Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thurston Manor

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Thurston Manor
Thurston Manor Leisure Park
Innerwick
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1SA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01368 840643

Facilities:  (Key)
                       

Nearby:
10m  10m  10m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 80 + statics
Open: 8th February 2013 - 3rd January 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
              7/10 from 36 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Breger 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend break here with 2 other adults and a child. Check in was painless and wardens pleasant and efficient. Only downside - I found out later - was that after paying 5 for shower key, I could not access the shower block. Seemingly you have to pay another 5 for this. All very confusing as showers in men's toilets are free (and you don't need a key to get in!). Although the pitches were slightly cramped (it was very busy) there was enough room for the MH, car and awning on a grass pitch. Amenities on site were good. Playpark for kids - excellent, bar/lounge area offered excellent choice of food and very tasty too at a reasonable price. My only comment is that some guests who had obviously decided to stay in the bar area all day were getting a bit spicy with their language during early evening and absolutely not suitable for kids to be hearing that. Pool area was fine but small and although kids were not supposed to be in jacuzzi there were 6 in it when I was there. Parents obviously decided to ignore the signs! All-in-all a decent weekend but if I'm honest not really my type of site. Maybe I prefer a slightly quieter few days away from the tattooed masses.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trinny37 1 review from this member

We (me hubby and Two kids) took our camplet to this campsite in the Beginning of May and had a fantastic time. They have a great play park that is visible from most tent pitches that the kids loved.

Toilet blocks were always clean and the newer block behind the main toilets were fantastic with communal family showers which is great when you have young kids.

The leisure facilities are great. We used the swimming and although small was clean and kept the kids happy. Night time disco was a big hit and the DJ (Daryle) was excellent with the children. We ate in the pub and it was good pub grub at a decent price. The shop was also good value which was surprising as I feel most campsite shops charge over the odds.

All in all a great weekend away and we will return.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazzcull 3 reviews from this member

Been reading previous reviews and don't entirely agree with them, I have been to this site 4 times now and would recommend it to anyone with young children.

The play park is ideal and easily seen from any of the tent pitches, staff helpful and the club was suitable for its purpose, I don't know why people are saying its dated and needs painting.

Booked to go back next week.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leebo 6 reviews from this member

First time we have been to thurston manor site. Men's toilets/showers are small & could do with updating & a lick of paint. Only 3 toilets & showers.

Club house is like a working men's club, could do with a good revamp.

The wardens seemed to be riding around in a transit van checking on van locations & who had awnings up etc. Why can't they walk around the site instead of in an annoying diesel transit van! The roads are right outside your caravan so it's most annoying!

Hard standings have no grass next to them, it's all gravel for caravan & awning. So we never bothered with awning. Got a refund on that.

Site shop is good, has all the basics. Pool is small but ok.

I saw big dogs like alsation size roaming about on the park, not acceptable really, just lazy owners letting there responsibilities go elsewhere.

Site is good for golfers quite a few good courses in surrounding areas, so transport is essential.

The weather wasn't too bad, had rain during the night but daytime was fine.

Tv reception is good, no problems in tuning our tv in.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millet 25 reviews from this member

Easy to find and easy, efficient check in rather than friendly.

Booked a super pitch on this site and glad we did.

Water pipes seemed quite far for other campers and ground was not always flat. Super pitches had gravel standing, good for the rain that came this week.

Ladies toilets were clean, shower was free. Key for access to toilets required 5 deposit and key for ladies was dodgy sometimes turning round in lock for ages.

The key system seemed over the top, as it is unlikely that people other than those camping would be using the facilities.

The cost of the pool should be included in the site fee, kids didn't use it as they were not allowed in bubble pool. But for adults each activity added extra cost.

Bar area prices were good.

Disapointed that 5 tickets each were required for the turn on Saturday night, therefore we declined to watch.

Wardens were often to be seen during the evening time

Overall the site was okay but I'd expect more for a 5 star rating. I'd give it a 3.

Nearby area is quite although there is a large supermarket less than 4 miles from the site. Local village has no shop or pub but is a nice walk.

Far enough from the A1 so no road noise, would not visit again though

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: New2camp16 2 reviews from this member

1st camping trip ever. Plastic pegs on montana not good on very solid ground - now need to purchase new set of pegs. Pitch size too small for montana 6 plus awning which was our online booking; in fact almost too small for tent alone although described as a pitch for a large family tent.

Ladies toilets were clean; mens not so much. Key for access to toilets required 10 deposit and key for ladies could take up to 5 minutes to open as lock was dodgy.

Playground much loved by our 2 girls (age 4 and 9) and easily visible from furthest away tent pitch.

Pool extremely disappointing for cost - showers in pool area not working. The cost of the pool should be included in the site fee - or the fee should be cheaper.

Bar area was outdated but okay and prices were good.

Kids club not great and if your child was under 6 you had to stay.

Wardens were much in evidence on our first night when the site was practically empty but couldn't see any on our second when a large group arrived to party (loudly) until midnight.

Family showers very good but unfortunately no lighting working in one of them. Toilets and dishwashing facilities are (very oddly) closed for cleaning between 8am-8. 30am

Overall the site was okay but I'd expect everything to be working at the start of the season - it wasn't. We'd selected this site as it had an AA fab rating. I'd not agree with them - a 3 star would cover it for me.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11106 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391