Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Torvean Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Site Reviews

Torvean Caravan Park
Glenurquhart Road
Inverness
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
IV3 8JL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01463 220582

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 24th March To Mid October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
              8/10 from 17 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (13)

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Danny4 7 reviews from this member

We came to this site from the great Glen, so we found it without any difficulty. We were made welcome and directed to our hardstand. This had both water and electric access. Great. The site is level, not too close to the next motorhome or caravan. We were about 1. 6 miles walk from the centre of Inverness, a good walk going along the side of the river for a lot of the way.

The toilets were good, and there are 2 blocks of them. You need to enter a pass number to get in, which was difficult because it was difficult to read the worn numbers.

Unfortunately the ladies showers were quite cold, and my wife was unable to use them properly.

Apart from that, the site was excellent.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debbiesmum 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site with American visitors for two nights. We had called ahead to say that we had been delayed and there was someone in attendance to tell us which pitch to go to. We had booked a superior pitch and it was great to have our own tap to top up our water tank and an easily accessed drain for grey waste. Staff were welcoming and helpful. The pitch was a good size, toilet blocks were immaculately clean - I had been slightly worried by other reviews which commented on the toilets and showers being a bit dated, but couldn't fault cleanliness. Used the tumble dryer for towels one morning - you need old 1 coins but reception had a supply of them. There were rabbits running around and we picked two bowls of the most delicious blackberries whilst walking along the canal. It is an easy walk into Inverness centre we were fortunate enough to see canoes and boats making their way along the canal.

A delightful place to stay. Very happy to recommend to others.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 492 reviews from this member

Perfectly placed to visit Inverness, just a 20 minute walk along the river from the site to the centre of town.

Some hardstanding around the edge of the site, rest on grass. All have ehu, pitches around the edge have water taps, there are two more taps in the centre.

Staff are great, pleasant, helpful and always around. The site is really well kept and despite being next to the road its very quiet.

Wifi worked well across the site.

For us the facilities let the place down, gents looks as if they had an overall, ladies were pretty dire. Must be said always clean and staff did a great job considering the loos and showers last saw better days some 20 years ago. The water in the showers was fairly hot, pressure ok but nothing great.

As well as the other attractions mentioned the Inverness Botanic garden is worth a visit, just 10 minutes walk, free to enter and with a lovely cafe. Its not massive but is worth an hour at least - the glass houses are stunning.

We loved where this site was, the great atmosphere and even the price of 24 including ehu wasn't too bad.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eebo 8 reviews from this member

This was our first stop while travelling the North Coast 500 and it got the trip off to a great start. We spent two nights in this quiet little site, which although we booked in advance, wasn't nearly full when we visited in early May. Our pitch was on hard standing (concrete) and water, electric and a grey water outlet were all provided on the pitch, along with your own dustbin and a whirly gig for drying washing, towels, etc. There are only a limited number of these, so if you want one, it probably is best to book. We paid 24 per night for this (2 adults in a motorhome). Otherwise, pitches were on a well maintained and level grassy area with numerous electric hook ups and water supplies provided.

The site does not allow tents and among other rules, dogs must be kept on leads at all times and ball games and cycling round the site are prohibited.

The facilities were very clean, (there are 2 toilet blocks) if a little dated and the showers had the dreaded creeping curtains.

There is an on site laundry, which we didn't use, but I noticed it was 2 for the washing machine and a similar amount for the tumble dryer. There is also a dish washing room with two sinks provided.

Wifi was free and the speed was reasonable, with an additional option of logging on to a BT hotspot, if you're a customer of theirs.

The site is situated right next to the Caledonian Canal and walking and cycling options are available in either direction, although unfortunately the tow path doesn't go all the way to Loch Ness as we'd hoped, as it is swallowed up by the A82 after about 5 miles and you have to double back unless you're happy to take your life in your hands.

Inverness city centre was only a 10 minute cycle ride away and a path along the riverside brings you out slap bang in the centre. I believe buses are frequent from just outside the gates to the site.

A swing bridge across the canal carries the main road and it is worth a look as it opens to allow some pretty big boats through.

An ice cream van visited about 6. 30pm on the Wednesday evening when we were there, but I'm not sure how regularly it visits.

There is also a Beefeater restaurant next door which forms part of the Premier Inn.

Overall, a great site to start off a NC500 adventure and they even rent out motorhomes for that very purpose.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobmel 12 reviews from this member

You cannot get much closer to the Caledonian canal than this. Also just over a mile from the centre of Inverness. Bus stop close to the entrance or a 20 minute walk into town. Beafeater next door or visit the Torvean golf club the other side of the road. Toilets are dated but kept clean. Daniel the warden is a cheerie chap and shows you to you pitch. We had our bikes with us and they where well used, nice flat paths along the canal. This is another site on our 'must go back' list.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LizBe 1 review from this member

We have just spent a very enjoyable 6 nights in this lovely little site. It is a short walk into city centre either by road or along the riverbank and also is ideal for pleasant walks along the towpaths of the Caledonian canal. If you like walking, you can walk along the canal to Dochgarroch (about 3. 5 miles) where the Jacobite boat tours leave. (In high season, some tours leave from just across road from the site). The site is maybe more suited to adults as it doesn't have any facilities for children but it is very close to a large sports complex and leisure pool. We used the site as a base to visit many places in the Highlands. Daniel the warden was very pleasant and helpful even when we had a problem with our booking. The shower and toilet block are a little dated but always spotless clean. We would definitely visit this site again.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Inverness-Shire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec