Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 201 Reviews
              9/10 from 201 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  201 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 492 reviews from this member

We have previously stayed away from thie site as it looked a bit on the large commerical side to us. However, this time we were meeting friends for the Barmouth bridge 150 celebrations so decided to give it a go.

Have to say from the start, more fool us for not staying before. On arrival a super helpful and friendly warden showed us to our pitch, hardstanding with water tap and ehu. Pitches were all a good size, despite a lot of rain the previous week many of the grass pitches were also being used.

There is plenty of room around the pitches, they haven't filled every small gap with a pitch.

Loos and showers immaculate - yes they are old but that doesn't matter too much if clean and warm which they always were.

A flat walk of 20 minutes or so along the promenade into Barmouth. The town has a mixture of independent shops selling everything from seaside tat to some good clothes shops. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets.

The site is open 12 months, warden told us quiet now but come Christmas fills up for the celebrations and New Years they hold a site party.

We loved this site, despite being big its split into several areas so certainly doesn't feel overly like a large site and we will be using it again in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 196 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From Barmouth on the A496, towards Tal-y-bont, the site is about a mile and a half outside the town. Watch out for campsite sign and take care with very sharp left turn into steep downward site road. Reception is immediately at the end of this on the left.

Hendre Mynach is situation just out of the delightful small town of Barmouth which is on the West Wales coast facing out onto Cardigan Bay. There is direct access from the site, over a railway crossing, to the promenade and beautiful sandy beaches. There was a friendly welcome by all who worked in reception and they were always ready to help with any questions. The site has a fairly long season and is open from early March to about mid-January. The site is long and split into two sections either side of reception, with an additional section at the far end exclusively for tents, there are also some seasonal pitches. The site has just under 200 pitches of which about 80 are on hardstandings with an area of grass to the door side. Electric points are convenient to all pitches, except some of the non-electric tent pitches. They are rated at 10 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. Many of the pitches have their own water supply but not waste although there are some pitches which are fully serviced. The site is let down a little by the lack of grey water and chemical disposal points as there are only two for the entire site which means a long walk from some pitches. The waste point I used from my pitch was had seen better days and could do with refurbishment. Our neighbour who is a regular here said the new owners had gradually been upgrading the site so perhaps the waste points are on the to do list? There are two toilet blocks of similar vintage one in each section of the site. They are perfectly functional and clean but could likewise do with refurbishment as they are a bit gloomy inside. The block nearest reception has a laundry room. There is a dish wash area but it is quite small and exposed to the elements. The very good motorhome service point, at the far end of the site, looks like a recent improvement with plenty of space and open grills to drain water down. There is also a chemical disposal point adjacent. For younger children there is a small play area. Reception has lots of information on the local area and next door is a small shop with a pretty extensive range of essentials including wine and beer. There is site wide WiFi, not particularly cheap, but it seems to provide reasonable signal strength for general web surfing. Running the length of the site is a local railway line. Services are fairly infrequent and they don’t run through the night so should cause minimum disturbance to campers.

This site has the twin advantage of being next to a good beach and reasonably close to the town of Barmouth which is a flat walk of about a mile and a half along the promenade. It will, no doubt be popular with families during the school holidays and seemingly dog owners out of season. There are bus and train links from the town. For eating out there is a good choice of cafes and pubs in the town. For shopping there is a Co-Op supermarket near the railways station. This could be a good base for those wanting to visit the various narrow gauge railways in the area.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 100 reviews from this member

Had a 4 night stay at Hendre Mynach, Its a well organised large site set in a superb location (right on the end of the promenade at Barmouth) The entrance is a little steep (daunting for small cars towing!) The site is a mixture of grass and hard standings set over 4 fields and most pitches have EHU and water ! the toilet and shower facilities (2 blocks) are a little dated but kept clean, there is a small shop on site selling most essentials and a kids play park which has some very old rusty items in it ! Beware if it rains heavily as most of the grass pitches quickly become under water ! as the site drainage is totally inadequate, overall its a great site in a great location but very expensive and there is a need for the owners to spend quite a bit upgrading the facilities and drainage etc.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debfils 4 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a superb weeks holiday on this lovely site. We had a nice big pitch with EHU, water and tv ariel which was nice and private, separated from other pitches by a well trimmed hedge. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The facilities were very clean if a little worn but the separate little space in the showers for dressing was useful.

This was our first trip to this part of Wales and we weren't disappointed, it's a beautiful area, very scenic and plenty to do. Barmouth town is about 20 minute walk along the prom, with some good restaurants and tea shops. The pizzas at the Isis restaurant were every bit as good as the ones we had in Italy last year! There is a train that runs up and down the coast to other resorts. We took a trip to Harlech and enjoyed visiting the castle and gorgeous beach.

Another bonus is the dog friendly beach which is accessed directly from the site much appreciated by our Welsh Terrier Jasper. One of the highlights of our holiday was experiencing the stunning sunsets over the Llyn peninsular. Not to be missed.

Can't wait to go back and explore the area further.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 13 reviews from this member

We travelled 5 hours to this site so we were hoping it was worth it. Well it was this is a fantastic site and in a fantastic location. We had a warm welcome and were taken to our pitch which was perfect for our motor home. The facilities were spot on and the shop was well stocked with everything you could possibly need. A short walk to the prom and the sea. It was a 20 min walk into Barmouth along the prom which was a lovely little town. We will be back as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phishing 15 reviews from this member

Eleven night stay on fully serviced pitch over Easter. Really nice site. Entrance is a tight turn for big unit if approaching from Barmouth but having tried both routes I think this is a better option as the route in is better. Entrance is down a steep incline and although it looks scary everyone managed to tow in and out with ease. All internal roads are tarmac and in good condition. The site staff were all efficient and friendly and very good. The site shop is no supermarket but had the stuff we forgot to take. The site is well laid out and although very busy over the holiday weekend it did not feel crowded. Facilities were spotless and although not the most modern were more than acceptable. TV signal through the post on the pitch was excellent and we had 4G on Vodafone but not on EE which was patchy. Surrounding area has so much to do, beaches are excellent, walking and cycling options are endless. Top days, walk to the Blue lake in Friog, walk, drive, cycle up to Cregennan Lakes, or, nice beach walks at St Tanwg's, Llandanwg.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue faulder 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this site. Without a doubt, one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. The site is clean and well set out. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The shop is really useful. The showers and toilets are cleaned and inspected regularly and the washing up area is very well set up. The trains that run across the top of the site are quite a feature and did'nt cause us any problem. We enjoyed the sound of the sea from our tent, particularly at night. Wardens patrol regularly and are friendly and helpful. There is a playground and the sea is a short stroll away. We walked into Barmouth along the sea front and really enjoyed the walk. It is a short distance to Barmouth and a good base to visit other areas in North Wales. We are looking forward to our next visit here

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 17 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely 5 night stay (taking advantage of their offer of £85), we were greeted in a very friendly manner. We were given all the information we required and although our pitch was shown to us on a small site map, we were taken to our relatively level pitch which was fully serviced. All the facilities were pointed out to us and we were told that if we needed anything, we only had to call into the office. We had our Welsh collie with us and we were asked (quite rightly) to keep her on a lead at all times which we did and I'm pleased to have witnessed that other dog owners also followed this request. The toilet block was close by and we always found it clean with plenty of hot water. The site was always clean and tidy and bins emptied regularly. The reception printed bus timetables for us to Porthmadog; the bus stops a short distance outside of the site. It was £4. 50 return fare for each of us, which is really good value against what we pay at home to go into our local town! Easy access from the site to the promenade makes for a pleasant walk into Barmouth, which is a quaint town and very dog friendly. We can recommend the Ebenezer Church café as well as Murray's, (excellent cakes and great service) and both are dog friendly.

This is a very good campsite which we would not hesitate visiting again.

Thank you to the team for an enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 51 reviews from this member

We were roaming around Wales and found an ad for this site in MMM sounded like our kind of site (dog friendly), so gave it a try certainly weren't disappointed great site, perfect location, pleasant staff toilets always clean and warm. Most hard standing pitches have water and TV hook up and are level. The walk into Barmouth (20 minutes even for us oldies) is a real pleasure and our dog loved the beach! (Closed to dogs in high season).

The pub on the front is very dog friendly, as is the one in town The Last Inn good food and beer even a waterfall inside what more can you ask for.

We visited in November and loved it can imagine it being VERY busy in summer.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 159 reviews from this member

We have visited Hendre Mynach many times over the years, even when we had a caravan, so a return visit to our favourite place (Barmouth) in the whole of Wales was a must on our Snowdonian trip.

We arrived on site to a warm welcome. I had pre-booked our pitch back in January and at the time had asked about September/Autumn offers and was told to check again when we booked in - so I did. We had originally been charged at the peak season rate (£27 per night). After a discussion in the office we were dropped down to the mid season rate at £22 per night which we were really happy with (thank you!).

We had a lovely, large hardstanding pitch with hedging both sides so very private. It even had it's own water, drain and TV hook up. Perfect.

There are two facilities blocks on site, one being a bit newer than the other, but both very clean. Plenty of bins/recycling and a small shop on site too. The site is alongside a train line but the trains are only small (2 carriages) and not particularly frequent. Never bothered us at all, even when the hooted their horns!

Directly from the site you can cross the train line (via gates) straight onto the prom and beach. The walk into Barmouth is flat and takes about 30-40 minutes. Lots of places to eat and drink and enjoy the stunning views of the bridge, mountains, sea and estuary. God we love the place!

We ate in the Last Inn one evening, sat outside watching the world go by. We found a lovely little café/bar serving bottled Welsh real ales and ciders on the second night, which was fantastic, food was good there too. Myrddins Bar Caffi it was called and we would highly recommend it. It's very small though so you'll be lucky to get a table in high season. On the third night we had a BBQ back on site with supplies from the Co-op in town. Well, that's what you do during the hottest September week for 50 years (how lucky were we?).

We biked across the bridge and along the Mawddach Trail to Dolgellau on a gloriously sunny and warm day and back via Fairbourne (not much there in all honesty!). 29 miles all in from the site and back but brilliant.

We have no doubts well will be back to Barmouth again soon which means Hendre Mynach!

Previous     201 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0967
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec