Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendwr Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Denbighshire > Site Reviews

Hendwr Caravan Park
Tyddyn Hendwr
Llandrillo
Corwen
Denbighshire   (Browse area)
LL21 0SN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01490 440210

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
              7/10 from 17 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luby lou 40 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site but be prepared to bend a few tent pegs as site by river very stony.

Campsite kept very clean with very hot water in shower and toilets.

Shop open 9-10 in the morning and 5-6 in the evening. Ice packs frozen for you at reception.

River runs through the tent fields with safe paddling for children.

Very nice area with lots to see and do. Don't miss Chirk Castle and Rug Chapel both outstanding sites.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jinxster 2 reviews from this member

This is an honest and frank review. We stayed for 6nights.

Plus points

Good location

Lovely child friendly (very shallow) stream running through site

On site shop

Reasonably priced (we had an electric hook up)

Friendly and helpful owners

Each tent pitch had own water tap

Negatives

The shower blocks were not always cleaned on a daily basis - recommend gents take own toilet roll and wear shower shoes eg flip flops or crocs

Not much room between tents - we could hear the man in the next tent snoring!

Parking is limited on the tent pitches, a static caravan for sale takes up a lot of space right next to the tent field.

Owners of static caravans were unfriendly - it was obvious they don't want tent pitches on the site

Children from tourers and static vans were left unsupervised around the site with one child urinating in the stream and others playing on the roadway with total disregard for cars

Tent pitches were quite gravelly - my partner bent several pegs when trying to peg our guy ropes in.

Corwen only has one food shop and it is quite expensive for the basic essentials. The nearest supermarket is in Ruthin 20 ish miles away.

There doesn't seem to be any rules, e. G. A camper was playing quite loud music late into the night - not an issue for us but for those with children it might be.

Midges and insects - take insect repellent, I was bitten to pieces!

Oh and the crows waking you up at 5. 30am was a pain, but earplugs bought in b and m in Ruthin sorted it out!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Polly_1 2 reviews from this member

15 per night + 3 for electric hook up and 5 per stay for Wifi this site is a Lovely relaxing site with a long tree lined drive up to it with free range roaming sheep to the drive. The site has a little shop for all your necessities and treats and the owners are very pleasant. We spent 2 nights here end of June 2013, their is only 1 small camping field as the rest of the site is mainly static caravans. Electric hookup and your own water tap for each plot. The camping field is next to the River Dee which is like a small running Brook or stream. It was lovely to wake up to the sound of running water and the dawn chorus. This is a site that is for people who want a quiet relaxing no frills break, not much for the family to do but we went for the relaxing break and the scenery, the scenery is amazing.

The only down side we could find was the pitching field itself. The field appears to be built on a gravel base underneath the initial turf which made it extremely difficult to get tent pegs in more than a couple of inches to be honest, we spent ages fishing each peg around to get it in the ground, which if the weathers nice wouldn't be too bad but if the weathers not so great and you want to get your tent up quickly in the wind and rain then this proves very off putting. Hence on the Sunday of us leaving we had to pack up our tent a lot earlier than planned as the very windy night had dislodged most of our tent pegs and our tent was collapsing in the wind. It usually takes us approx 30 mins to put our tent up but due to the gravel type base it took us well over an hour, But if the weathers nice and your prepared to persevere with the very poor ground base then this is a little gem of a relaxing site.

I have given this site 8/10 for ground base problems when pitching only all other aspects were very nice.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michellerbrts 2 reviews from this member

Booked this site last minute with my family, easy to find, but once on site there was no sign for reception and we ended up in a field at the bottom and had to turn around with a caravan! Which we found we were not the only people to do this! There are no children's facilities here but there is a stream that runs through that the kids enjoyed as you could catch fish. The toilet block leaved a lot to be desired, trickles of water from the showers, difficult to control the temperature. The staff were great. If your a dog lover this is the place for you, I unfortunately am not. The pitch was a good size. There are a lot of caravans that must stay there all year round, that are rather old, dirty and the grass is overgrown all around them, which makes it look untidy! I feel this camp site may have its priorities wrong! This campsite has the potential to be a gold mine, it's set in the most beautiful location, but just doesn't hit the spot

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billymuffin48 1 review from this member

Nice friendly welcome when we arrived, escorted to our pitch by lovely man, wow what a pitch right next to beautiful shallow stream approx 10ft wide, fresh water available next to pitch, the site is beautiful with lovely views, showers blocks are fine, yes I've had better but these were great, plenty hot water, clean, and always available never a q even in the half term break which to me is peak time, Bala with its Great Lake, steam train, pubs, fresh bakery, sailing, take always, and so much more only 8 miles away. This to me was a gem of a site, with small children it felt very safe and they were kept busy with the large open areas to play, I have read other reviews but would say when camping you are out in the country and you need to remember this, I loved this place with the wonderful sound of the water passing by.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saxonheidi 1 review from this member

Don't normally comment on the www unless something or someone is exceptional good or bad. I stayed at Hendwr in Sept 2012 In a tent with my dog Saxon. It ticked all the boxes. The site has beautiful views and is at one with nature. Just imagine sitting in your tent with a view of the hills listening to a chatty wood pigeon while the stream flows gently past, then later on listening to the owls. (Just one bit of advice if pitched in a tent near the stream be prepared for a couple of visits in the night to the fab loo's. )

The shower blocks are excellent. They have a heater in to warm the block up while you shower and the water soooo hot Yeh. Just perfect for the wet, damp summer we've had. Every where was clean and well kept. The previous person mentioning about the water tasting bad, I never found that at all nor did I smell anything in the toilet block. But fair do's if it was the week after it might have something to do with the rain. I also felt safe which is very important travelling on my own.

They have a good little shop with everything you would need plus a lot of information for places to visit the time open was a bit short but I'm sure if you needed anything they would come up for it. Saxon would like to Thankyou for all the attention he got and made so welcome which really meant a lot to me When you arrive you say hello to the camp staff but when you leave you say goodbye to friends. A must visit at least once for total escapism.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Denbighshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0449