Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Brick Kilns

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

The Old Brick Kilns
Little Barney Lane
Barney
Fakenham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR21 0NL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01328 878305

Facilities:  (Key)
                     

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
              9/10 from 66 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (17)

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 15 reviews from this member

Having negotiated the narrow access lane hoping that nobody comes the other way, we were really pleased with what we entered. The site was lovely and clean. We opted for the adults only area and again were plessed with the layout and space. After our first night the quietness of the location was amazing with only birdsong in our ears. The toilet facilities were pristine, the only comment would be that 2 showers/toilets in the mens block could be an issue when the site is full. The bar was small but pleasant. Overall a wonderful site and well worth a re-visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eamonn 9 reviews from this member

After a drive down a norrow twisting road (reason for entry/exit times) we found ourselves at the Old Brick Kilns after a very laid back and friendly reception our membership card was photocopied and we were on holiday, we had been allocated Primrose pitch which is one of the 5 Caravan Club CL Pitches with a lovely view and surrounded by hedges nice and private with enough room between pitches to be neighbourly but not on top of each other, gravel pitches with Fresh Water, Waste water, Electric, TV Point and picknic table. We piched the van put up the awning, had a cup of tea and headed to the showers, and WOW what great showers well full wet rooms to be honest, big walk in shower, with unlimited supply lovely hot water, Toilet, Big mirror shaving point, Hair dryer, Hand Drier and a wonderful heated towel rack to warm the towels while you shower these are the best shower facilities I have ever used on a caravan site. The camp shop has everything you might need and not overpriced, there is a restaurant on site which we will be trying during the week as the menu looks good. This is what caravanning should be about a spotlessly clean site with a warm welcome and peaceful Both my wife and I work in a fast paced environment and this site allows us to relax and charge our batteries, in a peaceful tranquil environment, I can see us becoming regulars here. Well after a great nights sleep I can't believe how quiet and peaceful this site is, just the sounds of nature, seen birds some of which I've never seen before, (must find my bird spotting book up), what I think was a weasel boy he was quick, lots of rabbits, and sure I heard a fox last night, we're loving this site truly a gem of a place. Now about to sit outside and enjoy the sounds with a book and a cup of tea. Heaven

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fluffykins101 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful setting and very tranquil. Staff were lovely and polite. However, if you are taking a tent and require electric hook up, there are only a couple of pitches level enough to prevent you rolling out of bed. We were lucky as not busy and managed to pick one of the two reasonably level ones. The shower/ toilet block very clean and tidy, but they do need to get the showers sorted as not very powerful - maybe something to do with water pressure. Would stay again as long as could pick tent pitch! If you have a caravan it would be ideal

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim1977 5 reviews from this member

We visited in April 2015 during the Easter school holidays with our tent. The first thing to note is the single track approach to the site. Arrival and departure times are strict to avoid meeting a caravan coming the other way, which you would not want to do! We did not have any issues with this, but just be aware.

The site was very quiet, just 2 other tents in the camping field. There are only 2 totally flat tent pitches if you want hook up, you can guess which 2 pitches were taken :) We picked the least sloping pitch, which was not too bad as we were using our small tent set up. The slope is not constant, so a longer tent would have been sitting partly flat and partly on a slope, which may have made it hard to get a satisfactory set up. There were large holes in our pitch and the adjoining 2 pitches, rabbits I assume. But these could do with filling in as they were slap bang in the middle of each pitch, so no avoiding them. We pitched so the holes would be under the beds not the living area.

The site is beautifully kept and the caravan areas, especially the caravan club area, are lovely. People clearly keep their vans there and come back again and again to the site and I can see why. It would take some beating. One of the toilet blocks is of an amazing standard, more like a hotel! There is a small playground, a shop and a restaurant, although we were not there long enough to use it, it looked very nice.

There was no road noise, we awoke to a wonderful dawn chorus of birds, and the kids enjoyed hearing the owls and cuckoos. A very peaceful and rural spot to camp, we had lots of room for the kids to play and explore. On the last day we had the camping field to ourselves, could get used to that!

Would we return? Yes, but I would come out of main season again to have the best pick of available pitches. I would say for caravans, this is a 10 out of 10 site.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 74 reviews from this member

We totally endorse all the positive things other reviewers have said about Old Brick Kilns. The toilet/shower facilities are amongst the best we have found anywhere, and the spaciousness of the pitches exceeds most of those on the 'Club' sites. Our pitch had full water/waste hook-up, which was very convenient, though getting the waste water to flow down the drain was tricky (a common problem on super pitches, we have found). It was slightly disappointing that we were charged full site fee for a night that we cancelled because of the risk of travelling in high winds, especially as the site was very quiet. Maybe a reduced charge would have been a nice gesture. The site has a 'no arrivals before 13. 30' policy. This is for the very good reason that the access road is very narrow for quite a long stretch and therefore the time should be observed.

We used the site as a base for visiting Thursford show, as the 'theatre' is only 5 - 10 minutes away by car. If you don't know about this, try Google. It was brilliant!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindseyderby 9 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this lovely site. Our first visit, in April 2011, was our first holiday with a touring caravan, and we were very impressed with the place. So we decided to make a return visit and were delighted to find that it was as good as we remembered. A warm, friendly welcome, large pitch, quiet rural setting. The site is beautifully maintained, with all facilities and the toilet block is clean and warm. The dishwashing/laundry area is spotlessly clean. We had a meal in the on-site restaurant and it was excellent, reasonably priced and friendly service. There is also a small shop selling basic essentials. Fakenham is a short drive away and has all services, including two large supermarkets. The site is ideally located for visiting Sandringham, the North Norfolk Coast, Norwich and the Norfolk Broads. Excellent all round.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a BUZZ RACK Buffalo 4 Bike Tilting Carrier Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Benington Chilli Festival, Hertfordshire 29 31st August
Celebrate all things chilli in the hidden gem of a garden at historic Benington Lordship.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0586