Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL6 3AH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01609 883425

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 1m  5m   10m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 173 Reviews
              9/10 from 173 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  173 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mumsy100 2 reviews from this member

Well run and great for families. Lots of children here at the weekend to the point of being overrun with them. We are a couple. We thought it was very expensive - 24 a night for a caravan and 3 a day for the internet. Grass pitch for us - muddy in parts. Osmotherley very nice - nothing there really just a very pretty village with pubs one fish and chip shop, one village shop one cafe. No mobile phone signal.

Wouldn't come back. Pitches are crammed together and not very pretty really but nevertheless it was full. Horses and courses I suppose. Toilet block immaculate. Northallerton - good market town 15 minutes away from site.

As I say - seemed very good with play areas for young children and families but not for us I'm afraid - we didn't enjoy it one jot.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulhe 5 reviews from this member

What a great site. All the amenities needed, clean and very nice.

My 10 year old absolutely loved it here, playing in the stream with other children and out till late playing manhunt.

The only negative is that the site is to far from home for us to go more often.

Osmotherly is a great village with 3 pubs which all do food, there are plenty of other attractions nearby, walking, Whitby etc.

The hostel on site also does good food which can be eaten in the hostel or taken back to the pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TTagogo 6 reviews from this member

Spent weekend here on this very busy site in excellent location just outside the village of Osmotherley. Ideal for circular walks from the campsite or for a stop over if doing Cleveland Way or even a coast to coast walking tour. Child friendly with play areas which are really big sand pits. Loos were spotless. Weather was a tale of two halves: first day and night great second was a seven hour electric storm with torrential rain. This flagged up the fact that drainage in some areas struggled to move the amount of water coming down. This is however a fabulous site and well worth a visit or an extended stay.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ajax31 5 reviews from this member

As mentioned by others it's a bit tight through the village & up hill to the site but wasn't a problem arriving or leaving. We stayed Monday to Saturday in the height of the school holidays. We did request the quite area but that's probably not possible this time of year.

Staff very friendly & facilities/ grounds well kept. Ideal location for walking the North York moors.

Would return to explore the area further.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter howard 7 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely 3 day break at this site. Originally booked for 2 but enjoyed it so much decided to stay on Sunday and leave early Monday morning. We were on the top level 'T' section which was in full sun all day long. Good sized pitch on hardstanding (bit too hard for our liking though as there were pebbles rather than chippings but we were lucky we had our foam put together carpet in the van so okay.) Osmotherley is a ten minute casual walk away on the road and well worthwhile. Three pubs opposite each other and a great fish and chip shop. Ate at the Golden Lion and really enjoyed it. We drove out of the bottom edge of the village up onto the moors and the views are fantastic and you could see for miles. Going back to the site we found the facilities and the staff first class and we will definitely be going back as its one of the nicest sites we visited.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Izzyandwillsmum 1 review from this member

We've just returned from our first stay at Cote Ghyll and in fact, our first ever camping trip!

We chose Cote Ghyll based on it's fantastic reviews and beautiful location and we certainly weren't disappointed!

The whole site was well presented and nicely laid out, even though it was busy it didn't feel like everyone had been shoe-horned in. The security barrier and the fact the gate were locked every night was a reassuring touch, especially with us being first-timers as was seeing the site warden several times during our stay.

We found everyone on site, staff and other visitors, really friendly and helpful. Which was lucky seeing as we couldn't figure out how to use the electrical hook up and basically had no idea what we were doing!

The playgrounds were fantastic, the kids would've stayed on site all day playing in them and paddling in the stream. We could see the playground from our tent too which was ideal.

Both toilet/shower blocks were immaculate and the showers were plenty hot enough. We also took advantage of the family bathroom which was great having two children not keen on showers! We were advised on arrival that if the brick shower block is busy that the Cedar block is quieter due to being nearer the tourers and statics. I don't know whether we just timed it right but we never had to test this theory.

The on site shop was only small but well stocked with essentials although we didn't use it ourselves. We opted for super lazy camping and ate out! We had a lovely home cooked and incredibly reasonably priced meal in the YHA. I think if we'd have stayed longer we'd have certainly sampled takeaway service and breakfasts on offer.

We also ate at the village chippy which I can highly recommend!

My only and very slight criticism would be that there only appeared to be two 'sloping' pitches on site and we were on one of them! It made it a little tricky pitching the tent and was a bit disorientating in the mornings but this may be with it being our first attempt, I guess you get used to it!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly look forward to many more camping trips including another stay at Cote Ghyll.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 14 reviews from this member

Booked here last minute for a couple of nights due to the experts predicting a heatwave. Which they later cancelled and replaced with strong winds.

The route through the village is narrow with cars parked on one side and quite a lot of through traffic, I just took my time and it was no problem, most people are considerate and will give way (apart from 2 girls in a Golf who expected me to reverse back up the hill to let them through!)

The staff were lovely and very helpful, the warden was friendly and firm but fair (some people complained when he asked them to control their dogs who were constantly barking and also when he asked them to turn their outside music off at 11pm, correctly I thought).

There is a choice of pitch types, hard, grass and astro, we got astro and it was great. Our pitch was a good size, we had our caravan, awning and car alongside each other with loads of room to spare. Water points are dotted about not too far away. Our closest water point was actually on someones hard standing pitch, probably a bit annoying for them having a constant stream of people invading.

There are 2 toilet blocks, one just behind us and one up the way. The showers were free and hot with a seat inside the cubicle which always makes it easier. The shower blocks always looked spotless.

Adjoined to the block is a covered pot wash area, plus chemical and grey disposal points.

There are 2 kids play areas connected by a bridge, we were right opposite one of them but it wasn't a problem, they are closed from 10pm to 8am. The youths playing football outside of peoples caravans were a problem however, hitting at least 3 vans and a car. I moved 3 different groups of youths and their footballs on. One even said his dad had told them to play there in case they hit his caravan!

The site is quite large and well looked after, with a reassuring security barrier. Reception also has a small shop in it. Dogs and awnings are free and it only cost us 5 to stay til 6pm on departure day.

This was a great little find, only 35 minutes from our storage site but a million miles away from home, ideal for 2 night weekend stays for us. Plus it's on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors with loads of places to visit.

Definitely a thumbs up for this place.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J55ptk 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 2 night short break. We took the grandchildren and picked this site because of the good reviews, 2 play areas and the distance from home. We booked on Friday at 2pm by phone and were on site for 5pm.

Reception was fast and friendly and our grass pitch was large with plenty of room for the caravan, awning and car.

The kids loved the play areas and soon made friends. There is a very shallow stream dividing the play areas and this provided the most entertainment for the kids. They did however get wet and filthy resulting in 4 changes of clothes in less than 24 hours.

The park was very busy but there was no noise past @7pm. It is a lovely site to relax in. The showers were hot and the toilets clean. They do have codes to access the site and toilets etc so you need to remember 2 different codes.

I can recommend the Fish and Chip shop in the village, cheap too. Access to this site is via Osmotherly village and it is not car friendly let alone caravan friendly. It can be a challenge to drive through without coming face to face with oncoming traffic. Because of parked cars, it is single carriageway through most of the village so be careful and patient.

We will be returning to this great site soon.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jervaulx1 1 review from this member

Nothing to disagree with in the other complimentary reviews:

Staff really friendly, very helpful and patient as we tried to make up our minds on the pitch! (good choices though probably less choice earlier in the season. )

Facilities scrupulously clean; hot water plentiful, and the potwashing facilities good with piping hot water (to clean greasy BBQ griddles etc!) Kids' play areas ideally located in areas for family pitching. Good waste disposal facilities and recyling waste bins centrally located.

Pitch ideal with astro-turf for awning and good space around (good variety of pitches to choose from - hard standing, all grass or astro-turf); grass really well kept. Drinking water and electric hook-up very convenient. For later afternoon sun in Autumn, ask for pitch on East side of site. Not sure where is best on site to get reliable mobile reception!

Cote Ghyll is ideally located for walking, especially with dogs. Osmotherley is an easy walk away, on footpaths once you're out of the site lane, with a choice of 3 pubs to suit your style (Queen Catherine very friendly, good beer and not at all stuffy), also great value fish and chips, and nearby Northallerton has a great market on Saturdays. Some interesting seasonal pitch options look good value and are obviously popular, going by how many outfits we saw parked up around the site.

Tips: I'm a relative newbie, and I stupidly left BBQ leftovers in a plastic sack in our awning over night - much to the delight of a stealthy Brer Fox!

And be prepared to go gently on arrival and departure through relatively narrow streets of Osmotherley; there is at least one 'veteran' driver who doesn't seem able to stop to allow oncoming traffic through! Otherwise access is fine!

Overall: for us, this site is a real find - have already recommended to others, and will certainly be coming again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boggis 5 reviews from this member

We stayed 8 nights, extended from 6 because we liked it so much.

Its a well organised, well run commercial site. The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean with lots of free hot water, and there's enough of them to cope with the site at full summer holiday stretch. The site has a laundry - the washing machine is ok, while the gas powered tumble dryer is superb (2x 1 and 1x50p, and 20p coins respectively). It even has a large bathroom (1 for 15 mins hot water), washing kids became a doddle.

The site has a shop, but it has a relatively limited selection - drinks, tins, sweets, and a very few household bits - it closes at 6pm. It has two playgrounds, joined but separate, one for younger kids, and the other for older kids.

Next door is the YHA - you can eat there: full cooked breakfasts 5, burgers, lasagne, pizzas etc. In the evening.

Osmotherly village has a small 9-5 shop, and three excellent pubs - food is not cheap, but it is spectacular. It also has a superb chip shop, open wednesday to sunday. (i think, do check. ). It does not have a cash machine.

The area is superb, you could easily spend a week within 5 miles of the site, or use it as a basecamp to explore the Moors, Dales, Durham, and York. Saltburn is by far the nicest seaside resort, Whitby was, err. Disappointing.

Do follow the instructions for getting there, roads in the area can be very narrow, and large agricultural vehicles coming the other way seem to be the norm.

Happy to recommend.

Previous     173 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

6511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015