Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crynierth Caravan Park
Cefn Ddwysarn
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7LN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01678 530324

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
              8/10 from 33 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 16 reviews from this member

We loved the site and got the friendliest of welcomes and as much help as we asked for. The site is extremely clean, neat and tidy, the showers and other shared facilities were spotless. The whole site is well spaced and surrounded by trees with a fenced off stream to one side. There is a dog paddock for the usual doggy needs but sadly no really good walks nearby. The local pub is the The Bryntirion Inn where you will get the warmest of welcomes and a great meal at a reasonable price. Bala, like many small towns and has no big supermarket but the local shops are great, small cafes abound and we can highly recommend the butchers. The site is well located for local attractions being central to many but in Wales things are spread out so you can expect a 15 to 20 mile drive to get to many of them. Well worth a visit and we will return.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MOWWD 3 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site set in countryside a few miles from Bala. Friendly and helpful Wardens. Toilets and showers not the most modern but spotlessly clean at all times and the rest of the site well kept. Tiny dog walk although public footpaths across farm land close by (unfortunately closed when we were there as electricity board were working)Two swings and slide set on safety rubber matting for younger children, probably not enough to keep older children entertained. Small supplies of groceries in site shop but that did include Milk, locally made sausages, bacon and eggs. We had a fair bit of rain when we were there but the pitches didn't flood although ground a bit soft but not a problem. Both electric and non-electric pitches. Caravan towing to site easy.

A reasonable sized CoOp and Spar in Bala plus various takeaways/eat in restaurants both Indian and Chinese. Good local pubs, the Eagles Inn and Bryntirion Inn (both tested-good food. Various watersports on Lake Bala and lots to do if you don't mind a drive. Black Rock sands beach-miles of sand and dunes. Black Rock Llamas-take them for a walk, over jumps and feed them-they were very well behaved(no spitting) and the owner was very interesting. Various steam railways in all areas. Llangollen-Aqueduct, Horseshoe Falls, Horse Drawn Canal Boat rides. Betws-y-Coed - Lots of Outdoor/Walking/Camping Shops and a few nice gift shops Lovely Walk along the river to Swallow Falls (waterfall) Snowdon (of course) walked up Llanberis path and back down Miners Track, pretty hard going, took us 7 hours with lunch break but good views at top. Precipice Walk (near Dolgellau)a lake and mountainside walk, good views out to coast. Portmeirion-interesting architecture, a seconds shop if you want to buy any crockery. Glassblobbery (near Bala)- fascinating watching a glass fish being made, lots of handmade glass items for sale. Lake Vyrnwy-pretty area to walk with nice picnic area, craft shop and a waterfall walk. There is lots more to do besides all this so a good area to visit

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JudithDerbyshire 2 reviews from this member

We only planned to stay a couple of days at this Bala site, but we ended up staying all week. We had stayed before for a couple of days a few years ago so we knew it is a good site in a lovely location, near to Bala and good routes into most of North Wales. Husband is ticking Nuttalls (= mountains) & exploring mines so we were travelling around the area.

The campsite facilities are very good. Hot showers, clean toilets with good supply of toilet paper, well-stocked shop, well-cut grass, pretty flowerbeds & no litter. Lots of families were enjoying the site but not too noisy & all very friendly.

Only complaint - despite having the prime pitch near to the shop & wifi pole, the SiteWiFi was not very good or reliable. We bought 3 x day vouchers for the wifi, and ended up ringing the SiteWiFi people to complain as the service was not good. They said it was being repaired. We know it is a rural area so broadband is often less reliable, but we had hoped for better. The campsite staff were helpful on the issue but not at fault as it is the company who runs the system.

I hope to be back to this campsite soon, to visit Bala again, to eat at the Courthouse restaurant, to buy good steak from the local butcher, & relax in the cafes.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ncc.wal 11 reviews from this member

What a cracking site! Flat open pitches (make sure you state you are using an awning as some of pitches are tarmac and not suitable for and awnings. Facilities warm, clean as per club standards. Not in the town of Bala but just a short 5 minute drive in. Is central for most of the attractions and no more than an hour from most of them (Ffestiniog railway, Snowdon etc)Very friendly and most helpful staff. There are some very good walks straight from or within a short distance of the site and sailing and fishing is available on the lake. T. V not good. Wish we lived nearer so we could use this site more often.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 11 reviews from this member

Our first visit, and I had to make a serious complaint to the assistant warden. On the third day of what turned out to be a run of five days brilliant sunny weather some clouds appeared in the sky! He just laughed so much he nearly fell off his plastic recliner chair. But to give him his due the clouds were gone by the following day. Thanks!

Such perfection in the weather was matched by the quality and nature of the site itself. Very friendly and helpful staff, flat pitches, fine facilities, wonderful birdsong, and good shelter from breeze are everything you need for a good stay. I would say the site is going to appeal more to those (like us) who want a quieter, more secluded stay, although it's very safe and suitable for families with kids.

I can't comment on local facilities too much as we don't eat out or do the tourist things. But Bala has some adequate shops (good Co-Op), and Llangollen is about 18 miles away. Fine walking around here. There's a superb walk up to the summit of Cadair Berwyn and Moel Sych from Llandrillo (about 6 miles east of the site).

Overall, it's not the best site I have ever stayed at, but I'd put it in my top-ten without any second thoughts. We very much enjoyed our stay, and our thanks to the staff.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mswin341 2 reviews from this member

Really nice site, a bit difficult to find as the hedge had not been cut by the sign showing the direction to the camp site, drove past several times before phoning to get directions to the site.

Very well set out site, mixture of grass and hardstands, with electric if needed, staff very friendly and approachable,

toilets and showers very clean at all times free showers nice and hot and you don't keep having to push a button like a lot of sites. Will I return. YES

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth 124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7997 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0859