Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Miltonhaven Seaside Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Site Reviews

Miltonhaven Seaside Caravan Park
Miltonhaven
St Cyrus
Montrose
Angus   (Browse area)
DD10 0DL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01674 850413

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby:
5m  5m 10m  10m   10m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: April 1 To October 31

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
              8/10 from 28 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline70 1 review from this member

First time to this quiet site. Lovely flat area for pitching tent, plenty of space between pitches.

Owners could not have been more helpful - a very well run clean tidy site to use as a camping base. Static caravans on site obviously well-kept.

We thought the Kabin pool-room / board-games area was a great feature of the site, as was the on-site 'shop' which sold basic essentials - really enjoyed the duck-eggs! Toilet / shower facilities spotless and no queues as most residents were in static caravans which had their own facilities.

(Note to site owners - we were the ones who'se white van broke down, thanks for your help).

Thanks also to Bervie Taxis for your very kind and generous service.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gooner21 5 reviews from this member

This is a great site if you want some quiet time and to get away from it all. It's about a mile or so off the main road so no road noise, and situated right on the seashore. There is a bit of a steep drop down to the site for the last 1/4 mile and the road is narrow, so it can be tricky if you meet someone coming out.

The site is predominantly statics but there is a nice area at the end of the site for tourers. They keep a space just for motorhomes at the edge and right next to the shore front. The pitches are grass but are fairly flat and quite firm. The only complaint is that there are 6 motorhome hookup points and probably only space for 4 really. So a bit cosy in high season.

The shower and toilet facilities are pretty good in the touring area and are housed in small individual wooden shed-like buildings. But you can also use the toilet block at the other end of the site which is usually less busy. All very clean and well maintained. But it will cost you £1 for a shower.

Not much of a shop on site so be sure to take most things you need with you.

A nice little sandy beach for the dogs or the kids but walks down the coast in either direction are overgrown and nearly impossible. So not great for walking or cycling as you have to get back up that steep hill to get out.

All in all a good site and I'd go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CampingWitch 2 reviews from this member

Pros:

Very clean

Quiet

Close to beach

Small play area for children near tents.

Fresh eggs

Kitchen available

Room (Kabin) available to read and play board games or pool in.

Lovely pond and animals for kids to watch.

Lots to do in the area

Do not have to vacate until 12pm

Cons:

No water tap next to tent pitch.

Tent pitch area not level

No electric hook up for tents

Washing up area not under cover and water not hot

Shower temperature fluctuates (£1 for 8 min!)

Kitchen cost £1 per person in your group - takes same time and equipment to cook for one as for 5. So only good if on your own.

Children severely restricted - must be accompanied to toilet, shower, Kabin and taps until aged 16. A big pain when they may not fetch water. Most 10 year olds are capable of showering self, fetching water and reading or playing board games without close supervision.

Owner very irritable, told children off unnecessarily. (children well behaved)

Management response: Well named Mrs H....d! The trouble is, she doesn't listen! There are tent pitches with hook-up as she well knows, but none were available when booked. She has been told twice, the reason for no water tap near tenting area (but closer than 100yds away). There is indoor dish washing-up facilities in the laundry room, which she has used. The Campers kitchen is ideal for exactly as she says, individuals with limited cooking facilities, walkers, cyclists, etc, not for groups of 8 people in big family tents. Bring your own....it's camping!

Parents are advised that some of the toilets / showers have yale keys with inside snibs, which some children may find difficult to operate and therefore need to be accompanied. The 16 yo stipulation is only for the recreation room. But as I said Mrs H doesn't listen. Thank goodness for sensible, other campers.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonel 6 reviews from this member

This site is blessed by mother nature being adjacent to the sea shore. However, there it ends. There are a lot of residential caravans packed in with the touring site beside them. The motorhome pitches could not be in a better position, facing the sea with just a wooden fence and a winter's accumulated rubbish separating one from the other. I appreciate that this part of the coast has had a stormy winter but two hours with a machine would clear up the mess. The pitches are much too close together. We were the only motorhome on site but if others had been present we would have been too close for my level of comfort.

Water taps are conveniently placed by each pitch. The motorhome pitches are all grass with plastic mats to stop sinking in. This seems an effective and simple answer to the problems posed by wet ground. The site roads are gravel and were quite muddy when we were there. There are no tarmac roads. The pricing was exorbitant. £20 for a night and supplements that range from £2. 00 for each day time visitor, £1. 00 for an eight minute shower, 0. 20p for use of a hairdrier and an additional £1. 00 per person per day for campers who wish to take advantage of the kitchen area. If you were to use these facilities it would make for an expensive stay.

The toilets appeared to be clean and well cared for although I used my own facilities. I do think that the installation of a bit of string to hold the toilet cassette emptying point lid open would be handy. In the light onshore wind at the time I was there I had to perform a gymnastic feat, holding the lid with one foot while emptying the cassette! I was only there one night so cannot really comment on the area.

Management response: We respect our visitors’ views but reserve the right to reply when there is what we regard as unjust criticism. This is a family-run business, employing one person full-time. The site is not “blessed” by Mother Nature, more often “severely damaged” by!

I don’t think “Jonel” does appreciate the damage caused by the winter storm, the flooding, nor the landslip, the 150 tons of hillside debris of which had to be laid temporarily on land to the front of the motorhome area. Timbers from the destroyed fencing and decking also await disposal, but the assumption that a “machine” for two hours could clear the area is ludicrous! Aberdeenshire Council have yet to agree on work outstanding to return the shingle from the coastal footpath to the shore. Heavy plant is likely to churn up more of the shoreline approach track.

All but 50 meters of our gravel roadway has just been re-laid after the winter devastation, the current weather preventing usage of the road roller. The “plastic mats” happen to be expensive 8’ x 4’ commercial ground guards capable of taking 50 tons. For whose benefit is the comment “There are no tarmac roads”? How can the toilets “appear” to be clean and well cared for, then, declare that he/she used their own facilities? I can assure you that they are kept to a very high state of cleanliness.

There are two chemical/waste-water disposal points, one specifically designed for motorhome “dump” systems as well as cassettes, next to the brick built toilet block. If “Jonel” had engaged in simple conversation, these would have been pointed out.

Our tariff is available online and by telephone or email when booking. £20 per night for a motorhome for up to 4 people including electric hook-up (£2) is not regarded as “exorbitant” by our many repeat visitors. We do not charge for awnings or porches. We charge for showers, because in the past we had comments from some that in the pitch fee, they were paying for facilities (the then free showers) that they didn’t need! You can’t please everyone…etc.

On our fairly small park, we have limited parking spaces, and the day charge for vehicles and visitors is directed at those who are not staying overnight, but who wish to utilise our facilities for the day. We frequently have minibus visitors from various charities who are not charged, but afforded all necessary personal facilities.

The campers kitchen is designed for the backpacker type tourist with a small tent (£6pn, £9 for a couple) who for an extra £1 have full cooking and dining facility available, much appreciated in wet and windy conditions, and additionally, free WiFi, and no charge for comms battery charging.

Why complain about charges for facilities that “Jonel” didn’t require or utilise? Cramped pitches? Total rubbish! I can only assume he/she used pitch 1 & 2, a safe annex for small motor homes requiring tent or awning accommodation. I am so glad that “Water taps are conveniently placed by each pitch”! I thought for a moment that fault had been found in everything!

The final sentence “I was only there one night so cannot really comment on the area” ought to have applied to the rest of the “review”! Perhaps this person would have been happier staying overnight in a tarmac-covered lay-by for free, and then use commercial premises for fresh water and waste disposal, a service we certainly do not offer.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CathyHortin 1 review from this member

We have just returned home from a 3 night stay at this beautiful campsite. We were very warmly welcomed on our arrival and had a lovely pitch with its own picnic table and belly BBQ.

The facilities were very clean and cared for and a rec room was an added bonus. My 5 & 3 year old boys loved the fact that we were within walking distance of the beach which provided both a sandy beach & lots of rock pools and most if the time we were the on our own.

This is a great site for families & we will definitely be returning next summer.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Treen67 5 reviews from this member

I have just spent another weekend at this lovely site with my husband and 7 year old son. It is exactly the same as I remember it from my review in August 2010, except from the cost which has gone up and the Bingo is no longer played on a Saturday night.

We stayed in a 5 berth tent and were charged £18 per night. The couple next to us with a child who had a small dome tent were charged £12 so I think the charges reflect tent size.

We were pleasantly surprised this time to find out about the campers kitchen! Last time we were there we didn't know it existed so I feel that I should add this now. The campsite owner said that he usually charges £1 per person per night for using this facility but we were allowed to use it free of charge because it was low season.

The kitchen has all you would need : 2 x 4 ring hobs, a microwave, kettle and toaster. All crockery, mugs, glasses, cutlery, utensils and washing up stuff is there to use. There is also a heated dining room with a 6 seater table, breakfast bar and highchair. There are barbecue stands to use too and wooden benches dotted around the site.

The site is close to the beach which is pebbly but there is a sandy stretch of beach to the left of the campsite towards Johnshaven. A bit pricey for us but since it is so close to home we're saving on petrol costs so will more than likely come back.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Angus   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469