Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  10m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 159 Reviews
              9/10 from 159 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Dowey 1 review from this member

Very friendly site. Staff all very helpful, even to point off helping set ups.

Shower block and loos very clean, as was the whole site. Nice little shop on site for essentials.

Beech is only 5 mins walk throughout camp area, and is clean and sandy. With easy walk into the town, takes about 15mins stroll. Lots of benches to rest too. In all a great touring site, and extensive grass areas for tents too.

The only down side. The wifi at 6 per. 24hrs. Is bit steep in my opinion. So take a dongle.

We had 2 dogs with us, and plenty of walking areas for them.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Belinda H 12 reviews from this member

What a lovely site, we've driven past it on many occasions and decided to try it out. We weren't disappointed. The staff are helpful and take you to your pitch. There is easy access to the beach across the train line (don't be put off they are infrequent) The site is well kept and well laid out. It's about a 15min walk into Barmouth and if you are lazy like me you can hop on the land train on the way back (2 for a single). There is a little shop on site that has essentials but Barmouth has a decent Co-Op. There is a camping supplies shop in Barmouth too in case you need it. The site was very busy but the showers coped well. I would go back as it is a lovely place.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fullpassports 4 reviews from this member

What a wonderful find. Easy to walk into Barmouth with beach on the doorstep. The owner and staff could not do enough. The shower blocks are spotless, free and plentiful, 20p to use electric socket or their hairdryer. We went Monday to Friday so lots of room and nice flat pitch think it must get very busy at weekends. The site and Barmouth itself very dog friendly but not in your face if you don't care for them. Would recommend

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KCAJK 1 review from this member

First time out this year in our new(to us) van. 2 adults and 2 dogs.

Lovely warm welcome on arrival and a quick, simple check-in at reception.

Due to us arriving late evening (later than planned), we were provided with a clear map to show us where our pitch and all the facilities were (staff usually escort people to their pitches and assist if needed to set up).

We had opted for a hard standing pitch with electric hookup, and the one we were given was more than ample size with a large piece of grass next to us, which was ideal for our 2 dogs. We were also generously provided with a TV cable to connect to the sites network.

The site itself was spotless and very well kept. During the day, staff worked very hard at keeping the grass cut, trimming the hedges which were between some of the pitches and ensuring the bins were empty.

The toilet/shower blocks were always clean, with plenty of hot running water. If a block was being cleaned, you could use another block which was not too far away. Hairdryers and plug sockets for hair straightners etc. Were available in all blocks which required 20p to use. Being only 5ft tall, the mirrors were a little high for me to see properly but I suppose that is below average height and that happens where ever I go.

There was a small shop on site, which sold everything you could need, staff were so good they even opened up for us when it was closed just so we could have milk (thankyou).

It was a lovely short walk all on the level, into Barmouth itself. There were plenty of shops, cafes, pubs and nearly all welcomed dogs. There is lots to do, and something for everyone, families with children and adults of all ages.

The beaches were spotless, and they were lovely to walk along in the nice clean sand.

We both highly recommend this site, it offers everything we need.

A big thankyou to all the people who work there for making our stay so pleasant. :-)

We will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MARGARETP 7 reviews from this member

A great site in a good position close to the extensive clean beach. The facilities are 1st class and 2 blocks offer adequate toilets and showers even when the site was 3/4 full, at the weekend. There is a children's play park and a land train for the 1 mile flat walk along the prom into town, for numerous pubs and restaurants. Most of the pitches are hard standing but even the grass ones drained very quickly after heavy rain. The staff were extremely helpful when parking the van up on arrival, and throughout the stay.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nige P 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a weekend at Hendre Mynach. Tent is now drying on the line. We camp here at least once every year and it is always a pleasure to camp at this site. I like the new shop and office.

It did hammer down with rain last night into this morning and when we took the tent down, the ground was getting a bit boggy. We thought this unusual as before when we've camped here and it's rained, the ground has drained well. It's still a cracking site though, with clean facilities and friendly staff.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Steveclecy 4 reviews from this member

Fourth visit to the site and remain pleased. Pitches with power include a TV point and site wardens happy to lend a lead. Pitches are clean and tidy and reasonably level. Adjacent to train line but no undue disturbance. However one negative was the insistence that dog owners have to sign an agreement regarding complying with rules. All the signed agreement does is leave a 'you're not very welcome' message and would do nothing to prevent another incident. My message: The majority of dog owners are responsible and you risk alienating them because of a single incident.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J Brown 2 reviews from this member

Not our first visit to this campsite. We do return year after year because we absolutely love the small coastal town of Barmouth.

The owners have invested since our last visit. Bigger shop and the toilets (Can't comment on the ladies!)

I love this touring site. Only just returned from a four night stay. It has such a good atmosphere! This site combined with Barmouth itself has a real 'old school, British traditional' holiday feel about it. The staff are really friendly. You pull up and they take you to your plot. Great to talk to! The site is very well maintained and you do feel secure when pitched. You can't see the ocean but can hear it. Very relaxing. Plenty of room given for our caravan, car and a BBQ area.

We personally love the site. Not had a bad stay yet.

The only thing I would suggest is that the WI-FI needs to be cheaper or free. It's difficult to get a digital TV reception. The price to camp is at the premium end. I do think that 6 a day for ONE device that is not very fast is a little greedy. I have been to sites that give free WI-FI that charge 18 a night to camp. It might be a secondary revenue maker but it is a bitter pill to swallow I'm afraid. I felt like I did have value for money apart from this.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campdavid1965 1 review from this member

Spent two weeks here in August. Very friendly welcome from the moment we got there. Great flat pitch. Showers and toilet facilities were good; at peak times there was a queue but there was always the opportunity to walk to the other block which invariably was empty. Our 5 and 8 year old loved the park and spent many an hour there. The shop was adequate (if a little expensive) but ideal for a paper and milk. Access to the promenade is a great asset and a 20 minute walk into town. The trains do run close by, but after the first couple, didn't really notice them. Overall, couldn't fault the site or the staff and will definitely be coming back again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickleinas mum 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here August last year. We could not have been made more welcome. We had Avoided this sight in the past due to the reviews of rowdy behaviour, but can honestly say the new owners have made this site a haven for families with young children. We have family in Barmouth and this was an ideal place. The staff were extremely helpful - especially when I dropped my caravan keys there and was in Gloucester before I realised. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Linda and Andrew, Sarah Peddie's family x

Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2334 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1055