Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dartmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site ( Formerly Deer Park )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Dartmouth Camping And Caravanning Club Site ( Formerly Deer Park )
Dartmouth Road
Stoke Fleming
Dartmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ6 0RF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 770253

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
1m  1m  5m  5m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 10 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
              9/10 from 77 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (5)

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Val and alan 3 reviews from this member

A lovely site with nice clean loos and facilities. The Pub and Restaurant adjacent to the site which was one reason why we chose the site actually closed the first week in January and we were very disappointed as we felt we should have been advised when booking. You have to be VERY CAREFUL when leaving the site as the exit onto the main road is rather dangerous with a blind spot for traffic coming up from the village centre. There is a fish and chip van 3 times a week. Staff on site are very pleasant and helpful and it is an excellent base for visiting Dartmouth, Kingsbridge and all of South Hams but you do need your wits about you on the roads!. We didn't use them but there is a good bus service to all areas. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pceh 7 reviews from this member

We have spent a week on this site. At first sight the large pub at the entrance is closed down with overgrown grass and weeds around. The main road through the site is used by residents and other vehicles to the residential area. Not very good for children out playing. There is a small area of grass for a dog walk at the entrance.

The toilets were spotless and there is a small shop in reception. A fish and chip van calls three times a week and is very good.

Two of the wardens were not very talkative and it was hard work trying to get a smile.

The roads in the area are not good for towing a caravan, cycling or walking. Use the bus from the site entrance or the park and ride three miles away on the outskirts of dartmouth.

We felt that the site was tired and run down, not up to the standards of the camping and caravanning club.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodenfeet 19 reviews from this member

We spent a week at the site, having visited four years ago, knew that it was a good idea to book ahead. We found the site was as pleasant as before. The toilet blocks are immaculate and despite the builders being in to rectify a problem with the showers, the redirections were clear and everyone was catered for. The wardens are lovely and happy to have a conversation despite being constantly busy keeping the site immaculate. The bus service is excellent and a ride on the top of the double decker to Kingsbridge via Slapton Sands saves all those white knuckle rides driving yourself down the Devon lanes. Dartmouth is charming whether you are into boats, art or cream teas and is a pleasant walk of a couple of miles downhill. I recommend getting the bus back!

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 13 reviews from this member

We returned to this campsite for the fourth time. Once again we were greeted by one of the wardens, in the pouring rain, who was very helpful and cheerful. The site was quiet so we chose our pitch. The facilities were very clean and warm. The Deer Park Inn on the campsite was very welcoming with great food and with very friendly staff. Enjoyed the walk along the headland to Dartmouth even being entertained by a Sparrowhawk hunting his prey. This is a lovely area to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Countrygirl50-1 2 reviews from this member

As we were in Somerset for the week we decided to go to Dartmouth to meet up with friends. A last minute call to Deer Park at Stoke Fleming secured us three nights Friday to Sunday on the last electric hook up.

I will deal with the positives of this site first. Very friendly and helpful staff and a shop that will order papers and also stocks essentials and lots of tourist information. Very good showers and loo block and lots of hot water. The bus stop to Dartmouth or in the opposite direction to Slapton Sands is right outside. Also on site a pub selling food although we did not try the food this time.

My negative comments. The last pitch allocated to us was right opposite the shower and washing block at the junction of two site roads. Whilst I accept that one loses a degree of privacy on a camp site, we had absolutely no privacy. We had a constant stream of people on both sides cutting through our pitch to cut off the corner. Children on bikes, adults going to the showers/loos, campers with washing up bowls about a foot from our windows. At one stage we turned our van round and put out the awning and chairs but still people walked under the awning!

The owners need to either put a small fence at the road junctions or some planting at a sensible height to deter this ill mannered behaviour. The other thing to note is that the nearer to the shower block you will be able to hear the hand driers blasting as the doors and windows are open. I am not saying do not go to Deer Park as it has a lot going for it but be aware of the issues with this particular pitch. We cannot comment on child friendliness but we are a couple but being school holidays there were lots of children on site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wibbs 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a fantastic fortnight at this site, it was a pleasure to stay there great site very clean and well presented with the toilet blocks always spotlessly clean ample showers with no silly push in buttons '

The hardstandings are a good size and the layout of the site is good.

There is a good children play area towards the front of the site to keep the kids occupied.

There is a great fish and chip shop in the village and the pub on the site does good value meals.

The only problem was finding good sandy beaches having to travel either to Goodrington sands or Salcombe both a round trip of 20 miles plus

There is plenty to do nearby and would recommend this site as a base for visiting the South Hams

Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469