Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Visitor Reviews - Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Site Reviews

Delamont Country Park Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Downpatrick Road
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT30 9TZ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 028 4482 1833

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 12 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
              8/10 from 23 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (15) and Video

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chellis 3 reviews from this member

Wardens not very welcoming when I arrived in the afternoon a couple of hours earlier than I'd indicated.

Toilet and shower block spotless. Closes for cleaning at a time to suit wardens not campers!

Long walk to bin at entrance, none by shower block half way along site, no recyling.

Torrential rain meant grass on matting was sodden with lying water but ground still hard enough to bend extra strong tent pegs.

Site felt very regimented and full of rules.

No play area for children, have to go into country park for this.

No visitor parking available apart from in Country Park Car Park which has a daily charge and is quite some walk away.

Dogs not allowed off lead in Country Park or substantial fine imposed.

Mobile signal poor and wifi only if next to reception building.

There is a dearth of campsites in this area so would stay again despite knowing the pitfalls as was clean and well run and is much cheaper than other sites convenient for Belfast.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AOKane 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in Delamont for two nights in July 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Facilities were first rate. Toilets and wash areas were absolutely spotless. There was even a vase of flowers by the mirrors. Each sink is contained within a little cubicle so you can brush your teeth in private.

There are lots of rules and regulations but as a result the place is clean, super tidy - not a blade of grass out of place - and it was really quiet. Saying that, there were only five other tents and about ten caravans on site at the time.

The kids were happy eating ice lollies from the little on site shop while we put up the tent on a large corner site with electric and water supply. Hard ground so we bent a few pegs in the process.

The site is at the entrance to a large forest park, with an ice cream shop, a little Thomas the Tank like train and a fantastic play park for kids of all ages. There are no play areas within the campsite for kids so be prepared for a walk to the park, train etc. (We didn't mind but some might. )

The place does seem a little regimental but we were delighted with the facilities, we felt safe with the kids, and they enjoyed the forest park etc.

Delamont is a short distance from the town of Downpatrick which has a beautiful Cathedral with the grave of St Patrick, Brigid and Columcille. A short ferry trip will take you across Strangford Lough to Portaferry and the Exploris aquarium which is a great day out.

Delamont is on our favourite list.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SandyM 1 review from this member

Stayed at this campsite on a tour of Northern Ireland in our campervan. Great campsite, very well kept and toilet block always kept clean and tidy - showers excellent with lots of toilets and wash room cubicles. Only small gripe is only hairdryer not working when we visited - no sign up to say how much money to put in - when I spoke to warden they hadn't realised it wasn't working and were going to put up appropriate sign. Access to Country Park which had great walks/activities, views from the top of the park and small train (think there may have been extra charge for this but didn't use).

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferryman1 1 review from this member

Have been to this site quite a few time. Lovely setting. Handy to all areas of interest, Mournes / Belfast and county down peninsula. Shower block kept very clean but they close it every morning for 1 hour between 10. 30 and eleven busy time. The current wardens have moved the bins down beside the entrance which means one long walk from the other end of site, previously the bins were kept near shower block in the middle of the site. As previous reviewer stated wardens are so so, unfriendly and very condescending, but don't let that put you off a lovely site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eddtheduck 4 reviews from this member

Visited here for a weekend stay with wife and 2 kids. Over all this is an excellent site situated within the country park. Pitches are grass on matting. It was quite wet when we were there though the pitches remained fairly dry but we did find it quite difficult to peg the awning down due to the hard ground. Pitches had water, electric and waste drains.

The toilet and showers were immaculate as was the whole site. The country park is fantastic with great walks around the shores of Strangford Lough, a brilliant adventure playpark and miniture railway. Our kids absolutely loved it. Only downside to the whole thing was we found it too strict.

The wardens are always out and about and your nearly afraid to do anything in case you get told off. On arrival they showed us to our pitch and then proceeded to tell me how to reverse onto my pitch. I found them quite patronising. Overall the site is a fantastic site in a fantastic setting. Worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Seagill 23 reviews from this member


Nice site right in Country Park; we choose pitch close to reception to get good WIFI (£2 a day)

Grass pitch on matting so motorhome was ok even though there had been continual rain


Excellent facilities and kept spotless

Rubbish placed one bin (no recycling?)

CDP OK; waste water on pitch but NO motorhome waste drain site

Out & About:

Castle Ward (NT) but doesn’t open till after 12

Strangford Loch, village and castle can be reached by car/bike

Would return if visiting this area again

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in N Ireland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win tickets to Camperex 2016 (Liverpool) in January Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4714 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder