Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  10m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 187 Reviews
              9/10 from 187 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doneil 14 reviews from this member

Great site within walking distance to the town of Barmouth, beach right on your door site, as for the site itself, the weekend we were there it was very busy, but the staff kept on top of things cleaning the facilities regular. Very helpful staff, easy check-in and assisting you onto your pitch. Nice little play area for the little ones, small shop with the essentials. The exit is a bit on the steep side with could cause smaller cars towing a bit of difficulty, with some having to take a bit of a run at it, lol. But overall we will definitely be going again. My only gripe was its a tad expensive,

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Parahandy 5 reviews from this member

A bit of an awkward access road drops down off the main road be careful. Plenty of areas for tents, with or without hook up. The ground seemed quite firm, tent pegs went in easily. There is one area on the left behind reception that's uneven on a slant suggest you stay clear of that. The advantage of this site is its close proximity to the large beach aprox 100 yards away, ( but you have to cross railway line by a gate to access it). This is a site that puts the focus on couples and families so expect some noise but on my stay it was reasonable. Lots of people with dogs( site rules must be on a lead) I noticed a lot of Rules backed up by notice boards, not a bad thing. There is Wi Fi thought it was expensive £4 for 24hrs! As mentioned there is a Railway line nearby but only occasional train noise that isnt an issue. Shower Toilet blocks were clean. Paid £12 for a small tent. Barmouth towns about a mile well worth a stroll.

If youre in a Tent make sure you get a pitch away from the street lights than are dotted around the site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 22 reviews from this member

A lovely clean, tidy site. The reception staff were very friendly and we were shown to our pitch and they made sure everything was ok. We had a hard standing pitch with electric and water, the only downside was the close proximity of the railway line which was behind our pitch. I was disappointed with the toilets, there was what appeared to be age old ground in dirt around the edges in the cubicles and cobwebs clearly old. The showers were dated and cold. There was one block that appeared to be newer but were not near our pitch so we used our on board facilities. A good point for motorhome users are the drive over drains for emptying grey water. There is a very good shop on site and a playground for children. The local seafront is shabby and unappealing, Barmouth however is lovely. The beach which goes on forever is lovely soft sand. There is a small funfair which was closed at the time of our visit and there are plenty of shops in the town for supplies including a Co-Op, Spar and a very nice butchers. There are lots of places to eat, we had some very nice fish and chips in the Carousal café and fish bar.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Arv66 1 review from this member

When booking our break it was so easy the staff are brilliant, on arrival the site was amazing, in reception they were very busy + soon got round to asking myself the wife and our friends how they could help, it did not take long for the staff to show us to the static which was going to be our home for the next four days. The site is so clean and tidy well spaced out. The staff were brilliant cannot fault the site or the staff. Would highly recommend. Its about 400 hundred yards from barmouth itself by road or about one mile stroll along the beach. I found the site by accident on line, I am so glad I did, it was fantastic. On leaving the staff asked if every thing had been ok and said have a safe journey home. Will be visiting the site again with out doubt. Thank you again. [ arv ] ps there's plenty to do

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Allthecs 3 reviews from this member

Staff are welcoming and helpful. Our visit was at the start of the season so the site wasn't in full swing regarding facilities/shop.

The shower block is clean and well kept but when we visited the blocks were cold making having a shower rather nippy. The beach walk from the site to the town was shabby and needs some tlc from the local authority to make it more attractive. If you like beech coupled with scenery and walking this campsite is ideal.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LoonyCamper 1 review from this member

Just spent 7 nights at this site and the other reviews are absolutely right! The views are fantastic, luckily we had unexpected sunny weather. Admittedly it can be a little windy as the site is quite high up, but it's well worth it. The plots are a good size and reasonably level and no problems with the EHU. The toilet and shower facilities ( 3 of each ) are very clean with plenty of hot water with towels and handwash at the sinks. There was even washing up liquid and scrubbers provided at the washing-up sink.

The fresh farm eggs can definitely be recommended, the hens and sheep are particularly friendly and wander about the site.

The owners are welcoming and friendly.

I would definitely return to this gem of a site again, it's also great value for money!

Thanks for a great time!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LTott 1 review from this member

Really lovely site, would definitely use again!

The whole site was clean, tidy and well managed.

The staff were friendly, helpful and on the ball. A bench broke in the children's park, they were out to fix it straight away and they were always about, emptying bins, cutting grass etc.

The toilets were clean and modern, the shower rooms were a little dated, but they were clean and spacious.

It was an easy 5/10 min walk to a beautiful sandy beach, that even in the middle of August from pretty quiet! There were loads of rock pools for the kids to explore and there weren't any dodgy currents to be wary of in the sea.

Barmouth town itself was really nice with lots of independent shops to keep everyone happy, there was also a good sized co-op for groceries. The town is about a 20min walk from site, or 5min drive.

The only down side was that, had the weather been bad, there was not a lot to do with kids without driving for an hour or more

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wobbly Rod 1 review from this member

Went here as a group of adults in 5 touring / tent units.

Arrived and parked up outside reception which is a little cramped so as to not block access if you arrive simultaneously as someone else arrives or checks out. Don't panic if you are towing, drive a little way past to keep everything clear. Once checked in you can go down an access road to a turning area and from there head to your pitch.

We were greeted with a friendly welcome and escorted to our pitch by a really helpful and chatty chap on his bike (sorry your chips went cold my friend)

Pitches with services are well set out with ample room for a caravan with awning and parking for a car. Out initial thoughts were that it was all very regimented and expected a list of rules to be read out but instead got a pleasant introductory chat of the site, its facilities, paths to the beach and town etc. GREAT :-)

Initially I was thinking 'oh no!' when a train passed us by after 20 mins blowing its horns as it approached the sites gates across to the beach but don't let that put you off I guess it only happens 10 times a day (maybe less) and you start to not even notice it and stops before it gets too late and only starts again once you are up and about and I only mention it because others have already but it really doesn't intrude.

As for the site itself it was always clean and facilities were kept clean too. Showers were good and there are 4 covered positions for doing your dishes. There is a laundrette which seemed to be well set up and a SMALL shop (I didn't go in to reception) also there is a play area for the nippers. As for getting about a 5 minute walk puts you on the beach road to well erm, the beach surprisingly enough and this then takes you into the centre of town after a 15 minute walk or you can pick up the road train down the prom!

In summary I certainly would revisit Hendre Mynach and recommend it to others. Staff are friendly and helpful the site is clean, tidy and well set-out. NO WORRIES.

The town of Barmouth is a bit of a surprise. I expected a full 'kiss-me quick' experience but walk past the arcades and get in to the town and you find a very pleasant experience. Small businesses and pleasant bars and eateries are available to suit most tastes as well as a co-op, spar, butchers, speciality shops and post-office etc.

A great site and as stated. I will be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Larbea22 9 reviews from this member

Really lovely site. Proximity to beach and Barmouth town centre couldn't be better.

Toilets/shower blocks always spotlessly clean.

Staff were super helpful when my husband decided to inflict an injury on himself with a tent peg puller, and were always smiling and happy when we saw them around the site.

We only used the shop once, whenever we did go down it was closed (when it said it would be open!).

The ONLY real criticism I have, is that I can imagine the site is very cramped during the peak season. Once the weekend visitors left, we pretty much had the field to ourselves (apart from when a couple pitched RIGHT next to our tent despite being on a virtually empty field with a choice of pitches). However, once it started getting closer to the weekend again, the site filled up again and caravans/motorhomes and tents all seemed to be VERY close to each other - to the point where I would imagine it would feel claustrophobic during the summer months.

We will definitely go back - but maybe midweek rather than during a weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Puppy lovers 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site, close to town centre, beach a stones throw away. Toilet and shower blocks always clean with lots of hot water at all times. Pitches mostly flat but slightly uneven in places, not a problem though. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Shop well stocked but only opens for a few hours in the morning then for a few hours late afternoon. Pitches (tents) a good size, but could get a bit cramped with campervans, caravans and tents in same area. Really enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next visit.

Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8169 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1641