Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Morvich Caravan Club Site Shiel Bridge

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Morvich Caravan Club Site Shiel Bridge
Shiel Bridge
Inverinate
Kyle
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV40 8HQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01599 511354

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 106
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
              9/10 from 33 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terrylynn+flynn 20 reviews from this member

Stayed 1 night en route home from Outer Hebrides. Hadn't booked but rang ahead to check pitch available. Arrived late in the day to very friendly welcome from the wardens.

Usual CC standards, good pitches, shower facilities but the most outstanding thing about this site is it's location - superb views all around.

As we arrived late and left early the next day cannot comment on the local area but disagree with a previous review about the site being isolated. It is only approx 1 mile to the main road and from there you can easily access Skye, Kyle of Lochalsh and Eilean Donan Castle.

Adequate dog walk outside the site which was fine for early morning/late night walks.

If in the area we would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sydnsue 4 reviews from this member

Facilities are clean and up to usual CC high standards. Wifi available but at usual CC fee. TV signal is still analogue with only 5 channels. Warden informed us that CC were still to update site equipment even though the area is now digital. Power stands also have aerial sockets. Warden will loan an aerial cable if you don't have one. Site is convenient for Isle of Skye and the west coast up to Plockton (Hamish Macbeth for those who remember the series).

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julie + Mark 11 reviews from this member

I agree with all the reviewers before me, about the facilities been very clean and tidy and the site well keptEverything is very organised just as you would expect from a caravan club site, however, I do think it's lost it's character and felt it had no atmosphere. This was our second visit to the site the last time was 4 years ago and we enjoyed it that visit.

We come away very disappointed and considering not to return for our next trip in the area, but what really made up our mind was the additional 10 charge a night added as we are non members. At the time we accepted it but as we have visited 5 other sites on this trip, I can honestly say that the extra 10 is not good value for money.

Another observation was how quiet it was in August, I think that caravan club has priced itself out for non members ( if they can afford to do this good luck to them).

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JOHN G W 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here four four nights during our tour of the Highlands, set in a stunning location with all the usual caravan club facilities the grounds were wll kept and the toilets were very clean, the office was closed when we arrived so we found our pitch and set up, we were not disappointed, The T. V. Reception is still in Analogue but you can get this via a plug in on the electric post. There is plenty to do in the area and there is an activity centre just outside the gates, there is a Restaurant very close by serving good food called the Jacobite all in all a very nice site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shirl56 3 reviews from this member

We used this site on our road home from a tour of the Hebrides. We hadn't booked and arrived after the office had closed but the warden came out to meet us and was very welcoming.

The site is very neat and tidy (as most club sited are) and the facilities were excellent. Although the site was busy there was no wait for showers.

The setting is beautiful, surrounded by stunning scenery. We didn't explore the local area as we were only there overnight.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sjwhite100 3 reviews from this member

This site is in a truly stunning location, surrounded by mountains, with the Five Sisters of Kintail dominating the view. The site is really well laid out with big flat pitches; plenty of room for caravan, awning and car and still leaving a good amount of space between you and your neighbours.

The facilities are excellent with loads of toilets, free hot showers, free hair dryer in the ladies, information centre, campers lounge, and laundry room.

We found the wardens to be very efficient but not very personable, but we seem to find this on all the caravan club and camping and caravan club sites that we stay on - is it us or is there a lack of training about customer service?

The site is a bit isolated and we used our car more than we usually do. There is an easy walk up the glen at the back of the site though. It isn't too far to visit Skye, Plockton and Eilan Donan Castle as all are within easy driving distance.

We ate at the dog friendly Kintail Lodge and the meal was excellent. There's a local shop at the garage at the head of the loch that sells basic provisions, and a larger Co op at the Kyle of Lochalsh. The Plockton Inn is a great place for seafood, we sat outside because it was a beautiful day, so don't know if they allow dogs inside.

This is a really good site for exploring the west coast and for those wanting to do some serious hill walking, we would definitely go again.

Previous     33 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5214 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.1016