Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > York > Site Reviews

Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bracken Hill
Sheriff Hutton
York
York   (Browse area)
YO60 6QG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01347 878660

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 61 Reviews
              8/10 from 61 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (5)

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graym58 2 reviews from this member

This an all round fantastic site.

Shower blocks and all facilities first class.

You cannot win with the water too hot for some and too cold for others.

Camping field and pitches are well drained.

Wardens very friendly and helpful

Crammed in a bit August bank holiday we had a tent within 5 feet of our van but they where a nice family so we didn't complain but still they should have been advised not to pitch within 6 meters as is the rule.

This is my favorite club site

Cant really fault it.

Close to York for park and ride clifton moor and monks cross shopping centres.

We will be back next season

Cant wait

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wiggy25 5 reviews from this member

We have been to this site for a number of years now and seen it change.

We have stayed here in a tent, folding camper and a tent again, all on grass pitches.

In the years we have been going the number of hard standing pitches have increased beyond belief!

We arrived late on Friday night and was given the choice of two pitches, one right next to the barrier to leave site directly below trees and one stuck in a far corner between two hard standings, but not directly under the trees.

Luckily the caravan to the left of us didn't have an awning otherwise it would be difficult getting the car in/out.

There were a lot of caravans and motorhomes on site that night.

We didn't have electric hook up, and didn't want to be in the middle of the site near the play area (which has a couple of swings and a slide) so we just got shoved into one corner.

Which happens to be the lowest point on the whole site!

Luckily we only had rain one morning apparently just on/off showers. I do know this site floods and if there was a long period of heavy rain it could have been a problem.

The site wardens were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, they were limited in where they could pitch us as the site has so many hard standings now.

Facilities as usual spotless, lots of showers and sinks. There are a number of enclosed sinks as well.

Just a note the showers are push button and there is no temperature control.

They were VERY VERY hot, one night I couldn't actually stand under it as I prefer my skin staying attached to my body.

A great site to be based to explore the local area, with loads to do in and around York.

Saturday nights the chip van arrives, and there is always a queue as everything is cooked fresh to order, so be prepared to wait or get in line early.

There are a couple of chippies near by, one in Strensall village the other on the A64.

Tried both and both very nice :-)

If you want a nice Sunday Lunch the Highway Man pub in Sheriff Hutton Village is very nice, they also let the dog inside as well!

We may go back again when it's out of season so we have a better choice of grass pitch.

A nice semi quiet site (The birds make some noise in a morning)for touring the area.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebean 8 reviews from this member

Just back from a three night stay on this site. Very warm greeting on arrival, the site wardens are new to the site having moved across from the Delamere Forest site. We had asked for a pitch away from the power cables which cross one corner of the site and were offered a choice of several pitches. The warden popped back later to check we were OK. I have to say these were the friendliest wardens we have ever come across on a club site.

The site is flat with lovely grass and is well kept. The toilet block is exactly what you would expect of a club site, warm and clean with plenty of facilities. I would say the site was about a third full and I had the toilet block to myself on most visits.

There were a lot of vans and motorhomes, on our first night we were the only tent but then two more arrived the next day. There is a small play area which gives a spot for kids to gather, not much for them to do compared to other sites we have stayed on but that did not stop our son wandering off this morning as we were packing up and not coming back for two hours, I guess kids find things to do regardless of facilities.

We will be going back to this site partly because of the warm welcome and clean facilities and partly because it is so convenient for York.

The only downside we could find was the noise from the road in a morning and the birds at 4am!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Veema 12 reviews from this member

Had 4 days on this site in our folding camper. The site is lovely, flat and very green. It's just one big field with a circular road with pitches around the sides and in the middle. Being the bank holiday weekend, the site was almost full when we arrived in torrential rain.

The reception area was warm and clean and the lady that greeted us was pleasant and polite. She personally showed us to our pitch even though it was raining really hard. We always have a grass pitch and we were concerned about the amount of rain, but she assured us it was well draining and she was right, by the next morning, the ground was dry.

The toilet block was lovely and clean and also warm. There are 4 showers in the ladies, which on the Sunday morning with a full site meant there was a queue of about 5 people for the showers, the rest of the time, there weren't any queues. There are good quality, powerful hairdryers in the toilet block, but these did have to be paid for (think it was 20p, but no idea how long that got you). The block was cleaned between 11am and 12 noon, but there is a disabled toilet available and the lady who was cleaning let us use the toilets anyway.

There is a small play area on the site with swings and a slide, but to be honest, it just provided a meeting ground. Our daughter made friends on the first day and we hardly saw her after that.

The surrounding area is really pretty, with some lovely country villages. Dalby Forest is a great place for walking and biking. The park and ride into York was 2. 60 per adult return and children travel free. I would NOT recommend Jorvic. It was an expensive 45 minutes and not at all interesting for children.

We would recommend this site and would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josment 1 review from this member

Quick summary: excellent, quiet site, not much to do for children, good base for day trips to York, Hull (check out The Deep and Holy Trinity), Whitby, Scripp's Garage and the Aidensfield Arms (yes, THAT one from Heartbeat), North York Moors, Yorkshire Wolds, anywhere on the coast and many others.

We had two units - our touring caravan and a motorhome. We were able to park next to each other on hardstanding pitches with electric hook-ups. The site is level, or near enough, with a tarmac road circling through the large field.

The site is very well maintained. On the 5th day, we wondered what was wrong, then realised that we hadn't heard the daily grasscutting machine. No wonder the grass was more like a bowling green than a campsite - I didn't want to drive the car on it. However, there are no rules about parking on the grass, and there were plenty of tents and tent trailers on the grassy areas, with their cars next to them.

The toilet block is new - the Ladies was always spotless. Apparently, some ignorant types had vandalised the Gents though, pulling coat hooks off the walls - why do people need to do that? I did not use the showers, but the others said they were fine - plenty of hot water.

There are washing up areas at the toilet block, which were well used. Other facilities include: small fenced area for dogs (which must be always on leads on main site); help-yourself herbs by the office; two swings (one for toddlers); lots of sky.

The site itself is a bit too far to walk to Sheriff Hutton (for us anyway - all right, it's just over a mile to the pub). The Highwayman in SH does good food (and beer), and for an excellent meal (or takeaway) try the Paddyfields Chinese restaurant in Haxby (6 miles). We went to Paddyfields twice in one week as it was so good.

Please, please make sure you are there around 6-6:30pm on Saturday evening. The travelling fish and chip shop visits then and the fish was lovely. However, the chips were out of this world - as a Yorkshire lass exiled down south, it was just like coming home - only my mum could make chips as good as that, 50+ years ago.

All in all, thoroughly recommended as long as you can entertain yourselves.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reworht 6 reviews from this member

Spent the four sunniest, warmest days of the year (so far) on this absolutely immaculate site. It has the cleanest toilets I have ever seen, the hardstandings are regularly weeded to stop grass coming through; one of the wardens even goes round the toilet block at night and gets rid of any cobwebs - on the outside! Any noise from main road is not really a problem - the resident crows are noisier. There is easy access to York's Park & Ride system (which is a superb way of getting into the City centre)which has loads of attractions (National Railway Museum, Jorvik, a huge range of shops etc. ) for adults and children. All in all a fantastic site, superbly looked after by the wardens.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in York   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2248 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508