Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Maragowan Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Site Reviews

Maragowan Caravan Club Site
Main Road
Killin
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01567 820245

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  5m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 28/03/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
              8/10 from 43 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Caledonian1 2 reviews from this member

I visited site 4 times this year in my wee vw camper

Toilets spotless

Site spotless

Gardens and paths very well kept

Patrons and staff very friendly and polite

Killin locals friendly

Well done to the management for a well organised and managed site.

Free fishing on site with wide river running past certain pitches.

An additional bonus is the historical and natural beauty of the site location and the surrounding areas.

Historical derelict Finlarig castle nearby (free to explore at your own risk)

The falls of Dochart (Fast running rocky rapids and can be viewed from the main road) these are stunning and will be a memory you will never forget.

There is a very well managed Hotel almost directly across the road from the site and food is available, there is a pool table and great entertainment at the weekend.

Shops, store and off licence + 2 other bars/restaurants 10-15 mins away along a visually pleasant streetlit walk

Suitable for my needs but others needs may differ

I look forward to my return

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JOHN G W 14 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for a two nights on returning from the Highlands, it is set in a lovely setting on the outskirts of Killin, we were greeted by some very friendly wardens, our pitch was set next to the river and the whole site was well kept, the toilets were very clean, we used the laundry facilities and found them very reasonable, it was only a short walk into Killin with excellent restaurants and pubs, the only downside was tat the T. V. Reception was non existent, but all in all a very nice site and one that we would return to.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ukblueuk 7 reviews from this member

Beautiful site in a beautiful location. People have complained about the toilets and showers saying they're dated, nothing at all wrong with them, nice and clean all the time. Just a pleasant stroll away is Killin with its pubs (dog friendly) and co-op, which had extremely pleasant staff. Now for the down side, the prison wardens who run this site. We were told straight away, not to walk our dogs on site (fair enough) not to let them even have a wee on the grass ( tell that to the dogs), but I have never met such a miserable bunch in my life, some have said fantastic wardens polite & pleasant, well it must be if your face fits. They really need to loosen up a bit, especially to dog owners. One bloke was told not to tie his dog outside the toilet while he nipped in. While its important to keep a site in good order and making sure dog owners behave, they need to remember people are on holiday and they are here to unwind not tiptoe over the grass. And it costs nothing to smile. I would have said this was the best site I have ever been on had the wardens been a bit more polite (note to wardens - go into the local co-op and see some true customer service) we pay your wages

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldoscott 15 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at Maragowan. The site is very picturesque and well kept. The shower facilities were spotless as were the grounds.

You can walk into Killin and there is a small hotel at the gates to the site for a drink or a meal.

The wardens are efficient ( perhaps a little snippy ) but they do a good job of maintaining the site.

We will return to this site and recommend everyone to try it.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caz duncan 2 reviews from this member

Good clean site, family friendly, highly recommend. Lots to do locally, lots of places to eat good pubs inns around for something to eat. Shops very close by including supermarket. Toilet facilities on site spotless, lots of wild life around site, small play park for kids staff helpful. Definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 257 reviews from this member

Site is a just a few minutes walk outside the village and although on the main road we were bothered by traffic noise at all.

Usual high standards from the CC in the facilities block, although it seems fairy old the inside is very well kept and very clean. The wardens were very friendly and cheerful - full marks to them.

Pitches are on gravel hardstanding and plenty of room. A small children's play area and the site backs onto the river so access to the riverbank.

Easy walk into the village which has a good size coop, several other small shops and numerous cafes, hotels and restaurants. The Falls of Dochart are in the village and pretty spectacular.

Good bike rides from the site, a few easy ones on extremely quiet lanes and many more challenging into the hills.

The site was fairly busy but we were surprised at prices of 28 per night for non members shown in reception. 18. 50 for members is still fairly expensive for this time of year.

A good site and its proximity to the village is a bonus. Would use again.

Previous     43 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Stirlingshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7746 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469