Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Serenity Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Serenity Campsite
High Street
Hinderwell
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 5JH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 841122

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 20 touring / motorhome pitches, 30+ camping
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 153 Reviews
              9/10 from 153 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  153 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mick S. 25 reviews from this member

Just done the Easter Bank Holiday here, and came away sure to return. We normally come away from BH trips deflated, because we go almost certain that we are going to come unstuck in some way.

Usually overcrowding causes the main angst (many sites are just too greedy at these 'prime times'), but not here. We had a cracking, really good sized pitch, only encroached upon by the aforementioned chickens who paid us numerous visits. And even they backed off when I started giving them names like Stuffing, Yorkshire Pudding, and Gravy.

The owners are very friendly (but not in your face) and helpful.

The loo block is spotless, the wifi cabin useful and informative, and the water/waste facilities up to the mark.

The leccy is only 10 amp, which I didn't know beforehand, so if you tend to need the National Grid to keep you powered up on site - be aware!

There isnt a lot to do for kids on site, but there is a nearby play park type thing. Plenty of walking around and about, and tows/villages further afield.

Had a meal in the Badger Hounds pub at the road end, which was excellent, and good value + had decent beer. Theres a chippy (that appears to be open all hours), and a post office cum grocers/paper shop further on.

This is a cracking site, and I wish the new(ish) owners all the best with it.

Finally, the best pitch number to request when you book is. As if id tell you!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: GarnetLiz 6 reviews from this member

An excellent site. We would never have considered Hinderwell save for the glowing recommendations of this site from some friends and they were right -the location was perfect with shops and pubs within easy reach but a site that felt like it was in the heart of the country and a pleasant walk to the beach. The facilities were spotless; a credit to the helpful and welcoming owners. Free showers, free wifi, free use of fridge/freezer and a microwave too. There were even fresh flowers in the toilet block and washing up room. Though there were no specific facilities for children, the owner pointed out when we booked that there were other places to play nearby, and we rather like the fact that the site's 'quiet' nature meant that nobody else's kids were running round creating mayhem when ours went to bed. Can't fault it!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sewinheaven 1 review from this member

Having set off from Bristol to Scotland and back, with a No Plan plan. We arrived in Whitby and received a list of campsites from the Tourist Information Centre. Top of the list was one on Sands End Road which we rang and visited. On arrival we felt that we were lacking due to not having enough scrap metal to sell!?!?! Consequently, we stumbled across Serenity Campsite. My word. What a lovely, gentle and tranquil place to stay. We were greeted by the owner and given a choice of pitches. We were pleasantly stunned by the facilities offered here. You would be stupid to not visit this place if passing through. Our only negative point is that the chickens tried boarding our campervan like Somali pirates. Lol. No. On a serious note. The only negative point was that we couldn't stay longer. But Scotland was calling us. Jayne & Keith xx

(Great work guys. Well done on a beautiful camp site) We have had to enter 'child friendliness' even though we were travelling child free.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sallyandchris 1 review from this member

We booked this site as we wanted to be mid way between staithes and Whitby. This was our first trip out, a couple of newby's to the motorhome scene. The site was an absolute delight the owner putting customer service first, this reflecting the whole site ! Upon arrival we were taken to our pitch which was big enough to park a couple of double decker buses in. The heated shower / toilet block was first class, immaculately kept. We were shown the pot washing room which housed a tumble dryer and washing machine, again immaculately maintained. We counted a mix of 30 caravans and motorhomes so the site facility's were in use, not just a one off clean!

The purpose built tourist information / board games / rest room / internet access was a nice touch, allowing us to plan our walk using the maps provided. The coastal walk to staithes is a must, what stunning views along the way, staithes itself being a gem hidden between the rough.

We give this site 10 out of 10, planning to return later in the year. Thank you to the owner of the site appley named Serenity, regards Chris and sally

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Shellydor 1 review from this member

We decided to stay in Serenity, a small caravan as it was march and we didn't trust the weather, as it was we could not of asked for better weather, but we are still glad we stayed in the caravan.

The welcome we received was warm and genuine and the young couple could not be nicer, nothing was too much trouble, and the little finishing touches, ie flowers inside, solar lights on the patio set and complimentary toiletries were a lovely surprise. We will definitely be returning.

M dunford.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Thistle01 6 reviews from this member

This was our fourth visit to serenity this year but this time we stayed in the static Fendt caravan owned by the site. Yet again the owners could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable and restful. We had three nights just before the site closed at the end of the season. The facilities were just as clean and fresh as the beginning of the season. We had a great meal at the Brown Cow and as always our dog Jak was made so welcome and enjoyed his biscuits.

We are so looking forward to the site reopening in 2014!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris and Kev 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site! There were so many extra little touches; fresh flowers in the showers (which were free and kept immaculately), washing up liquid provided in the very homely washing up/laundry area; and you could even help yourself to a hot drink and a biscuit for just 50p while you waited for your washer to finish! There was also a cosy cabin with tourist information, games etc. And free Wi-Fi. We enjoyed a very good meal in the friendly village pub (The Brown Cow I think?). There is a bus stop just outside the site, convenient for Whitby etc. The owners and wardens could not have been more helpful or welcoming, and we would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone! Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jollyhols 3 reviews from this member

This is a delightful site tucked away behind the main road through the village, not that you'd know it. Normally we wouldn't stay at a site this large but chose to as it was the recommended site for the (excellent) Roots North music festival. Our previous experience of larger sites is that you are piled almost on top of each other, the staff are unhelpful, there are copious meaningless rules, and you therefore get the feeling you are being ripped-off. Not so at Serenity. The welcome was incredibly friendly with the owner (I think he was the owner) taking a genuine interest.

The pitch was large with a great view towards the moors, the toilets and showers were spotless, and the whole site lovingly maintained. Music aside, it was a genuine pleasure to stay there anyway. In the village, the Brown Cow is a fantastic 'proper' locals pub, extremely friendly and the food, although simple, is first class and almost entirely (including the brilliant chips) home made. The fish & chip shop is also excellent and the butcher first class. I couldn't get a phone signal anywhere in the village on an O2 phone but my partner had good reception on her Orange. There is Wi-Fi available in a very comfortably furnished room. Everything about the site and it's management makes you feel welcome. Our misgivings prior to visiting were completely quashed within minutes of arrival.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mopet2 1 review from this member

Serenity has been a favourite site of ours for years due to it's peaceful atmosphere, clean facilities, friendly owners and location. The new owners have added their extra touches such as the clothes drying area, free showers and the wifi room. They have managed to improve a site that was already one of the best. The village of Hinderwell has two pubs, butcher, chippy and shop and on the bus route to Whitby. Both Staithes and Runswick are within walking distance[steep climbs back]. We are always given a friendly welcome in the Brown Cow pub where the meals are very good and substantial. We will continue to return to Serenity whenever we are holidaying in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ahaughian 1 review from this member

Great site, friendly owners too. Nothing was a bother. Big pitches, free hot water, washing up liquid supplied, all eco friendly too. Lovely fresh flowers in the loo and around other areas. Free WiFi, which reached us, but there's is a cabin you can use, , which is very comfy with couches. You can charge your phone etc there too. There are leaflets, books. Lots of information. We will be back for another visit. Lovely areas around.

Previous     153 Review in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0520