Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 204 Reviews
              9/10 from 204 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  204 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scubajess 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic 12 night stay at one of the best sites I have visited. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, they site and level your caravan for you using their own vehicle and leveling blocks, the site is always immaculate and the showers (free to use) and toilets are spotless. The views over Robin Hoods Bay are fantastic and its an easy 15 minute walk into the village though the walk back is not quite as easy! A big thank you to Paul, Joanne and all at Hooks House Farm for helping us to enjoy a brilliant holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroltyers 1 review from this member

Stayed here for a week in June and loved it. The views are stunning and there is a nice path down to Robin Hood's Bay for the beach, pubs and shops. A quiet, relaxed atmosphere and the owners are friendly and helpful - they lent us an extension lead for the hook up. Pre-booked pitches are marked out prior to arrival and rotated slightly to keep the grass in good condition. Facilities are excellent and toilets and kitchen area were kept very clean. Only downsides: no play facilities for children but plenty of space to run around and lambs to look at. It is a sloping site but the view of the bay is the reward for that slight inconvenience. Some might find the walk to the toilets/washing up area a bit of a trek.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Esmeralda 10 reviews from this member

Just spent three nights at this lovely campsite and as usual everything is exactly how a campsite should be! We've been here several times before, firt of all in a vw camper an and in the last couple of years or so in our motor home. The location is stunning whatever the weather and the welcome is always warm and friendly. The owners are pleasant, friendly and helpful, the facilities are warm, clean and tidy with plenty of hot water both in the showers and washrooms. This is one of our most favourite sites in the country and we love to visit whenever we get the opportunity. It's everything a campsite should be, peaceful, friendly and not at all commercialised, a winning combination! Thank you.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tripeaker 20 reviews from this member

What a great view from this lovely campsite. Everything was clean and tidy and the site was well kept. It has a couple of options for washing up, one inside and one outside, with a stunning view. The hard standing pitch we had was reasonably level but sturdy levelling blocks were provided by the owners, who were most helpful when we booked in. We found the site to be very quiet and heard no traffic noise from the road running down to the village. There is a bus stop close to the site entrance which seemed to have a good service passing even on a Sunday. The walk down to the village through the fields at the bottom of the site is nice and takes around 20 minutes or so. Robin Hoods Bay is really nice with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The walk along 'The Cinder Path' to Whitby has some great views over the sea. It takes a couple of hours at a reasonable pace but is east walking. There is also an option to use the Cleveland way which runs closer to the sea but is a more natural footpath.

The site had a limited amount of information on places to visit, a drive away. It would have been handy to have had something covering the more local area too.

A great site to unwind, blow away the cobwebs and to take in those great views.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lordringstock 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site with spectacular views. No problem to find and the site has good access from the Robin Hoods Bay road. We had a great reception from the owners who helped us level the Camper with blocks that he supplied. We found all the facilities to be very good and were kept clean throughout our stay. It is an easy walk into Robin Hoods Bay via the public footpath that runs from the bottom of the field. Recommended!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bestyman 37 reviews from this member

Location was good for us, as previous reviewers say, there is a really nice view of the bay. Yes it is a step walk to (and back up from) the sea, but like most other places the sea is downhill (about 15 mins walk).

Some great walks nearby with the dog, in fact the campsite is on a public footpath. If you Google dog walks Robin hoods bay you will get some good ideas. We ended our walk in the Bay hotel which is recommended.

Robin hoods bay is a quiet type of place. There are a few bars and restaurants but if looking for amusement arcades try elsewhere. The nearest pub is about a 10-15 minute walk away. Take a torch if returning after dark.

On our way here we stopped at Sainsburys which is 3. 6 miles away on the main road from Whitby. It was easy to park our motorhome there and a Homebase is nextdoor.

The welcome on arrival at the campsite was warm and friendly. The cost was 18 per night for 2 adults and a small dog in a MH with electric, which we consider to be reasonable. The owners told us all we needed to know then left us alone, we liked that. Only a few site rules.

Toilets were spotless. Pan wash had a few fridges which would be useful for tenters.

I'm on the 3 mobile network and phone signal and 3G was good.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: KarenLG 2 reviews from this member

Lovely lovely site! Met by the owner on arrival who helped us set up. We had a fabulous position but due to the position of the site I would imagine most if not all pitches had great views of the bay. The owner had levelling chocks and even electric hook up cables all ready! It seemed nothing would be too much trouble!

The site offered showers, wash cubicles, kitchen facilities(fridge freezer and microwave from what I recall) only slight downside was outside washing up area but having said that where do you get to wash up with such beautiful views!

The amenities whilst mainly porta cabin style were kept immaculate. I am sure the owners checked on them 3 times a day! Unfortunately during the latter part of our stay it was damp and foggy but still the facilities were clean;no mud or grass anywhere to be seen!

The only slight downside was the shower cubicles were tiny and not suitable to take our toddler into with us. However that would not put us off from returning if ever in the area again!

As far as location, you have to either drive or like hilly walks. A beautiful walk from the camp site takes you into the bay in about 10/15 minutes. It was also suitable for a pushchair even though the first part was through fields. Can be a challenge pushing the pushchair back due to incline but we (or should I say hubby!??) managed it just fine :)

We waited for the bus to Whitby one day (bus stop just out site site) and it just sailed on by! So we waited for the next one (they're every half an hour) and the next one was full too!. A top tip would be to walk down to the village and get the bus from there.

Would definitely recommend if looking for a lovely relaxed site :)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millsy1972camilla 1 review from this member

Wow is the only word to describe this site & area. The site facilities are cleaned regular. The views are amazing & the staff are the most helpful I've known. The pitch was sloping so while my husband moved the car the owner had put caravan legs down & levelled it all on blocks. At the end of our stay he took all blocks away & got caravan ready to be put on our car. Short 20 minute walk downhill to the stunning village of robin hoods bay with the best chip shop.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Callisr 1 review from this member

We have just returned after spending 4 nights at this fantastic site and cannot rate it highly enough! It was everything we had hoped for and more. The facilities, consisting of male and female toilet and shower blocks (no additional charge and always plenty of hot water), personal wash cubicles, and inside and outside pot wash stations were spotlessly clean at all times and the owners clearly spend a lot of time dedicated to maintaining them to such a high standard. There is also a microwave and kettle, a fridge for milk, and 2 freezers for ice packs, located in the indoor pot wash station. Again, these were all spotless and made our stay just that little bit easier (microwave was great for warming our little boys milk!)

The site itself is on a gently sloping field and I was slightly concerned how we would go on with our Montana 6 tent. I needn't have worried! When we arrived we were directed to the field and told to choose our pitch. We were also offered help with pitching the tent (declined the offer but how helpful is that??)!

We chose our pitch and it was indeed on a slope but there were no lumps or bumps and the pitch was more than big enough for our tent and front extension, with the car parked across the pitch, behind the tent. All the tents were pitched facing the same way in order to make the most of the spectacular views and there was plenty of space between the tents. The site was very busy but there was no sense of it being crowded. Worthy of note here is that the owners don't take bookings for short stays - pitches are available on a first come, first served basis.

Every pitch (going from my observations during a quick walk around)enjoys fabulous views over Robin Hoods Bay and Fylingthorpe and it is a joy to just sit and look out across the sea!

Night times were a delight - no noise to speak of after about 9. 30pm and even before that it was never noisy - just the sound of the children playing on the field next to the site. The playing field was also on a slight slope but was fine for a kick about with a football, kite flying, Frisbee etc.

Dogs are welcome on the site and everyone kept to the rules regarding keeping them on a lead and cleaning up after them. There is a footpath leading from the bottom of the site that a lot of the dog owners seemed to use but I didn't use it and have no idea where it goes! Robin Hoods Bay is about a half mile away but it is a steep hill and we were with a pushchair so we opted to take the car down to the car park!

Whitby is a short drive away and Scarborough is about 18 miles.

There is a large Sainsbury's just outside Whitby, about 10 mins drive from the site, for stocking up with provisions.

The whole area is truly lovely and the site a credit to its owners! We cant wait to return and if you have never visited this area, it should definitely be a place to add to the list of must-go-too's!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne harding 5 reviews from this member

Well what can I say. This was a treasure of a site. We arrived on Monday lunch time, and was greeted by the owners, what a lovely couple. We were helped to set up the caravan, as it is on a slight slope. The view was amazing of the bay. There was plenty of room between pitches and not on top of one another like some sites. The toilets and shower blocks were always very clean, and it was quite busy to say it was the 1st week of July.

Walking down to the beach about 10 minuets through the field at the bottom of the site with the sheep. We came back the road way, we just wish there was a path all the way up to the top, as it can be a busy road.

The owners of this site want to be very proud of themselves, you do a great job of the up keep of this site, I do not think we saw you sit down from morning till night. Well done.

Thank you and we will see you soon.

Tom and Joanne ( Driffield )

Previous     204 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Highlander Aeolus 4 Air Frame Tent Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally and Camping Weekend 4th to 5th July
HURRY Advanced booking now open - 3 nights camping in any unit, and admission to rally all weekend

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.1250