Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Long Hazel Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Long Hazel Park
High Street
Sparkford
Yeovil
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA22 7JH   See Map
Tel: 01963 440002
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 16 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site during Christmas week. I must admit I was hugely disappointed (especially as it was Xmas) to find we were literally the only ones staying there (possibly 2 others paid a single nights visit). However, the site owner was extremely helpful & pleasant. The facilities were spotless & the grounds kept immaculate. There is no dog walk on site & the nearest place to take your dogs is across the road down a pathway, which when we visited, was extremely muddy. We were thankful that due to a lack of clientele we were allowed to let our dogs walk around the site. There is a popular pub a few yards down the road, we only visited once for a drink so cannot comment on the food. As walkers we were able to walk to one of the few hills in the area (Cadbury Hill, sadly no chocolate for Xmas!). The weather threw everything at us wind & rain, thankfully mostly at night, I did get blown over on the top of Cadbury Hill. We visited a very popular walking area nr Yeovil, called Ham Hill, a very busy place. There is a petrol station, small supermarket just down the road. The negatives for me, the road in the village experiences really excessive speeding motorists, coming from & going to the busy A303, & the noise is very noticeable from that road. I understand that plans are underway to build some structures to cut down that traffic noise. Due to the time we visited the area local pubs weren't open when we needed them. We did visit The Mildmay where we had a meal, which we were very disappointed with. As we visited on Boxing Day perhaps its was suffering after a busy Xmas day. The landlord was a very welcoming gentleman. Overall we wouldn't revisit the site as we walked in all the areas that we wanted to & would have no need to go back to that area.

Management response: Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad we were able to accommodate you over the Christmas holiday when most caravan parks in the area are closed. We are also so happy to hear Alan was able to be of assistance and that you observed our immaculately kept grounds and shower block.

We have been back through our diary for the Christmas season and we see that you were our only guest on one day (Boxing Day) with up to six other units joining you throughout your stay. We also had three lodges occupied throughout your stay. We are not sure how you managed to miss your immediate neighbours as you were all situated near the shower block.

You are correct, we do not have a dog walk on site. This is because we are situated in a fantastic area for walking and it simply isn't necessary. We are always happy to advise guests of our favourite walks and will tailor these to your needs and your dogs needs. You will notice on our website we have a page specifically for dog owners mapping out some of the local routes.

We are glad you visited Cadbury Hillfort as this is of great historical interest and was once King Arthur's castle and nothing to do with Cadbury's chocolate which is made “up North”! The hillfort is quite a large hill, situated 500 ft above sea level and was used as the defence point of the West Country in ancient times. During your walk there you would have seen the nearby Dorset Ridgeway, Glastonbury Tor and the Mendip Hills and King Alfred's Tower at Bruton which are all great hills to climb. You would also have seen Ham Hill which you mention visiting and we are not too far from Cheddar Gorge and Wookey Hole which are known for the famous cliffs. We are also within a few miles of the Monarch's Way, Leyland Trail and Macmillan Way which cover some fantastic hills in Castle Cary. We do wish you had asked us for information on these and we did offer you an Ordnance Survey map to take with you but you felt you didn't need this.

We are sorry to hear that some of the pubs you visited were closed over Christmas. We were not aware of this and we would have happily recommended other pubs you could have visited if the one you had tried to go to was closed. We have only ever had good reviews from customers of the food at the Mildmay Arms but would suggest you direct your feedback towards their landlords. The Mildmay Arms is situated within about a mile of Long Hazel and accepts dogs. We often suggest to our customers that they walk down the hill for a drink or a bite to eat at the pub and work off the calories on the way back up!

We understand that you feel you have no need to come back to Somerset and we are disappointed that you won't be exploring the rest of this wonderful county. We wish you all the best on your future adventures.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Martin1494 1 review from this member

Stayed at this site for 7 nights. Lovely quiet site. Warm welcome from Alan site owner who was very informative about the site and the history of the surrounding area. Well laid out and Alan and Pamela put in a lot of hard work to keep site spotless and pristine. Five minutes walk takes you to the High Street where there are bus stops to Shepton Mallet and Yeovil. This is ideal if you have a motorhome or on a walking holiday. Within easy reach of the Monarch's Way or the Leland Trail. Wonderful scenery and breathtaking views even better with the great weather we had. Well worth a stay.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lamby444 1 review from this member

Stayed at Long Hazel Park for convenience as it was a new Van and close to where we lived should we need have needed anything! We stayed for 5 nights and were made to feel totally welcome by Pam & Alan who clearly worked incredibly hard to maintain a very high standard across the site. The pitches were well laid out and the site facilities were excellent. The toilet/ shower block was immaculate with no shortage of hot water as although the site is metered individual usage isn't which was a welcome relief from feeding 20p/50p pieces every 30 seconds.

The site is convenient as a stopover as its adjacent to the A303, which we barely noticed, but more importantly it's close to Haynes motor museum, Cheddar gorge, Stourhead stately home, clarks village and a whole raft of other interesting sites. In summary, it is a lovely quiet, adult only, hidden gem of a site that comes highly recommended.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TurboFurby 2 reviews from this member

Could not fault this site. Staff VERY friendly and lanscape/facilities immaculate.

We enjoyed our stay that much that we paid for an extra night and are very sad to leave this morning. Would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrishood 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site, really easy to find and wide access from the road.

Beware of the tree next to where you might want to stop to check in. I didn't and have a nice random pattern down one side of my van now. Hopefully, it will polish out.

Really helpful couple that run the place, even suggested a place for us to book dinner for a special occasion.

Plenty of space on our pitch, which was mostly level (two bumps up the levelling block we use).

Relatively quiet in hours of darkness, save for the road noise and the motorcyclists who may have been conducting time trials on the A303 :-). This is of course outside of the control of the site owners.

I only have two minor gripes:

1. Only one stand-pipe for drinking water in the touring part of the site.

2. Hot water in facilities block was never more than luke warm, so we showered and washed up in the caravan.

Management response: Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave us a review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary meal at one of the local inns. We apologise that we were unable to run you down to the restaurant and pick you up as you asked but we were pleased that we telephoned the restaurant and they were happy to come up and collect you and run you back afterwards.

Respectfully we would like to correct you when you say that there is only one drinking water standpipe on our touring park. One standpipe is 20 yards behind the tree that you mentioned in your review upon entering the park. There is another drinking water standpipe out to the right of the gents toilets. The drinking water standpipe that we pointed out to you would have been the one nearest to your pitch and we would have highlighted this one so that you don' t end up having to carry water too far. We always direct our customers to the nearest standpipe to their pitch so that you don't end up in a queue.

We are very sorry to hear that you found that you couldn't use our showers. They are computer controlled and are set at 42 degrees centigrade. We only ever get wonderfully positive comments about our lovely hot showers. Had you mentioned it to us when you were here we would have gladly turned them up a bit for you.

We hope you will visit us again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Simbadog 11 reviews from this member

Very easy to find & a friendly welcome, ideally placed for a stopover if on the A303. Toilet block clean & tidy as was the whole site. We were offered a choice of pitches. Walked about 1/2 mile to visit the Motor Museum which was very good, the pub however was not! All the ales were off & both the ciders, only option was lager, girl behind bar uninterested, we were going to eat there but decided against it.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Colibri Lux Sleeping Bag and Sim Bundle worth over £270 Win East Anglian Game & Country Fair Camping Weekend Tickets!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 28 to 29 April
Thetford. Weekend Camping available. Plus win tickets in our competition ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938