Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Osmotherley
Northallerton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL6 3AH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01609 883425

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  5m   10m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 157 Reviews
              9/10 from 157 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  157 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AJ58WAG 7 reviews from this member

Loved it :-) warm friendly booking over the phone, happy smiling welcome when we arrived, info give accurate and detailed even down to directions to the much needed chippy although upon arrival it was closed :-(. A beautiful site lovely and dark on a night so lots of stars to see. Clean site and I look forward to visiting again soon.

Shower rooms warm and spotless

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Beadle 12 reviews from this member

Folding Caravan

Just spent out first night in the caravan this year at this site. A great welcome on arrival, a little mix up with pitch but quickly resolved. Fantastic heated toilets and shower rooms, extremely clean site even though it looked quite full. We walked up to the 'Queen Catherine' in Osmotherley for a meal which was superb, far too much to eat! Must remember to take a torch next time as road is quite dark on the way back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiwan 1 review from this member

Just returned after a three day stay but wish it had been longer, we took our granddaughter who had the time of her life in the park and exploring in the dark with a torch shes 5, we felt safe and confident of her safety. Staff friendly and helpful, site spotless we were upgraded to a superpitch (free, ) which actually made our stay so much easier, toilets were spotless and always cleaned thoroughly. Location excellent, lovely village plenty to do, bit of a walk down a dark hill if you come back from pub but nothing a torch doesn't sort out. New facility since the last time we went is a takeaway menu, we didn't try but will next visit

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sara72golf 3 reviews from this member

Our 2nd visit to this campsite. (Requested return by my nephew) Although our 1st visit was 5years ago!

After not having travelled far from home, we were greeted by the lady owner on reception, it was a busy bank holiday Monday but she was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. She gave us a small map of the site and directed us to our pitch, which was to be our home for 3 nights.

Upon arriving at our pitch we were a little concerned as to where we were going to position our tent (8 man 7m x 5m) as we were next to the embankment which led down to a stream, making our pitch more L shaped than square. We did think having a chunk of the pitch as the embankment restricted our pitch size, however we managed, but would chose a different pitch next time. We liked the new fake grass rectangular matting which gave us an idea of where they'd like you to pitch and of course look after the surrounding grass!

The playground had been extended since our last visit, and was very good for big and little children. We liked the sand, for children to play in too.

The toilets blocks were clean and tidy, plenty of hot water, not too busy either blocks. 1 for the use of the family bathroom bath.

The countryside was lovely as the weather was great. Nice evening walk around the reservoir. Visited the local 'sheepwash' stream about 1/4 mile away, a great place for the kids to play in the stream and for adults to relax and take in the views. Walked into Osmotherly a couple of times to visit the pubs, shop and have a look around.

Rules are to be quiet around 10pm, and we have always adhered to campsite rules, so likewise expect others to also, however we were kept awake by a large group of campers opposite one night, but after speaking to the reception staff the next morning, we were pleased to see the warden speaking to the group that evening and returning again later. The group disappear to bed and we had a peaceful sleep, even with a 11 month old!

Hopefully it won't be 5 yrs til our return.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katiemo 1 review from this member

Stayed at this site for 4 nights, was originally booked for 3 but extended our stay with no issues. Went with another family and wanted to pitch together. However, as we were in a tent and them in a caravan this was not possible. We were very close though.

The AstroTurf tent pitches are great and obviously don't get boggy when it rains! There were 2 toilet and shower blocks, both clean and generous in size. Again, the pot wash area was clean, although the water a little too hot. My kids loved the play area, had trouble getting them off!

My only issues with this site was the noise at night. Site rule state quite after 10pm but it was much later than this before the site was quiet. Good pair of ear plugs sorted this for me.

To summarise, lovely site, we will return!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayt1 1 review from this member

Booked cote ghyll for the second week in July and ended up staying for two weeks we liked it that much. Me my wife and our four whippets were made welcome in both the site and the village, our pitch between the the two toilet blocks was perfect for us as we could drive in and out without reversing, the three pubs in the village are all dog friendly, I preferred the queen Catherine as it had sky tv and free wifi without even a password, the food in the cafe in the village is excellent, the chip shop is average and only open 5 till 9 four days a week. We hope to be back again last week in September.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy G 3 reviews from this member

'Ryanairesque' pricing structure, poor and expensive wifi connections, no hand basin cubicles in the toilets, crammed in pitches, charges for visitors and it calls itself 5 star? This is the most overpriced campsite we have ever stayed on, our total bill for 1 pitch with campervan & awning was 76. 50 for 3 nights and 1 pitch for 3 pup tents for 2 nights was 72. 50 - a total of 149. This did not include the rubbish wifi charged at 3 per day and did not include the charge made to my sister and family of 6 to visit us for an afternoon. I couldn't find their prices on their website anywhere!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevandali 2 reviews from this member

Stayed two nights at this site which we enjoyed very much. The location was good, we went into osmotherly which is a lovely little village. We had a lovely walk through the woods to cod beck which took about 20 mins. We tried to book up again, but we were told that because the schools have now broken up its a minimum of three nights which we found very unfair. Every time we rang up they just kept saying to ring back and they would try and fit us in for the two nights we wanted, but then it was getting late to book another site, so we just went to another site, but hopefully we will visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dovestoner 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site while walking the Cleveland Way. I wished I had done a bit more research and found an alternative campsite. At 9. 50 for a solo backpacker I found it WAY overpriced and also the most expensive of the whole trip. I only wanted a small piece of grass, toilet, water and maybe a shower. I found all this on a real campsite on a working farm the day after for 3! This is obviously a site for caravans and big family tents, but I wish they would have considered the small pitch needed for a backpacker and reflected that in the price.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jan/phil+holly 21 reviews from this member

Nice friendly people at reception when checking in, we were a little early but wasn't a problem. On first impressions of our allocated pitch[B10], we thought it was too small so we went back to reception to see if any alternatives but none were available so I asked if we could pitch sideways and this wasn't a problem but they do say to cover as much of the astroturf as possible, this was not difficult to achieve as our 8 man tent was way larger. We later had a good walk around the site and found that most of the tent pitches are what we deem as average size not at all large enough for big tents. This is supposed to be a 5 star site and because of layout of tent pitches where you do seem on top of one and other [ok if you are with people on adjoining pitches] in our opinion this isn't the case but the toilet/shower facilities are 5 star. The grounds ie road surfaces could be better and you definitely need strong pegs as ground very hard but plus side I presume it will drain well. Dog friendly maybe but they have not thought about where you can just nip them to do their business without going fair distance off of site, plus no doggy bins provided. Went on nice walk from site to Cod Beck reservoir where you can let dog have a swim and nice place for a picnic. Also went for a few hours to coast [Saltburn] about half hour drive, this is a pleasant and unspoilt place.

Previous     157 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9918 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469