Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crynierth Caravan Park
Cefn Ddwysarn
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7LN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01678 530324

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 26 Mar 2015 - 02 Nov 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
              8/10 from 35 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (14)

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 22 reviews from this member

The site is in the countryside down a narrow lane a few miles outside Bala town and even further from the lake. The road into Bala isnít suitable for pedestrians. The wardens were warm and welcoming and pitches were fine. After previously staying at Premier Parks sites the washing and shower facilities were quite a disappointment. Although clean, they were cold, old-fashioned and basic.

The grey-water dumping station was a strange design, really only suitable for either small campervans or motorhomes with a central valve and high ground clearance. We were told that this is due for revision, as the site was originally intended for caravans.

There is a small area for dogsí essentials but this isnít big enough for anything but that. There was no information on any sheep-free walks or footpaths for dog-owners.

Despite the membersí discount this is not particularly price-competitive.

We agree with the wardensí recommendation of the Bryntirion Inn for the best food around, and itís dog-friendly. It is, however, a few miles away cross-country.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phoebesgran 3 reviews from this member

Lovely, flat site in a beautiful location. Wardens friendly and helpful. We were offered a choice of pitch but having started to set up realised the one chosen wasn't ideal for us. Not only did the wardens readily agree to us moving to another pitch but they helped us to take the kit that was out of the car over to the new location.

On arrival I was concerned that there wouldn't be enough showers for the amount of visitors but in the week we were there I never had to queue. Showers, toilets, washing up area etc are immaculate.

My only minor gripe is that the grass was a little longer than on some other sites. I would have preferred it shorter as it seemed to be permanently wet (and we didn't have much rain).

8 year old granddaughter was happy with the playground.

I'm guilty of seeing very little of the immediate area as we went out to places further afield. Snowdon, Caernarfon Castle, Portmeirion, Barmouth, Rhosneigr and Beaumaris are all lovely to visit.

The Co-op in Bala carries an excellent range of groceries.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 21 reviews from this member

We loved the site and got the friendliest of welcomes and as much help as we asked for. The site is extremely clean, neat and tidy, the showers and other shared facilities were spotless. The whole site is well spaced and surrounded by trees with a fenced off stream to one side. There is a dog paddock for the usual doggy needs but sadly no really good walks nearby. The local pub is the The Bryntirion Inn where you will get the warmest of welcomes and a great meal at a reasonable price. Bala, like many small towns and has no big supermarket but the local shops are great, small cafes abound and we can highly recommend the butchers. The site is well located for local attractions being central to many but in Wales things are spread out so you can expect a 15 to 20 mile drive to get to many of them. Well worth a visit and we will return.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MOWWD 6 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site set in countryside a few miles from Bala. Friendly and helpful Wardens. Toilets and showers not the most modern but spotlessly clean at all times and the rest of the site well kept. Tiny dog walk although public footpaths across farm land close by (unfortunately closed when we were there as electricity board were working)Two swings and slide set on safety rubber matting for younger children, probably not enough to keep older children entertained. Small supplies of groceries in site shop but that did include Milk, locally made sausages, bacon and eggs. We had a fair bit of rain when we were there but the pitches didn't flood although ground a bit soft but not a problem. Both electric and non-electric pitches. Caravan towing to site easy.

A reasonable sized CoOp and Spar in Bala plus various takeaways/eat in restaurants both Indian and Chinese. Good local pubs, the Eagles Inn and Bryntirion Inn (both tested-good food. Various watersports on Lake Bala and lots to do if you don't mind a drive. Black Rock sands beach-miles of sand and dunes. Black Rock Llamas-take them for a walk, over jumps and feed them-they were very well behaved(no spitting) and the owner was very interesting. Various steam railways in all areas. Llangollen-Aqueduct, Horseshoe Falls, Horse Drawn Canal Boat rides. Betws-y-Coed - Lots of Outdoor/Walking/Camping Shops and a few nice gift shops Lovely Walk along the river to Swallow Falls (waterfall) Snowdon (of course) walked up Llanberis path and back down Miners Track, pretty hard going, took us 7 hours with lunch break but good views at top. Precipice Walk (near Dolgellau)a lake and mountainside walk, good views out to coast. Portmeirion-interesting architecture, a seconds shop if you want to buy any crockery. Glassblobbery (near Bala)- fascinating watching a glass fish being made, lots of handmade glass items for sale. Lake Vyrnwy-pretty area to walk with nice picnic area, craft shop and a waterfall walk. There is lots more to do besides all this so a good area to visit

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JudithDerbyshire 2 reviews from this member

We only planned to stay a couple of days at this Bala site, but we ended up staying all week. We had stayed before for a couple of days a few years ago so we knew it is a good site in a lovely location, near to Bala and good routes into most of North Wales. Husband is ticking Nuttalls (= mountains) & exploring mines so we were travelling around the area.

The campsite facilities are very good. Hot showers, clean toilets with good supply of toilet paper, well-stocked shop, well-cut grass, pretty flowerbeds & no litter. Lots of families were enjoying the site but not too noisy & all very friendly.

Only complaint - despite having the prime pitch near to the shop & wifi pole, the SiteWiFi was not very good or reliable. We bought 3 x day vouchers for the wifi, and ended up ringing the SiteWiFi people to complain as the service was not good. They said it was being repaired. We know it is a rural area so broadband is often less reliable, but we had hoped for better. The campsite staff were helpful on the issue but not at fault as it is the company who runs the system.

I hope to be back to this campsite soon, to visit Bala again, to eat at the Courthouse restaurant, to buy good steak from the local butcher, & relax in the cafes.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ncc.wal 12 reviews from this member

What a cracking site! Flat open pitches (make sure you state you are using an awning as some of pitches are tarmac and not suitable for and awnings. Facilities warm, clean as per club standards. Not in the town of Bala but just a short 5 minute drive in. Is central for most of the attractions and no more than an hour from most of them (Ffestiniog railway, Snowdon etc)Very friendly and most helpful staff. There are some very good walks straight from or within a short distance of the site and sailing and fishing is available on the lake. T. V not good. Wish we lived nearer so we could use this site more often.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder