Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Osmotherley
Northallerton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL6 3AH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01609 883425

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 181 Reviews
              9/10 from 181 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  181 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindy1971 1 review from this member

Village approaching site very nice, chip shop (great fish and chips), general stores and a few pubs and coffee shop. Very tight ok if nothing's coming in the opposite direction. The area is great for dog walks and there is a lovely reservoir with picnic tables and benches to enjoy the scenery. Caravan site clean. Well kept play areas and little stream, great for children but just be careful with little ones as the promoted nature trail has parts with barbed wire. We found the little shop well stocked but expensive and if dogs aren't permitted there should be a sign on shop/reception door. Showers and toilets I can't fault, very clean. My only few gripes would be the showers are on a 10 second push button which is a pain, also my husband said the men's showers has a sign asking user to mop floors when finished we've not encountered this before. They do have a 10 o'clock quiet rule although this is not enforced or on our first night we wouldn't of been lying awake till well after 11 waiting for the people in the next caravan deciding it was time to stop drinking and having rather loud conversations to go to bed. This could be a great site with a few tweeks here and there. Don't think we will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Molby 1 review from this member

Really lovely site and definitely one we’ll return to.

This was our first time out in our new van and first time caravanners. We have camped for years so the experience was not totally new to us.

We travelled to the site from the north down the A19 and through the village of Osmotherley – quite a tight fit for vans especially a novice tower as parked cars take up one of the lanes so care needed. Approach to the site is a single lane track so hope there are no vans coming out at the same time. We were greeted by a very friendly lady on arrival who booked us in and explained the facilities and directions to pitch. I had hoped someone from the site may have been able to help me on to the pitch as newbie but unfortunately when I arrived there was no one on hand so had to go solo. Thankfully the pitch was a good size and with no one on the pitch in front I had plenty of room to manoeuvre. It was a gravel pitch and a really nice spot with lovely daffodils around it. There was one slightly annoying bush making it difficult to get down the side of the van. Pitch was also close to kids playground which was great for us. The ground next to our pitch was very soggy and muddy but expected this time of year. Facilities were very clean on arrival and apart from muddy floors stayed in good nick. Daughter #1 loved the playground and made some new friends. Everyone on the site seemed very friendly and the site was pretty quiet by darkness. There is a stream running through the site so one to remember with small kids.

We didn’t get the chance to explore much outside of the site as being a new van we were getting ourselves set up and finding our feet – and issues with the van which I obsessed over for most of the Saturday! But neighbours did tell us about lovely walks suitable for young kids. We did get in to the village for lunch on the Saturday and went to the Queen Catherine. Nice food and lovely pint of Wainwrights.

The sun made a decent appearance midday Sunday and we stayed for a couple of extra hours. Daughter #1 had a great time flying around the quieter site on her scooter in the sunshine following a very muddy morning with her new friends.

All in all a great site and has pretty much everything I think we want out of a site - large pitch, good facilities, playpark, families, nice countryside and walking distance to a good pub.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kfosk 8 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay. Site scenic, peaceful and clean. Toilet block well maintained and regularly checked. Pot washing facilities just replaced, and very nice.

Some troubles remembering key-code for toilet block, and now I can't forget it (after repeating it to myself so many times). Some units would find narrow village road approach tricky, but we were fine in small motorhome.

Site owners also run adjacent Hostel, and meals, including breakfast can be pre-ordered. They also sell bread and pastries (loaf £1. 60).

Nearby Osmotherley very pretty, with at least two tea-shops and two pubs that we saw. Sausage sandwich in the 'Coffee Pot' was very good.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nortoon Lad 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights. We've been here before but stayed earlier on in the season. Pitching up is an absolute doodle, with nice flat hard core pitches. Everything is close by, fresh water, waste disposal etc. The site was very busy on the first day we arrived, there seemed a lot of owners who had seasonal pitches and obviously knew one another. There was a small group who were drinking all day. Not really a problem until it was getting dark when their voices seemed to get louder. I had decided to have an early night due to me doing 6 x 12 hour shifts before arriving on the Monday, at about 8 o'clock and had great difficulty getting to sleep because of the party going on behind us. To be honest this is only the second time we have ever experienced inconsiderate caravanners. I had originally given these people the benefit of the doubt because it wasn't dark however at about 9. 30 I felt I had to ask them to keep the noise down. To be fair they did quieten down a little. This was the only blot on our week, fortunately a lot of the seasonal caravanners seemed to leave on the Tuesday leaving peace and quiet. The facilities here a first class, with lovely clean toilet blocks. There was a lot of young families staying and it was an absolute joy seeing young children playing without a care in the world. There are some lovely walks near the site, you can join the Cleveland Way from here or just walk around the reservoir. The wardens are very friendly and happy to assist. There is a small shop on site or a shop in the nearby village. There are 2 pubs in the village, The Queen Catherine allows dogs, not sure about the other pub. Northallerton is approximately 10 miles away with a market on Wednesday and Saturday. Thanks very much Cote Ghyll, we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cowhunter 3 reviews from this member

A good site but VERY expensive. Booked to stay a week but due to family emergency has to head home early, no refund offered and was disappointed to over hear the staff say they were full so could re-sell out pitch ( and still we were refused a refund), very disappointing service.

Site is good but several pitches are close together and facilities are overstretched at weekends. Not the easiest access down narrow lanes through a busy village made even more 'fun' when you meet the bus coming the other way!

Staff were ok but not very flexible which is disappointing as on previous visits they have been very friendly and helpful. Not sure we will go back but mainly based on price and customer service.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

Our second visit after finding this site last year through someone at work.

We had astro turf on our first visit but it was very wet this time so asked for hard standing. Level'ish and big enough for van and awning if required. Bit of a stretch to get car on plot as well but we managed.

Staff friendly as usual and very helpful.

Tried food from the mill one night, burger was ok but nothing special, a bit dry if I'm honest.

Everything else was as good as last time, see my previous review for a more in depth write up.

I would recommend this site without doubt but would advise early or late season as their prices go up mid-season.

On leaving we negotiated the narrow exit back to the A19, it's not a problem if you take your time and meet considerate drivers. On this occasion two separate drivers decided it was easier for me to reverse with a van on the back than it was for them just to wait 30 seconds for me to get all the way passed the parked cars.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubbers 5 reviews from this member

Won't come back here again, charged us £26 per night! That didn't include an extra £3 for wifi if you wanted it. Crammed on and very noisy.

Told (not asked) to arrive after 1pm, we didn't like the pitch we were on and asked to move, they did move us but she was very unfriendly about it.

Had paid for three nights and decided we really didn't want to stay, they will NOT do refunds, be warned. It is at their discretion accepted but by this point the weekend was over and the campsite only a third full.

Quite unfriendly, barriers and codes on locked doors, hook up had bare wires showing.

Showers cool and weak in strength, under floor heating though, that was nice.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris4 17 reviews from this member

This site is well-located for walking and is only a few minutes walk from the village with three good pubs. The pitches are level and plenty are on hard-standing. The toilets and showers are excellent and the whole site is well-managed. It is not cheap and as others have mentioned the WiFi is an additional £3 a day per device (so you cannot connect your phone and laptop unless you pay another £3). A good base for walking and a pretty location by the river.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mumsy100 4 reviews from this member

Well run and great for families. Lots of children here at the weekend to the point of being overrun with them. We are a couple. We thought it was very expensive - £24 a night for a caravan and £3 a day for the internet. Grass pitch for us - muddy in parts. Osmotherley very nice - nothing there really just a very pretty village with pubs one fish and chip shop, one village shop one cafe. No mobile phone signal.

Wouldn't come back. Pitches are crammed together and not very pretty really but nevertheless it was full. Horses and courses I suppose. Toilet block immaculate. Northallerton - good market town 15 minutes away from site.

As I say - seemed very good with play areas for young children and families but not for us I'm afraid - we didn't enjoy it one jot.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulhe 5 reviews from this member

What a great site. All the amenities needed, clean and very nice.

My 10 year old absolutely loved it here, playing in the stream with other children and out till late playing manhunt.

The only negative is that the site is to far from home for us to go more often.

Osmotherly is a great village with 3 pubs which all do food, there are plenty of other attractions nearby, walking, Whitby etc.

The hostel on site also does good food which can be eaten in the hostel or taken back to the pitch.

Previous     181 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5805 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.4375