Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
              8/10 from 207 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldcodgers 20 reviews from this member

We had 4 nights here before returning home from our main holiday. This is a quiet site close to the canal and a mile approx from the wildfowl and wetland centre. On arrival the wardens were very helpful happy to move our pitch when the trees stopped us from getting a TV signal (husband an old oap who loves his TV in the evening). The site is well maintained, grass cut and collected

Regularly. The toilet area was clean and tidy. Only one area for refuse which was near the main gate, no problem if you remember to take it with you when you go out as it is a little walk if you have problems with mobility. We were given a very helpful booklet which covered all the surrounding area and business's. Tesco has a supermarket in Cam about 3 miles away or Sainsbury in Dursley. The wetland centre is well worth a visit, 11 each on concession. We had a meal in the Tudor Inn edable but not exceptional, nice place they could have done better. Plenty of pub restaurants in the area, within 3 miles. Would use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reworht 10 reviews from this member

Spent a week here, on our way home from more Southern parts (the New Forest). We were lucky in that it was probably the best week of the Summer weather wise. The site is on a dead end road, which culminates in the Slimbridge Wetlands Centre (well worth a visit), and has an active canal running alongside (albeit it out of sight of the pitches). Our pitch was an excellent size, hardstanding with grass surround, and very close to what is obviously a fairly new toilet/showers block - which was kept immaculate whilst we were there. There's a pub near the site entrance which does decent grub - including gluten-free options, which is important as my other half has Coeliac Disease. The site offers easy access to a variety of activities - Gloucester Quays and it's shopping, along with the Historic Docks, are only a few miles up the road, there's the Wetlands Centre, the Cotswolds etc. Plenty of walking - with canal-side walks just outside the site and other attractions such as the Purton Hulks (Google it - fascinating!). We could easily have stayed a fortnight but you have to go home sometime. We will definitely use it again, especially as it is about half way between home and Cornwall, so is an excellent place to break our journeys each Summer.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dijon46 8 reviews from this member

A lovely site. Wardens friendly and they work hard keeping the site looking nice. The toilet block in the Orchid is old but clean and warm. The new block is nice but was very busy as it was bank holiday. We had a lovely pitch and so peaceful. The Tudor pub was great nice food and dog friendly

The tall ships passing through was a fantastic sight and we'll worth watching

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 163 reviews from this member

Have to disagree with a couple of the negative reviews as we think its a lovely, quiet country site with adequate hard standing pitches and I'd rate the toilet/shower block slightly above average(the newer one that is). Yes there's not a great deal to do here except walk/cycle the towpath or birdwatch. Been coming here on and off now for 20 years and quite enjoy sharing my pitch with the nesting Rooks, the singing Blackcap in the hedgerow and the occasional owl at night, have also seen Little Egret, Glossy Ibis and Common Crane in the area which is more like a scene from the Med. For me the Camra award winning pub next door rounds it off with its quality local real ales and good pub grub and the only noise I've heard from it is from the skittle alley.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vashka 13 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night on the way down to Devon - second visit and still remain unimpressed with this campsite.

There's a lovely toilet block - but with showers that were freezing cold, not good at 25 per night. Site lacks atmosphere and doesn't have a particularly nice feel.

The only highlight is the pub just next door where we had a great meal!

Easy place to stop off at on the way down South but nothing more than that.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Sparlings 5 reviews from this member

Tudor Caravan Park is located adjacent to the Gloucester and Sharpness Canal and absolutely perfect for a visit to the Slimbridge Wetland Centre which is only a ten-15 minute walk down a quiet country road. The site is easily accessible from the M5

The welcome was very friendly and our hardstanding pitch almost level - we got the levelling ramps out and used them, but if we'd left them at home it wouldn't have been an issue. The pitches themselves do seem a little small and close together making the area of the site we were in a little cramped. There are two toilet/shower blocks, one of which is old and dated, but just about adequate, the other larger block is pretty new and very good indeed.

The entrance to the site is adjacent to the Tudor Arms pub but our initial concerns that there might be some noise were thankfully unfounded. The pub itself has a very good menu which is definitely superior to any average 'pub grub' and quite a good selection of real ales and ciders. I'd recommend booking if you want to eat here as it did get busy.

We stayed at the site specifically because we wanted to visit the wetland centre and we weren't disappointed. Walks along the canal are also good, but if you're looking for something to keep young kids entertained this probably isn't the site for you.

Other minor downsides - The motorhome service point is not particularly well located - if there's someone already using it there's not really anywhere to wait, secondly, the nearest shop is a good few miles away - although I believe the local boatyard is being refurbished and will have supplies at some point in the future.

All in all, a good, well kept site with, on the whole, good facilities, but with a limited amount of things to do in the immediate vicinity. Bird watchers will love it, others might get bored.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andy Palfreman 6 reviews from this member

The main recommendation of this site is its location being very close to M5 motorway. Lack of atmosphere. Little to do in area other than the adjacent pub and walks alongside the adjacent Sharpness Canal. Very poorly sited motorhome waste point. All weather pitches very closely sited. In the summer I would think that it would feel very crowded if people wanted to sit outside their vans! Does not appear to be very child friendly. No play area!

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camping Kim 1 review from this member

There couldn't be a more handy site from which to visit the Slimbridge Wetland Centre - it's just a 10 minute walk along the road! And the pub at the campsite entrance is a bonus! Tudor Caravan Park itself is pleasantly laid out and has good facilities (see key). The warden was friendly and helpful, and the freezer for ice packs is a nice touch.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 17 reviews from this member

Great location for the canal and we made good use of the tow path to the picturesque village of Frampton on Severn. This village certainly has a beating heart with a Camra award winning small pub for2016 and The Bell inn. The Bell was patronised by a family and two horses when we were there. Everyone was very friendly and the Green Shop on the beautiful village green was well stocked and in a prime location for watching the world go by. With two ponds and resident swans with their cygnets it is somewhere we will visit again very soon. Anyway back to the Tudors. The location is great and the welcome was warm but at the price we paid the older shower block in the adult area is well passed its sell by date and a well established home to spiders and their webs although the areas the you use were quite clean. The cubicles are tiny with a steep step up into the tiny shower tray; if you are over 5'8' you can see the top of your your neighbour's head as you shower (and the bolt locks on the outside of the cubicle)!

This is obviously a popular site so I hope they will reinvest some of their profit upgrading the smaller block in the very near future.

The hard standing gravel pitches are very long if a little narrow necessitating pitching to a corner in order to ensure you don't encroach on your neighbour's space! This is quite a nice site as a whole with the potential to be fabulous.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ann Dawson 7 reviews from this member

Very nice site by the canal and next to a good pub for food. The old toilet block near the main gate is not popular but there is a new block further into the campsite which is well appointed.

The only criticism is the Wi Fi which, even if you pay for it, you have to be standing near to the office for it to work.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016