Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Springs Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodland Springs Touring Park
Venton
Drewsteignton
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6PG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01647 231695

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m 10m  5m  5m   10m  5m  5m  1m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
              8/10 from 82 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (7) and Video

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MDEER 1 review from this member

Having seen the review of a visit in May I did wonder whether my booking a two week stay in June was a mistake. How wrong could I be. I found the proprietors to be most helpful the pitches generous with enough room to park off the access in front of any awning which if anything saved a lot of walking round the van as it was easy to unload straight into the awning. The toilet block was spotless and whilst the walkway was a little tired I had no reason to question my safety in walking on it. My only concern was the amount of sharp granite chippings used to create the hard standing perhaps rounded pebbles would have been easier on the feet.

All the other regulations are for everybody's benefit and I certainly did not find then onerous. With only two people running the site it is unreasonable to expect the site office to be open all day.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulbarnes 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for 2 weeks in May 2015. The site is very quiet, clean and well maintained. It is also 'Adults Only' so there are no children allowed.

There have been comments about the extensive hard surfaces, but this only applies to the bottom part of the site. The remainder of the site is well landscaped with grassed areas between the pitches. Pitch sizes are generous and there are several fully serviced pitches. Most pitches have electric hook ups and there are some grassy pitches for tents, or those who don't like hard standings.

Facilities are spotless and adequate for the site. There is extensive recycling carried out but it isn't a problem. Basically you sort into recyclable (nearly everything) non recyclable and food waste. Most people are now used to doing this at home.

Site is easy to find and there are no narrow roads if you approach from Oakhampton direction. You can access most of Dartmoor within 45 minutes, and the coasts within an hour.

There is a small shop but limited provisions, although fresh bread is very good. There is also a small Dairy about a mile away and a garage/shop the same distance. Nearest supermarket is Oakhampton. Owners are very friendly and accommodating.

There are no pubs within walking distance although there are several within 2 to 3 miles. Many people spoke highly of Chagford, where there are several pubs and teashops, and also 2 'hardware' shops which sell everything you will ever need for caravanning, walking, cycling whatever. They are real Aladdin's caves.

The only criticism I would make is about the cost of Wi-Fi. It is £1. 00 per hour and you have to use the hour in one go, so checking emails can be expensive. However, although there is almost no mobile phone signal there does seem to be a very good 3g data signal, so you can use you phone to access the internet.

In summary, a good site for touring North Devon and one we would use again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Long lost cousin 2 reviews from this member

We were delighted to find what appeared to be an ideal site for our stay in Devon, near to the A30, 5'star' and adult only. Consequently, we booked a grass pitch for our touring caravan and awning. After an awful journey involving a closed road and a long detour we arrived after 6 pm and didn't appreciate a 15 minute lecture on all the rules we were supposed to follow; understandably, we wanted to get to our site and have a drink. If we had listened more carefully, and read the four pages of online terms and conditions, perhaps we would have avoided several unpleasant episodes and the feeling that we were not welcome. Instead we relied on the two page instructions we were given, which had not been updated and got us into trouble from the start, as these rules are strictly enforced.

Additional points to take into account before booking, and to ensure that your stay is better than ours:

1. The pitches are much smaller than we were expecting and you have to put our car in sideways in front of the 'van, not by the side as on Caravan club sites. There is the same arrangement on the many gravel sites too.

2. No groundsheets are allowed in the awning; we put down a breathable one, as it stated we could in our out of date instructions. That had to be removed, pronto.

3. There is no late arrivals space and when returning after the 11 pm curfew there is nowhere to park - and it is pitch black! We parked the car, but were rudely awakened at 7. 30 am to move it as it was in the way (other cars could get by, and no arrivals are allowed then anyway).

4. There is no TV reception unless you have a special aerial, which is not made clear when booking.

5. Neither is it clear until you come to the toilet emptying area that you have to use special Green toilet fluid, not the normal blue one, as the site is not on mains drainage.

6. The on site shop is only open for a brief time morning and evening, and runs out of essentials such as milk when it is open.

7. The toilets and showers are kept very clean, but the decking surrounding this area is worn and could be dangerous, especially when it rains - and it does, a lot.

8. There is a very useful hut on site with lots of leaflets, but no information about local walks, for example, and the much mentioned coffee machine was not working all the time we were there.

9. There are no other facilities or local shops, except a small farm shop a good mile walk away; take plenty of change, it operates an 'honesty box' scheme to pay!

In future we will be reverting to Caravan Club sites which suit us better.

Management response: Firstly I must say I am the owner along with my wife of Woodland Springs Touring Park. As a rule we do not respond to reviews any more but I have been urged by customers to reply to the review by Long Lost Cousin.

It is dark here our dark clear night skies are something special to behold.

We do give a quick overview of some of the more salient points about the site and give everyone a Welcome Pack. In this case there was an error about groundsheet's in awnings on the Welcome Pack but we had let the customer know in advance in the booking confirmation email before they paid their deposit, in the T&C's which they acknowledged as read and agreeing to and we repeated it in the overview. There was an error on the Welcome Pack (resolved that day) but instead of coming to clarify the point they put the groundsheet down anyway. We did ask them to remove it.

As they were going to a wedding and coming back in after the gate was locked (11pm) we let them know exactly where to park the car (room for 4 or 5 cars) and the consequences of causing an obstruction but they didn't listen and parked blocking half of the gate. Yes smaller cars could get in and out and no arrivals were due at that time but no caravan or motor home could leave the site and emergency vehicles could not get on site, that included over night. Yes I was firm when waking them at 7:30am to move the car but they had been told where to park it and ignored us and were causing a hazard.

Their pitch was 11m deep and 9m wide and the car could be parked at the front of the pitch without it being in front of the caravan.

We are in the country and you do need a normal external directional aerial for your TV and we do ask for environmentally friendly toilet chemicals only, both are and always have been on our website but we have since made it clearer.

We buy only enough milk etc. To last a short time to try and eliminate wastage and someone is going to buy the last one, if it wasn't the customer who bought milk 30 minutes earlier it would have been this customer. We stocked up for the next morning. We went to Lidl last night and they had run out, happens to us all.

Whilst there is some wear to the anti slip coating in places it is more than 95% intact and works very well all over the whole of the ramp and decking. It was already scheduled for maintenance later this year. The weather that week was quite good, there were a couple of days that had some rain but overall it was mainly BBQ's around the site for food, this couple even entertained friends with a BBQ.

The hut does have information on local walks (there is even a part of the OS map for this area on the wall) as does the Welcome Pack and we will happily recommend many walks to customers when they ask. There are far to many walks for us to document. Yes the coffee machine was broken but we were awaiting an engineer to repair it which unfortunately took far to long, it was out of our hands.

On a separate note we do have a lot of stone pitches but we are open all year and these are our bread and butter pitches. There are only 1 run of 9 pitches and 1 pair of pitches without grass, all the rest are broken by grass and most with trees and shrubs as well. Far more people request stone than grass.

In summary we provide lots of information, local and wider afield, and are upfront about our rules and conditions and do not feel it is to much to expect customers to follow them.

We are approachable and readily stop to chat with customers so if in doubt ask us and we will always try to help wherever we can.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave139 5 reviews from this member

Adults only site Visited May of 2014, site very easy to find, Utes always clean and tidy, the usual shower problem, only stays on for about 10sec before you have to keep pressing the button, you can only use bIO FLUID for toilet etc. As it goes into reed beds which you can buy from the shop, If you are a DOG LOVER your pet will find plenty of friends here, if not it could be a problem, out off four vans around ourselves including our van with no dog there was 6 dogs in total in the other three although they was not a problem you might get some what are. I am only giving 8 Stars owning to the dog problem I think there are too many, the hook ups are full service, grass with Electric, and Hard standing with Electric, easy to get to Dartmoor, Exeter no problem with the roads

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Issym 24 reviews from this member

We used this site for our over night stop to and back from Cornwall.

I would visit again because of convenience but I don't think I'd use it for more than a night at a time. I think it was the overall look with the gravel that put me off.

The toilet block was spotless and I love paper towels! Well done on that one!

The owners were friendly but were very quick to point out a sign that we had disobeyed (we were opposite what appeared to be a way out but was just for the pitches on that area, we drove up it!) There were only us and another van occupied so it did seem a bit OTT. The sign was low down and in our car turning from our van wasn't in our line of sight. It wasn't a 'no entry' sign, just a sign saying 'no exit', which there was.

I actually found the re-cycling very well labelled and easy to use.

We could hear the main road when outside the van but not inside the van. As we wanted somewhere close to the road for our overnight stop this was perfectly acceptable.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jolisa 2 reviews from this member

This is our first visit to this campsite, and found it to be very clean and tidy. The toilets are fab. Also very peaceful and in a central place of beauty in Dartmoor. There have been comments about the recycling and comments about the hard standing but we found this perfect. Easy-going owners, and very helpful and polite. There is a great patch for dog walking. We will revisit again if we are in the area. Thanks again.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0566