Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  10m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
              9/10 from 179 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wobbly Rod 1 review from this member

Went here as a group of adults in 5 touring / tent units.

Arrived and parked up outside reception which is a little cramped so as to not block access if you arrive simultaneously as someone else arrives or checks out. Don't panic if you are towing, drive a little way past to keep everything clear. Once checked in you can go down an access road to a turning area and from there head to your pitch.

We were greeted with a friendly welcome and escorted to our pitch by a really helpful and chatty chap on his bike (sorry your chips went cold my friend)

Pitches with services are well set out with ample room for a caravan with awning and parking for a car. Out initial thoughts were that it was all very regimented and expected a list of rules to be read out but instead got a pleasant introductory chat of the site, its facilities, paths to the beach and town etc. GREAT :-)

Initially I was thinking 'oh no!' when a train passed us by after 20 mins blowing its horns as it approached the sites gates across to the beach but don't let that put you off I guess it only happens 10 times a day (maybe less) and you start to not even notice it and stops before it gets too late and only starts again once you are up and about and I only mention it because others have already but it really doesn't intrude.

As for the site itself it was always clean and facilities were kept clean too. Showers were good and there are 4 covered positions for doing your dishes. There is a laundrette which seemed to be well set up and a SMALL shop (I didn't go in to reception) also there is a play area for the nippers. As for getting about a 5 minute walk puts you on the beach road to well erm, the beach surprisingly enough and this then takes you into the centre of town after a 15 minute walk or you can pick up the road train down the prom!

In summary I certainly would revisit Hendre Mynach and recommend it to others. Staff are friendly and helpful the site is clean, tidy and well set-out. NO WORRIES.

The town of Barmouth is a bit of a surprise. I expected a full 'kiss-me quick' experience but walk past the arcades and get in to the town and you find a very pleasant experience. Small businesses and pleasant bars and eateries are available to suit most tastes as well as a co-op, spar, butchers, speciality shops and post-office etc.

A great site and as stated. I will be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Larbea22 6 reviews from this member

Really lovely site. Proximity to beach and Barmouth town centre couldn't be better.

Toilets/shower blocks always spotlessly clean.

Staff were super helpful when my husband decided to inflict an injury on himself with a tent peg puller, and were always smiling and happy when we saw them around the site.

We only used the shop once, whenever we did go down it was closed (when it said it would be open!).

The ONLY real criticism I have, is that I can imagine the site is very cramped during the peak season. Once the weekend visitors left, we pretty much had the field to ourselves (apart from when a couple pitched RIGHT next to our tent despite being on a virtually empty field with a choice of pitches). However, once it started getting closer to the weekend again, the site filled up again and caravans/motorhomes and tents all seemed to be VERY close to each other - to the point where I would imagine it would feel claustrophobic during the summer months.

We will definitely go back - but maybe midweek rather than during a weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Puppy lovers 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site, close to town centre, beach a stones throw away. Toilet and shower blocks always clean with lots of hot water at all times. Pitches mostly flat but slightly uneven in places, not a problem though. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Shop well stocked but only opens for a few hours in the morning then for a few hours late afternoon. Pitches (tents) a good size, but could get a bit cramped with campervans, caravans and tents in same area. Really enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bridget17 6 reviews from this member

Stayed in our motohome for a week. Got a warm welcome when we arrived and shown to our pitch with a smile. We were on hard standing with grass pitch, with EHU, plenty of room in between pitches. Toilet/shower facilities were always spotless. Short walk along the promenade into Barmouth, and just 5mins to the beach, which is dog friendly. Overall a very enjoyable stay and will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Allman 1 review from this member

Returned here 4 years after selling our caravan, site is always highly maintained, staff always polite and helpful. Took std tent pitch on the banked part of the site, near to very clean toilets and showers, excellent view of sea and llyn peninsular. Received discount for solo camping as stated on website. Always a great place to camp, even the weather was excellent. A very nice new shop and reception area since my last visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pneumatician 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for just one week. All staff were most cheerful and helpful. Pitch and all services absolutely fine including TV hook up. Spotlessly clean Toilets and Showers large enough to drop and retrieve your soap without difficulty. Val had plenty of opportunity to try out her pavement scooter riding to a from the town ( took approximately 25 minutes) access was reasonable weekdays but weekend proved a bit crowded.

Rock pegs are essential for pitching awnings, it can get very windy so either wind in the wind-out or make very sure it is firmly fixed with straps and large pegs.

Circumstances permitting we will stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Willfred 3 reviews from this member

This is our third visit to this campsite. Less than a couple of hours from home this makes a lovely weekend trip. The site is in an ideal place - straight across the railway line (carefully) and you are on a long clean beach that welcomes dogs. When the sea is out you can walk all the way into Barmouth and if it is in you can either walk or cycle along the promenade or catch the little train or obviously you can take the car. We don't move our van once in place so we always try to access sites that are not overly noisy but are within a distance of shops that can easily be reached by walking or cycling. The site is consistently clean and well maintained. The toilets and showers are also clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful and the pitch sizes are excellent. The camp site is excellent value for money. Barmouth is not our ideal seaside town but we love this camp site and the beach/sea by the site. Likewise, once you get to Barmouth if it's not your thing keep going and the harbour area is pretty and has some nice cafés. Likewise, keep going over the bridge and your in beautiful scenery. For those who like a traditional seaside place then Barmouth offers that but will also offer more peace and tranquillity and this site offers both very close by. We will return again

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gazbudge 1 review from this member

It has been over 20 years since I visited Barmouth or indeed been camping and at this very camp site.

Not a lot has changed from my memory but this adds to its warmth, the toilet/shower block was clean and just what you want no fuss no nonsense. Very welcoming on our arrival the staff are very friendly, not too far from Barmouth itself a mere 10 Min walk along the Prom. The on site shop wasn't badly priced compared to what I know of other sites. Quite a few EHU's and tents are mixed in with Caravans.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark and tracy jone 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay - arrived on the Saturday of the May bank holiday and it was very busy to say the least and there was a bit of a problem with one half of the site having problems with the electrics (no fault of the staff) That's where we should of been put but they offered us a pitch on the other side, near the playground - after setting up etc we found that where we were we couldn't even get one channel on the TV let alone a signal on the mobile! So I asked could we be moved which wasn't a problem, they said we could go back to our original pitch on the other side as they had nearly fixed the electricity problem. We had pitch 54 (highly recommended) hard standing with a grass area which is a large pitch with a fence around and very handy for the shower/toilet block, (which were very clean at all times) bins and waste etc and very quiet too!, especially if you haven't got children with you.

The staff are all very friendly and polite and can't do enough for you should you need anything. (BIG thumbs up to Glen and Jamie)

There is a little shop on site should you need provisions and we used the launderette because we came to this site half way through our two week vacation so needed towels, underwear etc washing - it's £3 for the washing machine but the tumble dryer was a little steep at 50p for FOUR minutes! All in all, despite the Atrocious bank holiday weather, we had a lovely time and would definitely recommend this site and also come back should we ever be in that neck of the woods again. Just one mention of negativity that the Wi-Fi at £6 per day is extortionate, especially as they charge £32 per night over a bank holiday weekend so either lower your charge or even better, throw it in for FREE!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowlerfamily 6 reviews from this member

Well that was a horrendous Bank Holiday weekend weather wise! We had been soooo looking forward to coming back to Hendre as it is a favourite site of ours & despite the pouring rain & howling gales we still managed to have a great time! Still a great location with spotless facilities but also some more electric hook-ups since last time & also individual water taps for each pitch now. The groundsmen are always so friendly & came around frequently to see if we were OK which shows that they care. This site is a firm favourite of ours & we look forward to going back again & again :o)

Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0938