Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
                9/10 from 200 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizbrophy 1 review from this member

Had a fab time at the vw weekend, this is our 1st visit but won't be our last. Great site with lovely, friendly and most helpful staff, a great credit to you all. Lovely area, 3 great pubs and a lovely train ride

Terry and Liz brophy

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note that as from the 2017 season this site is no longer managed or run by the Camping and Caravanning Club. The site remains open under independent management, and is accepting bookings as normal for the 2017 season.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

A lovely site in a beautiful setting - tranquillity itself. If you aren't a walker/cyclist or want a ride on Ratty this may not be the place for you but the wardens are friendly and very helpful, the on site shop sells quality products including meat and beer (what else is there) and the facilities are absolutely excellent. Lots of lovely walks and three excellent pubs serving good food within easy walking distance.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

Had rung a few hours before to check availability. Warm welcome & shown around, taken to pitch & helped to hook up as a long lead was required. Given a choice of pitches. All this & we hadnít arrived until 6. 30pm.

Facilities 5*. Well stocked shop, good opening hours. Lovely toilets & showers, heated, warm, & clean. Showers warm & free with no annoying timers. Lots of hooks, stool, & shower curtains that work. Drying room, laundry & rotary clothes lines for campers use. Plenty of picnic benches around. Wifi free, & noticed coverage better when less campers on site but a good signal around shop area all the time.

Excellent location. Lovely hill walk to Blea Tarn (beware, you need to walk to the disused huts at the top of the hill, & the path is difficult to see from here. Look up to left diagonally & follow the stone cairns). Also recommend the Stanley Ghyll waterfall walk, both of these are detailed on the walk leaflet available in the shop for a couple of quid. Within 10 minutes walk is a small shop in Boot, 2 pubs, & a cafe & giftshop at the steam railway station. Old ratty is a fun little train for kids & enthusiasts but also used by lots of walkers. We only tried one of the pubs, the Brook House Inn, which had an excellent varied menu, local beers & 180+ whiskies. Well recommended, even the crap taxidermy made me laugh almost as much as the barmanís dry sense of humour.

The majority of the other campers were really friendly. Noise from kids was minimal as they tend to put families in one field, & adults in the other.

I nearly forgot the views, absolutely stunning & hard to beat, even in the Lakes. We did notice that many campsites in the area had views or electric hook ups. This site has both. In fact we would probably go so far as to say this is the best C&CC site we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Okantfoss 4 reviews from this member

I think we must have been very unlucky indeed as our experience was not a good one. We arrived on a Friday and the site was VERY full. We were offered a choice of two pitches - one was in the middle of the family area which was already very full and the other was next to the stream. It seemed we were being encouraged into the family area as the pitch was more likely to stay dry for 9 days but to me it looked very full already so we opted for the pitch by the stream.

On the first night a tent started to pitch at 11pm right next to us. There was extremely loud swearing coming from them which woke me up and they proceeded to make noise as they drank until 3am.

The next night we had competing sound systems - one from the pods and one from the camper next to us. It was the worst weekend's camping I have ever spent. I found it a very noisy site in general over the weekend. In the week it changed as the site emptied somewhat.

Normally I'd expect someone to wander round at night keeping an eye on noise, but this didn't happen here.

In my opinion it doesn't have sufficient facilities. There are 130 pitches, but only three WCs in the men's toilets. It is not pleasant to have to queue for a toilet in the morning which is what happened 3 or 4 times during our stay. Similarly there is an issue with just three showers for the site. And these run out of water mid shower - ironic given the amount of water ironic given the flooded tents!

Whilst the shop is very tidy and well stocked, it was a shame not to have some nice fresh bread available.

Overall, it's a tidy site, buy in my opinion it isn't up to the usual standards of Camping & Caravan Club sites. We actually left two days early forfeiting the pitch fees.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jjstannard 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 5 nights over May/June half term in a large tent with electric.

- Twisty drive up so best take main road A595 as much as you can and approach from the west.

- Friendly welcome who offered 'quiet' or 'family' area. We have a small daughter so chose family.

- Flat ground and they bring extension leads to supply EHU if you are far from a distributor box.

- Good pubs, railway and walks within minutes of the site. Main shops are a good drive away.

- NO phone signal although they offer wifi.

PROS:

- Beautiful country side

- Very helpful staff. We had a tent behind making at racket at midnight and they dealt with it quickly.

- Well stocked shop and good play area with large trampoline.

- Showers clean and well maintained

- Site offers a variety of lovely pitching options.

CONS:

- I had 5 showers. During 3 of them the water ran out completely for several minutes and was cold upon it's return. I also had to queue frequently for them. Times ranged from 7. 30am - 10. 30am and also from 3pm - 7pm.

- Washing machine won't power up until you've paid the coin meter. Once it had done so my wife couldn't make sense of the digital set up on it. There were no instructions and her paid time was ticking down which is an unnecessary hassle. Printed instructions would be great.

- Trampoline has a sign stating '1 at a time' but frequently over 10 children were in there. The owner settled on '5 at a time' during most of the week.

- As play area was a small area with a trampoline and other gear, most evenings until 11pm we had children playing football or cricket immediately next to our tent on both sides, with balls hitting our flysheet often. Not the fault of the site but a 'no ball games' sign and perhaps a dedicated ball games area might have saved a few knocked over BBQs and gas stoves!

Overall the site was great and provided you don't mind queues and showers that cut out it is worth it for the view. If we were to return we would pitch in the quiet area and I'm sure have a completely different experience.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 6 nights over May Half term. I had only booked for 4 nights but they agreed/arranged it so that we could stay of the extra two nights and keep electric. It is a franchise site so they do bend the rules a little bit and the site was very full. It was quiet though.

The Boot Inn and The Brook House Inn are both very near, only 5 mins walk at the most. We liked them both, although the Brook House was our favourite - we ate there twice. We also went to the Woolpack on the way down from a walk over Green Crag.

There are plenty of good walks from the door. We did Ilgill Head and Whin Rigg straight from the site as well as Green Crag. You could do Scafell Pike and Scafell but our dogs are getting on a bit for quite that distance!

The toilet paper ran out quite often, probably due to being over full, bit they did fillet up quite quickly. At peak times you would find the hot water would just stop. I had fun trying to wash up one morning.

Overall we liked the site - good location, good food pubs, fun time the train. We would probably not go back in peak season though.

Oh, if you pitch by the stream you will need midge spray.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bendwg 14 reviews from this member

Great site with modern clean facilities all well maintained and cleaned regularly. All pitches are pretty flat and even though it rained all day the ground seemed to drain pretty well.

Shop is well stocked with the essentials and staff all friendly and helpful.

Some good walks straight off camp and the train to Ravensglass is 5 minutes walk away

The Boot Inn and Brook House Inn both 2 minutes walk away both do good food and drink but booking is advisable as they get very busy.

The Woolpack in is about 20mins walk away but they offer a taxi service if you book. Has all the skysports and again decent food.

Hardknott Pass isnt possible in anything but a car really so it is a bit of a run to get to the site from the South but worth it.

All in great site in a great area.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

Great campsite, new clean facilities, well stocked shop and lovely staff. Walks from site in every direction for all ages, from scarfell to lovely well signposted local walks to dalegarth waterfall etc. Off road bike esktrail from site to ravenglass mainly quite level except for muncaster fell which pretty steep. I stayed extra 3 nights I was so pleased with the place and surroundings,

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 34 reviews from this member

I have little to add to the earlier reviews: this is a well run, pleasant campsite that I can highly recommend.

The lack of caravans and almost all grass pitches gives it a slightly more bohemian feel than many C&CC sites.

Large motorhomes will find the approach roads 'exciting' but the VW campervan sized units will be fine.

Wifi is £2 per stay. It worked well for email and basic web searches.

There is also a decent sized drying room.

Walking: both valley and high level routes straight from the site. We recommend visiting the stone circles on Brat's Moss - a mile or so steeply uphill from the site. A surprisingly good little known Bronze Age gem.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Colibri Lux Sleeping Bag and Sim Bundle worth over £270 Win East Anglian Game & Country Fair Camping Weekend Tickets!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 28 to 29 April
Thetford. Weekend Camping available. Plus win tickets in our competition ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016