Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cheddar Bridge Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Cheddar Bridge Touring Park
Draycott Road
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3RJ   See Map
Tel: 01934 743048
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Pitches: 65
Open: March 11th - November 6th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 171 Reviews
                9/10 from 171 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anneparker 6 reviews from this member

Our second visit and we'll definitely be back. The owners are friendly and helpful and the facilities clean. The scones (with jam and cream) on offer at reception were wonderful! It's a short walk into town via the footpath out of the back of the site where you can shop (Tesco express even open on Sunday evening) and the food at The Bath Arms is superb. We didn't go to the Gorge on this visit but that's an easy walk from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshireman 9 reviews from this member

Spent 2 weeks on this site and found it as good as the CMC site next door.

We enjoyed the quiet setting and the 10 minute path walk into the village keeps you off the road.

Very clean and well maintained by the staff. Showers plenty of hot


Happily return again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 38 reviews from this member

Pleasant adults only site nicely positioned on the edge of Cheddar. The walk into the town takes about 10/15 mins down the old railway track (now a cycle and walk way) which you can access through a gate from the site.

Touring pitches are on flat level ground, hard standing and grass pitches are available, some by the River. There are two Toilet Blocks one located close to the Reception and the other albeit small in the middle of the touring area.

Plenty to do in Cheddar with lots of tea rooms, cafe's, restaurants and pubs. We had a meal in both the Bath Arms and The Riverside Inn and they were very good. Sainsbury's supermarket 5 mins from the site.

There are lots of signs around the site stating 'dogs on lead at all times' but the majority of dog owners ignore it and the site do not enforce it (so what is the point of the signs)! If this bothers you this may not be the site for you but we would thoroughly recommend this site and intend to return next year.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SadieKemp 5 reviews from this member

This is a very friendly campsite with a relaxed feel. It is homely and there is a little path that takes you up to the town avoiding the busy roads. There is lots to do at nearby Cheddar Gorge. The historic city of Wells is nearby and is worth a visit particularly on market day.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Margie3 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here end of May beginning of June for 3 nights in our motorhome. We had a very warm welcome from the owner who even printed out a walk from a guide book for us.

Thoroughly recommend this site for lots of reasons. It is adult only which was great during the May half term for us. Very peaceful and even the church bells were not annoying. We could choose our pitch and there were plenty of hard standing ones, the grass all around was well kept and lush.

The site is quite small so facilities are not too far away wherever you pitch.

It was great being able to walk into Cheddar easily where there are a couple of supermarkets and lots of cafes/tea rooms.

All in all we could not fault it, especially at the price of 58 for 3 nights.

We hope to come back soon!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BarryLeslie 5 reviews from this member

Great site - and good value for money. 5 minute walk to village with all facilities and Gorge. Large, level gravel pitches with electricity. Adjacent to Caravan and Motorhome site so competition probably results in the excellent value (16) Note: adults only.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brievans 5 reviews from this member

A really quiet site ideally situated on the edge of Cheddar village.

Various pitch sizes but most of a good size. Good walks into Cheddar, previous reviewers have questioned the directions etc so. Go out of the side gate and turn right along the stream, under the bridge and up the steps, walk left and at first chance turn right into a small road. Walk to the end and you are on the main road. This does avoid walking on the main road without a footpath for about 50 metres.

We drove once up the gorge and then to the road towards the Glider school. Along this road you get wonderful views out towards the sea but it is quite steep.

Loads to do in the area, we went to Bristol, Bath, Wells, Glastonbury and Street (Clarke's village)

Only 2 showers but never had to wait and probably the largest showers that I've been in.

Would visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alistair Munro 2 reviews from this member

I had visited this site quite a few years ago, and found it to be very pleasant. I am glad to report that it remains so.

A smallish site, that suits campers seeking a quiet, restful stay. Situated very conveniently for exploring Cheddar Gorge, Wells, Bath, Weston-super-Mare and Somerset. There is a good quality supermarket, and many other local shops well within walking distance. The un-serviced tent area is lovely, marred only by SON street lamps that cast into the site from the public foot path outside.

The facilities are all good and as described by their website, and by other reviewers. I asked some other visitors who were staying in the pods on site. They said they were very impressed with them, especially how clean and comfortable they were.

Allowing visitors to chose pitching position where possible is a particularly welcome touch.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MaryKin 8 reviews from this member

We stayed in this lovely little site for 6 days at the end of April/beginning of May. (We had tried to get into the Caravan Club site next door but it was full as it was a bank holiday - in the event we were not in any way disappointed once we had arrived and seen both sites). We were able to choose our own pitch and opted for one beside the river and the bottom end of the site. We are retirees who enjoy seeing families camping and are not put off by children playing, so the adults-only nature of this site didn't matter to us.

As others have said, the main shower block was very well kept and always clean, with hand wash provided. The very basic toilets near the camping field and closest to our pitch were not so well kept but adequate for a quick visit.

It was a pleasant walk into Cheddar and we enjoyed walking the gorge on one of our days (though quite strenuous). Make sure you find the National Trust shop right at the end of the village for information on how to access the gorge walk without paying the tourist entry fee.

A good location for a day out to Bath, and a nice enough site for just lazing about with the church bells reminding of time gently passing. Perfect holiday combination.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 11 reviews from this member

Lovely camp site, set alongside the river, close enough to the village to walk to but far away enough to be tranquil. The site has large hard standing pitches with grass and you can choose which one you want. The bathrooms were immaculate, with really spacious shower cubicles.

The village is only a 10 minute walk away, where you can explore the Cheddar caves, access the many walks or get something to eat.

There is a Tesco Express and a Sainsburys' near to the site, walk to the back of Sainsburys and go through the small housing estate and you cut off the lower half of the main road to access Cheddar Village.

Bath Arms, White Hart Inn both good for food, but book in the summer as they are popular.

The owners are so friendly and helpful, Chislehurst ponds was discussed and the fact our TV aerial wasn't working, next minute they had lent us one.

Loads to see and do in this area and we didn't have enough time, we will be back and will definitely stay here

Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Holidaymaker 500 Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1,000 Win an Win an OLPRO Cubo Campervan Awning

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Spring Motorhome & Caravan Show Newark 17 to 18 March 2018
First major outdoor show of the season for day visitors, weekend campers, club rallies and trade stands ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

1338 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017