Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS   See Map
Tel: 01723 582206
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 220 Reviews
                7/10 from 220 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  220 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chuckers 1 review from this member

We stayed for one night on this site. Fully stocked shop and swimming pool, views are amazing. Toilets adequate, clean but then later in day had no toilet paper. The biggest problem is the noise at night there seems to be no regards to other people and nobody around at night to deal with problems. People who were camping near to us shouting, singing and playing loud music from their cars until 6. 30 in the morning. While we do expect some noise it is a different matter when you don't sleep at ALL! Would have stayed longer but noise unacceptable.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

Just had a few nights here, the 'standard pitch' that we had was fine for us, we noticed the bigger pitches (5 pn extra) were all up one side of the site and terraced up the slope, they seemed to be a bit crowded in that area to me.

Annoying to be charged 2 per night for an awning, but I know it happens, it seemed every pitch had a large sandy hole to contend with under awning, I did ask for mine to be filled in, but no joy, couldn't use a table, the hole was so big.

Toilets were adequate, although no loo brushes did lead to them not being as clean as they might be, even with daily cleaning.

Showers. One hook and a small stool for all your needs? No shower curtain, so clothes could easily be splashed, no squeegee or mop to clean up meant wet feet all round and nowhere to dry off, the showers themselves were very good.

Nothing to do within walking distance, other than the steep path down to the clifftop walk.

Complained about the pot wash area with running water on the floor and no overhead lighting, no response.

Good shop, good fish and chip shop, good play area for kids, club seemed to be popular, swimming pool small and busy, priced separately.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravanfor2 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site we stayed for 1 week. The touring pitches are very tight, to close together, facing vans can not move on or off their pitches easy. Yes it does allow dogs on the site and plenty of dog parks for them to run around and yes they are allowed into the bar conservatory, but its is dark and cold. Yes we are holidaying with our dogs but we do not need to be kept in a cold dark room when we are buying our beer /wine from you. Also the bottom toilet/shower block was lovely and warm plenty of hot water but no mop and bucket to clean your shower after use. Yes they get cleaned by staff early in the day but come evening they are bad. Would not like to see this site in the middle of summer for the above reasons. The chippy only opened fri/sat teatime. The site shop only opened reduced hours. Come on site people it was not the end of season just yet. The swimming pool was open. The bus stop just outside the camp and is handy for travelling into scarbrough /filey.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mary64 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic family holiday at this site. Myself, husband, eldest son and 3 16year olds. The site was everything we could wish for, very clean and tidy, staff very friendly, amazing hot showers ( plenty available) and considering we went peak season not noisy at all. The three teenagers, loved the site, made many friends, and enjoyed the club and swimming baths. Fantastic views from the cliff top, and rolling hills other direction. Would definitely recommend this site to young and old alike.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The4wildbears 5 reviews from this member

Just stayed here bank holiday weekend friendly arrival with a well shown map from reception good park and good pool with a handy need anything little supermarket nice little bar. The facilities was good and kept clean given the amount of people they allow on when it is a bank holiday. The downsides in our opinion are that really they would be better not been greedy by getting the overflow field and every field as full as they can bearing in mind the amount of facilities (wash\showers) there is as if you went 8-9am time forget it they was muddy and messy. Should just limit it or get more facilities built. Also a little noisy on a night till 12ish time but we were next to the pool literally with lack of space so may that is our fault\problem. Having said that we did enjoy it and would go back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nshaw75 3 reviews from this member

To be fair we booked fairly late on and there were plenty of spaces, albeit on the overflow field. However, due to us having a tent we were left terribly exposed to the very high winds. The campsite is on the cliffs only a few hundred yards from the sea. We were lucky enough to to have a decent tent and were able to pitch it up properly. Many other tents were literally blowing away. There is a small shop on site which was good, but we never used the 'pub'. I think that due to the location, and the fact we are in a tent would probably put us off going back. Stick to somewhere further inland.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2707marie 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly on arrival. Our site was a large tent pitch with ehc. Brilliant size and quite sheltered. We had toilet block one side the rear of the dog park which was on a hill at the back. It seemed quite quiet the standard pitches looked nice on the cliff top overlooking the sea, but we had strong winds the first night which may have caused severe problems to those on more open pitches. I would have happily taken our dog to this site & may go back in future. The toilet block & showers were pleasant & clean. However the lights aren't on long enough to shower yourself & young children. We were plunged into darkness twice when showering with little ones. Location is good for filey, Scarborough & Whitby although a bus runs it is quite a walk to the bus stop & car is needed really with little ones. Swimming pool was good size & with slides but very cold. No one was in it long from what we saw. Play area was very good our 3 year old enjoyed it and all good condition. Bar looked desolate and we didn't go in. Didn't open till 7 & kids were shattered by then. Shop was reasonable & well stocked. I am sure we will be back in the future with the dog tagging along

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geo-hikers 1 review from this member

Stayed 17th-19th June

Booking easy, staff on arrival very helpful on the layout of the site, as this was our first visit.

Pleased with the clean and well maintained facilities.

The weekend we stayed there was a lot of complaints about howling dogs on the Friday night but I must admit we didn't hear them we were more concerned about our tent not taking off in the high winds.

Access to clifftop walks great and well signed.

We will visit again I recommend this campsite for hikers walking the Cleveland way trail.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doodlemum 1 review from this member

My boyfriend and I stayed here with our dog from Friday-Sunday in late June. Very torn about leaving a review, as the site is absolutely gorgeous and we really enjoyed our stay, yet the negatives may outweigh the positives for us.

The location of the site is fabulous, the views are absolutely breathtaking from the tent field. We were blessed with incredible weather (minimal wind and lots of sunshine), and in the evening we felt like we were on holiday on an exotic island soaking up the sunset and dramatic sea views. Absolutely stunning! We enjoyed the Cliff Top walk to Filey (around 7 miles round trip). The location of this site is certainly 10/10.

Facilities were clean, plenty of toilets and showers and a nice washing up area.

The negatives: the noise! There's no curfew here, so if there are rambunctious groups, be prepared for loud blaring music and loud voices until the early hours of the morning. After our first night, a family with two young children moved their tent near ours from across the field, saying they only had 2 hours of sleep due to a loud group next to them. Unfortunately, I doubt they got much sleep moving their tent, as we had a loud group behind us that was blasting music from the car stereo. We were SO lucky we remembered to bring earplugs, as without them, I doubt we would've slept at all. In the future, we'll only be staying at campsites with curfews, which is a shame, because otherwise we'd be back to Crows Nest in a heartbeat.

If you can tolerate all-night partying, the views here are second to none!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Haggy1969 3 reviews from this member

We arrived for our annual trip to this wonderful site 29th May 2016 for a 7 night stay. What we didn't expect was a deluge of gales and fog for the whole week. We did get some respite when we drove 300 meters away from the coast at the camp entrance where we basked in hot sunshine. By the 2nd night we were the only tent left on the site but my dogged determination forced my family to stick with it until the end.

People were turning up, sitting in their vehicles for 10 minutes discussing options and then swiftly driving off.

However, the site as usual was very clean, toilet blocks are excellent (the best on any site I've been on) and the facilities and staff were superb.

Can't wait to go next year

Previous     220 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth 249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth 299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2167 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1006