Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Osmotherley
Northallerton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL6 3AH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01609 883425

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 177 Reviews
              9/10 from 177 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  177 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cowhunter 3 reviews from this member

A good site but VERY expensive. Booked to stay a week but due to family emergency has to head home early, no refund offered and was disappointed to over hear the staff say they were full so could re-sell out pitch ( and still we were refused a refund), very disappointing service.

Site is good but several pitches are close together and facilities are overstretched at weekends. Not the easiest access down narrow lanes through a busy village made even more 'fun' when you meet the bus coming the other way!

Staff were ok but not very flexible which is disappointing as on previous visits they have been very friendly and helpful. Not sure we will go back but mainly based on price and customer service.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 19 reviews from this member

Our second visit after finding this site last year through someone at work.

We had astro turf on our first visit but it was very wet this time so asked for hard standing. Level'ish and big enough for van and awning if required. Bit of a stretch to get car on plot as well but we managed.

Staff friendly as usual and very helpful.

Tried food from the mill one night, burger was ok but nothing special, a bit dry if I'm honest.

Everything else was as good as last time, see my previous review for a more in depth write up.

I would recommend this site without doubt but would advise early or late season as their prices go up mid-season.

On leaving we negotiated the narrow exit back to the A19, it's not a problem if you take your time and meet considerate drivers. On this occasion two separate drivers decided it was easier for me to reverse with a van on the back than it was for them just to wait 30 seconds for me to get all the way passed the parked cars.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubbers 5 reviews from this member

Won't come back here again, charged us 26 per night! That didn't include an extra 3 for wifi if you wanted it. Crammed on and very noisy.

Told (not asked) to arrive after 1pm, we didn't like the pitch we were on and asked to move, they did move us but she was very unfriendly about it.

Had paid for three nights and decided we really didn't want to stay, they will NOT do refunds, be warned. It is at their discretion accepted but by this point the weekend was over and the campsite only a third full.

Quite unfriendly, barriers and codes on locked doors, hook up had bare wires showing.

Showers cool and weak in strength, under floor heating though, that was nice.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris4 16 reviews from this member

This site is well-located for walking and is only a few minutes walk from the village with three good pubs. The pitches are level and plenty are on hard-standing. The toilets and showers are excellent and the whole site is well-managed. It is not cheap and as others have mentioned the WiFi is an additional 3 a day per device (so you cannot connect your phone and laptop unless you pay another 3). A good base for walking and a pretty location by the river.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mumsy100 2 reviews from this member

Well run and great for families. Lots of children here at the weekend to the point of being overrun with them. We are a couple. We thought it was very expensive - 24 a night for a caravan and 3 a day for the internet. Grass pitch for us - muddy in parts. Osmotherley very nice - nothing there really just a very pretty village with pubs one fish and chip shop, one village shop one cafe. No mobile phone signal.

Wouldn't come back. Pitches are crammed together and not very pretty really but nevertheless it was full. Horses and courses I suppose. Toilet block immaculate. Northallerton - good market town 15 minutes away from site.

As I say - seemed very good with play areas for young children and families but not for us I'm afraid - we didn't enjoy it one jot.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulhe 5 reviews from this member

What a great site. All the amenities needed, clean and very nice.

My 10 year old absolutely loved it here, playing in the stream with other children and out till late playing manhunt.

The only negative is that the site is to far from home for us to go more often.

Osmotherly is a great village with 3 pubs which all do food, there are plenty of other attractions nearby, walking, Whitby etc.

The hostel on site also does good food which can be eaten in the hostel or taken back to the pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TTagogo 6 reviews from this member

Spent weekend here on this very busy site in excellent location just outside the village of Osmotherley. Ideal for circular walks from the campsite or for a stop over if doing Cleveland Way or even a coast to coast walking tour. Child friendly with play areas which are really big sand pits. Loos were spotless. Weather was a tale of two halves: first day and night great second was a seven hour electric storm with torrential rain. This flagged up the fact that drainage in some areas struggled to move the amount of water coming down. This is however a fabulous site and well worth a visit or an extended stay.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ajax31 5 reviews from this member

As mentioned by others it's a bit tight through the village & up hill to the site but wasn't a problem arriving or leaving. We stayed Monday to Saturday in the height of the school holidays. We did request the quite area but that's probably not possible this time of year.

Staff very friendly & facilities/ grounds well kept. Ideal location for walking the North York moors.

Would return to explore the area further.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter howard 7 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely 3 day break at this site. Originally booked for 2 but enjoyed it so much decided to stay on Sunday and leave early Monday morning. We were on the top level 'T' section which was in full sun all day long. Good sized pitch on hardstanding (bit too hard for our liking though as there were pebbles rather than chippings but we were lucky we had our foam put together carpet in the van so okay.) Osmotherley is a ten minute casual walk away on the road and well worthwhile. Three pubs opposite each other and a great fish and chip shop. Ate at the Golden Lion and really enjoyed it. We drove out of the bottom edge of the village up onto the moors and the views are fantastic and you could see for miles. Going back to the site we found the facilities and the staff first class and we will definitely be going back as its one of the nicest sites we visited.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Izzyandwillsmum 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from our first stay at Cote Ghyll and in fact, our first ever camping trip!

We chose Cote Ghyll based on it's fantastic reviews and beautiful location and we certainly weren't disappointed!

The whole site was well presented and nicely laid out, even though it was busy it didn't feel like everyone had been shoe-horned in. The security barrier and the fact the gate were locked every night was a reassuring touch, especially with us being first-timers as was seeing the site warden several times during our stay.

We found everyone on site, staff and other visitors, really friendly and helpful. Which was lucky seeing as we couldn't figure out how to use the electrical hook up and basically had no idea what we were doing!

The playgrounds were fantastic, the kids would've stayed on site all day playing in them and paddling in the stream. We could see the playground from our tent too which was ideal.

Both toilet/shower blocks were immaculate and the showers were plenty hot enough. We also took advantage of the family bathroom which was great having two children not keen on showers! We were advised on arrival that if the brick shower block is busy that the Cedar block is quieter due to being nearer the tourers and statics. I don't know whether we just timed it right but we never had to test this theory.

The on site shop was only small but well stocked with essentials although we didn't use it ourselves. We opted for super lazy camping and ate out! We had a lovely home cooked and incredibly reasonably priced meal in the YHA. I think if we'd have stayed longer we'd have certainly sampled takeaway service and breakfasts on offer.

We also ate at the village chippy which I can highly recommend!

My only and very slight criticism would be that there only appeared to be two 'sloping' pitches on site and we were on one of them! It made it a little tricky pitching the tent and was a bit disorientating in the mornings but this may be with it being our first attempt, I guess you get used to it!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly look forward to many more camping trips including another stay at Cote Ghyll.

Previous     177 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Caravan Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO 'POP' Quick Erect 2 Berth Tent Win a Dog Bag Pop Up Fabric Kennel

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show, Newark - 2nd to 4th September
Weekend Campers and day visitors will see a huge range of motorhomes, caravans, as well as accessories and consumables

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8562 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1172