Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Penhale Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Penhale Caravan & Camping Park
Penhale Farm
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1JU   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01726 833425

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
              8/10 from 24 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ems Jacobs 1 review from this member

I have never felt compelled to leave a review but felt this site really deserved it! We are a family with two small boys, 6 and 4 and have been holidaying in our little caravan since they were babies.

For us this site ticks all the boxes. The views of the sea and surrounding countryside are gorgeous and the location perfect for visiting quaint, coastal fishing villages, beautiful beaches and local attractions such as the Eden project. Walkers can easily access the nearby beach from the campsite and also walk to Fowey (something both our boys managed easily with a little icecream incentive!) The beach is very family friendly, a sheltered bay with shop, restaurant, pub and toilets.

Most pitches have wonderful views and although the site is on a hill the pitches are levelled off. Even when full it wouldn't appear crowded as pitches are well spaced. The little shop is very handy for forgotten essentials (tesco on the way to St Austell is nearest supermarket) and they also sell their own eggs and various yummy homegrown veg. The owners are friendly and welcoming.

The shower and toilet block were excellent! Hot, free showers and from what I could tell cleaned to a very high standard several times a day! The fresh flowers were a lovely touch and much appreciated. Washing up facilities, 2 washers and 2 driers (small charge) were all kept to a high standard.

There is even a games room for rainy days with table tennis and table football (which we didn't use). No play ground/equipment for older children but not needed in our opinion as plenty of space to play safely. Free wifi very welcome for entertaining the children and researching the area and weather forecasts.

We loved it! Couldn't fault this site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hoits 3 reviews from this member

We visited the site in June when it was probably not at its busiest but about 50% of the pitches were occupied. Pitches were terraced with views towards to sea, over open countryside, All the EHU Pitches has separate water supplies, and were reasonably level, the camping field appeared to slope quite steeply down towards the sea. There were well made roads serving all the pitches, so no danger of getting bogged down.

The toilet facilities were adequate, without being outstanding. The extra temporary block of showers looked to be out of use so I canít comment on them. There were only two showers in the gents, which could have caused problems in busier times, but we had no problems with queuing. Similarly the toilets were kept clean, but may have suffered more in high season. Washing up facilities and laundry facilities were satisfactory, but one of the washing machines was out of use.

The Wi-Fi was reliable and of good strength and was a welcome bonus, although it probably wasnít a secure connection.

While we were there the weather was poor, but the site seemed well drained, but it was exposed to sea breezes, actually quite strong winds, which were capable of rocking the van, and we tied our awning down thoroughly.

The site was really quiet, with little noise from neighbours, roads or farming activities. As we were on our own we didnít investigate any play areas, but there were no obvious play facilities, so perhaps not a site for young families.

Access to the site is easy, with both the A3082, from St. Austell, and the B3269, from Lostwithiel, being OK for towing. The site is a good base for touring that part of Cornwall. We picked it because we wanted to visit the Eden Project, but St. Austell, Mevagissey, Lostwithiel and Fowey, were all in easy reach, and the tiny cove of Polkerris, is a gem. Be careful if you decide to visit Golant on the Fowey estuary, as the tide comes in over the Main Street!

I would definitely go back if we wanted to stay in the area again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerbreadman 9 reviews from this member

Stayed for ten days, for touring the area. Not what I was expecting. Pitching was interesting and after getting our caravan level, we found the ground which we had to pitch our awning was quite undulating and unlevel. The site itself is great, albeit basic, with stunning views. When the winds started, I thought we may have to take our awning down, as with good ground pegs and storm straps it still caused us some concern as to whether the awning would remain standing. An ideal place to base from for touring the local area. Lots to do but we did find that a car was needed for most of the attractions and driving some of the lanes around here not for the fainthearted. The site redeemed itself with the feeling of being friendly and spacious enough not to be in anyone's pocket. The owners are friendly and are available to answer your questions with Wi-Fi on site ( although it's not secure ) for the young ones. Decent showers and toilets, would be on my list of sites to visit if touring this area again.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TonyAnne 1 review from this member

Can thoroughly recommend Penhale as an ideal base to explore this beautiful area, particularly for walking. You can walk from the site across the fields to the coastal path (15 mins), walk a bit further through the woods and you will find an excellent pub, and restaurant, although we were happy with the pub and didn't try the restaurant. Fowey is beautiful, explore the village and go over the ferry as a foot passenger and walk round the headland. Also visited Looe and Polperro, all delightful and within a short drive, or we used the bus.

The site was tidy, facilities clean, lovely view and we had spectacular sunsets. Quiet at this time of the year which suited us ideally. The owners were about if needed. We shall be back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gloucester 11 reviews from this member

We visited during a relatively dry spell in August 2012.

We had a small tent and a gazebo style day tent.

We were pitched on a service pitch with elec hookup and a water point.

The site was lovely - staff were very helpful in booking and with questions prior to our visit.

Toilets and showers (female - didn't visit male set!) were clean and tidy at all times. One evening the showers didn't work (just a dribble), and another camper said this was because something had tripped in the mens that needed resetting. We tried to knock at the office, but it was shut (9pm). We used the extra showers (in a portable cabin style unit) instead, which were more powerful and not push button, so probably better. They were working again the next day.

Washing up facilities were clean and tidy - hint to owners, the draining racks are a nice idea, but if you pop them in a dishwasher occasionally it keeps the bottom clean.

Hook up and water worked perfectly and didn't trip. We used it for halogen oven, kettle, DVD player etc. However, there were lots of caravans around, so maybe designed for their use?

Field was sloping, serviced pitches were terraced, the camping field wasn't. I felt really close to neighbours, probably was within requirements, but I'm not used to EHU pitches.

Shop had lots of useful bits, including tent pegs (we didn't take enough - this site gets the best and worst of Cornish weather, take your pegs!).

Quiet hours - 11pm-7am were observed, but I didn't see any warden presence at all to enforce.

Would I go back? No, because there was no playground for the kids. We booked this site as we'd won a voucher in a charity auction. I'd imagine for a couple in a van with no kids, or younger toddlers, it would be lovely. As such, there were lots of these campers. My children missed the millions of kids and the park too much for us to return.

Otherwise, I couldn't really fault it. Thanks for a lovely stay! :)

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kpcamper 3 reviews from this member

Had a wet but not waterlogged 9 day stay. We had a serviced pitch for our Kalahari 8 plus porch plus 3 man dome and there was plenty of room. There are a lot of flat serviced pitches (water and electricity) so it does look like the general camping field is left with the slope but pick carefully and you can find a reasonably flat area. There were more tourers than tents when we visited.

They have added a new temp structure with 4 more showers each for men and women - hot water was plentiful at all times. Our son appreciated the wireless signal and there's a sheltered area by the office where he could hang out and pick up the signal. We didn't try out the games room. Toilets and showers were cleaned but with all the rain it was a challenge and the floors were muddy at times.

It was probably not at its busiest so no issue with noise and as we were on the last tier of serviced pitches on the second camping field we were away from the road and comfortably close to the facilities. Lovely area - we travelled from it as far as Lands End but plenty of walking to do from the campsite. Pub within walking distance (steep climb and torch required).

Welcome was fine and we were given info on the site and the local walks. I owned up to having a second child with us who was not on the original booking and they did not increase our charge. We'd be happy to return

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6167 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1094