Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shieling Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Isle of Mull > Site Reviews

Shieling Holidays
Isle Of Mull
Isle of Mull   (Browse area)
PA65 6AY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01680 812496

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 5m   1m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 06/03/15 To 02/11/15

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
              9/10 from 70 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Shuttersister 4 reviews from this member

The Isle of Mull has always been on our wish list and at last my daughter and I have eventually got there. We stayed in our camper-van at the Sheilings site. A beautiful site with stunning views our pitch was right at the front looking onto the sea so as the sun rose and set we had first class views. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful the toilet block and shower facilities were spotless. Constant hot water, hairdryer provided and clothes washing facilities. A unique drying system also provided for clothes. A very central location for catching the Oban ferry and for visiting the many and varied sites on Mull. We thoroughly enjoyed out time at the Sheilings and would certainly recommend it but don't take our word for it try it for yourself.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The_real_mr_h 2 reviews from this member

I arrived pretty much at the last minute, having settled on a site which is midway from most places on Mull. Despite being near to the ferry terminal at Craignure it is a scenic site with plenty of choices to pitch your tent, including some within ten yards of the water. Craignure itself has all of the basics covered with a mini mart, coffee shop, petrol station, post office and pub. Mull is mostly about the scenery with the nearest attraction being Duart Castle, which is home to the Clan MacLean and in itself worth a visit.

Staff were as friendly and helpful as you could wish for. The reception building is open 24/7 for campers to get access to local information, and they have free wifi which works around the site (my tent was fifty yards away and my reception was good enough). Tent pitches are covered in astroturf which takes getting used to, but it does mean that each pitch is very well drained and your tent comes back pretty clean. Check your pegs are secure and guys tight, and all will be well (this was just a precaution, in four nights I had no problems).

There are multiple washrooms, with showers (free hot water), washing machines and tumble dryers (token operated), a free freezer for your cooler packs and good dishwashing facilities. In the upper field are two shielings (a kind of giant plastic tent) used for social activities and games.

And most of all is the location. I was lucky with the weather and the site being quiet in late September, but even so I can't do anything other than give this site a great rating

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 17 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant site. Lovely facilities, good location with Ferry Terminal a few hundred yards away, pub with good beer and food, Spar shop and very helpful information centre as well. On the site Rob and Ang are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble, always on hand to help. Lovely walks around the coast with frequent visits to the adjoining waters by the otters. Having ehu's are a great asset. This is my third visit.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hughjazz 4 reviews from this member

Recently returned from a great stay at the Shielings Holidays campsite. The location of the site is fantastic as we arrived on one of the later ferries that day, only a few hundred yards from the ferry terminal and within the hour we were pitched and sat having a brew!

The pitches are as others have mentioned gravelled areas with astro turf coverings. This has some benefits and drawbacks, whilst having a flat surface and no mud around is great getting rock pegs and mallets to make sure your tent stays up is at times difficult.

We managed to bag a good position on the site in terms of our views which allowed us to get a great view of sunsets and see the ferry docking as well as the surrounding views. We were also close enough to the range of facilities the campsite offers.

The site did not have a shop on site but just down the road is a local spar type shop which sells everything you might need or a trip to Tobermory which has more shops. The facilities on site were always very clean and tidy and the staff were always on hand and busy keeping the place clean.

We would definitely return to Mull and the Shielings campsite even if it was for the beautiful views both at sunset and sunrise!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gussthebus 4 reviews from this member

This is a really well organised site. Ideal for a stopover off the ferry or longer if you want to just put your feet up. The wardens are really friendly and full of information for your holiday. We were told where to see the eagles, we saw them flying, which I was desperate to see. You can actually see them with decent binoculars from the pitches at the front. Facilities are great, spotlessly clean, wonderful hot showers, ( after a few nights wild camping this was wonderful). Great pub close by, good food, real fire. After leaving the pub, right outside were 3 deer crossing the road in front of us. Would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Minimoke 2 reviews from this member

Great site with excellent views close to the ferry terminal. Probably the best site on the island. Good clean facilities and the site is well cared for too. Local pub close by for meals as well as the tourist information centre for the Island. Also there is a Spar shop by the ferry terminal but the Spar shop at Salen is better (stays open later)and there is a good Co Op in Tobermory. Would stay again when over for the Mull Car Rally. Also a good location for exploring the delightful island of Mull.

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Isle of Mull   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder