Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Serenity Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Serenity Campsite
High Street
Hinderwell
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 5JH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 841122

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 20 touring / motorhome pitches, 30+ camping
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
              9/10 from 189 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (17)

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Garethn 1 review from this member

Beautifully maintained and serviced site. Toilets, showers etc the cleanest and best provisioned we've ever stayed at. Nice little facilities/information room with sofas, wifi books etc. Staff very helpful and friendly. Site very tranquil and restful. Site well situated for Whitby and the coast.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kfosk 4 reviews from this member

Very pleasant site with attention paid towards the design of the facilities.

We loved the quirky touches around the site, including mosaics and a very comfortable bathroom area with piped radio during the day.

The site was fairly full when we visited, and I had a very short wait once for the loos at peak changeover time in the morning, otherwise no problem.

We really appreciated the indoor pot-washing facilities. Very clean with a nice view out of the window.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 5 reviews from this member

A lovely site with friendly owners!

There are separate areas for tents, vans and seasonal pitches, all well tended. The buildings and pathways are all well maintained and the approach is lovely. There is a comfortable Wifi/information shed and the washing room even has a kettle and microwave. Toilets were clean and to a good standard.

Our one criticism is that there are only 6 showers (2 in the mens, 2 in the ladies and 2 separate). We get up very early and shower before 7am so had no problems, but I can imagine queues at busy times.

The site is actually in the centre of the village so no need to drive. The bus from Middlesbro' / Whitby goes through Hinderwell and stops close to the entrance (£5. 20 for an adult from Whitby, dogs are free).

There is an excellent pizza/pasta/coffee shop and takeaway just 100 yards from the site and two pubs.

Both pubs take dogs although the Badger Hounds didn't have real ale on Thursday night as apparently they 'only have it at the weekend'. The landlady obviously knew nothing about beer and was surprised when we declined bottled ales.

The Brown Cow looks more dated but we received a very friendly welcome. It is obviously the locals pub but we felt very welcome and were told by others the food was good.

From the back of the site you are straight onto a track to exercise dogs and you can walk inland directly from there.

If you want to do the Cleveland Way you walk down the high street then 3/4 of a mile down a quiet lane to Runswick Bay. The path follows the beach (but not at high tide) and it's about 7 miles to Whitby. Alternatively it is about 1/2 a mile North to Port Mulgrave and a further mile to Staithes.

A lovely sight and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubbers 5 reviews from this member

What a fantastic find this site is. Facilities are spotless, free wi-fi, local radio in the washrooms was good for weather reports and traffic. The pizza's in the village are amazing, two pubs, chip shop and butcher. We will certainly be back. The ground in the touring caravan/motorhome field is slightly uneven (looks like ancient ridge & farrow) so take levelling blocks. Runswick Bay is a 15 minute walk, Whitby 10 miles by clifftop. The food and service at the Cliffemount Hotel is not as good as it could be! Other than that a fabulous campsite with brilliant wardens in a lovely area.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 12 reviews from this member

Nothing much to add about the campsite that others haven't already said, lovely place! Just a point to note is that the Badger Hounds pub across the road has not had a chef since before Christmas and so are only serving Sunday lunches.

We'd hoped to eat there having had a lovely meal last year but instead walked to the local butcher for supplies and cooked in.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alison10 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site, stayed for a week with hubby and dog. Good area for walking and very dog friendly. Pub near the entrance of the site also allowed dogs. Good base for Staithes, Runswick Bay Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay. All site amenities very good and would definitely recommend a visit.

On our first day one of our camping chairs broke and the warden let us borrow one of his for the rest of our stay. Lovely friendly site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy nolan 1 review from this member

The site was lovely and quiet. Early in the morning it was so peaceful and seeing all the ducks walking around the site was lovely. We were so pleased that dogs are allowed on the site as well. We had the lovely Sands end beach about 4miles away which has a big dog friendly part.

I work with small children and for me I wanted a quiet peaceful break and that is exactly what I got. The children on the site were extremely well behaved.

The warden and his wife were extremely helpful and friendly but were not in your face. They told us about the local amenities such as beaches/pubs/fish shop/café.

There was a lovely fish shop in the village about 5 mins walk

As well as a lovely café the Runcible Spoon. The owner of the café was very friendly and she made and sold some lovely cakes and more. I loved the kitchen area which was very clean and I also loved the little tourist information lodge where the internet could be accessed/pick up leaflets/borrow a book to read. We will definitely be going back and I would recommend it for a peaceful break

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John.jj 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Serenity Campsite last week for the first time. Was welcomed by the very friendly owner who showed us to our pitch and the facilities. Pitches are on a slight slope but not too much of a problem.

It's nice to have the chickens walking around the site but the excrement they leave around the tents not so nice. Fresh eggs are available for purchase from the Site office. Toilets and showers are very clean, as are the washing up facilities and WiFi hut, where there are a good selection of tourist information leaflets, a selection of books and magazines and some comfy sofas to sit on and check your emails etc. My only complaint would be for the disabled wash room which is a necessity for one of our group ( and one of the main reasons we booked this site ). Unfortunately the disabled facilities is a shared Family / disabled room. On most occasions my friend had to queue to use the facility which was being used by a fully able bodied adult who could have used the main showers. To make it worse this room was locked at night which caused some problems. People with disabilities still have them at night. I would suggest a radar key lock be fitted for use at night and a strict message for the conditions of use on the door.

This aside, we had an enjoyable stay. Shame we had poor weather but that can't be helped.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sama 5 reviews from this member

Having not visited this part of the UK before, we decided this year to spend a week in the area. We found the site was ideally suited to what we wanted i. E the facilities were clean, it was quiet, the location was superb, the owners were friendly and more than willing to help with any queries.

Even though there were quite a few staying while we were there, it did not feel crowded or busy (I think this is probably down to the layout of the site).

Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cazie6 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic few days away at Serenity for our anniversary. It was our first time at this site and first time glamping and we loved it that much we extended our stay by a further night (would have been more but unfortunately we have work the next day).

The Bell Tent we stayed in was absolutely brilliant. All you need to bring is bedding and towels, everything else is included. What was a brilliant touch is a welcome pack with milk, fresh eggs from the chickens on site, teacakes (delicious) and biscuits. The bed was comfy and the only noise came from the cockeral in the morning and the ducks (definitely not a complaint t)! It was great having g the ducks and little ducklings wandering up to our tent.

The site itself is spotlessly clean and whilst I had no mobile signal on site it was actually a welcome relief and there is an information hut with free wifi for those missing the Internet so badly. The toilets and showers again were spotlessly clean as well as the washing up room which also had a fridge/freezer fot campers as well as a microwave and washer and dryer.

All in all its a great little gem and a great base for exploring the coast line. Hinderwell is a lovely little village with two pubs, a chippy, shop and butcher and further down there is Staithes which has a coop and of course Runswick Bay, Sandsend and Whitby and beyond. The walk from Hinderwell to Runswick is lovely and you can always get the bus back should the steep hill tire you out too much on the climb back up!

The couple who run the site are very nice, friendly and have a wealth of local knowledge and are always around should you need anything.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we'll hopefully be back soon.

Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5279 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1250