Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 195 Reviews
              8/10 from 195 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  195 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 143 reviews from this member

We have stayed here a few times in the past. It's quite a large site situated in Slimbridge alongside the Gloucester & Sharpness canal. There are 2 sections to this site, a large open camping area, with a mix of grass and hard standing pitches, and a smaller area dedicated to adults only. We always choose to stay in the adults only section.

We had a hard standing pitch right next to the toilet block. This block is now past its best and really needs updating. We tended to walk to the larger block for our shower. This is much more modern and up-to-date. There are plenty of water points around the site and a central bin/recycling area. There is also an information room. The gates are kept closed most of the time and are locked at night.

The WWT is a short walk from the site as is the canal towpath with lovely walks either way. There used to be a small shop just outside the site and the Black Shed where you could get a meal and a drink and hire bikes but that is sadly all now closed, which makes the area feel a bit run down. The best thing about staying here is the pub (Tudor Arms). Good food and great choice of local beers and cider.

Sadly due to the feeling of being run down, both the area and part of the site, we probably won't return for some time.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 20 reviews from this member

Located just out of village of Slimbridge, next to a canal and Great pub. Boat and bike hire place no longer open. Great toilet blocks, one is smaller, older and is in an adult's only area. It was nice and peaceful until the weekend and all the families got there. Toilets became dirty. Wish parents would check and make sure their children leave bathrooms in acceptable condition for others. For shops, small one in village, look for sign 'shop open' or for supermarkets, drive through Slimbridge village, straight through roundabout, Cam Tesco on left. Further on to Dursley and you have Sainsburys. Cam and Dursley rail station on the road on left from Slimbridge. Trains to Gloucester (if you dare) and Bristol. Great pub serving Greek among other things in Dursley 'Kingshill Pub. ' Went to Bath and Castle Coombe. Road is narrow through Slimbridge village so take care. Slimbridge WWT less than one minute up the road.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpy man 2 reviews from this member

Visited Tudor Caravan Park for the early Bank Holiday, not our first visit and once again arrived to find a clean and tidy campsite. Lots of room to pitch in, we were told they were full but I think the weather had put some people off. The toilets and showers were always clean and very warm. The washing up room recorded a temperature of 24c!

Lots of space for kids to play in the centre of the camping fields and although there is no specific play area this didn't bother our son.

The location is very picturesque right next to the canal, perfect for walks.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boterbloem 1 review from this member

We visited Tudor caravan park just for 2 nights with our motor home. Reception was very welcoming and helpful. Pitch was fine, but a little suprised there was no water connection, which wasn't a problem as we filled up before leaving home.

Facilities were good although we found the showers cubicles rather cramped but have since found out this is the older block and the newer block is roomier, which we didn't use. Motorhome service area was excellent easy accessible.

The campsite was very convenient for Slimbridge wetlands and for cycling.

Having the Tudor Arms next door is a bonus.

We will use it again if we are in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 172 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave M5 at junction 13 and take A38 south. Follow signs for Slimbridge Wetland Centre and at roundabout on A38 turn right through Slimbridge village, the site is about 2 miles along this road. Continue along road with care as the road is twisty and narrow in places. When you get to the Tudor Arms pub, just before the canal, the entrance to the campsite is immediately past the pub on the left through the carpark.

Tudor Caravan Park is situated alongside the Gloucester and Sharpness Canal at Slimbridge near to the famous Slimbridge Wetland Centre. The campsite is open all year, part of it is adults only. It could be a useful stopover site between the north and southwest on the M5. The approach to the site is through the Tudor Arms carpark. The gate to the site is kept closed but not locked, so you can let yourself in. According to the site plan given by reception there are 73 pitches although there seems to be an additional overflow areas beyond the marked pitches. Site roads are compacted gravel rather than tarmac. Most pitches are on hardstandings although they are relatively narrow with not really enough room for caravan/awning or caravan/car without making use of the adjacent grass strip between pitches. Some of the pitches are quite long so a car might fit in front of a caravan. The site asks you to position your unit to the lefthandside of the pitch. There is a large grassed area which might be used as a play area or as a tent area? Electric points, rated at 16 amps, are conveniently placed to each pitch and use CEE17 blue connectors. The site has two toilet blocks. The one nearest reception looks like the original one and is perhaps past its best. However the second block further into the site is much more modern and to a good standard. This block also contains a laundry room and a covered washing up area. Chemical emptying points are available at both toilet blocks.

The motorhome service point is next to the newer toilet block. Water points are dotted around the site, there are also a few grey water waste points as well but they have a one brick high upstand. There is site wide Wifi at a modest charge of £1 a day, cheaper for longer stays. Signal was not brilliant and I got a more consistent signal with my mobile phone. This site charges an inclusive fee for pitch, electrics and two people with additional charges for extra adults/children. Please note payment by credit card is subject to a surcharge. Reception sell ice cream and some limited caravan accessories although, during our stay, no sign of other essentials.

Next door to reception is and information room with lots of leaflets on local attractions. We found the site quite peaceful, especially at night. There is very little lighting around the site so a decent torch would be useful to have.

This site is ideal if you want to visit the Wetland Centre at Slimbridge which is a relatively short walk from the site. There are good cycling opportunities direct from the site along the Gloucester and Sharpness Canal in both directions. For eating out the Tudor Arms Pub could not be nearer and the prices are quite reasonable. Without a car shopping could be more problematic. There is a small shop in Slimbridge village but more serious shopping is some miles away.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graygray 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from five days at this site. Great side shower block nice and clean and warm. Water could have been a bit warmer but that's just me. Owner of the site very helpful. The site is spotless clean. Nice walks along the canal. Tudor Arms pub very friendly food was great. Nice lot of real ales. All in all a great place thanks for a good stay.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 12 reviews from this member

We visited here late January 2016,

Very tidy, well laid out site.

New toilet block immaculate and very well heated.

Had a lovely walk along the canal next to the site.

We experienced a very heavy rain storm and woke to a flooded awning as the hard standing pitch was like a bowl. Surrounding areas of the pitch's didn't drain too well either so it was very muddy. We have knocked the rating down an extra point due to this, although if it was a dry weekend you wouldn't experience this.

Will return at some point

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zumerzet Lass 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. That is why we will keep coming back. Everything is excellent about this site, no complaints at all. Disabled facilities. Lovely walks along the towpath, plenty of boats moored up. WiFi on site. Open all year. Is always busy, so please book up before you go. Friendly reception staff. The Tudor Arms, outside main gates, do really great meals. Very busy, so best to book a table. Slimbridge WWT within walking distance. For shopping there is Gloucester, Cribbs Causeway, Stroud, Dursley and Bristol. We didn't have any children with us, so really cannot comment on child friendliness.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tonybacon 9 reviews from this member

Tudor Caravan Park is very good. The toilet block is nice and warm with under floor heating, Showers are nice and roomy and the block is very clean. Heard one of the lady staff singing in there one day 'don't marry him, marry me' it was lovely.

The pitches are big and you can see that the whole site is very clean and looked after. The reception sells bread, milk, ice-cream and gas. We went up there to pitch our new tent with our two young ones - 7 and 3 years old - who had a lovely time there running on the big bit of grass playing ball. Maybe a little park in the middle would help out. Would definitely go back and also recommend this place.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kservice 1 review from this member

I'd highly recommend the Tudor Caravan Park & Campsite. We live in Dursley, only about 3 miles away, but the kids like spending the night in their tent and this is a great local campsite that we've visited several times. It's right beside the Slimbridge canal - so very handy if you have a kayak or canoe as there's access to the water close by, and there's a great country pub next door for snacks and hot meals. It's also only about a mile and half from the WWT Slimbridge bird reserve. The campsite itself is well-maintained and clean, with nicely manicured smooth lawns throughout (although the ridge-and-hummock pattern you can see in some areas, left over from the ancient field system that underlies the park means you may have to carefully consider the best place to site your tent if you're tent camping as you won't want to end up lying across a dip in the ground! If you lie 'with' the furrows - ie along them, -it's 100% fine), and the toilet facilities are nice and clean too. As I said we've been several times and will undoubtedly visit again in future too!

Previous     195 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1180