Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ballater Caravan & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Ballater Caravan & Camping Site
Anderson Road
Ballater
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB35 5QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01339 755727

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: Easter To October 31

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
              9/10 from 44 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 492 reviews from this member

This site is right up there with some of the best we have ever stopped at.

Welcome at reception really friendly and helpful, full of information on what to do, where to go etc.

Our pitch was a good size, plenty of room between us and other pitches, gravel and grass both well kept and tidy. Facilities were immaculate, showers brilliant - plenty of hot water and good pressure.

The village is literally a few minutes from the site, enough shops to browse for an hour or so and a few good eateries and bars. We found people friendly and welcoming, in shops and cafes people wanted to stop and chat - added to our enjoyment of the village.

There is a good walk from the site around the edge of the golf course and back through town - about 3 km, fabulous views of the river and its easy going all the way around.

We ate out from the village chip shop! a bag of chips and haggis - very tasty sat on the square as the sun began to set.

At 26 per night for two with ehu (wifi and showers included) its not overly expensive for a good site in Scotland. For us the price covered the top facilities and service. Would stay again and highly recommend to others.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeterFritz 2 reviews from this member

Nice site in a nice little town. Top campsite. Staff was very friendly and helpfully. New done large pitches. Toilets and showers were very clean. There was a rain shelter and a kids play area. All made new because of the flood. I surely will return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 15 reviews from this member

Excellent site a Phoenix risen from the devastating floods.

It has been completely redesigned with lovely wide spacious flat pitches. New heated toilet and shower block which is immaculately looked after. Run by a community company the staff obviously take a great deal of pride in this asset to their town.

Staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.

Site is right beside the river which flows benignly past, hard now to believe it was responsible for so much damage.

An easy walk into town which has a good interesting mix of shops cafes and pubs this being Royal Deeside many businesses have the Royal Warrant on their facia.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 36 reviews from this member

What a great improvement on what the site used to be (before the floods).

This is a really top notch site in a stunning setting. The toilet block has been completely upgraded from its previous school changing room look, and there is a small children's' play area.

Ballater is recovering from the floods, although a few shops remain deserted and needing repair. Work on rebuilding the old Royal railway station which was destroyed by fire, is proceeding slowly.

I can't say that I particularly liked the town itself, although that too may be changing. It always struck me a being a little 'stuffy' and not very welcoming.

The other negative point about the site, is the price. 4 a night for EHU and possible other charges! Admittedly it does offer an over-65 reduction all year, but nevertheless for a family in high season it could be rather pricey.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eebo 8 reviews from this member

An absolutely outstanding site right on the banks of the River Dee, which was its downfall in January 2016 when the site and half of Ballater were inundated with a horrendous flood. All of the static caravans on this site were lost, with the vast majority ending up floating down the river. It is amazing how well the site has recovered and testament to the hard work of the staff here to get it back to an amazing place to stay.

There are still signs of the flood behind the green fence that has been erected, but as for the touring area, it is resplendent in its greenery with large chipped hard standing areas, with electric hook up and plenty of water points scattered around. The reception is modern and clean, with polite and helpful staff, but the highlight has to be the toilet block, which was simply immaculate. Other more seasoned campers than me I spoke to on the site all raved about how spotless they were. There is a drive over grey water disposal area as well as an Elsan point, recycling bins, dishwashing area and a kids play area. Wifi is free, but it doesn't seem to be one of the few things repaired yet after the flood and we couldn't get a signal at all.

In the town there are many businesses open as usual and I highly highly recommend India On The Green if you fancy a fine dining experience with a Bangladeshi twist. Absolutely outstanding food. You can hire bikes from a few hundred yards away and there are several walks in the area, although one or two are still curtailed by flood damage. A walk up Craigendarroch is recommended for the views.

This was my second visit here, firstly with a mate for a boy's weekend a few weeks ago and I was so impressed with it, I had to return this time with my wife. Not sure who I'll be with the next time, but I will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 4 reviews from this member

We first stayed at this site about a year ago and immediately thought it was one of the best sites we had used. We were devastated when we heard about the floods and were determined to return when the site was up an running again. All I can say is that the staff must have worked tirelessly to get the site up and running and, if anything, better than before. The lavatory/shower block is the best we have used. There are a few more touring pitches now which are widely spaced so you don't feel cramped. With all the facilities of Ballater just a short walk away and surrounded by magnificent countryside, it really is a fantastic location. We are already trying to get another visit in before they close in October.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aberdeenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2351 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec