Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunnet Bay Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dunnet Bay Caravan Club Site
Dunnet
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8XD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01847 821319

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  1m  5m  5m  5m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 57
Open: 04/04/2014 To 06/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
              9/10 from 37 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (8) and Video

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrshlowe 3 reviews from this member

Fab. Fantastic site, good space between units, clean modern facilities. Impressed with the view, but on a windy evening, van was covered in seaspray. Not a complaint- it was lovely.

Surprisingly good. No playground so more adult orientated- which is great. Surfers were out. Not much on site- but great places to visit nearby- Castle of Mey, Orkney, Thurso, John O groats. Nice meal in restaurant along the road.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoyVaux 32 reviews from this member

A great site in the far north of Scotland where the Caravan Club is noticable for its absence!

The site is alongside a main road (not heavily used) and has all grass pitches, few of which appear to be level. The pitches nearest to and directly overlooking the dunes and beach were the most popular and we were surprised that one of them (No 7) had been reserved in advance, as we were not aware of this option when we booked online. The direct beach access is ideal for dog walkers. The facilities were spotlessly clean and despite there being only 3 female showers we did not experience queues. Overall, good value at the Caravan Club outpost, although the scenery might be described as tame after the Highlands. The Castle of Mey and the Caithness Horizons museum in Thurso are 'must go' suggestions.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: No1aussie 1 review from this member

Excellent site, area well maintained, toilet/showerblock very clean and warm. 6 meter rule applies allowing plenty room between campers. Pitches all grass with a well kept one way road around the site. Hook ups plentiful, waste bins available, fresh water and chemical toilet disposal area easy to find. Site beside main road but does not intrude. Lovely bay to walk plus forest walk across the road. Highly recommend this site and will certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

Cracking site. Just what you would expect from Caravan Club site really.

You are only a few minute walk from a huge stunning white sandy beach.

Facilities are excellent, clean and all in working order.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Pitches are a good size.

Can really recommend this site if you are up North visiting and want to stay in a lovely scenic area which is only about 20 miles from John O'Groats.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 6 reviews from this member

Wow! Okay its an awful long way to travel to the far north of Scotland but what a lovely site this is. Small and quiet despite the major John O Groats to Thurso road running beside it.

Friendly staff, dog friendly and the most wonderful beach anywhere in the British Iles. You can walk for miles along it with wonderful views and just have the whole beach to yourself. Firm sand too.

For a relaxing holiday this has to be as good as anywhere.

Ive given it 8 out of 10 but that's because of being practical with it being so far north. Best site to our way of thinking North of Inverness.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dargy 30 reviews from this member

Travelling from the south coast, we booked Dunnet Bay and were glad we did as it was pretty full when we arrived. We booked in and found a corner pitch with a good view of the beach and settled into three days of exploring the area. The site is not huge but has plenty of water points with power to each pitch of course and the facilities are absolutely fine.

We toured quite a bit up there and the highlights included a drive down to Cape Wrath (too windy to get over on the day), the Castle of Mey which is superb with guided tours and Dunnet Head - actually the most northerly part of the British Mainland. Oh yes, and John O'Groats. Well you just have to chalk it up - a bit like Lands End - and we did actually get a decent cup of coffee there! We also stopped at the Castle Arms in Mey for a great breakfast one morning and had a really nice evening meal there the following day. It's about 5 mins from the site and worth a look.

There is Tesco in Thurso and Wick (better) for supplies and smaller Co-Ops scattered around the area. It's certainly wild up there but we loved it and would recommend the area and Dunnet Bay. From here, we caught the ferry at Gills Bay to the Orkneys - very convenient!

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0781