Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tudor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Tudor Caravan Park
Shepherds Patch
Slimbridge
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL2 7BP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01453 890483

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m   5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 175 Reviews
              8/10 from 175 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sensibleann 2 reviews from this member

Extremely well kept and pleasant site. Reception staff very friendly and professional. Great pitches and super warm shower/toilet block. Within walking distance of Slimbridge Wetlands Centre which is a great day out. Lovely walks along the canal side. Dog friendly site with dog walk area. There is a shop at the side of the canal across the road but this was closed when we were there. Fabulous pub (Tudor Arms) at the entrance to campsite serving great and reasonably priced food and which is also dog friendly. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PercyVolvo 8 reviews from this member

What a nice site. We would recommend this highly for a quiet get away. We tried the Adults only section and this was quiet and pleasant. The toilets were messy and dated so would urge the site to pay attention to these.

The new toilet block in the family field was nice but I do worry about the personal hygiene habits of some of my fellow campers. The sinks are for washing your hands - use them. When you have used a toilet, use the flush please. It was not nice to have to peer in every cubicle until I found a clean one. I would urge the site to clean the toilets more frequently or at least do periodic checks. These are obviously not happening.

We bought Wifi but this did not work. There again, I have yet to go on a caravan site that does have good wifi.

On the positive, the pitches are all clean and well maintained. The Slimbridge WWT was worth a visit and the Tudor Arms pub was nice enough but not exceptional.

We will return though. For a quiet retreat, this site has it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Katy P 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely immaculate site.

Well spaced pitches, plenty of facilities i. E. Water, waste, showers etc.

Very friendly, helpful staff; lovely food available at the pub next door.

The only slight criticism (if at all) - there was no dog field so dogs had to be kept on the lead at all times. Not a huge issue, but our dog hates going to the loo while on the lead.

Well worth a visit though; we'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vinylvaughan 12 reviews from this member

A very spacious site, with good size pitches. Toilet/Shower Block very well maintained. There is a pub outside the entrance. Also a café and shop around the corner, right alongside the canal. We visited the Slimbridge Wetland Centre, but be careful if walking. There is no pavement alongside the road. The 11am departure time, when leaving site, was a bit early. But other than that, a very enjoyable stay and would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynseyellis 1 review from this member

First visit here and won't be the last! Excellent site, very well maintained, nice short grass, lovely plants, hedges, borders, very clean and modern facilities (older block in adults only area dated, but still very clean), free use of site freezer for ice blocks, plenty of open space for children to play but no specific play area. Lots to do in the area, Gloucester quays only 12 miles if you fancy food/ outlet shopping, lots of pretty cotswold villages in easy reach, slimbridge wetlands up the road, lovely walks along the canal. Great pub next door too with good beers and ciders. Tesco supermarket about 2 miles away or basics shop 200yds from site. All in all an excellent visit.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 116 reviews from this member

3 or 4th visit for us to Tudor Caravan Park.

Handy as it's just off the M5. You have to time your arrival well coming through the village though as it gets busy at 'peak' times. We always book the adults only area which we find very peaceful. Good size level hardstanding with EHU.

Booking in was efficient and very friendly. There are two toilet/shower blocks on site the oldest one being closest to the adults only section. Yes it's dated, but it clean. We used both blocks! Recycling available too. Wi-Fi is only £1 per day - great value for money.

The pub next door, Tudor Arms, is great, in fact it's one of the best next door to a campsite. Friendly, great choice of local ciders and ales, dog friendly, good food and reasonably price. It does get busy and booking is advisable especially at weekends.

Lovely walks along the canal in either direction from the site. We walked to Purton ships graveyard and back this time in the warm sunshine. Well worth the walk. The WWT is right on the doorstep too but seemed very pricy to us so we gave it a miss.

We only had 2 nights here but once again it was great. Nothing to complain about and we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve154 8 reviews from this member

Been too this site 5 times now but its my first review on it. Its a great little site we take our two dogs there and go walking along the canal the ships grave yard is very interesting and its great to see all the canal boats along the way. The fist thing to point out is that when you leave the A38 and enter Slimbidge there is a school and if you get there near pick up time its a night mare with a caravan on so try and time it right! The shower block is clean and its never been that busy when i'v been there but can be a bit cold in there 1st thing or late at night. They have got a small shop that has got a few bits and pieces in there or there one across the road but don't expect too much or good prices ! there is a Tesco's not far away. The Tudor Arms pub is very good lots different proper cider or beer too try and food is very good and not too bad price it dose get busy though so best too book and its dog friendly. The pitch's are all on the level and are of a good size. As I have already said been there 5 times now and it is a great wkend site so will go back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamanddoug 6 reviews from this member

I booked at short notice and was told they only had a couple of grass pitches available, that didn't matter as I don't mind grass or hardstand. On booking in I was allocated a hardstand which as far as I was concerned was in an ideal spot for my needs. The toilet block is new clean and with plenty of hot water at a decent pressure I didn't see a playground but there was a large grass area in the middle of the site. The pub next door is very welcoming with a good selection of real ales and local ciders as well as the normal pub beers etc the food was excellent both in value and portion size Just across the road is the black shed a no frills café with good size and value especially the big breakfast the small shop has basic needs and caters to the needs of the users of the canal. 800 yards away is slimbridge wetlands centre well worth a visit and allow yourself most of the day for a visit as there is so much to see

I would recommend this site to any one and will definitely be returning there soon

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jcm2801 3 reviews from this member

Been wanting to visit this site for ages. We enjoyed our stay but we were slightly disappointed. Firstly the new toilet block was like a sauna. There was no ventilation, the walls and floor were wet with condensation and mould was beginning to grow on the walls. Secondly the doggy poo pin near the wooden shed was full to over flowing, having no were else to leave mess dog owners were leaving bags of poo on the floor beneath the bin. We felt that for a five star site there should have been more attention to detail. At £24 plus per night for two adults plus two small dogs this site is in our opinion rather expensive.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 122 reviews from this member

Been coming here on and off for years and can't understand the few previous negative comments after all it is a country site so expect the lack of lighting, public transport and shops which is why it's so popular, that said I find the pitch sizes, toilets to a high standard and have found no problem with reception. Being a country site walking or cycling along the canal is recommended, Frampton is a couple of miles away and has two pubs and a shop. If its raining and the children get bored take them to the WWT reserve down the road which does some excellent conservation work on endangered species or visit the GBG listed pub at the site entrance. If you walk to the George pub on the A38(about 30 mins)you can catch an hourly bus to Dursley.

Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8380 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0547