Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 880283

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
              9/10 from 194 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne harding 5 reviews from this member

Well what can I say. This was a treasure of a site. We arrived on Monday lunch time, and was greeted by the owners, what a lovely couple. We were helped to set up the caravan, as it is on a slight slope. The view was amazing of the bay. There was plenty of room between pitches and not on top of one another like some sites. The toilets and shower blocks were always very clean, and it was quite busy to say it was the 1st week of July.

Walking down to the beach about 10 minuets through the field at the bottom of the site with the sheep. We came back the road way, we just wish there was a path all the way up to the top, as it can be a busy road.

The owners of this site want to be very proud of themselves, you do a great job of the up keep of this site, I do not think we saw you sit down from morning till night. Well done.

Thank you and we will see you soon.

Tom and Joanne ( Driffield )

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frapo 5 reviews from this member

Great site, 10minutes walking downhill to Robin Hood's Bay. Simple, but efficient and well cleaned facilities. The site is very slopey and campervans are only allowed at the top of the large field. There are only 4 or 5 hsp's where campervans have to stand after rainy days. Consequently the site is quickly fully booked for campervans in June and July, certainly in the weekends. The owner is very kind and helpful. She made a lot of effort to find an acceptable place for us because all suitable pitches for campervans were taken.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donkers 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 5 nights (Sun-Fri) in mid June and overall it’s a great site. Was very quiet whilst we were there; the site was only about third full, if that, but did look to get busy on the Friday when we left.

For views alone this sites gets 10/10. Even without the lovely view over Robin Hood’s Bay few sites can match it for such a fine all round panorama; from its elevated position the views are really amazing and the sea view tops it off.

The field is quite sloping, but some flat pitches are available at the bottom, although these are farthest from the facilities. The grass is well-kept, green and nicely mowed and some new hedge planting breaks up the big open field. The ground is easy to peg into, not at all rocky or hard.

The facilities are basic but very clean and tidy; however a major down side is that the showers are way too hot. We were warned of this at check-in and advised that we would be better using the “family washrooms” for our kids - but to be honest they were uncomfortably hot for adults too. The 3 ladies shower cubicles were quite roomy with plenty of handy hooks, but the actual shower enclosure was small which meant there was no escape from the, at times, scalding water. And not much room if showering with a 2 yr old, especially if protecting them from the hot water. The family washrooms had massive potential… very roomy and had a small baby bath but were actually just 5 or 6 cubicles with a sink, which seemed like a waste of space to me as they could have housed 3 big family shower cubicles. Who has a strip wash in a sink these days? I imagine the 3 showers could also get very busy when the site fills up.

A bonus is the tidy kitchen area with microwave, kettle, fridge, freezers and indoor wash up.

Really friendly and efficient owners.

There is loads to do in the surrounding area. Nice 15 min walk down to Robin Hood’s bay, quite steep but manageable for the kids in our group (2. 5-4yrs). They loved the beach with its rock pools and fossil hunting. Good chippy in the village.

Overall a lovely, simple site in great location.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JDigby03 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site with my wife and children.

It's on as slope but has level areas for pitching.

Toilets were immaculate and the owners very friendly.

Robin hoods bay is a beautiful place and we all enjoyed walking onto the beach and playing etc.

There's plenty of eating places and shops.

Whitby is only a short drive away and with its old town and little shops we enjoyed exploring.

We all had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this site.

Lots to do and see in the area.

Friendly clean and safe site- perfect for families.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnchar 7 reviews from this member

Well what can I say we love this site. It's one of a handfull of sites we visit nearly every year. The facilities are kept spotless the showers are hot and free a big improvement from the two cobwebby wash rooms in the old barn. Plastic bowl of hot water was as good as it got 30 years ago. That barn is now a very smart wash room.

As most if not all reviews recommend Hookhouse farm it does get busy but they try not to cram tents in and the owner don't stand for rowdy behaviour so it remains resonablely quiet even when it's really busy.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lobraes 18 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous week here for my birthday. The owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. It was our first outing in our caravan and we were pleased to have help with levelling which the owner did for every caravan. He made it look easy :)

Facilities are basic but spotless and more than adequate. There's the usual loos and showers with chemical disposal, recycling and fresh water. Dogs are welcome if kept on a lead. Very relaxed atmosphere and the most stunning views !

Great location for walking across fields and trails into robin hoods bay and beyond.

Lots of dog friendly pubs serving great food close by, there's a lovely chip shop in robin hoods bay that although we didn't get chance to use it seemed very popular.

Whitby is a very short drive away to the car park at the abbey.

There's a sainsburys 5 min drive from site.

Can't wait to return to this wonderful site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Honeybee77 4 reviews from this member

A gem of a site with the most amazing views over Robin Hoods Bay, we loved it!

The site is sloping but not enough to cause a major issue provided you pitch accordingly and there are flatter pitches for tents at the bottom end of the field if you get there early enough. We arrived mid afternoon on Good Friday and although the site was busy there was plenty of space for us, the tent pitches are arranged in neat rows across the slope with instructions to park behind your tent, in so doing not obstructing the views for anyone else.

Little hedges had recently been planted defining these rows which will provide a little shelter from the wind which I imagine this site must be exposed to at times given the views. It was glorious for our stay however and the sound of the waves below at night was lovely.

We thought the facilities were more than adequate given the size of the site, only minor queueing for showers and spotlessly clean at all times. Plenty of hot water for showers and washing up and the extra facilities such as the microwave and kettle were extremely welcome on a frosty Easter weekend evening and allowed us to save the last of our gas for cooking breakfast! There is also a fridge and freezer for ice blocks.

We didn't have the need for them but we also noticed plenty of bricks for BBQs and chocks for vans on the slope.

My children loved watching the sheep and lambs going in and out of their barn twice a day, and we all enjoyed the pretty walk down into the village across the field. Lovely fish and chips from the chippy in Robin Hoods Bay too!

Friendly helpful staff and a lovely family site with everything we needed. Perfect for anyone who likes a no-frills camping experience. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rudivan 4 reviews from this member

We visited just for a couple of nights, mainly to see Steve Phillips, world renowned guitarist and local resident, play his regular Tuesday night gig at the Grosvenor Hotel. A most enjoyable evening, and the food being consumed all around us also looked very good. After the close, we were very glad that we had a lift back to the site as the half mile walk is steeply uphill all the way.

The campsite is situated on a slope so levelling blocks are necessary, and the site has thoughtfully provided quite a number ready for use. The owners were friendly and helpful, particularly when we got a little bogged down in some soft ground, whereupon a tractor was brought to the rescue to gently pull us back onto the firm roadway.

We had one of the hard standings with electric hookup close to the site entrance and facilities, which were clean and quite acceptable, although we never use site facilities, preferring to use our own in the van. We did feel a bit sorry for the tenters at the bottom of the site who had quite a walk to get their shower.

On our first day we free-wheeled down towards Robin Hoods Bay and picked up the cinder-track cycle-way that uses the old railway track bed between Whitby and Scarborough, and we headed north up the gradual climb which levels out after a few miles and eventually arrives in Whitby.

On day two we planned to head south on the cinder-track, but the weather changed our minds. However, there is a bus stop just 100 yards from the site entrance so travel either north or south is readily available. We chose to visit Whitby again, which is just 7 miles away.

There are shops in Robin Hoods Bay and a good selection of pubs, cafes and eating places, and a recently opened Sainsburys is situated about 4 miles away on the outskirts of Whitby, amongst other well known large retailers.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Varga 1 review from this member

If you are looking for a site with helpful, friendly wardens, a site with fantastic views of the North Yorkshire coast and a site with simple but spotless facilities, look no further.

The site is sloping, but the owners supply wooden chocks to help you level, and the pitches are terraced. The showers are free, with plenty of hot water, on a push button system that reduces waste; the toilets are simple but clean and well appointed.

The owners were happy to allow our children to pitch a pup tent, away from us, for free.

They are also very pro dog, and made our scruffy mutt most welcome.

Robin Hood's Bay is a short walk away, the upper part of the town has a shop selling all you need by way of food and drink, plus the town has a good selection of pubs, all doing food of varying quality and prices. Plus there is a 'Chippy'.

What more could you ask for.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saspar 2 reviews from this member

We arrived without booking and were able to book one night. We were immediately impressed with the views. On a sunny day, absolutely spectacular!

Facilities are clean and tidy, useful washing up area with fridge, freezer and microwave.

We made the 10 minute walk over the field into Robin Hoods Bay, which we have visited before many years ago. It is still charming. Very steep walk.

The tent field is quite sloping, however caravan/motorhome pitches are quite level and we were kindly offered ramps.

Would definitely return, lovely campsite.

Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4758 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508