Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  10m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
              9/10 from 154 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nige P 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a weekend at Hendre Mynach. Tent is now drying on the line. We camp here at least once every year and it is always a pleasure to camp at this site. I like the new shop and office.

It did hammer down with rain last night into this morning and when we took the tent down, the ground was getting a bit boggy. We thought this unusual as before when we've camped here and it's rained, the ground has drained well. It's still a cracking site though, with clean facilities and friendly staff.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Steveclecy 4 reviews from this member

Fourth visit to the site and remain pleased. Pitches with power include a TV point and site wardens happy to lend a lead. Pitches are clean and tidy and reasonably level. Adjacent to train line but no undue disturbance. However one negative was the insistence that dog owners have to sign an agreement regarding complying with rules. All the signed agreement does is leave a 'you're not very welcome' message and would do nothing to prevent another incident. My message: The majority of dog owners are responsible and you risk alienating them because of a single incident.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J Brown 2 reviews from this member

Not our first visit to this campsite. We do return year after year because we absolutely love the small coastal town of Barmouth.

The owners have invested since our last visit. Bigger shop and the toilets (Can't comment on the ladies!)

I love this touring site. Only just returned from a four night stay. It has such a good atmosphere! This site combined with Barmouth itself has a real 'old school, British traditional' holiday feel about it. The staff are really friendly. You pull up and they take you to your plot. Great to talk to! The site is very well maintained and you do feel secure when pitched. You can't see the ocean but can hear it. Very relaxing. Plenty of room given for our caravan, car and a BBQ area.

We personally love the site. Not had a bad stay yet.

The only thing I would suggest is that the WI-FI needs to be cheaper or free. It's difficult to get a digital TV reception. The price to camp is at the premium end. I do think that 6 a day for ONE device that is not very fast is a little greedy. I have been to sites that give free WI-FI that charge 18 a night to camp. It might be a secondary revenue maker but it is a bitter pill to swallow I'm afraid. I felt like I did have value for money apart from this.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campdavid1965 1 review from this member

Spent two weeks here in August. Very friendly welcome from the moment we got there. Great flat pitch. Showers and toilet facilities were good; at peak times there was a queue but there was always the opportunity to walk to the other block which invariably was empty. Our 5 and 8 year old loved the park and spent many an hour there. The shop was adequate (if a little expensive) but ideal for a paper and milk. Access to the promenade is a great asset and a 20 minute walk into town. The trains do run close by, but after the first couple, didn't really notice them. Overall, couldn't fault the site or the staff and will definitely be coming back again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickleinas mum 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here August last year. We could not have been made more welcome. We had Avoided this sight in the past due to the reviews of rowdy behaviour, but can honestly say the new owners have made this site a haven for families with young children. We have family in Barmouth and this was an ideal place. The staff were extremely helpful - especially when I dropped my caravan keys there and was in Gloucester before I realised. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Linda and Andrew, Sarah Peddie's family x

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Haven 2 reviews from this member

Site is clean and well maintained. Showers are always hot. You will need 20p for the hairdryer points which I don't think I saw mentioned. Even though it seems busy during the day it does quieten down in the evening. I do think too many people where allowed to camp on the bottom field as when we left there was very little room around us as we had a few tents pitched in front of us. Shop could do with being bigger especially for the size of the camp. But all staff where friendly and helpful and we where able to charge our mobile phones at reception for a contribution to the charity box. Beaches are beautiful and Barmouth has everything you need though can get very busy.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wcpasman 4 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite. Had 6 great night with wife and kids. We love Barmouth so we pre-book as long drive from Stockport and wonted to make sure we got a pitch.

From the minute you arrive there are friendly cheerful staff around.

Showers are really hot and a good size. Had to wait a couple of times we had to wait a few minutes for one to become vacant or have a walk to the other block. Toilets, washing area and showers all very clean and well looked after.

All the staff are very approachable and the lady in the shop is particularly cheerful and helpful. The shop stocks enough to provide a good fry up in the morning and a cup of tea, opening times are clearly stated and adhered to. The co op & Iceland are easy to access in Barmouth. Location wise this site is a 20 minute walk into Barmouth.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Betty Lou 2 reviews from this member

Our two week stay at this site far exceeded expectations. It did feel busy on the weekends but it is the summer! A friendly site with very clean facilities. The toilet block for non hook up is a bit of a trek. The other block further up the site was also well maintained. All the staff are very approachable and the lady in the shop is particularly cheerful and helpful. The shop stocks enough to provide a good fry up in the morning and a cup of tea, opening times are clearly stated and adhered to. The co op is easy to access in Barmouth. There is also a lovely butchers attached to the Spar in Talybont about 3 miles up the road. When the sun shines this camp site is a top location for children. The beach is a short walk away, beautiful with shallow safe water to swim in and the harbour is a great area for crabbing. The Last Inn and The Anchor both near the Harbour gave us two excellent evenings out. Enjoyed all the old favourite walks in the nearby hills and mountains. We did the Torrent Walk, Precipice walk, The Roman Steps and conquered Cader Idris. Check out the King George Hotel at Fairbourne toll bridge, worth a visit and part of a great cycling track, it provides a quiet setting for a drink. We booked a fishing trip with John at Viking Tackle Shop in Barmouth. Our first fishing experience. John was very patient and helpful. We landed 12 mackerel between us - a very fishy two nights! Our daughter caught two dog fish but they were put back. For more ideas and walking books check out the Tourist Information based in Barmouth Station. Sad to leave, hope to return sometime.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andypye 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from 7 nights at this site with my 2 children and feel as though I have had one of the best holidays ever. This is a top campsite. From the minute you arrive there are friendly cheerful staff around. After 'checking in' we were escorted to our pitch which was ample in size for caravan and awning and with its own water, electric and tv points!

The grounds are really well kept with nice landscaping throughout. There is a play area on site (perfect for my daughter) and just outside the site by the seafront is a skate park (perfect for my son)!

Showers are really hot. A couple of times we had to wait a few minutes for one to become vacant and odd time the person before had not left them as they should but there is a mop and bucket there so that is soon remedied.

Location wise this site is perfect and a 5 minute bike ride or 20 minute walk into Barmouth which is absolutely delightful. I could write a fantastic book about the charms of Barmouth!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gnrkev 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned after a five night stay and enjoyed every thing about it. The pitch was great, toilets /showers spotless, and the staff are excellent. It was our second visit and well be back soon. There is a railway line to cross, but trains are well spaced out and you have good vision of any thing coming. There is a land train that runs every half hour into Barmouth from just up on the prom. The pub is a 10 min walk down the prom which does really good meals. I would recommend this site to any one.

Previous     154 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


347 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0547