Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Briarfields Motel & Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Briarfields Motel & Touring Park
Gloucester Road (b4063)
Off Cheltenham Road
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL51 0SS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01242 235324

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 72 hardstanding, 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 155 Reviews
              9/10 from 155 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (23)

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here overnight on our way from Southport to Devon. Although there was nothing wrong with it, it just wasn't my cup of tea.

The lady on reception was charming. No problems with the staff at all.

I thought the pitches were quite tight. The access road through the site is quite narrow and car parking is at the front of your pitch alongside the edge of the road. We have a tiny van and we found manoeuvring onto the pitch quite challenging (resorting to push and shove at the end).

Although the road noise wasn't overwhelming it was noticeable and did affect my sleep. At one point in the middle of the night (4am or so) there was so much traffic going past I wondered if there was a shift change at GCHQ. Funnily enough, I didn't mind the aircraft noise at all & it was interesting to see the odd private jet fly overhead.

The toilet block was clean with good showers but there was a problem with the toilets, none of them had a powerful flush and some of them took several minutes to refill the cisterns. When you combine that with caravanners only using their own facilities for 'liquid deposits' it meant the toilets tended not to be clean when you went to use them. Also, to leave them in an acceptable state was quite difficult. Not the most pleasant experience.

My husband wasn't too keen on the arrangement whereby the grey waste was disposed of at the CDP.

We were meeting friends for an evening meal (The Gloucester Old Spot about 10 minutes drive away - fantastic food, recommended in the Michelin Guide) so we can't comment on local facilities but we were given a map that showed local supermarkets etc were very close.

All in all, I would stay there again if I needed a stopover in the locality but it isn't a site I would particularly seek out.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Free as a bird 4 reviews from this member

Off again in our Old but beautiful Talbot Pullman we booking into a little gem of a site. Really nice. Well maintained. Good location for bus service, 10mins outside the gate. Food and drink very accessible just down the road. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 36 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from this Adults only site and enjoyed every minute of it. Very reasonably priced considering it was in the middle of the 'Peak Period' when a lot of adult only sites (and other site owners) feel the need to charge a hefty surcharge.

Site is very easy to find as it is approx. 1 mile from junction 11 of M5. Considering its location you must expect a small amount of traffic noise but this was far from excessive and did not bother us at all. Being near to the airfield it was an added bonus watching the small planes overhead not at all intrusive.

The park itself we found to be very tidy and well kept with all of the grassed areas well looked after. The toilet/shower block was kept spotless with its piped music and plenty of hot water. The hand sanitiser by the chemical diposal point was another nice touch. Also the site has Free Wi-Fi.

Asda, KFC, B&Q, Pets at Home and Home Bargains are all within 15 minute stroll via underpass under the main A40. There is a bus service at the front of the park with buses every 10 minutes to Cheltenham and Gloucester, both are well worth a visit especially by bus and free if you are oldies like us. There is a small camping field in the middle of the park again adults only. Had bonus of admiring a few American RVs on their way to the Malvern show.

All in all a very nice site to which we would not hesitate to return. Other reviews have expressed the fact that it is noisy however we found noise levels acceptable considering its location near to airport and two busy main roads which we knew about when we booked but this did not detract in any way from the enjoyment of our stay.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BCH06 1 review from this member

Had an extended stay at Briarfields recently. The site was just n immaculate condition and Scott and Jo couldn't have been more helpful. The site is in a great position close to cheltenham and gloucester and the surrounding areas and has a great local bus service just outside the campsite for those who need or wish to use it. It's a great, well run site that I would strongly recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 20 reviews from this member

Booked this site for one night as a stop off before carrying on to Cornwall. It cost 20 to park van for the night, cheaper than the motorway services which was 27. 50 when I was looking for somewhere. It's easy to find from the M5, about 5 minutes, just off the main road to Cheltenham, check in was easy & our pitch was right in front of the toilet block. We have stayed here before a few years ago & I think the toilet block has been replaced. It was a good job we had a motor mover for the van as it was hard to pitch the van as the vans opposite were a little close. It was scorching hot day so we sat outside the van but there was a lot of light airplanes that kept coming over the site which were very noisy, eventually they got the better of us. Having the toilet block close was good & the showers looked very nice, but there was a problem with them. They kept losing the heat, so sometimes the water was cold, then when you pressed the button again it was warm then turn cold, a bit hit & miss, but I managed to get a shower of sorts. We walked to the local Harvester about 10 minutes from the site for tea, then onto Asda just round the corner from the Harvester for a few things to tide us over while we got to Cornwall. There is also a road that runs in front of the site where you can catch a bus to Cheltenham or Gloucester, we were parked at the back of the site but there is also a road running past the site here too, so you do get road noise. It's an easy site to find, good for getting back onto M5, & 1 night can put up with the road/airplanes.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 159 reviews from this member

Brilliant site. Adults only heaven.

We first stayed last year and so pleased we found it.

Stopped here for 2 nights on the way up to the Lake District from Cornwall and for 1 night on the way home. It's perfect for us.

Mainly hard standings (area of grass for tents) all with EHU some with water very close by.

Central facilities block, always immaculately clean. Piped music 24-7 which is great. Lovely free showers too. Free WI-FI on site for those that can't live without it!

Bus stops to both Gloucester & Cheltenham right outside the site - 5 per person for a day rider into both places - great value for money.

Both Gloucester & Cheltenham are worth a wander around.

Short walk to the local Asda, Home Bargains, Pets At Home, B&Q, KFC and Harvester too.

There is some road noise during the day and you can watch a constant flow of light aircraft flying in and out of the local small runway.

We love this site and will continue to return and recommend!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 26 reviews from this member

A very nice little site just off the m5 which I used as an overnight stop over heading south.

Easily located just of the M5 (2 MINUTES) Nice spacious pitches (hardstanding) facilities within easy walking distance. Very pleasant owners/ wardens on arrival.

Toilets and showers to a good standard - Very clean

Supermarket/ pub/ kfc/ home bargains within walking distance.

Dogs accommodated but dog walk area off site and to be honest a bit painful to get to. Would have been great if there was just a bit of some area to let the doggies have a wee first and last thing. Other than that a great little site.

Would definitely use again as a stop over but not sure about any longer than that simply because of the facilities for the dogs.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xplore44 5 reviews from this member

Really nice site.

Well landscaped, tidy.

Nice shower block.

Downside was the traffic noise, non stop, with police sirens going all the time.

Some people may not mind the noise, but not me.

Also one of the rules was no cars on grass, which is right, but some did park on the grass because their caravans/cars were so big they had no choice. (Why do people need such big caravans just for 2 people)? The pitches were rather small.

Near to airport, but did not mind that noise, it was a novelty watching the planes.

It was a bit further to the shops than what we were hoping, with a lot of traffic, but then we are getting on a bit, lol

But we had a nice stay.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jp51mog 1 review from this member

Nice site with superb facilities, slight road noise but you soon blank it out been on much worse, nice if you are an aviation fan as you are under the flight path of the small local airfield, again not too intrusive.

We had a couple of problems on site but a call to PGF caravan services (card held in reception)soon had Phillip on site and problems speedily resolved, good service, good price.

Would highly recommend both site and PGF services.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobleonard 4 reviews from this member

Booked this over the phone one day before arriving having read a number of reviews that mentioned road noise. Asked for a quiet pitch away from boundary hedges and was allocated pitch 52 which is near the centre of the site. A very pleasant and helpful lady took my booking and we arrived at 12 mid day on the Wednesday.

Facilities are excellent, drinking water, grey water disposal and chemical waste disposal is all within easy access. The toilet block is extremely well kept with 3 extra large shower cubicles for disabled access and an additional 2 other standard size shower cubicles. Mop and bucket at the ready to clean after yourselves. The flowers and the piped musical are also a nice touch.

As far as noise is concerned yes this site is situated wedged between two busy roads. One is the main route into Cheltenham which is 3 miles away and takes what appears to be a lot of emergency vehicles using their sirens both day and night. There is an excellent bus system to use.

A short 10 minute walk will take you to the park and ride station. Best value for a bus into Cheltenham 2 adults return 4. 50 last bus leaving the town at 1905hrs. Alternatively just outside the site is the bus stop to Cheltenham or Gloucester.

Overall a very pleasant 2 day stay at an extremely well kept site. Cheltenham itself has plenty to offer for eateries and watering holes in particular a very good Wetherspoons. Moon Under Water. Worth a try. I feel sure we will be returning here in the very near future.

Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938