Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Christchurch Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Christchurch Camping In The Forest Site
Bracelands Drive
Christchurch
Coleford
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel:

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
              8/10 from 119 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please be aware that this site will be closing for touring bookings as of 28th February 2014.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KevsKevs 2 reviews from this member

The site is in a beautiful setting within the Forest of Dean and, as we went in September, there was plenty of space. The staff were very welcoming and the shop sells delicious croissants. Lovely!

The only negative thing I can comment on was the weird and baffling yelling coming from the cabin area behind our tent which went on throughout the night we were there. We decided that the noise was either down to a bunch of people looking for their dog, child or confused grandparent or down to a film crew shooting a Blair-Witch-type film. Eerie.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dipsybird 7 reviews from this member

Arrived in the very nice reception area and shop with restaurant. Friendly check in and advised to pitch any where as long as it was at least six meters away from other tents. Great freedom we thought however being August and arriving late not much choice of pitches left (so arrive early if you want a good pitch).

Pitch sizes were good and pizza was good in the restaurant. This is about as positive I can be about this site. The toilet blocks were disgusting the worst site I have ever been in the loos were half broken the sinks and tile were cracked the grouting dirty. But the worst thing was the washing up facilities wooden draining boards (alive with bacteria). I refused to use the showers and came home early smelling!

Good day out at Puzzlewood amazing.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Warbis66 26 reviews from this member

Sadly wont return:

Reception looks lovely but what a ridiculous set up, the shop sells 'yummy mummy ' food but not anything remotely useful.

The loo blocks are terrible, really badly set out. If they can spend money on the reception then they can invest in decent loo blocks.

Lovely setting but spoiled by tents crammed in on top of each other and very expensive. Stupidly paid for three nights but abandoned after one due to weather and general dislike of the site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frequent camper 1 review from this member

We have been coming to this campsite for many years and have just spent another weekend there. We have seen this site develop positively over the years although there are a few quirks. The reception area with cafe and shop is now a real asset and instead of a few grumpy old men running the site the staff are more friendly and welcoming.

As has been noted the shower block could do with an update. The water is adjustable temperature wise and can be really hot and plentiful but comes from a fixed shower head. As campsite showers are the world over, there is never enough space to shower and keep your clothes dry and enough hooks or chairs to put things on. I end up going for a shower at a quiet period and leaving things in the main area. I hope when they modernise things they think of modern camping with family rooms and wash basins in cubicles and avoid shower curtains!

The washing up facilities that are outdoors have better sinks. The ones in a room have wooden draining boards that don't drain. The water however is usually very hot which is a real plus.

I love this campsite because of it's setting and we put our Campervan without hookup at the bottom of the field where it is really flat. I am a pensioner but do not mind the children as there is never music or loud parties, it is not that kind of site, even on Bank Holidays.

It is open in winter and once we were there for New Year when they arranged a party. The walks from the site are endless and we have done 'Go Ape' and canoeing and the grandchildren love the freedom of cycling without traffic but it is the forest and the peace and the walking we love best.

It is pricey I think and I really don't think they should make you pay for 3 nights over Bank holidays as I know that has put several of my friends off from coming to join us even when the site was half full. It is our default campsite what ever the weather but then we do have a cosy campervan.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melk1969 3 reviews from this member

If you want peace and quiet give this a miss, especially on weekends and when kids are off school.

The staff were lovely but made it very clear that we were not to pitch within 6 metres of anyone else, so we didn't. Well, weekend came and it was a free for all, kids running riot everywhere, and someone had pitched just 2 metres from us while we were out.

Showers/toilets in need of updating. Showers are far too powerful, like being showered with needles, with no adjustments. The only place to put ALL of your toiletries is a soap dish, no hooks inside shower itself.

Dishwashing area had a lot of bugs in one sink which looked like cockroaches but they weren't they were much bigger.

Shop was lovely but very expensive.

Area amazing for walks and trips out.

All in all, if you don't mind living on top of each other, with kids running riot everywhere then this is the place for you. If you want peace and quiet then go midweek or go somewhere else.

Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gloucestershire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430