Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Tiddington Road
Stratford Upon Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV37 7AB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01789 292312

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100 Caravans Only
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 193 Reviews
              8/10 from 193 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  193 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

This was our last stop following our tour of Scotland before returning home.

PROs:

1. One mile from Stratford Upon Avon

2. Good boat taxi service

3. Nice bar and restaurant area (we didn't eat there but welcoming)

4. Free shower adequate facilities

CONS:

1. Most unfriendly staff at reception on arrival and on the following day

2. Very regimental especially when shown to the pitch

3. Pitches all on grass and as you are not allowed to use windbreak or groundsheets mud can easily taken in the van

4. Grass cutting never collected: again these can easily taken in the van if not careful.

Would I return. Probably not.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nw126kazandspen 8 reviews from this member

Lovely large site. Shown too you spot personally. Grass pitches with hook up. Breathable groundsheets only and no windbreaks.

Onsite lovely pub bar and restaurant. Views over canal.

20 30 min slow walk too stratford or river taxi. Holds 6 ppl so a wait is avoidable.

10min walk to Tiddington local pub spar indian and chinx take away. All lovely snd totally recommended the walk that way.

Onsite facilities l think 8 showers in the blocks. Not a lot for size of campsite. L had no trouble getting a shower, but other half did have too queue up.

Secure site barrier at night.

Lovely views and walks.

Great offer with 4 for 3 and 10%

Reception open throughout day.

Child friendly and dog friendly.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangelina 13 reviews from this member

Visited this site during the first week in September and it was unfortunately still school holidays so lots of children about riding bikes including between pitches. We found it really annoying to be honest. We were visiting friends who live in Stratford Upon Avon and this was the nearest site. The main advantage of the site is the location to the town centre and the wonderful riverside water taxi - £2 per person each way. The dog walk was also excellent. Apart from these points the site left me completely cold. Absolutely no ambience - it is vast and impersonal with no riverside views at all. The reception lady was very pleasant but the guy who showed us to our pitch gave us a shady pitch with no sun. We did query this but we still had to park under the trees. The pitches are all grass which needed mowing. Grass cuttings were not picked up when mowing and were trodden in to the caravan unless shoes were removed. The cost was also very expensive. I think this site would suit families with children but we were not keen. It is an all singing and dancing site when really we are happy with only hook up. It is not a patch on any Caravan Club sites we have stayed on.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffb63 2 reviews from this member

Just done the 4night for 3night midweek offer. Great site. Nice and level grass pitch. Facilities very good a lot better than most. Great location for mooching around the area. Boat taxi to Stratford very nice relaxing sail and reasonable price £2 each way. 5mins walk to Tiddington village, pub, takeaway`s, general store on doorstep. Everybody friendly and helpful. Cannot comment on children`s side as do not have any. Believe weekend lively + entertainment, but midweek better suited us. Easy access to and from M40. Excellent value for money and would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Manofmersea 1 review from this member

Good pitch size, water taxi a very handy bonus, took advantage of the 4 for 3 nights offer as Stratford has so much to offer.

One gripe is the toilet/shower blocks, they are way past their best and akin to old Army Barrack block amenities! Although mostly clean I really didn't like using them.

Most sites concentrate on updating the amenities and people actually expect better facilities these days, so investment in this area would be a good idea.

Didn't use the bar or sample the food as the evening we arrived we went for a look around and quite frankly wasn't impressed with the cleanliness.

In summary a great location, but investment in facilities and a watchful eye by management on cleanliness would be an advantage.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

Great site with friendly staff and clean toilet/showers. The river taxi is so handy, but at busy times make sure you get back to taxi stop in town well before 5. 20 (last taxi), as there could be a queue and the taxis only take 6 at a time. The friendly drivers wont leave you stranded, but its unfair to make them work late.

The restaurant is very good though a tad expensive. I had the lamb liver and mash with onion gravy, but this came with no veg! At £12 I thought I should have got veg. Very tasty all the same.

Also the campsite gives you 10% discount off your first meal there. Make sure you check they actually take it off, as they didn't with us. I brought it to the waitress's attention but she insisted she had done it. We had to go back next day and show the manager, as it could have been happening with every customer. I know its just a small amount, its just the principle of it. Why give you a 10% voucher if they aren't really going to take it off. So check your receipt.

Other than that a fantastic site, hope to return one day.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjs67 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 1 week in July - first time at Riverside.

Pros

Easy entrance system, sign in and then taken to pitch by chap in a gold buggy, discussed your requirements and sited as appropriate.

Clean site, good access to both pitches and water/electricity. Pitches had a good sized grass area between the 2 rows of caravans and plenty of room between each caravan in the row. Seemed to be a dedicated motorhome field opposite washrooms.

Washrooms were clean and tidy with plenty of showers and toilets.

Good size pot washing room.

Bar/club was nice enough but not really suited to families with kids who just want to sit and enjoy the music without tearing around the room causing mayhem.

Cons

No shop!

Seems to be far more geared around the holiday home/static guests.

Grass area for the awning was mudbath when we arrived.

River taxi is quaint but for a family of 4 its quite pricey to go each way.

Playground is a long long way from the caravan area - and under the bar area so couldn't allow to play alone.

Only 1 washing machine and tumble. Rules state no airing so must use tumble. 400 pitches - you do the maths.

In summary a lovely site and I would stay again but id say its child tolerated rather than child friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mixedgrill 29 reviews from this member

This is a very nice campsite with everything that you want for a good holiday! We used the water taxi (£2) each way for a nice way of getting into town. Or you could walk about a mile (all flat). We had a train ride to Warwick for the day also. Lovely clubhouse on site with great food and drink.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 37 reviews from this member

Location, Location, Location is what this site is all about being only a flat mile walk from the site into the centre of Stratford. There were people going backwards and forwards between Stratford and the site on their mobile scooters. There is also the river boat service provided by the site.

To access the site the route given by the campsite is by far the best from the M40 so don’t go by your SatNav ours would have taken us into Stratford! From the M40 after passing through Tiddington Village the site is on the right after about 300 yards opposite the NFU Mutual HQ, the site shares the access with Stratford Bowls Club. When booking in we were given a 10% off voucher for use at the very nice restaurant and bar whilst we were there.

The comments in other reviews below cover the site fairly well so I would only add from a Motorhome point of view it would be nice to have some hardstanding pitches. Although they state the land is well drained this is only true of the perimeter of the fields. The centres are a bit boggy after rain and to illustrate this they had to tow a motorhome off whilst we were there as it had got well and truly stuck in the mud. Our advice would be that when they pitch you if a pitch is available around the perimeter just off the road ask for one of them, we did and had no problem. This site has a excellent Motorhome Service Point which is easy to access which is always welcome.

Overall a very nice and well located site that we would recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Damaca 13 reviews from this member

This nice large site is well located, about a mile from Stratford town centre. Although beside the river, there is regrettably no way of walking to town other than along a quite busy road, as the expensive properties between the site and the town have commandeered the river frontage. There is an infrequent bus service. The inexpensive and reliable river taxi provided by the site is excellent and good value, unfortunately it doesn't run after 5. 20pm.

The motorhomes and caravans are placed in lines on two large grassy fields. We were quite near our neighbours but weren't much troubled by this. The toilet block only had 4 showers in the mens' section which meant queueing at peak time (8 am), this was midweek in April so I would worry about this in high season. Apparently there are more showers (6) in the womens' section.

The reception staff were friendly and efficient. However we didn't like that they strimmed the grass all around us one day, including the area where our, and other, electric cables were lying. This should be done when the area is empty.

We had a look into the newish bar/ café/ restaurant, it seemed nice and people were enjoying drinks and meals inside and outside on the upper terrace and in the courtyard below. We didn't make use of it though.

Previous     193 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Warwickshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest North West 16th to 17th September
Cheshire Showground. Celebrity guests, car crushing Monster Trucks, trade stands plus much more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3268 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1094