Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
Osmotherley
Northallerton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL6 3AH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01609 883425

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 186 Reviews
              9/10 from 186 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  186 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marco1974 1 review from this member

Having recently stayed at this camp with my family for the first time, I found the whole site to be very clean, two spotless toilet/shower blocks. With the park having play areas, my children had some where to play.

Only bad point for me was no showers near touring area. Although the ones on the park where close enough. Highly recommended will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Philhannon 1 review from this member

Just returned home from this little gem of a place and as usual was not disappointed, the place is spotless toilets, grassed areas, play areas & pitches, everything about the place is quality. First visit was in a tent with the kids most recent in the motorhome with just the wife and dogs. If you want peace and quiet then this is the place to be. 15 minute walk into Osmotherley itself with a couple of pubs a chippy & shop or a walk up through the woods to cod beck reservoir you cant fault it, but the best thing for me is limited phone signal & 4G so you actually end up talking and interacting without the need for outside distractions. Wi-Fi is available at a small charge if ya desperate but I cant praise the site & staff enough and will be returning again & again. It really is a hidden gem.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Olaf29 2 reviews from this member

Hey, guys out there who are thinking of coming to this campsite. Definitely do! This campsite is one of the best we've ever visited. I went with my mum Linda, my dad Shaun, my brother James and my dog Spark, who is a chocolate Labrador! We have been once so far but will definitely be returning! There are good supermarkets nearby and good places to walk your doggies . The on-site shop is well stocked with all the essentials however there are other shops nearby! The only problem is the road leading up to the park is very very narrow but isn't too bad! We will definitely be returning! Thank you Vote Ghyll for letting us have the best holiday of our life!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rod2509 1 review from this member

Have been looking for a local site that I would return too on a regular basis and have now found it. This site is very visitor friendly and the site is immaculate both in the amenities and the grounds. Took our 4 yr old grandson and hardly saw him. If he wasn't chasing the abundant rabbits he was in the play park or playing in the stream(mostly ankle deep) with his net. The site is located in a little valley and the scenery is lovely. A short trip from the park is cod beck reservoir which seems popular with walkers and dog walks. Stayed for five days and left on the Saturday and realised why you should book in advance. By Friday night there was not a pitch left either for vans or tents. Would highly recommend this site and look forward to a return trip. Thankyou cote ghyll for a lovely stay and enjoyable trip.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindy1971 1 review from this member

Village approaching site very nice, chip shop (great fish and chips), general stores and a few pubs and coffee shop. Very tight ok if nothing's coming in the opposite direction. The area is great for dog walks and there is a lovely reservoir with picnic tables and benches to enjoy the scenery. Caravan site clean. Well kept play areas and little stream, great for children but just be careful with little ones as the promoted nature trail has parts with barbed wire. We found the little shop well stocked but expensive and if dogs aren't permitted there should be a sign on shop/reception door. Showers and toilets I can't fault, very clean. My only few gripes would be the showers are on a 10 second push button which is a pain, also my husband said the men's showers has a sign asking user to mop floors when finished we've not encountered this before. They do have a 10 o'clock quiet rule although this is not enforced or on our first night we wouldn't of been lying awake till well after 11 waiting for the people in the next caravan deciding it was time to stop drinking and having rather loud conversations to go to bed. This could be a great site with a few tweeks here and there. Don't think we will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Molby 1 review from this member

Really lovely site and definitely one we’ll return to.

This was our first time out in our new van and first time caravanners. We have camped for years so the experience was not totally new to us.

We travelled to the site from the north down the A19 and through the village of Osmotherley – quite a tight fit for vans especially a novice tower as parked cars take up one of the lanes so care needed. Approach to the site is a single lane track so hope there are no vans coming out at the same time. We were greeted by a very friendly lady on arrival who booked us in and explained the facilities and directions to pitch. I had hoped someone from the site may have been able to help me on to the pitch as newbie but unfortunately when I arrived there was no one on hand so had to go solo. Thankfully the pitch was a good size and with no one on the pitch in front I had plenty of room to manoeuvre. It was a gravel pitch and a really nice spot with lovely daffodils around it. There was one slightly annoying bush making it difficult to get down the side of the van. Pitch was also close to kids playground which was great for us. The ground next to our pitch was very soggy and muddy but expected this time of year. Facilities were very clean on arrival and apart from muddy floors stayed in good nick. Daughter #1 loved the playground and made some new friends. Everyone on the site seemed very friendly and the site was pretty quiet by darkness. There is a stream running through the site so one to remember with small kids.

We didn’t get the chance to explore much outside of the site as being a new van we were getting ourselves set up and finding our feet – and issues with the van which I obsessed over for most of the Saturday! But neighbours did tell us about lovely walks suitable for young kids. We did get in to the village for lunch on the Saturday and went to the Queen Catherine. Nice food and lovely pint of Wainwrights.

The sun made a decent appearance midday Sunday and we stayed for a couple of extra hours. Daughter #1 had a great time flying around the quieter site on her scooter in the sunshine following a very muddy morning with her new friends.

All in all a great site and has pretty much everything I think we want out of a site - large pitch, good facilities, playpark, families, nice countryside and walking distance to a good pub.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kfosk 8 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay. Site scenic, peaceful and clean. Toilet block well maintained and regularly checked. Pot washing facilities just replaced, and very nice.

Some troubles remembering key-code for toilet block, and now I can't forget it (after repeating it to myself so many times). Some units would find narrow village road approach tricky, but we were fine in small motorhome.

Site owners also run adjacent Hostel, and meals, including breakfast can be pre-ordered. They also sell bread and pastries (loaf £1. 60).

Nearby Osmotherley very pretty, with at least two tea-shops and two pubs that we saw. Sausage sandwich in the 'Coffee Pot' was very good.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nortoon Lad 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights. We've been here before but stayed earlier on in the season. Pitching up is an absolute doodle, with nice flat hard core pitches. Everything is close by, fresh water, waste disposal etc. The site was very busy on the first day we arrived, there seemed a lot of owners who had seasonal pitches and obviously knew one another. There was a small group who were drinking all day. Not really a problem until it was getting dark when their voices seemed to get louder. I had decided to have an early night due to me doing 6 x 12 hour shifts before arriving on the Monday, at about 8 o'clock and had great difficulty getting to sleep because of the party going on behind us. To be honest this is only the second time we have ever experienced inconsiderate caravanners. I had originally given these people the benefit of the doubt because it wasn't dark however at about 9. 30 I felt I had to ask them to keep the noise down. To be fair they did quieten down a little. This was the only blot on our week, fortunately a lot of the seasonal caravanners seemed to leave on the Tuesday leaving peace and quiet. The facilities here a first class, with lovely clean toilet blocks. There was a lot of young families staying and it was an absolute joy seeing young children playing without a care in the world. There are some lovely walks near the site, you can join the Cleveland Way from here or just walk around the reservoir. The wardens are very friendly and happy to assist. There is a small shop on site or a shop in the nearby village. There are 2 pubs in the village, The Queen Catherine allows dogs, not sure about the other pub. Northallerton is approximately 10 miles away with a market on Wednesday and Saturday. Thanks very much Cote Ghyll, we will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cowhunter 3 reviews from this member

A good site but VERY expensive. Booked to stay a week but due to family emergency has to head home early, no refund offered and was disappointed to over hear the staff say they were full so could re-sell out pitch ( and still we were refused a refund), very disappointing service.

Site is good but several pitches are close together and facilities are overstretched at weekends. Not the easiest access down narrow lanes through a busy village made even more 'fun' when you meet the bus coming the other way!

Staff were ok but not very flexible which is disappointing as on previous visits they have been very friendly and helpful. Not sure we will go back but mainly based on price and customer service.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Olaf29 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site with well stocked shop and very friendly staff! We have been here once before and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times! The only problem is on the two sloped pitches it's quite hard to pitch your tent and in the morning you usually find yourself in the actual tent/ sitting area but not too bad we were on one of these pitches the first time but didn't mind!

Would definitely recommend this site and we will definitely be back!

Previous     186 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7523 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938