Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
              9/10 from 198 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KarenLG 2 reviews from this member

Lovely lovely site! Met by the owner on arrival who helped us set up. We had a fabulous position but due to the position of the site I would imagine most if not all pitches had great views of the bay. The owner had levelling chocks and even electric hook up cables all ready! It seemed nothing would be too much trouble!

The site offered showers, wash cubicles, kitchen facilities(fridge freezer and microwave from what I recall) only slight downside was outside washing up area but having said that where do you get to wash up with such beautiful views!

The amenities whilst mainly porta cabin style were kept immaculate. I am sure the owners checked on them 3 times a day! Unfortunately during the latter part of our stay it was damp and foggy but still the facilities were clean;no mud or grass anywhere to be seen!

The only slight downside was the shower cubicles were tiny and not suitable to take our toddler into with us. However that would not put us off from returning if ever in the area again!

As far as location, you have to either drive or like hilly walks. A beautiful walk from the camp site takes you into the bay in about 10/15 minutes. It was also suitable for a pushchair even though the first part was through fields. Can be a challenge pushing the pushchair back due to incline but we (or should I say hubby!??) managed it just fine :)

We waited for the bus to Whitby one day (bus stop just out site site) and it just sailed on by! So we waited for the next one (they're every half an hour) and the next one was full too!. A top tip would be to walk down to the village and get the bus from there.

Would definitely recommend if looking for a lovely relaxed site :)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millsy1972camilla 1 review from this member

Wow is the only word to describe this site & area. The site facilities are cleaned regular. The views are amazing & the staff are the most helpful I've known. The pitch was sloping so while my husband moved the car the owner had put caravan legs down & levelled it all on blocks. At the end of our stay he took all blocks away & got caravan ready to be put on our car. Short 20 minute walk downhill to the stunning village of robin hoods bay with the best chip shop.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Callisr 1 review from this member

We have just returned after spending 4 nights at this fantastic site and cannot rate it highly enough! It was everything we had hoped for and more. The facilities, consisting of male and female toilet and shower blocks (no additional charge and always plenty of hot water), personal wash cubicles, and inside and outside pot wash stations were spotlessly clean at all times and the owners clearly spend a lot of time dedicated to maintaining them to such a high standard. There is also a microwave and kettle, a fridge for milk, and 2 freezers for ice packs, located in the indoor pot wash station. Again, these were all spotless and made our stay just that little bit easier (microwave was great for warming our little boys milk!)

The site itself is on a gently sloping field and I was slightly concerned how we would go on with our Montana 6 tent. I needn't have worried! When we arrived we were directed to the field and told to choose our pitch. We were also offered help with pitching the tent (declined the offer but how helpful is that??)!

We chose our pitch and it was indeed on a slope but there were no lumps or bumps and the pitch was more than big enough for our tent and front extension, with the car parked across the pitch, behind the tent. All the tents were pitched facing the same way in order to make the most of the spectacular views and there was plenty of space between the tents. The site was very busy but there was no sense of it being crowded. Worthy of note here is that the owners don't take bookings for short stays - pitches are available on a first come, first served basis.

Every pitch (going from my observations during a quick walk around)enjoys fabulous views over Robin Hoods Bay and Fylingthorpe and it is a joy to just sit and look out across the sea!

Night times were a delight - no noise to speak of after about 9. 30pm and even before that it was never noisy - just the sound of the children playing on the field next to the site. The playing field was also on a slight slope but was fine for a kick about with a football, kite flying, Frisbee etc.

Dogs are welcome on the site and everyone kept to the rules regarding keeping them on a lead and cleaning up after them. There is a footpath leading from the bottom of the site that a lot of the dog owners seemed to use but I didn't use it and have no idea where it goes! Robin Hoods Bay is about a half mile away but it is a steep hill and we were with a pushchair so we opted to take the car down to the car park!

Whitby is a short drive away and Scarborough is about 18 miles.

There is a large Sainsbury's just outside Whitby, about 10 mins drive from the site, for stocking up with provisions.

The whole area is truly lovely and the site a credit to its owners! We cant wait to return and if you have never visited this area, it should definitely be a place to add to the list of must-go-too's!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne harding 5 reviews from this member

Well what can I say. This was a treasure of a site. We arrived on Monday lunch time, and was greeted by the owners, what a lovely couple. We were helped to set up the caravan, as it is on a slight slope. The view was amazing of the bay. There was plenty of room between pitches and not on top of one another like some sites. The toilets and shower blocks were always very clean, and it was quite busy to say it was the 1st week of July.

Walking down to the beach about 10 minuets through the field at the bottom of the site with the sheep. We came back the road way, we just wish there was a path all the way up to the top, as it can be a busy road.

The owners of this site want to be very proud of themselves, you do a great job of the up keep of this site, I do not think we saw you sit down from morning till night. Well done.

Thank you and we will see you soon.

Tom and Joanne ( Driffield )

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tad5539 1 review from this member

Hi All,

This was our fifth visit to the farm and I must say from the outset that the owners are outstanding they are there from when you arrive to when you leave to help with anything that you may need, being disabled there help was invalulable we spent three day, s with them and had a great time many thanks to the staff and owners.

The facilities are outstanding toilets showers and waste disposal are easy to get to and use even for me the old crip as the wife calls me the views are some of the best in yorkshire and we had a few great runs out to scarborough and whitby there is also internet available through the robinhoods bay net to finish this site is a hidden gem give it a go and you will come back again and again regards to all tad5539

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frapo 5 reviews from this member

Great site, 10minutes walking downhill to Robin Hood's Bay. Simple, but efficient and well cleaned facilities. The site is very slopey and campervans are only allowed at the top of the large field. There are only 4 or 5 hsp's where campervans have to stand after rainy days. Consequently the site is quickly fully booked for campervans in June and July, certainly in the weekends. The owner is very kind and helpful. She made a lot of effort to find an acceptable place for us because all suitable pitches for campervans were taken.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 5 nights (Sun-Fri) in mid June and overall it’s a great site. Was very quiet whilst we were there; the site was only about third full, if that, but did look to get busy on the Friday when we left.

For views alone this sites gets 10/10. Even without the lovely view over Robin Hood’s Bay few sites can match it for such a fine all round panorama; from its elevated position the views are really amazing and the sea view tops it off.

The field is quite sloping, but some flat pitches are available at the bottom, although these are farthest from the facilities. The grass is well-kept, green and nicely mowed and some new hedge planting breaks up the big open field. The ground is easy to peg into, not at all rocky or hard.

The facilities are basic but very clean and tidy; however a major down side is that the showers are way too hot. We were warned of this at check-in and advised that we would be better using the “family washrooms” for our kids - but to be honest they were uncomfortably hot for adults too. The 3 ladies shower cubicles were quite roomy with plenty of handy hooks, but the actual shower enclosure was small which meant there was no escape from the, at times, scalding water. And not much room if showering with a 2 yr old, especially if protecting them from the hot water. The family washrooms had massive potential… very roomy and had a small baby bath but were actually just 5 or 6 cubicles with a sink, which seemed like a waste of space to me as they could have housed 3 big family shower cubicles. Who has a strip wash in a sink these days? I imagine the 3 showers could also get very busy when the site fills up.

A bonus is the tidy kitchen area with microwave, kettle, fridge, freezers and indoor wash up.

Really friendly and efficient owners.

There is loads to do in the surrounding area. Nice 15 min walk down to Robin Hood’s bay, quite steep but manageable for the kids in our group (2. 5-4yrs). They loved the beach with its rock pools and fossil hunting. Good chippy in the village.

Overall a lovely, simple site in great location.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JDigby03 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site with my wife and children.

It's on as slope but has level areas for pitching.

Toilets were immaculate and the owners very friendly.

Robin hoods bay is a beautiful place and we all enjoyed walking onto the beach and playing etc.

There's plenty of eating places and shops.

Whitby is only a short drive away and with its old town and little shops we enjoyed exploring.

We all had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this site.

Lots to do and see in the area.

Friendly clean and safe site- perfect for families.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnchar 7 reviews from this member

Well what can I say we love this site. It's one of a handfull of sites we visit nearly every year. The facilities are kept spotless the showers are hot and free a big improvement from the two cobwebby wash rooms in the old barn. Plastic bowl of hot water was as good as it got 30 years ago. That barn is now a very smart wash room.

As most if not all reviews recommend Hookhouse farm it does get busy but they try not to cram tents in and the owner don't stand for rowdy behaviour so it remains resonablely quiet even when it's really busy.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 18 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous week here for my birthday. The owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. It was our first outing in our caravan and we were pleased to have help with levelling which the owner did for every caravan. He made it look easy :)

Facilities are basic but spotless and more than adequate. There's the usual loos and showers with chemical disposal, recycling and fresh water. Dogs are welcome if kept on a lead. Very relaxed atmosphere and the most stunning views !

Great location for walking across fields and trails into robin hoods bay and beyond.

Lots of dog friendly pubs serving great food close by, there's a lovely chip shop in robin hoods bay that although we didn't get chance to use it seemed very popular.

Whitby is a very short drive away to the car park at the abbey.

There's a sainsburys 5 min drive from site.

Can't wait to return to this wonderful site.

Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4983 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1680