Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 


Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
              9/10 from 213 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emski_123 2 reviews from this member

We had a superb week here at the start of the summer hols. The campsite was full but it didn't have the feeling of being crowded. The location was stunning, as regular campers we go away 2-3 times a year and can honestly say the view from this site was one of the best we have ever had! Beautiful views over Robin hoods' bay, idyllic!

The facilities were spotless and the freezers in the pot wash room were fab, no pesky queuing to change freezer packs over (and missing reception opening times as we always seem to do!). On this site you had access to the freezers 24/7 which meant we were always able to keep our food cool in the cool box. A simple touch but made a big difference!

Fantastic site, great location for some amazing walks, we will definitely return if back in the area, highly recommend!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Kazloo 15 reviews from this member

We normally use our caravan however for a change on this occasion we rented the cottage on the site. I did however have a good look round the campsite and cannot fault it in any way. The family who run it work from dawn til dusk and beyond keeping the place spotless and doing general maintenance. On top of all that it is also a working farm which also keeps them busy. The site is on a slight slope however each pitch has its own level blocks for caravans and campers and the owners are happy to pitch in and assist with pitching vans. Nothing appears to be to much trouble to them. The shower blocks etc look reasonably new and are kept very clean although I never used them. There is also an area with freezers, microwave kettle etc for the use of campers. A short walk through a field takes you to the village which is very quaint with a good selection of pubs and restaurants and a great beach. If you turn right at the bottom of the field it takes you to the Fylingdale Inn and a general store in about 10 minutes walk. The Inn serves lovely food with an extensive menu and the store has a good stock including newspapers, beer, wine, beach toys etc etc. Also very friendly staff and a DVD rental area if weather is bad. The area is lovely and I would not hesitate to return to the site in my caravan. A great holiday and thanks to the hard working owners. Didn't mention the view. Just go take a look for yourself.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris4 16 reviews from this member

This site is run by an exceptionally friendly and welcoming family, all of whom go out of their way to make your stay as good as possible. The site is a great location with wonderful views across the bay and only a short walk to the village. It is relatively sloping with limited level pitches and only a few hard-standing ones. The toilets and showers are adequate and very clean. The price is very reasonable given the location and views.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nortoon Lad 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 days in September. We were given a brilliant pitch overlooking the bay and Paul even set our caravan up for us.

Its a fabulous site in a beautiful location with excellent facilities.

All we can say is we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: I Love Camping123 1 review from this member

Absolutely Loved My Stay At This Campsite!

As I stayed for 7 days (1 week) I couldn't have asked for a better time !

We arrived early Friday morning and the staff at reception were very friendly.

Gill greeted us warmly and assisted us over to Paul who took us to our space.

Paul also mowed the lawn so we had fresh grass under our tent.

Seeing as we booked early so we could be at the top to use EHU they were extremely helpful attaching us to power. The price is reasonable, as I would pay the price mainly for the astonishing view!

The campsite is on a slight slope but that didn't bother us in the slightest! (Me, My 2 sistes and parents)

It was also a bit breezy but that didn't bother us for enjoying our stay.

The facilities are spot on, there is a small portakabin with 3 sinks, a disabled toilet, a kettle & microwave and a fridge and freezer.

The fridge was extremely good use and the microwave and kettle were good extras for people who needed them.

There were also three sinks outdoors so you could watch the sunset while doing the dishes! The toilets were spotless, apart from the occasional spider haha! Also the showers gave out plenty of heat and were free! The washrooms had adequate space to brush your teeth and get cleaned up.

There was a playing field for me and my sisters to fly our kites on and have a kick about, whilst overlooking the bay and it's beautiful view.

It is about a 10-15minute walk down to Robin Hoods Bay through the campsite, and also a bus going to Whitby hourly. I would also check out Falling Foss and its tea gardens, it is around ten minutes drive and 20mins cycle and is definitely worth a visit.

I don't have a single criticism! You couldn't fault it ! I absolutely loved our stay and can't wait to come back soon. I definitely would recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy+Sharon 4 reviews from this member

We have been coming here for the last nine years and always get a nice warm welcome, Gill, Gordon, Joe and Paul can't do enough for you, and are always on the go cleaning to keep the site spotless.

You have an unspoilt view of the bay that you never get tired of looking at.

The ideal place to come and chill out.

But do us a favour and don't tell anybody else or there wont be room for us.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjc77 2 reviews from this member

We arrived in torrential rain, but were met by site staff they quickly hooked our caravan on their 4x4 and pitched. This is on such a slope it would be near impossible to do ourselves.

Facilities although limited excellent in standard and maintenance. Beautiful views an absolute gem will almost certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Therealbob 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I have visited this site for many years and have never been disappointed. Jill and family are always welcoming and very friendly, they make absolutely certain your stay is trouble free and relaxed, the showers/toilets are clean sometimes busy but no problem, the views across Robin Hood bay towards Ravenscar are stunning. I defy anyone to say they are disappointed after their stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mike142sl 8 reviews from this member

This has to be amongst one of the best sites we've ever stayed at.

On arrival we were greeted at the gate and were given details of the site and the area. We were then offered the option of having the caravan taken to the pitch which was a nice touch, but then the lads continued to pitch and level as well. Great, we just sat in the car and waited for them to finish leaving us to connect the EHU, Water etc. Never had such service from a campsite.

The field slopes slightly and they have pre made ramps for caravans to keep them level.

The view is stunning, looking south across the Bay and to Ravenscar in the distance - I really should have remembered to take my binoculars!

There is a gate at the bottom of the field which leads down towards Robin Hoods Bay and only takes a few minutes to walk. A bit longer coming back up the hill though? There is also an old rail track which has been made good for walking and cycling, and there were plenty of people there with their bikes enjoying the trail towards Scarborough to the south and Whitby to the north.

The toilets and showers have been recently upgraded by the looks of things, although the shower was on the tight side it was always clean with plenty of hot water and retained the 'porta cabin' feel.

The owners were very attentive and spent a lot of time out and about helping people set up etc.

A very relaxed week and we shall be back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scubajess 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic 12 night stay at one of the best sites I have visited. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, they site and level your caravan for you using their own vehicle and leveling blocks, the site is always immaculate and the showers (free to use) and toilets are spotless. The views over Robin Hoods Bay are fantastic and its an easy 15 minute walk into the village though the walk back is not quite as easy! A big thank you to Paul, Joanne and all at Hooks House Farm for helping us to enjoy a brilliant holiday.

Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a pair of OLPRO Hush Sleeping Bags worth 48.00 Win a HandiMoova Off-road Foldable Hand Trolley!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend, Cornwall - 14th to 16th October
A Sounds of the Swinging Sixties long weekend concert with camping on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4052 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016