Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ballater Caravan & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Ballater Caravan & Camping Site
Anderson Road
Ballater
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB35 5QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01339 755727

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: Easter To October 31

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
              9/10 from 40 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eebo 5 reviews from this member

An absolutely outstanding site right on the banks of the River Dee, which was its downfall in January 2016 when the site and half of Ballater were inundated with a horrendous flood. All of the static caravans on this site were lost, with the vast majority ending up floating down the river. It is amazing how well the site has recovered and testament to the hard work of the staff here to get it back to an amazing place to stay.

There are still signs of the flood behind the green fence that has been erected, but as for the touring area, it is resplendent in its greenery with large chipped hard standing areas, with electric hook up and plenty of water points scattered around. The reception is modern and clean, with polite and helpful staff, but the highlight has to be the toilet block, which was simply immaculate. Other more seasoned campers than me I spoke to on the site all raved about how spotless they were. There is a drive over grey water disposal area as well as an Elsan point, recycling bins, dishwashing area and a kids play area. Wifi is free, but it doesn't seem to be one of the few things repaired yet after the flood and we couldn't get a signal at all.

In the town there are many businesses open as usual and I highly highly recommend India On The Green if you fancy a fine dining experience with a Bangladeshi twist. Absolutely outstanding food. You can hire bikes from a few hundred yards away and there are several walks in the area, although one or two are still curtailed by flood damage. A walk up Craigendarroch is recommended for the views.

This was my second visit here, firstly with a mate for a boy's weekend a few weeks ago and I was so impressed with it, I had to return this time with my wife. Not sure who I'll be with the next time, but I will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 3 reviews from this member

We first stayed at this site about a year ago and immediately thought it was one of the best sites we had used. We were devastated when we heard about the floods and were determined to return when the site was up an running again. All I can say is that the staff must have worked tirelessly to get the site up and running and, if anything, better than before. The lavatory/shower block is the best we have used. There are a few more touring pitches now which are widely spaced so you don't feel cramped. With all the facilities of Ballater just a short walk away and surrounded by magnificent countryside, it really is a fantastic location. We are already trying to get another visit in before they close in October.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mandy MacP 3 reviews from this member

Thrilled this campsite is up and running again after the tragedy of the January storm. Booked the site against the fence with EHU. Very idyllic to wake up to the sound of the river Dee each morning. Staff helpful and friendly. Toilets spotless and cleaned regularly. Great site for kids, nice wee playpark and great for kids on their bikes or scooters. Great location too as shops, bars and restaurants are a short walk away. I'm incredibly fond of this campsite and will definitely be back. Great live music in the Balmoral Bar too!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VangoMan02 19 reviews from this member

Just returned from a brilliant very sunny weekend at the Ballater site.

Good to see it back up and running after the floods and the damage it caused.

They have increased the number of touring pitches and all new hardstandings.

Toilet blocks all been refurbished and look great.

There are some areas with newly laid turf so no tents on these areas yet but the main tent section is all good.

The part of town nearest the bridge is still work in progress as far as shops go but the butchers, hotel and a couple of small shops all up and running. The top part of the town around the square and up to the Railway station buildings and beyond are all business as usual with the shops and hotel, eating places, co-op etc, they escaped flood damage.

This was a lads weekend camping break but will be back with my wife in the caravan later this year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drewsmith 1 review from this member

We were welcomed by very friendly and helpful wardens and were directed to the tent area to find our own pitch, the site was busy so there was very little choice. None of the tent pitches are far from the excellent toilet/wash block. Nowhere is that far from the busy play area which was noisy, however everything was almost silent come the 1030 curfew time.

The site is 2 mins walk from the lovely town centre with several pubs and local shops, there is also a reasonably sized supermarket. A visit to Loch Muich is well worth the drive and there is a stunning walk round the loch.

We will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cherl013397 2 reviews from this member

This is a great caravan park. We have stayed here many times over the years and have great memories of our holidays. This was the first time we have visited since the council sold it off and I have to say we weren't disappointed. There is always a great atmosphere here. Wardens are very nice, toilets spotless and site fees were reasonable. Just a short walk to the baker and butcher etc. We will definitely be back next season :-)

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Aberdeenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a OLPRO Caravan Cover 3 sets of AutoSock car snow socks to be won

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 2017 - 19th to 22nd January
A huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5236 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016




UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
24 Daily Prizes and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 289.99!
Open Today's Window!





0.1172