Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 197 Reviews
              9/10 from 197 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  197 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon56 10 reviews from this member

We travelled 5 hours to this site so we were hoping it was worth it. Well it was this is a fantastic site and in a fantastic location. We had a warm welcome and were taken to our pitch which was perfect for our motor home. The facilities were spot on and the shop was well stocked with everything you could possibly need. A short walk to the prom and the sea. It was a 20 min walk into Barmouth along the prom which was a lovely little town. We will be back as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phishing 12 reviews from this member

Eleven night stay on fully serviced pitch over Easter. Really nice site. Entrance is a tight turn for big unit if approaching from Barmouth but having tried both routes I think this is a better option as the route in is better. Entrance is down a steep incline and although it looks scary everyone managed to tow in and out with ease. All internal roads are tarmac and in good condition. The site staff were all efficient and friendly and very good. The site shop is no supermarket but had the stuff we forgot to take. The site is well laid out and although very busy over the holiday weekend it did not feel crowded. Facilities were spotless and although not the most modern were more than acceptable. TV signal through the post on the pitch was excellent and we had 4G on Vodafone but not on EE which was patchy. Surrounding area has so much to do, beaches are excellent, walking and cycling options are endless. Top days, walk to the Blue lake in Friog, walk, drive, cycle up to Cregennan Lakes, or, nice beach walks at St Tanwg's, Llandanwg.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue faulder 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this site. Without a doubt, one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. The site is clean and well set out. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The shop is really useful. The showers and toilets are cleaned and inspected regularly and the washing up area is very well set up. The trains that run across the top of the site are quite a feature and did'nt cause us any problem. We enjoyed the sound of the sea from our tent, particularly at night. Wardens patrol regularly and are friendly and helpful. There is a playground and the sea is a short stroll away. We walked into Barmouth along the sea front and really enjoyed the walk. It is a short distance to Barmouth and a good base to visit other areas in North Wales. We are looking forward to our next visit here

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 17 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a lovely 5 night stay (taking advantage of their offer of £85), we were greeted in a very friendly manner. We were given all the information we required and although our pitch was shown to us on a small site map, we were taken to our relatively level pitch which was fully serviced. All the facilities were pointed out to us and we were told that if we needed anything, we only had to call into the office. We had our Welsh collie with us and we were asked (quite rightly) to keep her on a lead at all times which we did and I'm pleased to have witnessed that other dog owners also followed this request. The toilet block was close by and we always found it clean with plenty of hot water. The site was always clean and tidy and bins emptied regularly. The reception printed bus timetables for us to Porthmadog; the bus stops a short distance outside of the site. It was £4. 50 return fare for each of us, which is really good value against what we pay at home to go into our local town! Easy access from the site to the promenade makes for a pleasant walk into Barmouth, which is a quaint town and very dog friendly. We can recommend the Ebenezer Church café as well as Murray's, (excellent cakes and great service) and both are dog friendly.

This is a very good campsite which we would not hesitate visiting again.

Thank you to the team for an enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 50 reviews from this member

We were roaming around Wales and found an ad for this site in MMM sounded like our kind of site (dog friendly), so gave it a try certainly weren't disappointed great site, perfect location, pleasant staff toilets always clean and warm. Most hard standing pitches have water and TV hook up and are level. The walk into Barmouth (20 minutes even for us oldies) is a real pleasure and our dog loved the beach! (Closed to dogs in high season).

The pub on the front is very dog friendly, as is the one in town The Last Inn good food and beer even a waterfall inside what more can you ask for.

We visited in November and loved it can imagine it being VERY busy in summer.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 152 reviews from this member

We have visited Hendre Mynach many times over the years, even when we had a caravan, so a return visit to our favourite place (Barmouth) in the whole of Wales was a must on our Snowdonian trip.

We arrived on site to a warm welcome. I had pre-booked our pitch back in January and at the time had asked about September/Autumn offers and was told to check again when we booked in - so I did. We had originally been charged at the peak season rate (£27 per night). After a discussion in the office we were dropped down to the mid season rate at £22 per night which we were really happy with (thank you!).

We had a lovely, large hardstanding pitch with hedging both sides so very private. It even had it's own water, drain and TV hook up. Perfect.

There are two facilities blocks on site, one being a bit newer than the other, but both very clean. Plenty of bins/recycling and a small shop on site too. The site is alongside a train line but the trains are only small (2 carriages) and not particularly frequent. Never bothered us at all, even when the hooted their horns!

Directly from the site you can cross the train line (via gates) straight onto the prom and beach. The walk into Barmouth is flat and takes about 30-40 minutes. Lots of places to eat and drink and enjoy the stunning views of the bridge, mountains, sea and estuary. God we love the place!

We ate in the Last Inn one evening, sat outside watching the world go by. We found a lovely little café/bar serving bottled Welsh real ales and ciders on the second night, which was fantastic, food was good there too. Myrddins Bar Caffi it was called and we would highly recommend it. It's very small though so you'll be lucky to get a table in high season. On the third night we had a BBQ back on site with supplies from the Co-op in town. Well, that's what you do during the hottest September week for 50 years (how lucky were we?).

We biked across the bridge and along the Mawddach Trail to Dolgellau on a gloriously sunny and warm day and back via Fairbourne (not much there in all honesty!). 29 miles all in from the site and back but brilliant.

We have no doubts well will be back to Barmouth again soon which means Hendre Mynach!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MDJO 4 reviews from this member

Spent a few days here in Sept. Good location next to the beach and 20 minutes walk into Barmouth. The site is well laid out and pitches all looked fairly level with plenty of space for each pitch. Toilets and shower block a bit dated. Showers were a push button affair with no facility to change the temperature. I found the shower temperature much too hot. Wifi was very expensive at £4 per night PER device which over a few nights for a couple of devices was very expensive on top of the £27 per night we had paid. The Wifi coverage wasn't great at our pitch despite being reasonably close to the main reception area. Overall a good site but too pricey especially the Wifi.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CaroleDean 3 reviews from this member

It was our first time to Barmouth and to this site and was pleasantly surprised. The site was very well looked after, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the showers and toilets were clean The play area was well located for the children. Our grass pitch was very very good and flat, we didn't need any chocks, and had plenty of room for our awning which we don't normally have. The only thing I would say to improve the site would be to build a cover over the chemical disposal area, it would look a lot more pleasant.

Barmouth is a lovely town with plenty to do with pubs, shops etc. The walk over the sea next to the railway line was lovely. Easy excess to the beach.

Would recommend to others and will come back one day.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doneil 17 reviews from this member

Great site within walking distance to the town of Barmouth, beach right on your door site, as for the site itself, the weekend we were there it was very busy, but the staff kept on top of things cleaning the facilities regular. Very helpful staff, easy check-in and assisting you onto your pitch. Nice little play area for the little ones, small shop with the essentials. The exit is a bit on the steep side with could cause smaller cars towing a bit of difficulty, with some having to take a bit of a run at it, lol. But overall we will definitely be going again. My only gripe was its a tad expensive,

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Windowman 5 reviews from this member

An excellent 5 day holiday - our maiden voyage in our new caravan - steep hill down to site - but didn't cause any problems even though we have a big twin-axle caravan. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Toilet block a little dated but always spotless, the cleaning rota is strict and always very efficient. The trains along the side of the site didn't cause us any problem. Nice to walk along the sea wall - all the way into Barmouth if you choose.

Previous     197 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 9 - 11th June
Kent - Hundreds of traders and dealers and weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2813