Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cliff House Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Cliff House Holiday Park
Minsmere Road
Dunwich
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 3DQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01728 648282

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby:
5m  10m  5m   10m  10m  5m 

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 79 Reviews
              8/10 from 79 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnjory 88 reviews from this member

Happy to agree with previous reviews published since I was last here May 2012. So in order to avoid repetition, Iíll just mention the following;

Main facilities block has received a major interior refurbishment. However, push button type shower taps with irritatingly short time settings retained.

Second brand new facilities block constructed which seems to serve area reserved for seasonal pitches.

Most pitches are under trees which makes for nice bird song, but you will find yourself covered in bird droppings. Also, in stormy conditions you might find debris from trees falling on you.

Site now open all year.

A personal recommendation: Nature activities for children on Dunwich Heath organised from Ranger Hut adjacent to National Trust Coastguard Cottages and Cafe.

To sum up: A first class site, but you might want to ask for a pitch which is not under trees.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Smiffinch 19 reviews from this member

We have stayed here twice in the self-catering cottages (in spring/autumn) and we love this site. We plan to come back next summer with our tent, so I can't comment on the camping facilities but purely on location, this site is a winner.

It's very quiet and beautiful, with direct access to the beach. You can walk along the beach to Dunwich village (nice pub and very interesting museum) or the other way to the (National Trust) Dunwich Heath.

One advantage is that you can hire bikes on site. To be honest, the bikes could do with a little more maintenance, but we usually manage to find ones that are serviceable and the rates are reasonable. You can then cycle up to Dunwich Forest or to the RSPB reserve at Minsmere.

The shop is basic (nearest supermarkets Saxmundham or Kelsale) and we have only tried the restaurant when it had a 'all you can eat buffet' night which we didn't really like but the bar is very nice.

If you choose to stay in the self catering cottages, they are very well equipped and also a reasonable price. Looking forward to going back and trying out the camping.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ginster-pies 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a 6 night stay at Cliff House. We arrived Sunday evening, and left Saturday morning. Campsite was very quiet until the Friday night, when the weekenders arrived and it got a lot busier.

Washing/Showering/washup facilities were good, clean and functional, but I am not sure they are plentiful enough for a full site - The site was virtually empty when we were there, so it was fine, but as it got busier on the friday night / saturday, my wife had to regularly wait to use a sink or toilet.

We were in pitch 214, which was bark based, and under the trees, but was sheltered and flat and a decent size, and only seconds from the beach. We liked the fact that the trees sheltered the site from the winds, but with the obvious drawback of bird droppings and sap/twigs on the tent come take down time.

The on site shop was functional, but we had some fantastic produce from Emmerdales farm shop in Yoxford, down the road. The Ship Inn in Dunwich does lovely beer. We had a few drinks also in the on site bar, but didn;t sample the food. We hired bikes from on site, but I was disappointed with the quality of these, will take my own next time.

Overall, we loved the site, and would definitely return, but will avoid weekends and high season, as I think the site would feel very different when full.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loubie-at-home 2 reviews from this member

We were allocated pitch 184 when we booked. Could see by the map its location however when we arrived discovered it was a small pitch with a footpath running through it. Told to pitch 6 metres from next tent which was an impossibility. The work compound next to us was in use from 7. 30 every morning, the container unit was opened loudly, the tractor started up and also the digger to start their regular drives past our tent. The red 'poo' truck sat in there causing a disgusting smell.

The noise level was terrible and went on very late. We could clearly hear the playground and the bar, both of which were still causing noise at gone 11pm.

The showers were dated and you had no control over temperature of water. The button to press to start the shower was in the dressing area and when the watered stopped you had to again enter the dressing area to press it again. I could not have a complete shower on one press of the button. There are no private wash cubicles. With only three showers you always had to wait to have one, you also would have to wait to clean your teeth in the morning.

I found the shop was poorly stocked when we arrived, however half way through our ten day stay it did improve slightly. It was a bonus you could order your daily newspaper if required.

The best part of the site was the direct beach access and being able to walk through the statics area to gain a little peace.

The central location of the site was good and we were able to visit lots of Suffolk.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josie+steve+bazil 16 reviews from this member

We chose this particular site as my other half wanted to do some beach fishing and this was one of the few sites which had its own beach access.

I had reservations about the site after reading some of the reviews, especially the fact that most of the pitches are sited under trees which brings its own set of problems. Being so close to the beach made up for this and we had a lovely 5 days (Monday to Friday). The sound of the sea was lovely to hear and were able to run the dog off the lead on there. He loved swimming in the sea! It never ceases to amaze me that there are some dog owners that do not clear up after their dog. Yes, you do still have to clear it up from the beach, the sea doesn't wash it away when it's right at the bottom of the steps and children, especially, will probably tread in it. Rant over!

Back to the site. I think you have take on board all that has been said in previous reviews as they are all relevant and make your mind up from there. We found the showers that were up near reception, perfectly clean and spacious and powerful and hot. And free!

It is a very higgildy piggildy site with lots of lodges and statics and tent pitches in amongst touring pitches. It does feel a bit closed in but that's because of the canopy of trees.

There are lots of separate areas so doesn't feel as though you're on a big site, even though you actually are.

When we booked we asked if we could be as close to the beach access as possible so were given pitch 197. It was ok for our needs but if you were putting up a full size awning, there may not have been much more room. We didn't bother as we were only there for 5 days and the trees supplied the canopy!

We had been told that all the pitches were full for the weekend and I would imagine it becomes quite noisy with all those extra people around and a lot of footfall past the pitches to get to the beach.

I think that if we wanted another break like we've just had, then we would go to this site again. I don't think we would go over a weekend as it will be far too busy. Mind you, we are a couple of old 'farts' who, given the choice, would normally pick an adult only site! Would imagine that for families with children, this site has lots to offer. (and to a previous reviewer, the beach has plenty of room for throwing of balls, frisbee, etc!)

Also, the site staff were helpful and polite. We had to have our van off the pitch by 11am but wanted to go to Southwold, so asked if we could leave van parked somewhere safe while we out for the day and they accommodated us.

All in all, I actually embraced the site even though I was uncertain when we first arrived.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Basichendo 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here the weekend of 7th June 2013. We stayed in a tent on pitch 187 with EHU. That pitch and the ones near it, in fact most on site, are completely covered by trees.

As for the site itself.

Location - really good location with steps that lead down to the beach! That was superb and there is a 1. 5-2 mile walk along to 'sunken' Dunwich where lovely fish and chips can be enjoyed on the beach, superb! Nice part of the world really.

Pitch - this was bark and was fairly small. We used our Woolacombe 6, the Bear Lake would have been too big for the pitch I think. Also, the front of the tent was only 1 metre from one of the roads running through the park - not the nicest. I did specify how big the tent was before arriving, I quoted the BL6 size in fact as I've only just got the Woolacombe, but it was still pokey.

Facilities - there is a small playground for the kids but nowhere really for them to play ball games / frisbee etc. As it is mainly woodland there are no open spaces. The beach is epic but on site kids facilities are not the best. I cannot comment on the restaurant as we arrived on the Friday night and ate our own, planning to use the restaurant on Saturday. We couldn't. There was a wedding on so could not use it, we were told though that we could have breakfast on Sunday morning from 9. We couldn't. We were queuing up at 0855 with two hungry boys to be told it was only for wedding guests! Bit miffed with that but found a great pub 6 miles away (at Westleton - the Crown I think) that did a stonking brekkie! The toilets / showers were clean and fine but a bit tight. A family room would be great.

All in all a good site and we enjoyed it, but when compared with others I am saying 7/10.

Previous     79 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Suffolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469