Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maragowan Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01567 820245

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 49 Reviews
              8/10 from 49 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oxter 25 reviews from this member

First visit to this site and we were impressed with the standard. Beautifully kept site and the toilet block although not of recent vintage was very clean and fresh. Very helpful wardens and supplied a cylinder of gas on trust in the evening when we ran out.

Lovely walks in near vicinity and around the area. Bus circuit (free to Scottish Bus Pass holders) passes the door and will stop on request. (seasonal)

Delightful village with facilities within medium walking distance and also via adjacent railway line walkway.

Trossachs area with wonderful scenery and loads of nearby places to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 28 reviews from this member

We had a great long weekend at this site. It is on the edge of Killin which is a very pretty village with a Co-op, a good outdoor shop and many places to eat and drink.

The site is level and in a fabulous setting with Ben Lawers in the background. The toilet block was very clean and tidy and there is a small play park for kids. We cycled to Kenmore along NCN 7, (c 16 miles) which follows the south of Loch Tay, on a fabulous quiet and scenic road. We came back along the north side of the loch which was a bit busier but not too bad.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneBerry 18 reviews from this member

This site is all about the area and the scenery. Killin is just a village really, nothing special about it although the Falls of Dochart Inn does excellent home-cooked food. If you were being unkind you could describe it as the a***-end of nowhere, but it is a great base for walking, canoeing, cycling and generally enjoying the natural beauty.

It's a very dark site at night and you need a torch to visit the loos - which are a bit of a trek away if you're pitched at the far end. Speaking of the loos, although spotlessly clean they are a bit gloomy and in need of brightening up a bit.

The site is sandwiched between a river and a busy-ish road, also some building work going on next to the road and the pitches adjacent could be quite noisy at times. The riverside pitches are definitely the best. No on-site dog walk but the wardens can suggest a nice walk right next to the site where dogs can be let off the lead safely.

It's a completely flat site and not difficult to manoeuvre your van to get pitched up, therefore good for the less physically able caravanner.

If you're prepared to get out and about and make the most of the area, this is a good place to say.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 6 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights as stop over. Pitches so close together, why do you have to face another van!

Why do the Caravan Club charge for wifi!

This was not the site for me, back to independent and CL sites, where you have more choice and more relaxed.

The location of Killin and Loch Tay is excellent.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 29 reviews from this member

Our second visit to the site this time stay over on our way home from our Scotland tour. Lovely little site by the river toilet facilities are lovely plenty of hot water, did not use the showers, wash up area laundry and a drying room. The staff are helpful and friendly a nice walk into the village a newsagent, coop, bakers, gift shops, restaurants and cafés and a couple of pubs and of course the falls. Busy road but the noise did not bother us. But when we were there, there was a lot of building work was going on at the side of the site and it was very noisy through the day. Not sure for how long. We will be back when we tour Scotland so convenient.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katiecaravan 2 reviews from this member

Well once again we were at this site in June, we try and have at least two long weekends here every year! We love this site as it is well laid out always very clean and the people are so nice! Killin itself is only a small village and it doesn't look as if there's very much to do but believe me that is not the case! The site is lovely and central for the village, the Coachouse Hotel is directly over the road from the site entrance, many a fabulous night has been spent in there as they have some (very good) bands and singers on at the weekend, Janice and David along with their family own this hotel so you always get a very warm welcome! The Falls of Dochart at the end of the town is lovely for a meal or just a drink they've also opened up a lovely wee coffee shop in their premises which is also lovely. The Smiddy is also lovely for a meal and is very child friendly they have also opened a new bistro but it was just in the process of opening when we were there in June so we've not tried that out yet (1st port of call when we return to the site next month)If you fancy spending a little more the Bridge of Lochy at the other end of the village (across from the golf course) is also lovely for a meal, we often make that our Sunday treat! All in all it's a fantastic site which we would thoroughly recommend!

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Stirlingshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4610 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469