Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 185 Reviews
              8/10 from 185 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northend77 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights as it was local and we wanted to test out camping with our 8 month old twins

It's in a lovely location surrounded by lots of countryside with the Slimbridge WWT very close by (which is well worth a visit)

There is a caravan area and then 2 large open fields with or without EHU for tents and trailer tents.

There isn't a play area for children however as the middle of the 2 fields are open (pitches are around the edges) there is plenty of space for them to run around and play. We had 7 children within our group ranging from 8 months to 14 years and none of them got bored. We saw families playing football, catch, chase, remote control cars - all sorts and all without getting in the way of each other or annoying surrounding campers

The shower and toilet block is clean and bright with plenty of hot water. Showers are cubicles with doors rather than curtains so good and private

There's a washing up area, waste and drinking water points in the corners of each field, bins and recycling. There is a small shop however it hasn't been open for a whilse (can't remember why) and not many shops nearby (nearest is Cam a few miles away) so take provisions. The reception office does have an ice cream freezer though!

Staff are friendly and mostly leave you alone on the site, which is kept clean and tidy however they could do with either demolishing or renovating the old rusty tin shed in the first tent field. It's an eye sore and I purposely camped on the other side of the field so my children didn't play near it

There is wifi for just 1 a day however we could barely get it at the far end of the first field and I struggled to pick it up much better walking nearer to the reception area!

At night there is no light pollution so it makes for great night sky watching

On the whole it's a lovely, relaxing site that we will definitely return to.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hols4me 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for five nights in our folding camper with EHU. The site is quiet, close to the canal, and Tudor arms pub. There's very little else around though, not even a local shop. We ventured down to the local post office in Slimbridge one morning thinking that they would sell some basic provisions but they did 't even have bread and milk!

The pitches are well laid out and are hard standing and with grass to the side. New toilet and shower block are very good, but they closed the main block for an hour and a half for cleaning every day, - some days it was two hours, which we thought was far too long.

We ate in the Tudor arms pub one evening and were very disappointed. From the reviews, we were expecting really good quality pub food, but to be honest, I have eaten better in Wetherspoons!

We took a trip to Gloucester and Stroud on a couple of the days, and had a day out at the Wetlands which is very close to the site and was was very interesting.

we wouldn't return to this site, or indeed to this area. We weren't very inspired by it! There was very little to do, and we didn't think much of Gloucester Or Stroud.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Glyn43 1 review from this member

Quiet site backing onto the Sharpness canal.

New toilet/facilities block is excellent but makes the original block look tired.

Good walks along the tow path of the canal in both directions but if cycling note that the path towards Sharpness is not the best for bikes. Towards Gloucester is a designated cycle path and is fine.

Whilst staying here a day at the Slimbridge WWT is a must. A really great day out. Don't just buy a day ticket join the WWT. It is not expensive and gives you access to all WWT sites as well as supporting them.

If in a camper van you should be aware that there is no public transport nearby.

Pub next to the site ( Tudor Arms)is very good value. Probably need to book at certain times. Weekends and bank holidays.

A good level site and well worth a visit for a few days but you wil need to be aware that currently the nearest shopping facilities are in Cam. Three miles

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Luce6 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit and it was just as enjoyable as the first two years ago. The site is so well laid out, grass and hedges/shrubs well maintained and add to the perfect pitches. The shower blocks are immaculate, plenty of space and we didn't have to queue either evening or morning even though most pitches were occupied. The added bonus of the pub makes the stay perfect, serving good beers and delicious food at affordable prices. Luckily we had booked a table in advance because they were fully booked when we arrived. To top it all we woke to beautiful sunshine and were able to start the day in peaceful surroundings breakfasting all fresco!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Knocky69 1 review from this member

Lovely site very clean and tidy, the welcome wasn't the best we we're just pointed in the direction of our allocated pitch with no mention of where any of the facilities were located.

Also the website and all your brochures need to be updated as they all state that there is a shop, cycle and boat hire in the boat yard, this is clearly not the case and has been for some time as the place looks derelict.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karen1357 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from another fantastic week at this site, we've been here 4-5 times, everyone very pleasant and helpful and the site couldn't be cleaner. One word of warning, if you want to eat at the Tudor Arms Pub just at the front of the site you do need to book in advance it's always very busy as its such a nice place and good quality food at reasonable prices. Lots do in the surrounding towns and villages.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue106 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time, on arrival the receptionist was very friendly but didn't offer any advice regarding the surrounding area etc, he just gave me the usual map showing where the facilities are on the site. The site was fairly quiet, we arrived Wednesday for 4 nights. Once pitched we had a quick look around the site, the new shower block is very clean and well equipped. The 'old' or 'original' shower block is clearly in need of an update, something I imagine is in the 'pipeline'. Unfortunately as you go across the small bridge from one side of the site towards the new shower block, there were a number of large empty plastic containers, they were there for the duration of our visit along with a discarded glass 'Piriton' bottle, I was some what taken aback that they were not removed during our stay. The details of this site are that there is a cafe and boat station opposite, also that there is a shop, well, they are there but not open! Perhaps they are open during the spring and summer-this ought to be made clear as it was not possible for us to obtain even the very basic of items nearby-milk, bread etc. Everything was going well until Friday night/Saturday morning when the electric 'tripped', this was at 01. 00am-we reset it and went back to sleep! This happened again a few times during Saturday so we reported it to the reception, we were told that the person who dealt with this sort of thing was on his lunch and would come and see us on his return. In the meantime we were told to use the hookup for the pitch next to us, this was fine until someone arrived on that pitch! We transferred back to 'our' hookup point, this tripped again whilst we were out so we returned to a very cold Motorhome, the relevant person never arrived to sort things out-I'm very disappointed! Something worth considering-there is no bus service in this area so if you're in a Motorhome that you don't want to unhook, make sure you have your bike or walking shoes with you! Would I visit this site again? Yes, I think I would as it's very relaxing, the Tudor Arms pub next door is very friendly-the food is typical pub grub. The Wetlands Centre looked a great place to visit, we didn't go on this occasion but would definitely visit if we stay here again.

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BDF001 3 reviews from this member

First time using this site and have good feedback and maybe some suggestions for improvement

Pros

The site is in a great location with lovely walks along the Sharpness Canal.

The wifi is very reasonably priced, 1. 00 per day, 5. 00 per week or 10. 00 per month. I can't give any indication of the range/coverage as I used my own wifi device but it would certainly be an option for future stays.

The Tudor Arms being almost on site is great!. Ate there 2 nights running and food was lovely. Advisable to book though as they were busy. I believe dogs can only be taken in the skittle alley area which isn't huge. We chose to leave ours behind for the short space of time we were there. During nicer weather there is a nice outside seating area and a separate smoking area.

The things I think could be improved

The gravel pitches aren't quite wide enough for caravan and awning. We needed to erect a small porch awning as we had 2 dogs. It only has a rear door entrance so as it was partly pitched on grass this made for a muddy entrance and exit :-(

There is a large area to walk dogs but nowhere they can be let off the lead :-( With the amount of space available on site it would be nice if this could be incorporated.

When we arrived the New toilet block was being painted and we used the facilities in the Adults Only area which are much in need of updating. The new toilet facilities were clean if a little stark and clinical. I could only see one hand drier in the Ladies so I can imagine having to wait during busy periods. My biggest bug bear was the length the showers ran for. Whilst I appreciate it is a Conservation Site and less water used the better, 20 seconds when you have long hair is very annoying before you have to reset it. The lights in the block I imagine are on a sensor. I showered at about 4. 30pm as it was starting to get dark. The lights came on briefly then went off which meant I was showering in not too good a light.

Lastly it would have been nice if recycling facilities were also at other areas. I am not lazy but if wet it is a fair trek with your waste/recycling to the facilities near reception.

Apart from that it is a lovely site and I would stay again.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sensibleann 2 reviews from this member

Extremely well kept and pleasant site. Reception staff very friendly and professional. Great pitches and super warm shower/toilet block. Within walking distance of Slimbridge Wetlands Centre which is a great day out. Lovely walks along the canal side. Dog friendly site with dog walk area. There is a shop at the side of the canal across the road but this was closed when we were there. Fabulous pub (Tudor Arms) at the entrance to campsite serving great and reasonably priced food and which is also dog friendly. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scudocamper 2 reviews from this member

Well back here again at this site nad it hasnt disapointed.

Been here a few times and found the people to be very friendly and helpful. If you arive late there is a notice board that will give you all the information you need to get you set up for the night.

The hard standings are realy nice and well spaced appart so you don't feel your on top of one another. There is a field in the centre that is for tents but I have also been on there when I have opted to not have electric.

The toilets and showers are nice and clean and heated well inb the winder so no worries about getting cold after your shower.

Will be coming back again.

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0557