Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 


Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
              9/10 from 208 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nortoon Lad 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 days in September. We were given a brilliant pitch overlooking the bay and Paul even set our caravan up for us.

Its a fabulous site in a beautiful location with excellent facilities.

All we can say is we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy+Sharon 4 reviews from this member

We have been coming here for the last nine years and always get a nice warm welcome, Gill, Gordon, Joe and Paul can't do enough for you, and are always on the go cleaning to keep the site spotless.

You have an unspoilt view of the bay that you never get tired of looking at.

The ideal place to come and chill out.

But do us a favour and don't tell anybody else or there wont be room for us.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjc77 2 reviews from this member

We arrived in torrential rain, but were met by site staff they quickly hooked our caravan on their 4x4 and pitched. This is on such a slope it would be near impossible to do ourselves.

Facilities although limited excellent in standard and maintenance. Beautiful views an absolute gem will almost certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mike142sl 8 reviews from this member

This has to be amongst one of the best sites we've ever stayed at.

On arrival we were greeted at the gate and were given details of the site and the area. We were then offered the option of having the caravan taken to the pitch which was a nice touch, but then the lads continued to pitch and level as well. Great, we just sat in the car and waited for them to finish leaving us to connect the EHU, Water etc. Never had such service from a campsite.

The field slopes slightly and they have pre made ramps for caravans to keep them level.

The view is stunning, looking south across the Bay and to Ravenscar in the distance - I really should have remembered to take my binoculars!

There is a gate at the bottom of the field which leads down towards Robin Hoods Bay and only takes a few minutes to walk. A bit longer coming back up the hill though? There is also an old rail track which has been made good for walking and cycling, and there were plenty of people there with their bikes enjoying the trail towards Scarborough to the south and Whitby to the north.

The toilets and showers have been recently upgraded by the looks of things, although the shower was on the tight side it was always clean with plenty of hot water and retained the 'porta cabin' feel.

The owners were very attentive and spent a lot of time out and about helping people set up etc.

A very relaxed week and we shall be back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scubajess 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic 12 night stay at one of the best sites I have visited. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, they site and level your caravan for you using their own vehicle and leveling blocks, the site is always immaculate and the showers (free to use) and toilets are spotless. The views over Robin Hoods Bay are fantastic and its an easy 15 minute walk into the village though the walk back is not quite as easy! A big thank you to Paul, Joanne and all at Hooks House Farm for helping us to enjoy a brilliant holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroltyers 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week in June and loved it. The views are stunning and there is a nice path down to Robin Hood's Bay for the beach, pubs and shops. A quiet, relaxed atmosphere and the owners are friendly and helpful - they lent us an extension lead for the hook up. Pre-booked pitches are marked out prior to arrival and rotated slightly to keep the grass in good condition. Facilities are excellent and toilets and kitchen area were kept very clean. Only downsides: no play facilities for children but plenty of space to run around and lambs to look at. It is a sloping site but the view of the bay is the reward for that slight inconvenience. Some might find the walk to the toilets/washing up area a bit of a trek.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Esmeralda 17 reviews from this member

Just spent three nights at this lovely campsite and as usual everything is exactly how a campsite should be! We've been here several times before, firt of all in a vw camper an and in the last couple of years or so in our motor home. The location is stunning whatever the weather and the welcome is always warm and friendly. The owners are pleasant, friendly and helpful, the facilities are warm, clean and tidy with plenty of hot water both in the showers and washrooms. This is one of our most favourite sites in the country and we love to visit whenever we get the opportunity. It's everything a campsite should be, peaceful, friendly and not at all commercialised, a winning combination! Thank you.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tripeaker 20 reviews from this member

What a great view from this lovely campsite. Everything was clean and tidy and the site was well kept. It has a couple of options for washing up, one inside and one outside, with a stunning view. The hard standing pitch we had was reasonably level but sturdy levelling blocks were provided by the owners, who were most helpful when we booked in. We found the site to be very quiet and heard no traffic noise from the road running down to the village. There is a bus stop close to the site entrance which seemed to have a good service passing even on a Sunday. The walk down to the village through the fields at the bottom of the site is nice and takes around 20 minutes or so. Robin Hoods Bay is really nice with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The walk along 'The Cinder Path' to Whitby has some great views over the sea. It takes a couple of hours at a reasonable pace but is east walking. There is also an option to use the Cleveland way which runs closer to the sea but is a more natural footpath.

The site had a limited amount of information on places to visit, a drive away. It would have been handy to have had something covering the more local area too.

A great site to unwind, blow away the cobwebs and to take in those great views.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lordringstock 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site with spectacular views. No problem to find and the site has good access from the Robin Hoods Bay road. We had a great reception from the owners who helped us level the Camper with blocks that he supplied. We found all the facilities to be very good and were kept clean throughout our stay. It is an easy walk into Robin Hoods Bay via the public footpath that runs from the bottom of the field. Recommended!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bestyman 39 reviews from this member

Location was good for us, as previous reviewers say, there is a really nice view of the bay. Yes it is a step walk to (and back up from) the sea, but like most other places the sea is downhill (about 15 mins walk).

Some great walks nearby with the dog, in fact the campsite is on a public footpath. If you Google dog walks Robin hoods bay you will get some good ideas. We ended our walk in the Bay hotel which is recommended.

Robin hoods bay is a quiet type of place. There are a few bars and restaurants but if looking for amusement arcades try elsewhere. The nearest pub is about a 10-15 minute walk away. Take a torch if returning after dark.

On our way here we stopped at Sainsburys which is 3. 6 miles away on the main road from Whitby. It was easy to park our motorhome there and a Homebase is nextdoor.

The welcome on arrival at the campsite was warm and friendly. The cost was 18 per night for 2 adults and a small dog in a MH with electric, which we consider to be reasonable. The owners told us all we needed to know then left us alone, we liked that. Only a few site rules.

Toilets were spotless. Pan wash had a few fridges which would be useful for tenters.

I'm on the 3 mobile network and phone signal and 3G was good.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2097 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder