Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Osmotherley
Northallerton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL6 3AH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01609 883425

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  5m   10m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 163 Reviews
              9/10 from 163 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boggis 5 reviews from this member

We stayed 8 nights, extended from 6 because we liked it so much.

Its a well organised, well run commercial site. The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean with lots of free hot water, and there's enough of them to cope with the site at full summer holiday stretch. The site has a laundry - the washing machine is ok, while the gas powered tumble dryer is superb (2x 1 and 1x50p, and 20p coins respectively). It even has a large bathroom (1 for 15 mins hot water), washing kids became a doddle.

The site has a shop, but it has a relatively limited selection - drinks, tins, sweets, and a very few household bits - it closes at 6pm. It has two playgrounds, joined but separate, one for younger kids, and the other for older kids.

Next door is the YHA - you can eat there: full cooked breakfasts 5, burgers, lasagne, pizzas etc. In the evening.

Osmotherly village has a small 9-5 shop, and three excellent pubs - food is not cheap, but it is spectacular. It also has a superb chip shop, open wednesday to sunday. (i think, do check. ). It does not have a cash machine.

The area is superb, you could easily spend a week within 5 miles of the site, or use it as a basecamp to explore the Moors, Dales, Durham, and York. Saltburn is by far the nicest seaside resort, Whitby was, err. Disappointing.

Do follow the instructions for getting there, roads in the area can be very narrow, and large agricultural vehicles coming the other way seem to be the norm.

Happy to recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LouieW 1 review from this member

Stayed at Cote Gyhll twice during the summer holidays (July & August).

July weather was so perfect we stayed for and extra day (which was no trouble for the staff) and also took the 5 o'clock extension so that we could pack up slowly and enjoy the sun and let kids play louder. Obviously this can only be done when it is quieter.

August weather was not so nice but still had a fantastic time.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, toilets always clean (mops handy for everyone to clean up after themselves *hint hint*), the 2 parks for kids are great and the family bathroom is lovely for cleaning scruffy kids before putting pj's on.

Osmotherly is nice. A couple of coffee shops with 'cakes' I don't need to add anymore to that statement! There are 3 pubs very close together, I cant comment of food but drinks were good.

I have heard good things from other campers about the food available from the campsite (eat in or take away).

Only 2 negatives:-

A few dogs were not kept on leads. Obviously the staff are not responsible for this and having been to this site 5 times in total there was only the one visit that actually had this issue. It was reported by a few campers I believe as one owner actually took a dog into the play area and took it off the lead (as I said not the fault of the staff, just dog owners).

In our August (bank hol weekend) visit this was not an issue at all.

Secondly, as mentioned by others, the Wifi should be included in price as phone signal is dreadful. As much as we like to go 'back to basics' when camping we still need our home comforts and in this day and age Wifi is very much a comfort.

10 out of 10 from this family and we will be returning again and again I have no doubt.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cruddybones 2 reviews from this member

Just had four nights at this great little park. Was our first trip in caravan having just 'upgraded' from a trailer tent. Website initially said park was full but on enquiring via email was told they could fit us in. When we arrived found we had been upgraded to a 'super pitch'

Great facilities with good clean shower and toilet block. Great service from the wardens and everything kept very tidy and maintained. Kids loved the park. Used as a base to travel to Saltburn to the beach and the walkway at Guisbrough along with a bimble up Roseberry topping.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Croppster1967 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our first visit to this site and I must say what a great place to be,

Good Points.

Clean

Friendly

Generous pitch size

Good toilet/shower block and the floor was heated in the showers

Our 11 year daughter loved the park and stream and was never bored, with it been Easter the owners put on an Easter Hunt

Codd Beck is a short walk from the site and perfect for a picnic and place to take your dog

The only thing (and I am been picky) is the fact you have to pay for WiFi as the location has no or very little phone reception, maybe they could include the WiFi in the pitch price so it takes away paying for the WiFi.

We will be back for more camping trips in the future and I highly recommend this site.

The Hotel in Osmotherley does a great bar meal menu, its called The Queen Catherine, very tasty home cooked food.

Thank you to all the staff for making it a perfect Easter Break

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigkev1970 1 review from this member

This is a great site that we have stayed on a few times now. Its close enough to home to get there within a hour but far enough to feel worlds away. The two toilet blocks are always spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water and toilet rolls! My kids are now 14 and 13 and a bit too big for the play park they are at an age now that a games room or a football field would be welcomed. There isn't a dog walk on site but not a problem when just outside the park is plenty of footpaths to run them on. We stayed on the hard standing pitches in between the toilet blocks and when everyone was in with their cars parked it got a bit tight. My only other concern was a seasonal van who's awning got caught in the wind and collapsed was left to blow about for another week, maybe the wardens could have taken it down for the owners to prevent permanent damage. However, a very good site well worth a visit, prices at the top of the range but you get what you pay for. Care should be taken driving through Osmotherley wouldn't like to meet another unit coming in opposite direction.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AJ58WAG 7 reviews from this member

Loved it :-) warm friendly booking over the phone, happy smiling welcome when we arrived, info give accurate and detailed even down to directions to the much needed chippy although upon arrival it was closed :-(. A beautiful site lovely and dark on a night so lots of stars to see. Clean site and I look forward to visiting again soon.

Shower rooms warm and spotless

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Beadle 12 reviews from this member

Folding Caravan

Just spent out first night in the caravan this year at this site. A great welcome on arrival, a little mix up with pitch but quickly resolved. Fantastic heated toilets and shower rooms, extremely clean site even though it looked quite full. We walked up to the 'Queen Catherine' in Osmotherley for a meal which was superb, far too much to eat! Must remember to take a torch next time as road is quite dark on the way back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Farrer 7 reviews from this member

I have to say I loved this site! A bit tricky getting the caravan through the village at busy times. The toilet/shower facilities are immaculate one of the best I ever seen. The playground was a huge hit with my children there is 2 one on either side of the stream. The base of the playground is sand so that was them entertained with buckets/spades. I even stayed on my own with my children while the husband had to work I felt safe and secure. The warden was very helpful when I had problems getting the hot water to work in our tourer, all the staff were. A lovely site that I would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiwan 2 reviews from this member

Just returned after a three day stay but wish it had been longer, we took our granddaughter who had the time of her life in the park and exploring in the dark with a torch shes 5, we felt safe and confident of her safety. Staff friendly and helpful, site spotless we were upgraded to a superpitch (free, ) which actually made our stay so much easier, toilets were spotless and always cleaned thoroughly. Location excellent, lovely village plenty to do, bit of a walk down a dark hill if you come back from pub but nothing a torch doesn't sort out. New facility since the last time we went is a takeaway menu, we didn't try but will next visit

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sara72golf 3 reviews from this member

Our 2nd visit to this campsite. (Requested return by my nephew) Although our 1st visit was 5years ago!

After not having travelled far from home, we were greeted by the lady owner on reception, it was a busy bank holiday Monday but she was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. She gave us a small map of the site and directed us to our pitch, which was to be our home for 3 nights.

Upon arriving at our pitch we were a little concerned as to where we were going to position our tent (8 man 7m x 5m) as we were next to the embankment which led down to a stream, making our pitch more L shaped than square. We did think having a chunk of the pitch as the embankment restricted our pitch size, however we managed, but would chose a different pitch next time. We liked the new fake grass rectangular matting which gave us an idea of where they'd like you to pitch and of course look after the surrounding grass!

The playground had been extended since our last visit, and was very good for big and little children. We liked the sand, for children to play in too.

The toilets blocks were clean and tidy, plenty of hot water, not too busy either blocks. 1 for the use of the family bathroom bath.

The countryside was lovely as the weather was great. Nice evening walk around the reservoir. Visited the local 'sheepwash' stream about 1/4 mile away, a great place for the kids to play in the stream and for adults to relax and take in the views. Walked into Osmotherly a couple of times to visit the pubs, shop and have a look around.

Rules are to be quiet around 10pm, and we have always adhered to campsite rules, so likewise expect others to also, however we were kept awake by a large group of campers opposite one night, but after speaking to the reception staff the next morning, we were pleased to see the warden speaking to the group that evening and returning again later. The group disappear to bed and we had a peaceful sleep, even with a 11 month old!

Hopefully it won't be 5 yrs til our return.

Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0625