Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Serenity Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Serenity Campsite
High Street
Hinderwell
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 5JH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 841122

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 20 touring / motorhome pitches, 30+ camping
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 196 Reviews
              9/10 from 196 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (17)

Reviews:  196 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Biggles 2012 1 review from this member

A lovely site with some nice touches with spotless facilities but that's not what you what to read as it's all been said before. It's an undulating site so blocks will be needed, the hard standing was also undulating but we weren't charged extra for it. The piped music previously mentioned wasn't on but would be a nice touch, the showers could have been hotter and the wi-fi is hit and miss but these are minor issues which shouldn't detract from this fine place. Not sure if it's the time of year but there were a lot of dogs on site-as there were in the surrounding areas, buses, cafes, restaurants etc with Whitby's streets resembling a kennels so if you're not keen on dogs. In summary nice site, well run, spotless shower block. Pub, cafe, butchers and beach in walking distance-whats not to like!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged1 2 reviews from this member

This one of the best campsites we have been on by far. Just read all the other reviews. Lovely and friendly staff and with excellent facilities. My kids respected that it was a quiet site on the way up to the facilities pass the motor homes and static caravans. We had the whole bottom field to yourselves where it is nice and soft and sheltered. My three children have given the campsite 10/10 and want to go back again. The attention to detail and thought that has and is going into the site is amazing. Can we have our fans membership card please.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AndrewKay 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a superb stay at Serenity Caravans and Camping at Hinderwell.

It is very good site and extremely well run by Wes and Sarah whose enthusiam can be seen throughout the site.

Very clean and spacious loos and shower unit. A large pots and clothes washing area.

Social area with books tourist information etc. You could want for nothing more.

There was lots of room for our motorhome and with walks in all directions and a very good pub restraunt 100m away we have returned with glowing thoughts.

Cant wait to return.

Thank you Wes and Sarah.

Best wishes going forward.

Andrew Sarah Kay.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Speedmook 1 review from this member

We have had a lovely 3 days at this site. The pitches are spacious and only very gently sloping. All facilities are clean and well maintained. Narrow driveway is not as tight as it looks! Plenty of room to manoeuvre.

We often visit this area but this was the first time in a caravan. We will definitely return to Serenity and highly recommend.

For information a return bus ticket to Whitby was £7. 10 which was our wet weather plan. Buses very regular but last bus home 7pm ish!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JLMay 2 reviews from this member

This site lives up to its name. It is very peaceful, well run and a great base to explore the area from. The owners were very friendly and helpful when we met them but otherwise leave you in peace. The facilities are very clean and in good condition. This is definitely one of the best sites I have stayed in.

If mobile phone signal is important to you then be aware that my husband and I are both with Vodafone and could not receive a signal at all in this village.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

Our second visit and will not be our last we love it here. Good hard standings 3 fully serviced. Plenty of room for tents campers etc. Good clean toilet blocks and even when site was full there was very little waiting. A lovely little wooden hut was full of information WFI and comfy seating. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The village had everything you would need 2 pubs that served food (dog friendly), a good fish and chip shop, lovely café/bistro with adjacent pizza shop( I had breakfast) good butchers that sold other goods. The post office was a good little shop and sold Newspapers that you could order. Lovely walks to Port Mulgrave, Staithes, Runswick bay and many more places. Bus stops in the village with buses to Whitby and Saltburn etc. We will be back soon.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tilly26may 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights Saturday to a Tuesday, the site was almost full over the weekend and quieter Monday and Tuesday but throughout it remained quiet and relaxing.

The shower block is very clean, with piped music and flowers and liquid soap and hand cream, plus a privacy shower room/ family bathroom.

There was a cosy little garden house with the wifi and tourists info which was popular.

There was an excellent indoor kitchen and laundry with everything in you could possibly need.

The views were really lovely and the pitches were very generous.

Wouldn't recommend for families as nothing for the kids really but for adults it's lovely. It was well maintained the staff were polite and friendly, just left you to it unless you had a problem which we never. The village is not really a tourist location but Runswick is walkable distance with a nice pub The Runswick Hotel which the locals were friendly. The meat pie was absolutely fab.

We had a great walk to Sandsend with beautiful views of the coast. Visited Whitby which was quaint and had nice shops and cafes, with easy parking.

Would I visit this site again it's a definite possibility.

Well done to the staff keep up the good work. 10/10

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Garethn 1 review from this member

Beautifully maintained and serviced site. Toilets, showers etc the cleanest and best provisioned we've ever stayed at. Nice little facilities/information room with sofas, wifi books etc. Staff very helpful and friendly. Site very tranquil and restful. Site well situated for Whitby and the coast.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kfosk 8 reviews from this member

Very pleasant site with attention paid towards the design of the facilities.

We loved the quirky touches around the site, including mosaics and a very comfortable bathroom area with piped radio during the day.

The site was fairly full when we visited, and I had a very short wait once for the loos at peak changeover time in the morning, otherwise no problem.

We really appreciated the indoor pot-washing facilities. Very clean with a nice view out of the window.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 12 reviews from this member

A lovely site with friendly owners!

There are separate areas for tents, vans and seasonal pitches, all well tended. The buildings and pathways are all well maintained and the approach is lovely. There is a comfortable Wifi/information shed and the washing room even has a kettle and microwave. Toilets were clean and to a good standard.

Our one criticism is that there are only 6 showers (2 in the mens, 2 in the ladies and 2 separate). We get up very early and shower before 7am so had no problems, but I can imagine queues at busy times.

The site is actually in the centre of the village so no need to drive. The bus from Middlesbro' / Whitby goes through Hinderwell and stops close to the entrance (£5. 20 for an adult from Whitby, dogs are free).

There is an excellent pizza/pasta/coffee shop and takeaway just 100 yards from the site and two pubs.

Both pubs take dogs although the Badger Hounds didn't have real ale on Thursday night as apparently they 'only have it at the weekend'. The landlady obviously knew nothing about beer and was surprised when we declined bottled ales.

The Brown Cow looks more dated but we received a very friendly welcome. It is obviously the locals pub but we felt very welcome and were told by others the food was good.

From the back of the site you are straight onto a track to exercise dogs and you can walk inland directly from there.

If you want to do the Cleveland Way you walk down the high street then 3/4 of a mile down a quiet lane to Runswick Bay. The path follows the beach (but not at high tide) and it's about 7 miles to Whitby. Alternatively it is about 1/2 a mile North to Port Mulgrave and a further mile to Staithes.

A lovely sight and we will definitely return.

Previous     196 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 9 - 11th June
Kent - Hundreds of traders and dealers and weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2695