Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Serenity Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Serenity Campsite
High Street
Hinderwell
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS13 5JH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01947 841122

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 20 touring / motorhome pitches, 30+ camping
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
              9/10 from 205 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (17)

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maddiejoe 9 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite in a peaceful setting and really easy to find. We were booked in for three nights. Check-in was easy and then we were taken to our pitch. There is a large field for tourers and motorhomes, another that had seasonal tourers and another large tenting field. All the pitches seemed very spacious. There is cabin where you can find lots of local information, sit and access the wifi or just sit and chill out and read.

There is a bus stop about 50 metres left from the site entrance going either north or south. If you don't have a bus pass, the fare to Whitby is about 5. 30 or 7. ?? return. We didn't take the bus to Staithes as it was only about an hour's walk along the Cleveland Way - access in and out of Staithes is is a bit steep as is some parts of the walk itself. The Cod and Lobster at Staithes do nice fish and chips.

The only downside for me was the shower block, although spotlessly clean it is a bit dated, there are only three toilets, one private washroom and two showers. (There are two family unisex bathrooms, which as adults without children we didn't feel we should use). As it was the bank holiday weekend, the site was full and I had to wait a while for a shower and nearly got caught short for access to a toilet! The showers were hot but the push button only lasted 5 seconds! Strangely though, the push button taps in the wash basin lasted almost a minute! There is no dry area to dress in the shower cubicle, so it was a bit of a dance trying to take trousers on and off without getting them wet.

We would certainly make for this campsite if we were in the area again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nuttyredlisa 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a long weekend. Fabulous site! Very good and very clean facilities, toilets and showers, including a family and unisex shower room. Fresh flowers included! There is a lovely cabin with free wifi, a collection of books and games to borrow as well as information leaflets and maps. The washing up area is under cover, and there are tea/coffee making facilities, a microwave and washing machine and dryer and a fridge, like a kitchen. The pitches are plenty large enough and well kept. Also on the site is a pond and nature/wildlife walk, lots of flowers. In the village there are 2 pubs, a butchers, and a cafe which also serves take away pizza. The site a only a short walk away from the Cleveland Way, walking either South towards Runswick Bay or North towards Staithes, both have breath taking coastal views. The nearest general store is in Staithes 1 mile away. Buses run regularly through the village too.

We will definitely stay here again

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vvts 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at serenity.

As previous post state it is a very good site in a great location and owners/staff are very helpful and knowledable.

Facilities were excellent.

Pub is just over the road (always a good thing in my book)

Will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John brooke 2 reviews from this member

We have been going here for 12 years now and love the village and the people they always make you feel welcome and at home and totally stress free site. Pitch put you feet up and prepare for a lovely time the owners are great and cannot do enough to help you. Without their help last year we would have had to return early due to the tent becoming ripped in the winds they had, Wesley the owner went to his shed and came back with some special tape for boats it worked great. The village pubs are great but the Brown Cow is brilliant, as is the landlady Margaret who again is only to happy to see us every time we get there sh has my beer ready and has two changing guest ales on tap. The food is well out of this world and you always get plenty to eat, which at times gets in the way of the ale but with practice and the great atmosphere you do not want to leave the pub.

The site has clean toilets and good hot showers also two large disabled showers which I found great as I have a fractured spine and find showers difficult to use. The site is very clean as are all the services ie, Washers, driers, fridge, and freezer allowing you to refreeze your ice packs, washing facilities, cold water point, grey waste disposal site, hair driers, irons, basic on site supplies shampoo, eggs, beans, soap etc, gas bottles, grass is cut regular and cleared from the site immediately, there is a no noise rule and to respect everybody on the site while you are there.

John & Helen Brooke.

Huddersfield West Yorkshire.

Devout under canvas campers.

Give this site a visit you will not want to leave.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Patientkev! 7 reviews from this member

We arrived here mid afternoon on one of the hottest days of the year. The site is situated just off Hinderwell High Street. We were given a warm welcome and shown to our pitch. The site is a little uneven but did not cause a problem with pitching. Lovely views and surrounded by fields, hedgerows and birds singing. Tent field is separate from Caravan area which we like (not keen on looking at rows of white vans)

Showers and toilets are immaculate and I am very fussy. We liked the provision of a fridge and freezer for campers use and the Tea and Coffee making facilities were a nice touch. There is a small cabin with comfy sofas and access to Wifi. The attention to detail at this site is the best I have seen. Plenty to see and do in the area and good walks from the site. Its a shame we live so far from the site as we would love to visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bennie37 1 review from this member

Having visited this site recently believe it lives up to its name - it is very peaceful. It is a clean and tidy site and the staff friendly. The village itself has 2 pubs, a butchers, cafe and fish and chip shop. There's plenty places to walk both coastal and country. It is a 5 star site and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philmein 1 review from this member

Better for couples than families but got to say this is a lovely site. Calm and quiet with a variety of units. We visited as a couple the day after bank holiday Monday and found a well maintained site, full of lovely touches. The facilities are spotless ably attended to by the very friendly wardens and owners who do a great job of keeping the site in great order. We had a perfect spot down by the duck pond and small nature reserve, great to wake up to nothing but birdsong and the odd Quack. The toilet block is very clean and has two showers and three toilets both for male and female. In addition there are two family shower units each with toilet shower and washing facilities one doubling up as a disabled shower and toilet. A great touch is the campers kitchen which contained fridge, freezer, microwave, washer and dryer three sinks and even tea and coffee facilities ! The pitches are spacious and fairly level around the perimeter on the main camping field but is undulating in the centre, not a problem as unless your driving at excessive speed ! Hinderwell has two local pubs within a few yards of the entrance to the site together with a good butchers that also doubles as a small grocer including papers. There is a village co-op at Staithes 1. 1 miles down the road for a little more choice and a large ASDA within a short drive. The only downside to our trip was torrential rain which threatened to wash us out! because of this we were offered a stay in the new shepherds hut which was very well received. Thank you so much to owners Wes and Sarah for literally bailing us out. We'll be back

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paddy61 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic 2 night stay over the weekend. We were on the 'pebble pitch' which had EHU & water within reach for your hose. Grey waste that you can drive over which is excellent. Also right next to the toilet/showers which were spotlessly clean. They also have a laundry room, fridge etc. For campers. Little shack with books, tourist info & Wifi. A spit from pubs, fish & chips, a small shop, butchers. It is also on a main bus route. You can do the spectacular cliff walk to Staithes, Runswick Bay or even Sandsend if your fit enough! Lovely site and a great intro to this lifestyle for my partner who is new to it all. Well done Serenity!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine and brian 3 reviews from this member

Well another fantastic weekend at this site. I cannot say enough fantastic things about it. The site gets better every time we visit. Which is a couple of times a year for the last 4 or 5 years, we stumbled across this site by accident and WOW what a find it was. The owner Wes and his faithful golden Labrador are so friendly and helpful as are the site managers who get you booked in and if needed help get caravan into pitch with you. It is so peaceful and quiet. Hence the name 'serenity', we always come away with our batteries recharged ready to begin a new week. The site is close to Staithes, Whitby and North York moors, there's loads of walks both coastal and moors. The showers and toilet block are immaculate and always warm, there's a lovely chill out room where you can get games, books or DVDs to lend, the pitches are spacious and loads of room for caravan awning and car with room to spare, you are not packed in like most sites. This is a 4* site but gets a 5* and 10/10 from us.

Keep up good work and see you again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Biggles 2012 1 review from this member

A lovely site with some nice touches with spotless facilities but that's not what you what to read as it's all been said before. It's an undulating site so blocks will be needed, the hard standing was also undulating but we weren't charged extra for it. The piped music previously mentioned wasn't on but would be a nice touch, the showers could have been hotter and the wi-fi is hit and miss but these are minor issues which shouldn't detract from this fine place. Not sure if it's the time of year but there were a lot of dogs on site-as there were in the surrounding areas, buses, cafes, restaurants etc with Whitby's streets resembling a kennels so if you're not keen on dogs. In summary nice site, well run, spotless shower block. Pub, cafe, butchers and beach in walking distance-whats not to like!

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest North West 16th to 17th September
Cheshire Showground. Celebrity guests, car crushing Monster Trucks, trade stands plus much more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5392 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016