Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hooks House Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE   See Map
Tel: 01947 880283
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 224 Reviews
                9/10 from 224 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  224 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Akpeel 4 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site. We rang ahead to advise that we would be arriving late and in darkness. This was not a problem with an eta of 7. 30, but later than that and it may have been, I add this to discourage others not as a reflection on the owners who were very helpful. On arrival our van was hitched up to their Ninety and we watched, amazed as a three strong team quickly and skillfully pitched our van for us on the sloping location. Amazing service!

Woke the next day to stunning views out across the bay, I don't think you could find a pitch on the site without a great vista.

All facilities are clean, well maintained and look virtually new. Tons of hot water. Very conveniently located just above the village of Robin Hoods Bay and a very short drive into Whitby. Our pitch was at the top of the site so it was adjacent to the local road. However traffic is pretty light and virtually non existent at night so we didn't feel disturbed, besides the tail end of Hurricane Brian meant the wind drowned most noise out anyway.

Some of the pitches are a little distant from the water/waste point but if that's a downside choose a closer pitch, ours was fine.

Overall this site is a perfect spot and excellent value run by very friendly and welcoming people. We will return.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dianemm 2 reviews from this member

Super site, stayed 2 nights this weekend and had a great time and will return next year. Site is easy to access, the owner helped us set up level on a hard standing with grass to the side. The wash facilities are nice, very clean with plenty of hot water and lighting good to see your way round. The site does slope however the pitch we had was level. Phone signal was good but no wifi which added to the relaxing time for me. Very friendly people and the views out across the bay are wonderful, you have access to a path from the site which takes you down a steep hill to join the path into Robin Hoods bay.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenny McArdle 4 reviews from this member

This site is absolutely beautiful. The views from every part of the site are incredible. This is our first visit to Whitby, and to Yorkshire though we live only a jump away in Derbyshire and we LOVED it.

The owners are very friendly and so well organized. The site is quiet, despite being on a main road (which is practically deserted after dark) which makes the site easy to find for first time vizitors.

Robin Hood's Bay is a short walk away down the hill (can a long walk back up again). In the village you will find magnificent local beers at the pubs and fish 'n' chips that will be just about the best you've ever tasted (unless you managed to visit the Magpie in Whitby itself.

I will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rotate 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to Hooks House Farm and it certainly won’t be the last.

We have a caravan which was pitched for us given the field is sloping, it was levelled up and chocked by the very friendly staff saving us the pain of doing this ourselves, the view over Robin Hoods Bay was magnificent.

The facilities are spotless, everything being located in one place.

You can walk via a public footpath from the farm down to Robin Hoods Bay across farm fields, which brings you out at the church; this takes 10-15 minutes, a little longer coming back as it is obviously uphill.

The atmosphere on the site was great with a mix of tents, motorhomes and caravans on grass pitches. Looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MaryKin 8 reviews from this member

We travel from Scotland to Yorkshire every year in our caravan at some point in the year to incorporate a holiday with visiting family. On those trips we have tried a number of times to get a pitch on this site and (because we are last minute in our plans) the site has always been full. This time we planned ahead and had a pitch with glorious views for four nights. The owners were extremely helpful and gave us a pitch beside a family member with their van. In fact the two things that make this site special are the views and the attitude of the owners. We saw many times how much they made efforts to make everyone feel welcome as well as running a very tight ship in terms of getting vans into pitches and looking after the condition of the grass. If we could give 11/10 for customer service we would. We loved the walk down through the field to Robin Hood's Bay (enough exercise coming back up the hill to make us feel we'd earned a drink when we got back). Facilities were spotless and perfectly adequate if not luxurious. Some thought had been given to putting up plenty of hooks in the showers. We just loved the whole experience and will very certainly make sure we go back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplenel 11 reviews from this member

I really liked this site. Fantastic views, good clean facilities and friendly owners,

One of our dogs is quite old now and can't walk as far as he used to so the fact that we could get the bus from right outside the site was brilliant. The buses ran every half hour and went to Robin Hood's Bay and Scarborough one way and to Whitby the other. We got the bus to and from Fylingthorpe to go to the pub a couple of times. We went to Whitby twice, once to the dog friendly abbey and once for a little bit of shopping. We always made use of the bus on the way back from town.

The pubs in Robin Hood's bay were dog friendly. Our favourite was Ye Dolphin, we ate there twice. We also liked the Laurel but they didn't do food. Some areas of the Fylingdales Inn were dog friendly.

We had some neighbours who played quite loud music on the one afternoon and the owner came over and dealt with it very well. It wasn't really bothering us but I think it is a slippery slope if not nipped in the bud. No nastiness just a quiet word. Overall a quiet and peaceful site.

There were 3 male and 3 female showers. I only had to wait once on a day the site was full, but I think had I gone 20minutes earlier or later I wouldn't have waited at all. I never waited for the loo even when the site was full There were sinks inside for washing up in the room with the fridge and freezers. The best washing up was outside though with views straight ahead across the bay. There was also a separate barn with wash rooms for both sexes, about three of each.

It is quite slopey but there were plenty of wedges etc to level cupboards to make cooking etc easier.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Branty 7 reviews from this member

Great views over Robin Hoods Bay from this site. Facilities are clean and bright with plentiful hot water and good hot showers. Walkable distance out of Robin Hoods Bay and handy for local walks along the disused railway track. The site is on quite a slope but the owners are incredibly organised and helpful. The owner got our van up on the readily available solid wooden blocks and levelled it more accurately than I usually manage! Someone is available to help you get your van ready to pull off again at the end of your stay. There are also large plastic 'tiles' that you can use to provide a dry standing area or path across the grass if it is wet - very thoughtful. There is a very good wash-up area for campers with fridge and freezer facilities and information about the local area displayed in there. Nice cafe down at Bogle Hole (but very steep road down to it if you can't get there via the beach when the tide is out!). We also had a nice meal at the Fylingdale Inn which is walkable (but take a torch for the walk back through the field!). Dog friendly bar inside with a nice outdoor area for fine weather.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellaruss 6 reviews from this member

We've had a fantastic week here. The owners were extremely helpful in helping to set the caravan up - he's got his landrover at the ready to tow your caravan and reverse it into position if needed. As the site is on a hill, he has also got pre made wooden blocks on each pitch to make the caravan level. The view is just stunning, and each pitch looks down and across the bay. The facilities were kept clean, however as it was bank holiday the site was particularly busy so the toilets and showers weren't as clean as they had been earlier in the week.

A walk down the fairly steep hill through the fields takes you into the town and then it's a short walk down through the old town to the beach. There is a fab playpark enroute with a big wooden pirate ship and lots more. You can pick up the Cleveland way cliff top walk, plus the cinder track, which is the old railway line. This is perfect for bikes and you can ride to Whitby or ravenscar which is in the opposite direction. Lots of cafes and places to have ice creams wherever we went, including the little gem of a place in bogglehole which is a short walk on the beach or over the cliffs if the tide is in.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mumsy100 4 reviews from this member

Currently here for the first time and have to say that it is the best site we have ever stayed on. Everything you read about the area in previous reviews are true - beautiful, views, welcoming etc. Owners are superb and very very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely come back again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LeedsMumOf4 6 reviews from this member

Our favourite site!

Try and get a pitch on the very top of the field so you get a panoramic view of the bay and glorious sunsets.

Walk down the path to the sea, have fish and chips from the alley shop, and eat them at the pub terrace next to the slipway. Bliss!

Previous     224 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Colibri Lux Sleeping Bag and Sim Bundle worth over £270 Win East Anglian Game & Country Fair Camping Weekend Tickets!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 28 to 29 April
Thetford. Weekend Camping available. Plus win tickets in our competition ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4662 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016