Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hill Of Oaks

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Hill Of Oaks
Tower Wood
(lake District)
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8NR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 015395 31578

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: March To Mid November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
              9/10 from 44 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

We were given pitch 19, next to the shower block. This was advantageous and not noisy. However, pitch not entirely levelled and in the shade all day. This pitch does not have lake view. The facilities are clean and free and the shop has a good selection of product but it is not cheap.

Walking from the site is limited: there is a woodland walk (steep and muddy) which out cocker spaniel enjoyed, but to you have to walk off site and crowd the main road. There is nothing else in walking distance.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Although it is a nice site I would say more suited to static and caravan. I probably would not use again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 17 reviews from this member

Spent 6 nights here on a full service pitch next to the facilities block-pitch 19. No issues with noise from the block which is superbly appointed. Shower cubicles are the biggest I've seen in the uk-just wish people were more careful clearing up after themselves. As stated before limited opportunities for walking from the site due to its location on a very sy road but we knew that when we booked. No digital tv signal at all despite the reception lady saying it was all ok and had been checked. It didn't really bother us as we were usually don't take a tv anyway-husband wanted to watch the rugby. WiFi available at a cost through Oobi but so unreliable-my advice would be don't bother! Just use the free wifi available at locations in nearby Bowness. Was our wedding anniversary so we treated ourselves to a lovely meal at the Lamplighters in Windermere-can also recommend the Angel in Bowness. As always the chocobar in Bowness was a gourmet hot chocolate delight and we also watched a film at the royalty cinema on the Friday night. Walking wise we took the ferry from Bowness to Ambleside to join up twitch the launch to Wray Castle for the 4 mile lakeside walks to ferry side then returned to Bowness. Very enjoyable and easy stroll on a sunny afternoon.

Overall, the site is a static holiday park with an area set aside for tourers. It's not a specialised touring park so the staff although helpful don't have the same expertise you would find on a CCC site for example. None the worse for that. We met some nice people, but wouldn't go there again. Am not a dog fan and most of the caravanners seemed to have them and with the site geographics, you can't avoid them. But that's my issue not theirs

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sandypandyxxx 3 reviews from this member

We were very lucky to get a cancellation site right next to the Lake (Windermere). The view across the lake was super and the plot was quite big and separated by high hedges to give privacy. Electric and water were both available at each plot so this made motorhoming a doddle. There were lots of other plots dotted about the whole site but we did not see what facilities they had. We did not use the showers as they were quite a distance from our plot but there was a very clean loo near to us which was open from 8. 00am to dusk. The rest of the site is very hilly up to the road, which, from the Lake is quite a distance (electric bikes helped with that!) The shop is well-stocked for a site shop and has papers delivered too. There's a bus goes into Bowness until 5. 00pm and a taxi back was 11. There is also one boat which goes from the jetty at 10. 00am which will take you down to Newby Bridge about 2. 5 miles away.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trisherbell 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay in our tourer. We originally booked 2 nights but within half an hour of arrival we decided we needed another night! Luckily there was the one night available, which was booked in no time.

Lovely clean shower block, but if I decided to use the facilities after my husband has gone in the mens - or vice versa - this was not possible due to the fact you get one key. (10 returnable deposit). A key each would be better.

The pitch was pretty flat, but unfortunately our view was not what we hoped. No view of the lake at all, just trees a few short metres away.

We were looking forward to lakeside walks, but this is not possible on this site.

TV reception is through an aerial socket on the hook up point, but we were not aware of this the first night, bought the long aerial lead for our second which worked, but our last night we had no signal at all. Luckily we do not rely on TV, but for some this could be an issue. The same with WiFi. I paid for access but it wasn't great.

The area is stunning. The site is not too far from places to visit. Maybe our expectations were too high but not being able to see the lake was a let down.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 26 reviews from this member

The clue is in the name of the site - Hill of Oaks - it is situated on a very steep hill leading down to the lake where the reception can be found. You then go back partly back up the hill and the touring site is situated in a clearing between the trees. There is no view at all of the lake or anything else other than trees all around.

Pitches are of varied size and some very uneven. Only a few are actually level. They slope back to front as well as sideways.

The toilet and shower block are immaculate. Each toilet has its own sink, hand soap and hand dryer. The showers are very roomy with lovely hot water and NO push button. Hair dryer is free.

The reception has a well stocked shop and tourist information. You can sit by the lake to enjoy an ice cream but there are no lakeside walks just the area where the boats more up. Walking direct from the site is limited to crossing over the main road and going up another hill before you can walk on the hills.

The bus stop is right outside the site exit and they run too time but are not very frequent. A nice site but not one we would return again

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winstonsax 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend in May 2016 it was great we were a long time travelling but the 8:00pm cut off time is very reasonable and not too much trouble if you are going to be late a couple arrived pretty late on the Friday (13th!) after picking up their new motor home the staff were very helpful. The toilet/shower block was kept very clean lots of hot water and toilet paper, can't fault the site at all the pitches are very large you can get your caravan, car and a boat! all on one pitch. All pitches are on a hard slate/stone/gravel type requiring rock pegs for awning/sun shades canopies etc. We had a lovely little stream running behind us which was very nice unfortunately some children were playing on our pitch in and over the stream before we arrived and wanted to carry on doing so but it was upsetting our dogs and it meant they kept clambering over and jumping on our bright orange hook up lead. Then Friday night was horrendous with the families of the children drinking and shouting upto 1:30am and the odd call out at 2:00am, unfortunately the 'no noise after 10:30pm' can not be enforced on such a big site. I just wish that some fellow caravanners would be considerate when they choose to have a bbq and drinks to keep the noise to a minimum, we never heard a peep out of the children after 8:00pm.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5731 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0996
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window