Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Tiddington Road
Stratford Upon Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV37 7AB   See Map
Tel: 01789 292312
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 Caravans Only
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 196 Reviews
                8/10 from 196 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  196 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anne Bedder 3 reviews from this member

Very large site.

Vans are to close together and the field is very rough grass.

Toilet shower block badly in need of refurbishment water never hot. Clean but very out of date.

Wi fi just a rip off. 3. 75 for2 hours

Whole site needs updating and bringing up to date with facilities.

Staff just seemed to ride round and round on golf trolleys

Beware in the restaurant that they charge 9.5 service charge which is discretionary. Meal not that good and so we asked for the service charge to be taken off our bill.

Would we stay again NO.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangelina 13 reviews from this member

Visited this site during the first week in September and it was unfortunately still school holidays so lots of children about riding bikes including between pitches. We found it really annoying to be honest. We were visiting friends who live in Stratford Upon Avon and this was the nearest site. The main advantage of the site is the location to the town centre and the wonderful riverside water taxi - 2 per person each way. The dog walk was also excellent. Apart from these points the site left me completely cold. Absolutely no ambience - it is vast and impersonal with no riverside views at all. The reception lady was very pleasant but the guy who showed us to our pitch gave us a shady pitch with no sun. We did query this but we still had to park under the trees. The pitches are all grass which needed mowing. Grass cuttings were not picked up when mowing and were trodden in to the caravan unless shoes were removed. The cost was also very expensive. I think this site would suit families with children but we were not keen. It is an all singing and dancing site when really we are happy with only hook up. It is not a patch on any Caravan Club sites we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanterri 41 reviews from this member

Well placed for Shakespeare country.

Pitches are all grass. Today they were very muddy and soft. Our awning was literally sitting on a sea of mud.

Not the cheapest, in fact somewhat expensive for what you get.

More B- than A+.

I detest being charged extra for our dogs and using an awning. My choice but not right.

The toilet bock is dated but clean. 70s old fashioned decor. See the tiles. Some will argue the number of toilets basins and showers for this massive site are inadequate.

What really let's this place down is the poor provision of grey and brown waste disposal points.

Pitched down the far end towards the distant dog walk it is hard graft dragging your waste to the toilet block. The only place on site!.

In fairness it served it's purpose but not one for a return visit unless the facilities and pitches are improved Many other sites offer fully serviced for the same price.

The Wifi is NOT free but a charged one from a third party. It never worked the whole time we were there. Poor show all round

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SantaFe RMK 5 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 5 nights, and found it very disappointing. The staff at reception were fine, but no map of the site was given to us, just a verbal instruction as to the rough layout of the site, from the warden on a buggy that lead us to our pitch. The pitch was very muddy and ours was not the only muddy pitch either. There is only one chemical disposal area with two points but only one grey waste point for the whole of a very large site. The dog walk was fine as was the river taxi, a local pub and Spar shop 15 minutes walk away. But I heard people moan about the food in the club house. So sorry this place has been scratched from our 'return to ' list.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

This was our last stop following our tour of Scotland before returning home.

PROs:

1. One mile from Stratford Upon Avon

2. Good boat taxi service

3. Nice bar and restaurant area (we didn't eat there but welcoming)

4. Free shower adequate facilities

CONS:

1. Most unfriendly staff at reception on arrival and on the following day

2. Very regimental especially when shown to the pitch

3. Pitches all on grass and as you are not allowed to use windbreak or groundsheets mud can easily taken in the van

4. Grass cutting never collected: again these can easily taken in the van if not careful.

Would I return. Probably not.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nw126kazandspen 9 reviews from this member

Lovely large site. Shown too you spot personally. Grass pitches with hook up. Breathable groundsheets only and no windbreaks.

Onsite lovely pub bar and restaurant. Views over canal.

20 30 min slow walk too stratford or river taxi. Holds 6 ppl so a wait is avoidable.

10min walk to Tiddington local pub spar indian and chinx take away. All lovely snd totally recommended the walk that way.

Onsite facilities l think 8 showers in the blocks. Not a lot for size of campsite. L had no trouble getting a shower, but other half did have too queue up.

Secure site barrier at night.

Lovely views and walks.

Great offer with 4 for 3 and 10%

Reception open throughout day.

Child friendly and dog friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffb63 3 reviews from this member

Just done the 4night for 3night midweek offer. Great site. Nice and level grass pitch. Facilities very good a lot better than most. Great location for mooching around the area. Boat taxi to Stratford very nice relaxing sail and reasonable price 2 each way. 5mins walk to Tiddington village, pub, takeaway`s, general store on doorstep. Everybody friendly and helpful. Cannot comment on children`s side as do not have any. Believe weekend lively + entertainment, but midweek better suited us. Easy access to and from M40. Excellent value for money and would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Manofmersea 1 review from this member

Good pitch size, water taxi a very handy bonus, took advantage of the 4 for 3 nights offer as Stratford has so much to offer.

One gripe is the toilet/shower blocks, they are way past their best and akin to old Army Barrack block amenities! Although mostly clean I really didn't like using them.

Most sites concentrate on updating the amenities and people actually expect better facilities these days, so investment in this area would be a good idea.

Didn't use the bar or sample the food as the evening we arrived we went for a look around and quite frankly wasn't impressed with the cleanliness.

In summary a great location, but investment in facilities and a watchful eye by management on cleanliness would be an advantage.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

Great site with friendly staff and clean toilet/showers. The river taxi is so handy, but at busy times make sure you get back to taxi stop in town well before 5. 20 (last taxi), as there could be a queue and the taxis only take 6 at a time. The friendly drivers wont leave you stranded, but its unfair to make them work late.

The restaurant is very good though a tad expensive. I had the lamb liver and mash with onion gravy, but this came with no veg! At 12 I thought I should have got veg. Very tasty all the same.

Also the campsite gives you 10% discount off your first meal there. Make sure you check they actually take it off, as they didn't with us. I brought it to the waitress's attention but she insisted she had done it. We had to go back next day and show the manager, as it could have been happening with every customer. I know its just a small amount, its just the principle of it. Why give you a 10% voucher if they aren't really going to take it off. So check your receipt.

Other than that a fantastic site, hope to return one day.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjs67 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 1 week in July - first time at Riverside.

Pros

Easy entrance system, sign in and then taken to pitch by chap in a gold buggy, discussed your requirements and sited as appropriate.

Clean site, good access to both pitches and water/electricity. Pitches had a good sized grass area between the 2 rows of caravans and plenty of room between each caravan in the row. Seemed to be a dedicated motorhome field opposite washrooms.

Washrooms were clean and tidy with plenty of showers and toilets.

Good size pot washing room.

Bar/club was nice enough but not really suited to families with kids who just want to sit and enjoy the music without tearing around the room causing mayhem.

Cons

No shop!

Seems to be far more geared around the holiday home/static guests.

Grass area for the awning was mudbath when we arrived.

River taxi is quaint but for a family of 4 its quite pricey to go each way.

Playground is a long long way from the caravan area - and under the bar area so couldn't allow to play alone.

Only 1 washing machine and tumble. Rules state no airing so must use tumble. 400 pitches - you do the maths.

In summary a lovely site and I would stay again but id say its child tolerated rather than child friendly.

Previous     196 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Warwickshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth 249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4707 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1055