Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bellingham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Bellingham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bellingham
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 2JY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01434 220175

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 10m  5m  5m   1m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 64
Open: 01 Mar 2015 - 04 Jan 2016

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
              9/10 from 117 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ebahgum 6 reviews from this member

Great site to stay, and visit all the beautiful places this part of the country has. Site wardens were brilliant, friendly, and very helpful. Had a choice of pitch, and took the wrong one. Right at the side of the road, but not spoiled our visit in any way. Toilets and showers are the cleanest I have seen, even though the site was busy. The small town of Bellingham, is just a 20min walk down the road. Everything you need, shop wise, and the Co-op is open till 10pm every night. On the weekend we stayed, the site organised a barbeque, and music from a band, who were staying on site, whilst doing a show nearby. Luckily, it stopped raining for the event! Some fantastic scenery around the area, even had a drive to the Scottish Borders. Forgot, there is a shop, well stocked, on site, and the wardens will order you a newspaper, though I was just glad to get away from the media, and the election, for a couple of days! Will be back, later this year, loved the place.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 3 reviews from this member

Business like rather than friendly welcome. Plenty of choice of grass with electric hook up pitches (sheltered by trees or open aspects) but some ground seemed waterlogged. I would strongly recommend an additional groundsheet under your tent to protect it from the mud!

The toilet block was of high standards. The on site shop was well stocked with plenty of tourist information. The new campers 'lounge/kitchen' was also up and running - again of high standards including a giant TV/DVD player, which would be very handy if you are camping with children in bad weather.

The on site playground is a sorry little affair but there is a good looking town one 5 minutes down the road, though children will need supervision on the busy road.

Wifi was free but be warned that it did send the virus protection software on my laptop into meltdown. Seemed to work better on Internet Explorer than Google Chrome and did drop out of connection several times for no apparent reason.

Bellingham is a 20 min walk. Decent sized Coop, baker, butcher, hardware shop, cafes, pubs and a couple of banks.

Hareshaw Linn waterfall is a pleasant half day walk from the site.

Kielder Village and Reservoir really needs a car and good weather to explore all its different attractions. I gather there is a bus boat in the summer.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at Bellingham for four nights over the New Year from 30. 12. 14.

The site is easy to find and has good access from the A68. We received a warm and friendly welcome and the various pitches available were pointed out to us AND we were offered help in setting up - Caravan Club please note!

The site was not anywhere near full and as there had been a lot of rain we set up on hard standing and the warden said we were welcome to park the car on a vacant hard standing which helped to keep dirty feet out of the caravan and protect the grass.

There is a well stocked shop on site and although we use our own facilities I had a look in the 'gents' and it was modern, warm and clean.

On the 31 st the wardens kindly put on a most enjoyable buffet with some sparkling wine. There was also something arranged for the 1 st which we did not attend as my wife came down with the flu.

Bellingham itself is about a 15 minute walk away and has a small supermarket, butcher, chemist, two banks, three pubs - one of which did not always appear to be open - gift shops etc.

There is NO Vodaphone reception on the site nor in Bellingham but all other networks have a signal.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John4703 9 reviews from this member

We had stayed on this site three or four times with our tent and this was our first visit with our caravan. We contacted the site and asked if we could stay for five nights then leave our caravan unoccupied for two nights, then return for one night (my wife had to be back home to attend a couple of hospital appointments. This was no problem and for a small charge we were able to leave our caravan with the electric hook up connected, this means the food in the fridge stayed fresh.

The new owners of the site were very friendly and helpful The pitches are a good size and all have electric hook ups.

The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean and it is a nice touch that they have music playing softly.

There are recycling facilities next to the rubbish bins. One thing I particularly liked was the chemical toilet disposal point, it is under cover but on side is open so plenty of fresh air and no smells.

The town of Bellingham is a short walk away and is friendly and has a small co-op supermarket and several cafes and pubs.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahsop 7 reviews from this member

We stayed on this campsite for a 10 day holiday.

The Franchisees were lovely people. They were very busy as you would expect but always had a minute to chat. They are working hard to upgrade the campsite with a new campers living room, drying room and a games room currently under construction (in those empty rooms the last reviewer mentioned)

The shower and toilet block was always clean with plenty of hot water. Showers are push button and I found a little too hot for sensitive skin/children. The dishwashing is all indoors. Washing machine was great, held loads and the dryer did the trick first time although I was given two tokens just in case!

I felt a little crowded on the green, fellow campers ignored the 6m rule and pitched up almost on top of us. I found the staff a little too lenient with this issue and noise makers and although they did try we had a number of disturbed nights.

On our first (very wet night) we ate in the Riverdale Hall Hotel. Food was excellent and we were given a free pass to use their swimming pool! Later on in our trip we also ate in the Cheviot Hotel in the Village, food good there also and I felt more comfortable in walking clothes in the bar!

The pitch was fairly free draining. Kids playground was too small for ours (9&10) although they happily made friends and dens out of twigs.

Days out at Beamish, Alnwick castle, Wallington House, Cragside House and the Roman Fort 'Housesteads'. A walk up to the waterfall, Hareshaw Lin from site is a must and the office will lend you a map. Lovely Village, nice butcher, baker and a good old co-op!

Over all a nice place, lovely people we would return but would choose a pitch more carefully.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LoopyLoo68 1 review from this member

Stayed here with family - 2 adults and 4 kids (6yrs to 14yrs)

Loved the site and location. Staff were very busy but extremely helpful. I had to wait to check in but was then given a great deal of information about site and surrounding area. We were shown different pitches and told pros and cons.

Site is flat and drains well. We experienced heavy rain and although some surrounding roads flooded the site had relatively few puddles and drained quickly once the rain stopped.

Shop is very well stocked with camping essentials at reasonable prices.

Slightly disappointed with the play area which was small and quickly filled.

A couple of buildings seem unused and site could benefit from TV/games room.

WiFi is free and slow but OK if you are just checking emails.

Would recommend a day out to Kielder forest.

Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4947 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0488