Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brora Caravan Club Site ( Dalchalm )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Brora Caravan Club Site ( Dalchalm )
Dalchalm
Brora
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW9 6LP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01408 621479

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  5m  5m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 04/04/2014 To 06/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
              8/10 from 16 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LouH 9 reviews from this member

Lovely site and pitches were spaced as such that you felt there was plenty of room.

The facilities were always clean and we never had to queue for a shower despite the site being full on two of the nights that we were there.

The beach is a short walk across the adjoining golf course.

Great site for visiting the North East of Scotland.

Warden was really friendly and when I rang to book and she told me of the advantage of becoming a member and saving money despite paying the joining fee, it was much appreciated.

Only thing that I was disappointed by was that they only have 1 washer and 1 dryer, many of us had to wait to use them on more than one occasion.

After 5 nights we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trincee 1 review from this member

We camped at Greenfield, which is away from the rather cramped 'official' site for the campervans and caravans. Score, I say. We pretty much had the field to ourselves for the week, with our only company the daily comers and goers on the A9 trip north. Loved the peace and quiet. Loved the beach. The wildlife was amazing. We sat watching oyster catchers feeding their fledgling young, and the artic terns keeping a close eye on things.

The facilities were basic, but clean and tidy. The vibe on the campsite was incredibly chilled and perfect for getting away from it all. Hook-up city? No, it's not. They cram themselves away in a tiny wee field by the golf course. But is Greenfields the perfect escape? Oh yes.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rexxie 17 reviews from this member

A well kept site just outside of Brora. Some hardstanding and some grassy pitches with hookup. Was given a choice of pick on arrival.

Local shops, pub, restaurant in Brora. Enjoyed take away fish and chips.

Great location overlooking a golf course and easy access to miles of lovely beach. Impressed with dog walking area-didn't have a dog ourselves but could see how useful it was for others. Terns just beginning to nest -so noisy when approaching their area of beach!

Friendly wardens. Usual caravan club rules - need to park van in a particular way.

Showers and toilets very clean. Good laundry facilities.

Think must be an adult only site as most campers appeared retirement age and beyond! -quiet spot.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 12 reviews from this member

Site - Easy to find, but take care on approach over narrow stone railway bridge. Busy site as so convenient to road. There is a circle of grass pitches, with hardstandings around the edge and along a 'pan handle' with a couple of very nice grass pitches at the end, although these would be a fair way from the facilities. Talking of fairways, along one side of the site is Brora golf course, which is very busy at weekends, there is a signed path across the course which leads to a fabulous beach which stretches for miles. When I was there Artic Terns were nesting on the beach and care was advised - they're the ones that attack you if you get too close to their nests - you can just walk in the other direction. The pitches are divided by grass strips, and the water point and chemical disposal is sited in the central grass area, to one side, which means having to walk between two caravans with water containers and loos. Also has a small grass area for tents. Basically a good site badly let down by showers.

Wardens - were friendly and helpful and always seemed to be busy but available

Dog Walk - there is a dog walk running the length of the site on the other side of a small hump, all grass, between the site and the golf course, good for an early morning/late evening quickie, but the beach and dunes are only a couple of minutes away.

Washrooms - Just the one, but it is not a very big site, so adequate. The showers were the worst I have encountered on a club site. 4 Showers, with a fixed head, which can swivel, a couple of the heads were floppy, so couldn't be directed. You would turn on the shower and it would start to drip, after some time water would start to come through, but very weak, and if another shower was turned on it got weaker, luckily I wasn't in there with all 4 running. It was difficult to adjust the temperature and got quite hot. The showering area is large enough, but drying area small and not enough hooks.

One morning I showered at 7. 45 and it was freezing, both radiators were cold. Definitely not up to CC standards.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 116 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Just north of Brora on A9 turn right at Caravan Club sign on main road. The approach is narrow and involves negotiating a blind narrow bridge. Once past small commercial campsite turn left at T-junction and Club site is a little further on the right. Campers are requested not to arrive before midday to allow leavers to exit the site without meeting incoming units on the narrow approach.

This small campsite is situated just north of Brora in the Highlands and is close to the sea which can be accessed from the site, although this does involve crossing a golf course so care is required. Non-members and tent campers are also accepted. There are 52 pitches of which 33 are on hardstandings. There is one toilet block situated not far from reception and whilst of a good standard it is of the older type. It is some distance from the furthest pitches as are the service points. There are no play facilities for children. Mobile phone signal seems OK and I could get Vodafone mobile broadband but the signal is a hit and miss. If you have a WiFi signal enhancer you should be able to get BTOpenzone.

Dalchalm could be a good option for exploring this remote part of the Highlands and Dornoch is worth a visit. Brora Golf Course is adjacent to the campsite. The small town of Brora has a small supermarket and a couple of restaurants. There are two fuel stations on the A9 on the approach to the town.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jacky4me 39 reviews from this member

Only stayed one night on this site but as with all CC sites the facilities were up to date and clean. We were greeted by the very friendly wardens and could pick our own pitch. All pitches were quite spacious and site was very well maintained. The beach was a short walk across a golf course and was a lovely area to walk your dog/yourself and is also in a very scenic area with great views.I cannot comment on the local area due to the fact that we didn't have time, but we had a short walk around the site which looked spotlessly clean and can recommend the beach walk. We would definitely return for a longer stay.

Previous     16 Review in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469