narrow in places. When you get to the Tudor Arms pub, just before the canal, the entrance to the campsite is immediately past the pub on the left through the carpark.

Tudor Caravan Park is situated alongside the Gloucester and Sharpness Canal at Slimbridge near to the famous Slimbridge Wetland Centre. The campsite is open all year, part of it is adults only. It could be a useful stopover site between the north and southwest on the M5. The approach to the site is through the Tudor Arms carpark. The gate to the site is kept closed but not locked, so you can let yourself in. According to the site plan given by reception there are 73 pitches although there seems to be an additional overflow areas beyond the marked pitches. Site roads are compacted gravel rather than tarmac. Most pitches are on hardstandings although they are relatively narrow with not really enough room for caravan/awning or caravan/car without making use of the adjacent grass strip between pitches. Some of the pitches are quite long so a car might fit in front of a caravan. The site asks you to position your unit to the lefthandside of the pitch. There is a large grassed area which might be used as a play area or as a tent area? Electric points, rated at 16 amps, are conveniently placed to each pitch and use CEE17 blue connectors. The site has two toilet blocks. The one nearest reception looks like the original one and is perhaps past its best. However the second block further into the site is much more modern and to a good standard. This block also contains a laundry room and a covered washing up area. Chemical emptying points are available at both toilet blocks.

The motorhome service point is next to the newer toilet block. Water points are dotted around the site, there are also a few grey water waste points as well but they have a one brick high upstand. There is site wide Wifi at a modest charge of 1 a day, cheaper for longer stays. Signal was not brilliant and I got a more consistent signal with my mobile phone. This site charges an inclusive fee for pitch, electrics and two people with additional charges for extra adults/children. Please note payment by credit card is subject to a surcharge. Reception sell ice cream and some limited caravan accessories although, during our stay, no sign of other essentials.

Next door to reception is and information room with lots of leaflets on local attractions. We found the site quite peaceful, especially at night. There is very little lighting around the site so a decent torch would be useful to have.

This site is ideal if you want to visit the Wetland Centre at Slimbridge which is a relatively short walk from the site. There are good cycling opportunities direct from the site along the Gloucester and Sharpness Canal in both directions. For eating out the Tudor Arms Pub could not be nearer and the prices are quite reasonable. Without a car shopping could be more problematic. There is a small shop in Slimbridge village but more serious shopping is some miles away.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graygray 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from five days at this site. Great side shower block nice and clean and warm. Water could have been a bit warmer but that's just me. Owner of the site very helpful. The site is spotless clean. Nice walks along the canal. Tudor Arms pub very friendly food was great. Nice lot of real ales. All in all a great place thanks for a good stay.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 17 reviews from this member

We visited here late January 2016,

Very tidy, well laid out site.

New toilet block immaculate and very well heated.

Had a lovely walk along the canal next to the site.

We experienced a very heavy rain storm and woke to a flooded awning as the hard standing pitch was like a bowl. Surrounding areas of the pitch's didn't drain too well either so it was very muddy. We have knocked the rating down an extra point due to this, although if it was a dry weekend you wouldn't experience this.

Will return at some point

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zumerzet Lass 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. That is why we will keep coming back. Everything is excellent about this site, no complaints at all. Disabled facilities. Lovely walks along the towpath, plenty of boats moored up. WiFi on site. Open all year. Is always busy, so please book up before you go. Friendly reception staff. The Tudor Arms, outside main gates, do really great meals. Very busy, so best to book a table. Slimbridge WWT within walking distance. For shopping there is Gloucester, Cribbs Causeway, Stroud, Dursley and Bristol. We didn't have any children with us, so really cannot comment on child friendliness.

Previous     197 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth 48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

553 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016