Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Briarfields Motel & Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Briarfields Motel & Touring Park
Gloucester Road (b4063)
Off Cheltenham Road
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL51 0SS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01242 235324

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 72 hardstanding, 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
              9/10 from 151 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (23)

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 20 reviews from this member

Booked this site for one night as a stop off before carrying on to Cornwall. It cost 20 to park van for the night, cheaper than the motorway services which was 27. 50 when I was looking for somewhere. It's easy to find from the M5, about 5 minutes, just off the main road to Cheltenham, check in was easy & our pitch was right in front of the toilet block. We have stayed here before a few years ago & I think the toilet block has been replaced. It was a good job we had a motor mover for the van as it was hard to pitch the van as the vans opposite were a little close. It was scorching hot day so we sat outside the van but there was a lot of light airplanes that kept coming over the site which were very noisy, eventually they got the better of us. Having the toilet block close was good & the showers looked very nice, but there was a problem with them. They kept losing the heat, so sometimes the water was cold, then when you pressed the button again it was warm then turn cold, a bit hit & miss, but I managed to get a shower of sorts. We walked to the local Harvester about 10 minutes from the site for tea, then onto Asda just round the corner from the Harvester for a few things to tide us over while we got to Cornwall. There is also a road that runs in front of the site where you can catch a bus to Cheltenham or Gloucester, we were parked at the back of the site but there is also a road running past the site here too, so you do get road noise. It's an easy site to find, good for getting back onto M5, & 1 night can put up with the road/airplanes.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 156 reviews from this member

Brilliant site. Adults only heaven.

We first stayed last year and so pleased we found it.

Stopped here for 2 nights on the way up to the Lake District from Cornwall and for 1 night on the way home. It's perfect for us.

Mainly hard standings (area of grass for tents) all with EHU some with water very close by.

Central facilities block, always immaculately clean. Piped music 24-7 which is great. Lovely free showers too. Free WI-FI on site for those that can't live without it!

Bus stops to both Gloucester & Cheltenham right outside the site - 5 per person for a day rider into both places - great value for money.

Both Gloucester & Cheltenham are worth a wander around.

Short walk to the local Asda, Home Bargains, Pets At Home, B&Q, KFC and Harvester too.

There is some road noise during the day and you can watch a constant flow of light aircraft flying in and out of the local small runway.

We love this site and will continue to return and recommend!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 26 reviews from this member

A very nice little site just off the m5 which I used as an overnight stop over heading south.

Easily located just of the M5 (2 MINUTES) Nice spacious pitches (hardstanding) facilities within easy walking distance. Very pleasant owners/ wardens on arrival.

Toilets and showers to a good standard - Very clean

Supermarket/ pub/ kfc/ home bargains within walking distance.

Dogs accommodated but dog walk area off site and to be honest a bit painful to get to. Would have been great if there was just a bit of some area to let the doggies have a wee first and last thing. Other than that a great little site.

Would definitely use again as a stop over but not sure about any longer than that simply because of the facilities for the dogs.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xplore44 5 reviews from this member

Really nice site.

Well landscaped, tidy.

Nice shower block.

Downside was the traffic noise, non stop, with police sirens going all the time.

Some people may not mind the noise, but not me.

Also one of the rules was no cars on grass, which is right, but some did park on the grass because their caravans/cars were so big they had no choice. (Why do people need such big caravans just for 2 people)? The pitches were rather small.

Near to airport, but did not mind that noise, it was a novelty watching the planes.

It was a bit further to the shops than what we were hoping, with a lot of traffic, but then we are getting on a bit, lol

But we had a nice stay.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jp51mog 1 review from this member

Nice site with superb facilities, slight road noise but you soon blank it out been on much worse, nice if you are an aviation fan as you are under the flight path of the small local airfield, again not too intrusive.

We had a couple of problems on site but a call to PGF caravan services (card held in reception)soon had Phillip on site and problems speedily resolved, good service, good price.

Would highly recommend both site and PGF services.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobleonard 4 reviews from this member

Booked this over the phone one day before arriving having read a number of reviews that mentioned road noise. Asked for a quiet pitch away from boundary hedges and was allocated pitch 52 which is near the centre of the site. A very pleasant and helpful lady took my booking and we arrived at 12 mid day on the Wednesday.

Facilities are excellent, drinking water, grey water disposal and chemical waste disposal is all within easy access. The toilet block is extremely well kept with 3 extra large shower cubicles for disabled access and an additional 2 other standard size shower cubicles. Mop and bucket at the ready to clean after yourselves. The flowers and the piped musical are also a nice touch.

As far as noise is concerned yes this site is situated wedged between two busy roads. One is the main route into Cheltenham which is 3 miles away and takes what appears to be a lot of emergency vehicles using their sirens both day and night. There is an excellent bus system to use.

A short 10 minute walk will take you to the park and ride station. Best value for a bus into Cheltenham 2 adults return 4. 50 last bus leaving the town at 1905hrs. Alternatively just outside the site is the bus stop to Cheltenham or Gloucester.

Overall a very pleasant 2 day stay at an extremely well kept site. Cheltenham itself has plenty to offer for eateries and watering holes in particular a very good Wetherspoons. Moon Under Water. Worth a try. I feel sure we will be returning here in the very near future.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David29 6 reviews from this member

A clean well maintained site. Very easy to find and close to both Cheltenham and Gloucester with a good bus service to either if you don't want to drive. The toilets and showers were really clean and well maintained. Plenty of hot water in the showers. My only slight criticism is the relative closeness to the main A40 road from the M5 to Cheltenham and there is an ambulance station close by so there may be quite a few sirens! Other than that I would recommend this site. This site is for adults only.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hmv4u 33 reviews from this member

We booked in for 3 days over the bank holiday.

Pro's-The site is nice and I didn't find the pitches that small, the toilet block was good and the welcome fine, fairly close to Asda (in a car) and not to far for the main towns. Reasonable rates

The Con-the site is sandwiched between a couple of roads so depending on where your pitch was located decides how much noise you can hear. Like the previous reviewer we were at the back by a large hedge about 5 yards away from what I thought was a quiet country lane-wrong ! this is obviously a short cut and from early morning till way after midnight there was traffic and I mean giving it some ! Had we been there any longer I would have asked to move

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Danlebath 6 reviews from this member

Visited here for a week as a base whilst we toured the area and attended a wedding. Toilet Block very clean, lovely little touches like hand sanitiser by the Elsan, well lit, Owners extremely helpful and kind. Some road noise but not overly intrusive. Great Information board and nearby shops and transport links

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yotanka62 9 reviews from this member

Just back from a Bank holiday 3 day break. Site is in the middle of town and does suffer from road noise. Our pitch was against a tall hedge with a road behind it which had sierens on and off all day and even in the early hours one night.

72 pitches and very close together, in fact never been on such a squashed pitch. Next door guide ropes from their awning was 2 feet from our windows.

Washrooms were nice however. Warm and had music playing. Approximately 6 showers and also sinks with curtains if you wanted to strip wash etc. Never found a hairdryer though in the ladies!

Site does take dogs but no dog walk, you had to go off the site along the road. No dog bins either so though they take dogs and there were quite a few it doesn't feel like they encourage them.

Bus 94 is outside the site. One way to Gloucester and the other to Cheltenham. We used it on both days and far easier than using the car.

Site very clean though never saw any wardens going round cleaning. Laundry looked good though can't comment as never used it.

Not sure would go back due to pitch sizing.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1172