Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Serenity Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Serenity Campsite
High Street
Hinderwell
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 5JH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 841122

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 20 touring / motorhome pitches, 30+ camping
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 181 Reviews
              9/10 from 181 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (17)

Reviews:  181 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cazie6 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic few days away at Serenity for our anniversary. It was our first time at this site and first time glamping and we loved it that much we extended our stay by a further night (would have been more but unfortunately we have work the next day).

The Bell Tent we stayed in was absolutely brilliant. All you need to bring is bedding and towels, everything else is included. What was a brilliant touch is a welcome pack with milk, fresh eggs from the chickens on site, teacakes (delicious) and biscuits. The bed was comfy and the only noise came from the cockeral in the morning and the ducks (definitely not a complaint t)! It was great having g the ducks and little ducklings wandering up to our tent.

The site itself is spotlessly clean and whilst I had no mobile signal on site it was actually a welcome relief and there is an information hut with free wifi for those missing the Internet so badly. The toilets and showers again were spotlessly clean as well as the washing up room which also had a fridge/freezer fot campers as well as a microwave and washer and dryer.

All in all its a great little gem and a great base for exploring the coast line. Hinderwell is a lovely little village with two pubs, a chippy, shop and butcher and further down there is Staithes which has a coop and of course Runswick Bay, Sandsend and Whitby and beyond. The walk from Hinderwell to Runswick is lovely and you can always get the bus back should the steep hill tire you out too much on the climb back up!

The couple who run the site are very nice, friendly and have a wealth of local knowledge and are always around should you need anything.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we'll hopefully be back soon.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Christins 1 review from this member

Just had a very enjoyable week at Serenity. Very impressed with the site, facilities and very friendly owners and staff. Site immaculate, nice cabin/lounge with WiFi, charging points, books. Best kitchen area/facilities and shower room I've come across in many years camping. Loved the resident ducks and chickens. Great location for walking to Staithes and Runswick Bay, lovely area of the country. Will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NORFOLK2 2 reviews from this member

We just loved this campsite. The facilities were spotless, the campsite was very well maintained with lots of flowers and attention to detail. The information hut with wifi was very useful. Although it is not stated as an adults only site we did not see one child. Serenity it was, so peaceful. Cant wait to return. Our favourite site by far.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Milliecharles 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this wonderful site. It is a quiet site with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. We had a serviced pitch which had the best views, although probably not for people with a large awning. The owners and the wardens are lovely - so friendly and helpful and always around the site. The facilities are first class and as well as the usual toilet/shower block has 2 wet rooms - one unisex and one solely for families or people with mobility needs. There is a very well equipped kitchen with 3 sinks, fridge/freezer, microwave, washing machine and tumble dryer. Although children are welcome there is no play ground and no ball games are allowed which adds to the peaceful atmosphere. A small cabin is provided near the entrance which has Wi-Fi for the use of campers and also charging points. There are comfy settees and a wealth of local guides. Hinderwell is a nice little village with 2 pubs, a butchers, a fish and chip shop and PO/stores. There is a half hourly bus service to Whitby one way and Saltburn and then Redcar the other. If there are no bus timetables in the cabin the local PO has them. Lovely places to visit locally are Whitby, Runswick Bay, Sandsend and Saltburn. There are also some good walks local along the Cleveland Way. I would thoroughly recommend this site and we hope to return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eckersley 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 day stay( 2 nights)stay at this lovely site. We opted for the fully serviced grandstanding and it was perfect.

Facilities are very good and clean with extra nice little touches like fresh flowers in the toilets.

It does seem that the owners have given a lot of thought to making the site pleasant and we enjoyed our stay very much.

It is particularly well suited for walking to Staithes, Runswick Bay and Port Mulgrave and the pies from the little local butcher in Hinderwell are delicious!

Very quiet and peaceful as the name suggests.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynda chiny 1 review from this member

Having visited serenity campsite twice in June. The weather was not fantastic but the hospitality of don and his wife made you very welcome, the campsite was very clean and tidy glad we found this little gem as its a quiet and well looked after site. Will definitely be going again, It's prime location to visit Staithes, Runswick bay, Whitby and Robin hoods bay.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmiller1 1 review from this member

Been coming here for around 8 years now, still love the place BUT has changed from the quiet site it used to be.

Children are now allowed and boy do we know it, it seems parents just let the kids run wild and parents just shout or talk very loudly at 6-45 am

As soon as the kids awake, (had two tents over hedge with children)

The site is still well kept and all the facilities you need, the Brown Cow

Pub still great for food and real ale.

Will go back but not on a bank holiday or kids holiday sorry.

Great walks to the sea.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 2 reviews from this member

I was looking for a quiet camp-site close to the beach and with plenty of opportunity for walking close by to take the puppy for her first experience of living under canvas. I contacted the owners before booking to check they were OK with me taking an 8 month old pup along and got a positive response back.

Booked for two nights and as we were enjoying ourselves we ended up staying for three, I would have stayed longer but I couldn't have any more time off work. The owners, wardens and other visitors were all very friendly.

Lovely big, well marked pitches with a choice of morning or evening sun - although they don't guarantee any sun during your visit. The site is not too far from the road but you cannot hear any traffic, what bliss!

The facilities were excellent and always clean, it was the little touches that really helped this site to stand out. Washing up liquid by the sinks, posh soap in the ladies (can't comment on the gents) and carabiners firmly attached to the outside walls of the toilet block to hook the dog's lead to. The information cabin was well stocked with leaflets and reference books plus some sofas to relax on while reading and deciding on what to do tomorrow. The facilities may get busy when the site is full but while we were there there was never a queue.

A lot of the local eating establishments are dog friendly too, we went to the Ship Inn tea rooms at Port Mulgrave (having walked there via the woods behind the campsite, Staithes and the Cleaveland Way) and also the Brown Cow pub in Hinderwell. Both were dog friendly and did excellent food.

Downsides?

It rained, however this is the UK in May so some rain is only to be expected.

Roosters and Seagulls as part of the dawn chorus, we listened to them while all snug and warm then rolled over and went back to sleep for a few more hours.

All I have to do now is work out when I can next have some time off work so we can go and stay there again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine and brian 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at this campsite, I cannot recommend it highly, it is the best site we have stayed on, it's very well maintained, the showers are immaculate, the owners are always very friendly and helpful, you get a lot of room on your pitch enough for awning and car with plenty of room for sun chairs. If weather allows. It is close to Whitby and has some fantastic hikes around the area, there is a great fish and chip shop in the village also a pub and a butchers. We must have been about 5 times and never been disappointed. We will be there again before the season ends, if you haven't tried it well you are missing a treat.

Big thank you to the owners for a brilliant stay yet again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cavingbiker 1 review from this member

Just completed a 4 night stay, exceptionally clean facilities (information cabin with free Wifi(not secure though), washing area with fridge/freezer and microwave and toilets with soap (apparently moisturiser in the ladies) and music) many nice touches, very friendly staff. The pub opposite, the Badger Hounds serves excellent meals(£12-£15), very large portions. Ideal position for the Cleveland Way, good location for exploring the East Yorkshire coast. Would definitely stay again even if the ducks/hens can be a bit noisy.

Previous     181 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7061 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0664