Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
              9/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 16 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely 5 night stay (taking advantage of their offer of £85), we were greeted in a very friendly manner. We were given all the information we required and although our pitch was shown to us on a small site map, we were taken to our relatively level pitch which was fully serviced. All the facilities were pointed out to us and we were told that if we needed anything, we only had to call into the office. We had our Welsh collie with us and we were asked (quite rightly) to keep her on a lead at all times which we did and I'm pleased to have witnessed that other dog owners also followed this request. The toilet block was close by and we always found it clean with plenty of hot water. The site was always clean and tidy and bins emptied regularly. The reception printed bus timetables for us to Porthmadog; the bus stops a short distance outside of the site. It was £4. 50 return fare for each of us, which is really good value against what we pay at home to go into our local town! Easy access from the site to the promenade makes for a pleasant walk into Barmouth, which is a quaint town and very dog friendly. We can recommend the Ebenezer Church café as well as Murray's, (excellent cakes and great service) and both are dog friendly.

This is a very good campsite which we would not hesitate visiting again.

Thank you to the team for an enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 50 reviews from this member

We were roaming around Wales and found an ad for this site in MMM sounded like our kind of site (dog friendly), so gave it a try certainly weren't disappointed great site, perfect location, pleasant staff toilets always clean and warm. Most hard standing pitches have water and TV hook up and are level. The walk into Barmouth (20 minutes even for us oldies) is a real pleasure and our dog loved the beach! (Closed to dogs in high season).

The pub on the front is very dog friendly, as is the one in town The Last Inn good food and beer even a waterfall inside what more can you ask for.

We visited in November and loved it can imagine it being VERY busy in summer.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 149 reviews from this member

We have visited Hendre Mynach many times over the years, even when we had a caravan, so a return visit to our favourite place (Barmouth) in the whole of Wales was a must on our Snowdonian trip.

We arrived on site to a warm welcome. I had pre-booked our pitch back in January and at the time had asked about September/Autumn offers and was told to check again when we booked in - so I did. We had originally been charged at the peak season rate (£27 per night). After a discussion in the office we were dropped down to the mid season rate at £22 per night which we were really happy with (thank you!).

We had a lovely, large hardstanding pitch with hedging both sides so very private. It even had it's own water, drain and TV hook up. Perfect.

There are two facilities blocks on site, one being a bit newer than the other, but both very clean. Plenty of bins/recycling and a small shop on site too. The site is alongside a train line but the trains are only small (2 carriages) and not particularly frequent. Never bothered us at all, even when the hooted their horns!

Directly from the site you can cross the train line (via gates) straight onto the prom and beach. The walk into Barmouth is flat and takes about 30-40 minutes. Lots of places to eat and drink and enjoy the stunning views of the bridge, mountains, sea and estuary. God we love the place!

We ate in the Last Inn one evening, sat outside watching the world go by. We found a lovely little café/bar serving bottled Welsh real ales and ciders on the second night, which was fantastic, food was good there too. Myrddins Bar Caffi it was called and we would highly recommend it. It's very small though so you'll be lucky to get a table in high season. On the third night we had a BBQ back on site with supplies from the Co-op in town. Well, that's what you do during the hottest September week for 50 years (how lucky were we?).

We biked across the bridge and along the Mawddach Trail to Dolgellau on a gloriously sunny and warm day and back via Fairbourne (not much there in all honesty!). 29 miles all in from the site and back but brilliant.

We have no doubts well will be back to Barmouth again soon which means Hendre Mynach!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MDJO 4 reviews from this member

Spent a few days here in Sept. Good location next to the beach and 20 minutes walk into Barmouth. The site is well laid out and pitches all looked fairly level with plenty of space for each pitch. Toilets and shower block a bit dated. Showers were a push button affair with no facility to change the temperature. I found the shower temperature much too hot. Wifi was very expensive at £4 per night PER device which over a few nights for a couple of devices was very expensive on top of the £27 per night we had paid. The Wifi coverage wasn't great at our pitch despite being reasonably close to the main reception area. Overall a good site but too pricey especially the Wifi.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CaroleDean 3 reviews from this member

It was our first time to Barmouth and to this site and was pleasantly surprised. The site was very well looked after, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the showers and toilets were clean The play area was well located for the children. Our grass pitch was very very good and flat, we didn't need any chocks, and had plenty of room for our awning which we don't normally have. The only thing I would say to improve the site would be to build a cover over the chemical disposal area, it would look a lot more pleasant.

Barmouth is a lovely town with plenty to do with pubs, shops etc. The walk over the sea next to the railway line was lovely. Easy excess to the beach.

Would recommend to others and will come back one day.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doneil 17 reviews from this member

Great site within walking distance to the town of Barmouth, beach right on your door site, as for the site itself, the weekend we were there it was very busy, but the staff kept on top of things cleaning the facilities regular. Very helpful staff, easy check-in and assisting you onto your pitch. Nice little play area for the little ones, small shop with the essentials. The exit is a bit on the steep side with could cause smaller cars towing a bit of difficulty, with some having to take a bit of a run at it, lol. But overall we will definitely be going again. My only gripe was its a tad expensive,

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Parahandy 5 reviews from this member

A bit of an awkward access road drops down off the main road be careful. Plenty of areas for tents, with or without hook up. The ground seemed quite firm, tent pegs went in easily. There is one area on the left behind reception that's uneven on a slant suggest you stay clear of that. The advantage of this site is its close proximity to the large beach aprox 100 yards away, ( but you have to cross railway line by a gate to access it). This is a site that puts the focus on couples and families so expect some noise but on my stay it was reasonable. Lots of people with dogs( site rules must be on a lead) I noticed a lot of Rules backed up by notice boards, not a bad thing. There is Wi Fi thought it was expensive £4 for 24hrs! As mentioned there is a Railway line nearby but only occasional train noise that isnt an issue. Shower Toilet blocks were clean. Paid £12 for a small tent. Barmouth towns about a mile well worth a stroll.

If youre in a Tent make sure you get a pitch away from the street lights than are dotted around the site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 22 reviews from this member

A lovely clean, tidy site. The reception staff were very friendly and we were shown to our pitch and they made sure everything was ok. We had a hard standing pitch with electric and water, the only downside was the close proximity of the railway line which was behind our pitch. I was disappointed with the toilets, there was what appeared to be age old ground in dirt around the edges in the cubicles and cobwebs clearly old. The showers were dated and cold. There was one block that appeared to be newer but were not near our pitch so we used our on board facilities. A good point for motorhome users are the drive over drains for emptying grey water. There is a very good shop on site and a playground for children. The local seafront is shabby and unappealing, Barmouth however is lovely. The beach which goes on forever is lovely soft sand. There is a small funfair which was closed at the time of our visit and there are plenty of shops in the town for supplies including a Co-Op, Spar and a very nice butchers. There are lots of places to eat, we had some very nice fish and chips in the Carousal café and fish bar.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Arv66 1 review from this member

When booking our break it was so easy the staff are brilliant, on arrival the site was amazing, in reception they were very busy + soon got round to asking myself the wife and our friends how they could help, it did not take long for the staff to show us to the static which was going to be our home for the next four days. The site is so clean and tidy well spaced out. The staff were brilliant cannot fault the site or the staff. Would highly recommend. Its about 400 hundred yards from barmouth itself by road or about one mile stroll along the beach. I found the site by accident on line, I am so glad I did, it was fantastic. On leaving the staff asked if every thing had been ok and said have a safe journey home. Will be visiting the site again with out doubt. Thank you again. [ arv ] ps there's plenty to do

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Allthecs 3 reviews from this member

Staff are welcoming and helpful. Our visit was at the start of the season so the site wasn't in full swing regarding facilities/shop.

The shower block is clean and well kept but when we visited the blocks were cold making having a shower rather nippy. The beach walk from the site to the town was shabby and needs some tlc from the local authority to make it more attractive. If you like beech coupled with scenery and walking this campsite is ideal.

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over £1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1191