Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > York > Site Reviews

Sheriff Hutton Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bracken Hill
Sheriff Hutton
York
York   (Browse area)
YO60 6QG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01347 878660

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
              8/10 from 58 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Veema 10 reviews from this member

Had 4 days on this site in our folding camper. The site is lovely, flat and very green. It's just one big field with a circular road with pitches around the sides and in the middle. Being the bank holiday weekend, the site was almost full when we arrived in torrential rain.

The reception area was warm and clean and the lady that greeted us was pleasant and polite. She personally showed us to our pitch even though it was raining really hard. We always have a grass pitch and we were concerned about the amount of rain, but she assured us it was well draining and she was right, by the next morning, the ground was dry.

The toilet block was lovely and clean and also warm. There are 4 showers in the ladies, which on the Sunday morning with a full site meant there was a queue of about 5 people for the showers, the rest of the time, there weren't any queues. There are good quality, powerful hairdryers in the toilet block, but these did have to be paid for (think it was 20p, but no idea how long that got you). The block was cleaned between 11am and 12 noon, but there is a disabled toilet available and the lady who was cleaning let us use the toilets anyway.

There is a small play area on the site with swings and a slide, but to be honest, it just provided a meeting ground. Our daughter made friends on the first day and we hardly saw her after that.

The surrounding area is really pretty, with some lovely country villages. Dalby Forest is a great place for walking and biking. The park and ride into York was 2. 60 per adult return and children travel free. I would NOT recommend Jorvic. It was an expensive 45 minutes and not at all interesting for children.

We would recommend this site and would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josment 1 review from this member

Quick summary: excellent, quiet site, not much to do for children, good base for day trips to York, Hull (check out The Deep and Holy Trinity), Whitby, Scripp's Garage and the Aidensfield Arms (yes, THAT one from Heartbeat), North York Moors, Yorkshire Wolds, anywhere on the coast and many others.

We had two units - our touring caravan and a motorhome. We were able to park next to each other on hardstanding pitches with electric hook-ups. The site is level, or near enough, with a tarmac road circling through the large field.

The site is very well maintained. On the 5th day, we wondered what was wrong, then realised that we hadn't heard the daily grasscutting machine. No wonder the grass was more like a bowling green than a campsite - I didn't want to drive the car on it. However, there are no rules about parking on the grass, and there were plenty of tents and tent trailers on the grassy areas, with their cars next to them.

The toilet block is new - the Ladies was always spotless. Apparently, some ignorant types had vandalised the Gents though, pulling coat hooks off the walls - why do people need to do that? I did not use the showers, but the others said they were fine - plenty of hot water.

There are washing up areas at the toilet block, which were well used. Other facilities include: small fenced area for dogs (which must be always on leads on main site); help-yourself herbs by the office; two swings (one for toddlers); lots of sky.

The site itself is a bit too far to walk to Sheriff Hutton (for us anyway - all right, it's just over a mile to the pub). The Highwayman in SH does good food (and beer), and for an excellent meal (or takeaway) try the Paddyfields Chinese restaurant in Haxby (6 miles). We went to Paddyfields twice in one week as it was so good.

Please, please make sure you are there around 6-6:30pm on Saturday evening. The travelling fish and chip shop visits then and the fish was lovely. However, the chips were out of this world - as a Yorkshire lass exiled down south, it was just like coming home - only my mum could make chips as good as that, 50+ years ago.

All in all, thoroughly recommended as long as you can entertain yourselves.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Reworht 3 reviews from this member

Spent the four sunniest, warmest days of the year (so far) on this absolutely immaculate site. It has the cleanest toilets I have ever seen, the hardstandings are regularly weeded to stop grass coming through; one of the wardens even goes round the toilet block at night and gets rid of any cobwebs - on the outside! Any noise from main road is not really a problem - the resident crows are noisier. There is easy access to York's Park & Ride system (which is a superb way of getting into the City centre)which has loads of attractions (National Railway Museum, Jorvik, a huge range of shops etc. ) for adults and children. All in all a fantastic site, superbly looked after by the wardens.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rabble 14 reviews from this member

We arrived first as part of a large group and after some confusion and a grumpy gentleman complaining about a member of our party pulling out of the way on to the grass while the confusion was sorted out, our stay was very good and the rest of the staff very accommodating the helpful.

The location was good for York and Harrogate. The toilet block was immaculate and the grass very well kept the ground being excellent for tent pegs. The small play area was just enough for the children although I think if the site had been fuller there would have been very little room for them to play.

Good site good location!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cybercamperat 7 reviews from this member

The site is really very well kept and in pretty countryside. There is some road noise mainly during the day but it's not intrusive.

The toilet and shower facilities are excellent and super clean. Reception operates a freezer pack hire system and there is a little shop. Good Orange mobile phone signal.

The access to York is brilliant especially via the Park and Ride (do check time of last bus). Nearby beyond the lure of York itself there are simply loads of wonderful attractions and sights. Fountains Abbey was rather spectacular.

Sadly whilst I will return to the area I would never return to this site as one of the site assistants made me feel like an inconvenience rather than a customer. The rest of the team were fine and indeed one of the other site assistants was very helpful.

Shame really as other than that experience this is a gold star site and a credit to the CCC.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wardley17 2 reviews from this member

Keypad barrier entry, new resurfaced site roads. Grass pitch used was a good size, hardstanding pitches looked to have been relaid. The only waste bins are at the entrance before reception. Toilet block was very clean and heated, with plenty of hot water. The dishwashing area is covered over, but the water was never hot only tepid not good enough to clear grease off pans etc. Road alongside site is well used and a bit noisy at night, mainly due to speed of cars.

Previous     58 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in York   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0449